The Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

The  Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation is presented by the Society of Authors and the Goethe-Institut London every two years. This translation prize is aimed at new and emerging translators, including those whose work has not yet been published.

The winner receives an award of EUR 1,000 and attendance at the 2020 Leipzig Book Fair, as well as the International Translators' meeting organised by the Literary Colloquium Berlin.

Winner Announced:

We are pleased to announce that the jury have chosen Kay McBurney as the winner of the Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation 2020.

The following six translators were shortlisted for the prize:

Lachlan Hughes
Claire Storey
Jonathan Blower
Catherine Wolterman
Rosie Dymond
Sharon Howe

We extend our thanks to the jury panel this year, which comprised:

Charlotte Ryland, Director of the Stephen Spender Trust
Karen Leeder, Translator and Professor of Modern German Literature
Oliver Kamm, Journalist, Writer & Columnist for The Times

The annual translation prize ceremony was held again this year at the Knowledge Centre at the British Library on February 12. The winner of the 2020 Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation was announced at the event.


The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for German translation

Since 1965 the Schlegel-Tieck Prize has been awarded to the best translation into English from German, published by a British publishing house in the year prior to the award date. The prize is named after two important German writers of the Romantic period, namely August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853). Both are known for their excellent translations into German of Shakespeare's work.  

The prize is awarded in February/March each year at an awards ceremony in London, organised by the Society of Authors. The winner receives £3,000.  

The Goethe-Institut London and the German Embassy have sponsored the prize, which is administered by the Society of Authors, for many years. 

Up to three judges are appointed each year. Together with the Translators' Association of the Society of Authors, and in collaboration with the prize’s sponsors, they decide on the winner, taking into account the original German works and their translations.

The 2019 Schlegel-Tieck Prize was presented by the judges at the Society of Authors’ Translation Prizes on 12 February 2020, and hosted at the Knowledge Centre, British Library.

Winner 2020:

Iain Galbraith won the Schlegel-Tieck Prize 2019 for his translation of Esther Kinsky's Am Fluss / River, published by Fitzcarraldo Editions in 2018.

Special commendation of the jury 2020:

Karen Leeder was commended for her translation of Ulrike Almut Sandig's Dickicht / Thick of It published by Seagull Books in 2018.