The Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation

The  Goethe-Institut Award for New Translation is presented by the Society of Authors and the Goethe-Institut London every two years. This translation prize is aimed at new and emerging translators, including those whose work has not yet been published.

The winner receives an award of EUR 1,000 and attendance at the Leipzig Book Fair, as well as the International Translators' meeting organised by the Literary Colloquium Berlin.

The competition is open to emerging British translators of literature who translate from German into English.

The winner of the Prize in 2022 was Sharon Howe.
The runners-up were George Robarts and Robert Sargant.

The judges were Ruth Ahmedzai Kemp and Steph Morris.

Further information:

Website: Society of Authors 

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for German Translation

Since 1965 the Schlegel-Tieck Prize has been awarded to the best translation into English from German, published by a British publishing house in the year prior to the award date. The prize is named after two important German writers of the Romantic period, namely August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853). Both are known for their excellent translations into German of Shakespeare's work.  

The prize is usually awarded in February/March each year at an awards ceremony in London, organised by the Society of Authors. The winner receives £3,000.  

The Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in London currently sponsors the prize, which is administered by the Society of Authors. 

Up to three judges are appointed each year. Together with the Translators' Association of the Society of Authors they decide on the winner, taking into account the original German works and their translations.

The winner of the Schlegel-Tieck Prize in 2022 was Karen Leeder for her translation Porcelain: Poem on the Downfall of my City by Durs Grünbein (Seagull Books, 2020). 

The runner-up was Simon Pare for his translation Cox, or the course of time by Christoph Ransmayer (Seagull Books, 2020).

The judges were Jen Calleja and Alexander Starritt.

Further Information:
   Society of Authors
   New Books in German