Museum Quizzes for School Classes
German for Young People

Youth group Museum Ralley | Photo: © Daniel Seiffert

German lessons in London's museums instead of the classroom

Every student who is learning German in school ideally learns as much as possible about the different aspects of German cultural heritage. But how can the broad spectrum of German culture be taught and understood best? Why not visit London's impressive museums with your students to explore different eras and areas of German cultural heritage?

It is well-known that art, design, engineering and science have a long tradition in Germany. A lesser-known fact is that London’s famous Victoria & Albert Museum and the Science Museum London display a large number of exhibits on German art, technology and science.

Victoria & Albert Museum London
Science Museum London

The exhibits in the two museums show German art, design, and technical and scientific achievements from the middle ages to the present day, and offer German learners an excellent way to get a taste of the diversity of German cultural heritage in the UK.

To help German learners on their exploration of German cultural heritage, the Goethe-Institut London has developed two quizzes for a one hour visit at the V&A and the Science Museum, which can be used by groups of students. The language and content of the tasks is simple and allows German learners to expand their factual knowledge as well as their understanding of German cultural heritage.

Additionally, we have developed an informative quiz for the Natural History Museum, which is constituted in German.

The quizzes can be downloaded for free:

 



Natural History Museum quiz without English translations (PDF, 370 kB)

Natural History Museum quiz with English translations (PDF, 373 kB)

Natural History Museum quiz with solutions (PDF, 387 kB)


Please note: Since displays and exhibits can be changed from time to time we recommend for teachers to try the quiz themselves before visiting with a school class or at least phone up the museum to check if any areas are being redeveloped at the time of the visit. We recommend to print the worksheets in colour.

Museumsrallyes für Schulklassen
Deutsch für Jugendliche

Jugendgruppe Museumsralley | Foto: © Daniel Seiffert

Deutschunterricht in Londoner Museen statt im Klassenzimmer

Im Idealfall sollte jeder Schüler, der in der Schule Deutsch lernt, möglichst verschiedene Aspekte der deutschen Kultur kennen lernen. Wie lässt sich aber das breite Spektrum der deutschen Kultur am besten vermitteln und verstehen? Wie wäre es, wenn Sie mit Ihren Schülern eine Entdeckungsreise in die eindrucksvollsten Londoner Museen machen, um dort unterschiedliche Epochen und Gebiete des deutschen Kulturerbes zu erforschen?

Es ist bekannt, dass Kunst, Design, Technik und Wissenschaft in Deutschland eine lange Tradition haben. Nicht so bekannt ist allerdings, dass in den bekanntesten Londoner Museen (Victoria & Albert und das Science Museum) eine große Zahl an Exponaten zur deutschen Kunst, Technik und Wissenschaft ausgestellt ist.

Victoria & Albert Museum London
Science Museum London

Die Ausstellungsstücke in den beiden Museen zeigen deutsche Kunst, Design, technische wie wissenschaftliche Errungenschaften aus dem Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart und bieten Deutschlernern eine hervorragende Möglichkeit, die Vielfältigkeit des deutschen Kulturerbes in Großbritannien zu entdecken und beschnuppern.

Um Deutschlernern bei der Erkundung von deutschen Erfindungen und Künstlern behilflich zu sein, hat das Goethe-Institut London zwei Deutsch-Quiz für einstündige Besuche des Victoria & Albert Museum und Science Museums entwickelt, die von Schülergruppen genutzt werden können. Die sprachlich und inhaltlich einfach gehaltenen Ralleyeaufgaben erlauben Deutschlernen, sowohl ihr Faktenwissen als auch ihr Verständnis vom deutschen Kulturerbe zu erweitern.

Außerdem wurde eine deutschsprachige Rallye für einen Besuch im informativen Natural History Museum gestaltet.

Die Quiz können hier kostenlos heruntergeladen werden:

 
Science Museum Quiz ohne englische Übersetzung (PDF, 355 kB)
Science Museum Quiz mit englischer Übersetzung (PDF, 359 kB)
Science Museum Quiz mit Lösungen (PDF, 363 kB)

Natural History Museum Quiz ohne englische Übersetzung (PDF, 370 kB)
Natural History Museum Quiz mit englischer Übersetzung (PDF, 373 kB)
Natural History Museum Quiz mit Lösungen (PDF, 387 kB)


Wichtiger Hinweis: Da sich die Ausstellungen der Museen ändern könnten, empfehlen wir den Lehrpersonen, die Rallyes vorher selbst durchzuführen, bevor sie das Museum mit ihren Schülerinnen und Schülern besuchen. Ein Anruf beim Museum ist ebenso hilfreich, um herauszufinden, ob die Ausstellungen weiterhin aktuell sind. Für eine einfachere Handhabung wird empfohlen die Arbeitsblätter in Farbe auszudrucken.