Anton Wilhelm Amo
A Transnational Memory

Latitude – Street in Berlin-Mitte renamed as Anton Wilhelm-Amo-Straße
In March 2021, after more than twenty years of struggle, the local Black community succeeded in having M*Straße in Berlin-Mitte renamed as Anton Wilhelm-Amo-Straße. | © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago

Initiatives and researchers in Germany, the USA, the Netherlands and Ghana have joined forces to form the digital platform known as the “Anton Wilhelm Amo Legacy” to honour Anton Wilhelm Amo. Amo gained his doctorate in the 18th century as the first African philosopher in Europe, and was the first non-white professor to lecture at German universities.

While during the so-called Enlightenment the violence fantasies of “human races” allowed racism to come into being and enabled the European superpowers to legitimise slavery, Anton Wilhelm Amo – a Ghana-born Black philosophy professor (approx. 1703–1759) – was one of a few prominent academics to value all people. With his dissertation On the Rights of Moors in Europe not only did he argue the validity of citizens’ rights for Black people, but also the right to voluntary autonomous migration and transformation processes.
 
Although Anton Wilhelm Amo himself is the proof that there were non-white voices among the ranks of European philosophers as well, he had fallen from favour by the end of his time in Germany. Amo was questioning white supremacy. The upshot of that was that his work “disappeared”. He was no longer welcome and returned – probably not of his own volition – to what is today Ghana. That more or less put an end to the German (pre-)national culture of memory: out of sight, out of mind – and therefore forgotten? Legally speaking, crimes nowadays are judged with retrospective effect against a transnational moral yardstick: human rights. This was not defined until the end of the Second World War. Before that, no rights existed anywhere in the world for Africans to protect or defend themselves from the numerous acts of violence committed by Europeans. An obvious interpretation of Amo’s work today would be as a symbolic outcry “Black Lives Matter” – in Europe too.

What Is the True History of Amo?

Amo didn’t just document the history of rights for us. He said himself: “It is not enough to tell the truth, if the cause of untruth is not also determined.” What is the true history of Amo? In Lower Saxony, where Amo spent the majority of his childhood and youth, there were a few Africans at that time who had been trafficked like he had. They were “objects” under constant observation. Amo was given his forenames “Anton Wilhelm” by his “owner” Anton Ulrich von Braunschweig zu Lüneburg‑Wolfenbüttel and his son Wilhelm. Regarding his surname Amo, we cannot be sure whether it was his real family name or whether he was simply baptised with it. Amo was at the mercy of White Saviourism and had to suffer the consequences for tokenism.

Barely a Trace of Amo the “Adoptive Son”

Herzog August Wilhelm is still omnipresent today: he is commemorated in Wolfenbüttel and Braunschweig in the library, with a museum and statues. Barely a trace of his “adoptive son” Amo exists on the other hand – not even a picture. Unlike in Jena (Thuringia) there is no plaque on his house referring to his existence. The initiative Amo Braunschweig Postkolonial is the only organisation in Germany offering tours on a postcolonial theme that is named after an African and creates a memorial to Amo in this way.

“An obvious interpretation of Amo’s work today would be as a symbolic outcry “Black Lives Matter” – in Europe too.”

In 2020, the Kunstverein Braunschweig hosted a multidimensional, multilingual exhibition for the first time, a temporary memorial for Amo under the leadership of co-curator Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung: The Faculty of Sensing – Thinking With, Through and by Anton Wilhelm Amo. The fictional theatre symposium of the Sahba theatre production Every Active Entity, which is performed in Germany and Ghana, follows a similar theme. “I’m fascinated by transnational perspectives,” says theatre director Felix Zeppenfeld. “The encounter between Germany and Ghana is an intersection of thinking spaces. And yet there isn’t just one history and thus just one memory of Amo, there are several. This divergence is a good thing as well. As is the case with Shakespeare.” Artistic director Sahba Sahebi adds: “It’s all about hearing the voices of the oppressed. Amo is one of many. His works were not able to achieve the full impact they potentially could have. From a political perspective it’s important that he is allowed to deliver his own narrative.”

A Special Kind of Commemoration

At the location of Amo’s career peak, in Halle (Saale), the culture of memory is linked with the university, something that’s unique in Europe. The Rectorate Commission of the University of Halle‑Wittenberg is dedicated to the commemoration of Anton Wilhelm Amo. Raja‑Léon Hamann is active there, as well as in the Amo Alliance Halle. Jan Schubert, another member of the Amo Alliance, agrees with him when Hamann says: “Memory always has a political significance as well. The story of the bronze sculpture on University Square entitled Free Africa by Gerhard Geyer, a sculptor from Halle, which nowadays is linked with the memory of Amo, was actually intended to commemorate Ghana’s anti-colonial path. Why the sculpture then ended up staying here and wasn’t sent to Ghana is not exactly clear.”

“While during the so-called Enlightenment the violence fantasies of “human races” allowed racism to come into being and enabled the European superpowers to legitimise slavery, Anton Wilhelm Amo – a Ghana-born Black philosophy professor (approx. 1703–1759) – was one of a few prominent academics to value all people.”

In Halle they had the idea of naming a street after Amo back in the sixties. Berlin has now successfully done this after a battle with the Black community dating back to the 1990s. During the course of that, the Neighbourhood Initiative Anton-Wilhelm-Amo-Straße was founded. Member and researcher Adela Taleb says: “If we imagine walking through Berlin’s city centre with Anton Wilhelm Amo, we might see different things through his eyes. We’re also planning to open an Amo Salon with a documentation centre. The idea is for it to be a physical space that’s accessible to the public, in which people can reflect together on themes such as (...) racism and colonialism and the impact they have on the present.

“The encounter between Germany and Ghana is an intersection of thinking spaces. And yet there isn’t just one history and thus just one memory of Amo, there are several. This divergence is a good thing as well.”

theatre director Felix Zeppenfeld

The news about Anton‑Wilhelm‑Amo‑Straße in Berlin even reached Ghana: Amo lectures are planned there for the first time, at the University of Ghana. The transnational and dialogical remembrance in relation to Amo’s legacy is finally being carried on.
  • Latitude – First digital conference “Black Lives History Matters – also in Lower Saxony”, focussing on the culture of remembrance on Anton Wilhelm Amo in Lower Saxony. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    First digital conference “Black Lives History Matters – also in Lower Saxony”, focussing on the culture of remembrance on Anton Wilhelm Amo in Lower Saxony.
  • Street in Berlin-Mitte renamed as Anton Wilhelm-Amo-Straße © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    In March 2021, after more than twenty years of struggle, the local Black community succeeded in having M*Straße in Berlin-Mitte renamed as Anton Wilhelm-Amo-Straße.
  • Latitude – The city of Jena has placed a commemorative plaque on the home of the first Black philosopher Anton Wilhelm Amo at Jenergasse 9. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    The city of Jena has placed a commemorative plaque on the home of the first Black philosopher Anton Wilhelm Amo at Jenergasse 9.
  • Latitude – A plaque in front of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Ghana commemorates the transnational history of Anton Wilhelm Amos at the University of Halle-Wittenberg. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    A plaque in front of the Department of Philosophy at the University of Ghana commemorates the transnational history of Anton Wilhelm Amos at the University of Halle-Wittenberg.
  • Latitude – The statue “Free Africa” by the sculptor Gerhard Geyer in Halle © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    The statue “Free Africa” by Halle sculptor Gerhard Geyer from the 1960s was originally intended as a gift from the GDR to Ghana in recognition of the African state’s pioneering role in the anti-colonial struggle.
  • Latitude – In 2021, for the first time a multi-day event was held on Anton Wilhelm Amo in Ghana. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    In 2021, for the first time a multi-day event was held on Anton Wilhelm Amo in Ghana: Initiators of the first work meeting were Professor Abena Oduro – Institute Director, Maria Sibylla Merian - Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) Ghana, Dr. Richmond Kwesi – Philosophy Department, Dr. Sarah F. Dorgbadzi – Theatre Department, Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago – Initiator of the Anton Wilhelm Amo legacy and theatre production initiative Every Active Entity, Dr. Ekua Ekumah – Theatre Department, William Nsuiban Gmayi – Ghana Monumental Museum Board at the University of Ghana, Sahba Sahebi – Theatre production of Every Active Entity, Viviane Boateng – Theatre Department.
  • Latitude – Teams of the Anton Wilhelm Amo Legacy in Germany © Han Le
    Teams of the Anton Wilhelm Amo Legacy in Germany
“Amo was proud of being an African and wrote it down everywhere: Afer – the African,” says artistic director of the symposium of Sahba theature production Every Active Entity, Dr Ekua Ekumah. “It’s as if Amo’s talking (...): ‘My body will (...) disappear, but my spirit (...) will remain.’ It’s no surprise to us that Amo had a strong self-awareness.” Similar ideas can also be found in Amo’s philosophical essay The Mind-Body Problem.
 
The first president of Ghana, Dr Nkrumah, campaigned for a transnational remembrance of Amo back in the 1960s: Nkrumah dreamed of an Anton‑Wilhelm‑Amo foundation that would enable Ghanaians to research Amo’s life and works in Germany. After a coup against the Nkrumah government, both this idea and the history of Amo largely disappeared from the Ghanaian education system. In Shama, where Amo’s grave is situated next to Fort San Sebastian, and also in Axim where he was born, citizens are for the most part unaware who Amo was and the significance bestowed upon him. In the Library of Africa and the African Diaspora in Legon a space has been created in memory of the people of the African diaspora – however it doesn’t include a book about Amo.

Anton Wilhelm Amo
Eine transnationale Erinnerung

Latitude – Anton-Wilhelm-Amo-Straße in Berlin
Nach mehr als zwanzig Jahren Kampf erreicht die lokale Schwarze Community im März 2021, dass die M*Straße in Berlin-Mitte umbenannt wird. Deren neuer Name lautet Anton-Wilhelm-Amo-Straße. | © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago

Initiativen und Wissenschaftler*innen in Deutschland, den USA, den Niederlanden und Ghana haben sich zur digitalen Plattform „Anton Wilhelm Amo Erbschaft“ zusammengeschlossen, um Anton Wilhelm Amo zu würdigen. Amo promovierte im 18. Jahrhundert als erster afrikanischer Philosoph in Europa und lehrte als erster nicht‑weißer Professor an deutschen Universitäten.

Während in der sogenannten Aufklärung die Gewaltfantasien von „Menschenrassen“ den Rassismus entstehen ließen und den europäischen Großmächten zur Legitimation der Sklaverei verhalfen, würdigte der in Ghana geborene Schwarze Philosophieprofessor Anton Wilhelm Amo (ca. 1703–1759) als einer von wenigen prominenten Gelehrten alle Menschen. Mit seiner Dissertation De iure Maurorum in Europa (Die Rechte der Afrikaner*innen in Europa) erklärte er nicht nur die Gültigkeit von Bürger*innenrechten für Schwarze Menschen, sondern auch das Recht auf freiwillige, selbstbestimmte Migrations- und Transformationsprozesse.
 
Obwohl Anton Wilhelm Amo selbst der Beweis ist, dass es auch nicht‑weiße Stimmen in europäischen Philosoph*innenkreisen gab, wurde er zum Ende seines Aufenthalts in Deutschland geächtet. Amo zweifelte die weiße Vorherrschaft an. Daraufhin „verschwand“ sein Werk. Er war nicht mehr willkommen und kehrte – wahrscheinlich unfreiwillig – zurück ins heutige Ghana. Damit wurde eine Art Schlussstrich unter die deutsche (prä-)nationale Erinnerungskultur gezogen: aus den Augen, aus dem Sinn – und somit aus dem Gedächtnis? Rückwirkend werden heute Verbrechen, rechtlich betrachtet, an einem moralischen, transnationalen Maßstab gemessen: den Menschenrechten. Diese wurden erst nach Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs festgelegt. Vorher bestanden weltweit keine Rechte für Afrikaner*innen, sich vor den zahlreichen Gewalttaten der Europäer*innen zu schützen oder dagegen zu wehren. Naheliegend wäre es heute, Amos Werk als sinnbildlichen Aufschrei „Black Lives Matter“ – auch in Europa – zu verstehen.

Was ist eine wahre Geschichte über Amo?

Amo dokumentierte für uns nicht nur die Rechtsgeschichte. Er selbst sagte: „Es reicht nicht, die Wahrheit zu sagen, wenn nicht auch die Ursache der Unwahrheit bestimmt wird.“ Was ist eine wahre Geschichte über Amo? In Niedersachsen, wo Amo den Großteil seiner Kindheit und Jugend verbrachte, gab es einige Afrikaner*innen zu seiner Zeit, die wie er verschleppt worden waren. Sie waren „Objekte“ unter ständiger Beobachtung. Von seinem „Eigentümer“ Anton Ulrich von Braunschweig zu Lüneburg‑Wolfenbüttel und dessen Sohn Wilhelm erhielt Amo seinen Vornamen „Anton Wilhelm“. Bei seinem Nachnamen Amo können wir nicht sicher sein, ob es sein wirklicher Familienname war oder ob er einfach so getauft wurde. Amo war dem White Saviourism ausgeliefert und musste für Tokenismus herhalten.

Kaum eine Spur von „Adoptivsohn“ Amo

Herzog August Wilhelm ist noch heute allgegenwärtig: Ihm wird in Wolfenbüttel und Braunschweig in der Bibliothek, mit einem Museum und mit Statuen gedacht. Von seinem „Adoptivsohn“ Amo hingegen existiert kaum eine Spur – nicht einmal ein Bild. Anders als in Jena (Thüringen) gibt es kein Schild an Amos Wohnhaus, das auf seine Existenz hinweist. Die Initiative Amo Braunschweig Postkolonial ist die einzige zum Thema postkoloniale Rundgänge deutschlandweit, die nach einem Afrikaner benannt ist und Amo auf diese Weise ein Denkmal setzt.

„Naheliegend wäre es heute, Amos Werk als sinnbildlichen Aufschrei „Black Lives Matter“ – auch in Europa – zu verstehen.“

2020 veranstaltete der Kunstverein Braunschweig erstmalig eine mehrdimensionale, mehrsprachige Ausstellung, einen temporären Erinnerungsort für Amo unter der Leitung des Co‑Kurators Bonaventure Soh Bejeng Ndikung: The Faculty of Sensing – Thinking With, Through and by Anton Wilhelm Amo. Ähnliches verfolgt auch das fiktive, theatralische Symposium der Sahba Theaterproduktion Every Active Entity, das in Deutschland und Ghana aufgeführt wird. „Transnationale Perspektiven reizen mich“, sagt Theaterregisseur Felix Zeppenfeld dazu. „Die Begegnung Deutschland – Ghana ist eine Überschneidung der Denkräume. Und dennoch gibt es nicht eine Geschichte und somit auch nicht nur eine Erinnerung zu Amo, sondern mehrere. Diese Uneinigkeit ist auch was Gutes. Wie auch bei Shakespeare.“ Der künstlerische Leiter Sahba Sahebi ergänzt: „Es geht darum, die Stimme derer zu hören, die unterdrückt wurden. Amo ist einer von vielen. Seine Werke konnten ihre Wirkung nicht entfalten, wie sie sie hätten entfalten können. Aus politischer Perspektive ist es wichtig, dass er selbst der Erzähler ist.“

Besondere Art des Gedenkens

Am Ort des Höhepunkts von Amos Karriere, in Halle (Saale), ist die Erinnerungskultur an die Universität geknüpft, was europaweit einmalig ist. Die Rektoratskommission der Universität Halle‑Wittenberg hat sich dem Gedenken an Anton Wilhelm Amo gewidmet. Raja‑Léon Hamann ist sowohl dort als auch im Amo‑Bündnis Halle aktiv. Jan Schubert, ein weiteres Mitglied des Amo‑Bündnisses, pflichtet ihm bei, wenn Hamann sagt: „Erinnerung hat immer auch eine politische Bedeutung. Die Geschichte der Bronzeplastik des halleschen Bildhauers Gerhard Geyer mit dem Titel Freies Afrika am Universitätsplatz, die heute mit der Erinnerung an Amo verknüpft ist, sollte eigentlich des antikolonialen Weges Ghanas gedenken. Warum die Plastik dann doch hier geblieben ist und nicht nach Ghana versendet wurde, weiß man nicht so genau.“

„Während in der sogenannten Aufklärung die Gewaltphantasien von „Menschenrassen“ den Rassismus entstehen ließen und den europäischen Großmächten zur Legitimation der Sklaverei verhalfen, würdigte der in Ghana geborene Schwarze Philosophieprofessor Anton Wilhelm Amo (ca. 1703–1759) als einer von wenigen prominenten Gelehrten alle Menschen.“

In Halle gab es bereits in den 1960er‑Jahren die Idee, eine Straße nach Amo zu benennen. Dies ist Berlin nach einem Kampf der Schwarzen Community, der in den 1990ern bereits begann, jetzt gelungen. Es hat sich im Zuge dessen die Nachbarschaftsinitiative Anton‑Wilhelm‑Amo‑Straße gegründet. Mitglied und Wissenschaftlerin Adela Taleb sagt dazu: „Wenn wir uns vorstellen, gemeinsam mit Anton Wilhelm Amo durch Berlin-Mitte zu gehen, würden wir vielleicht mit seinen Augen andere Dinge sehen. Wir planen auch einen Amo Salon mit einem Dokumentationszentrum zu eröffnen. Es soll ein öffentlich zugänglicher, physischer Raum sein, in dem gemeinsame Reflexion zu Themen wie (...) Rassismus und Kolonialismus und deren Wirkmacht in der Gegenwart möglich ist.“

„Die Begegnung Deutschland – Ghana ist eine Überschneidung der Denkräume. Und dennoch gibt es nicht eine Geschichte und somit auch nicht nur eine Erinnerung zu Amo, sondern mehrere. Diese Uneinigkeit ist auch was Gutes.“

Theaterregisseur Felix Zeppenfeld

Die Nachricht über die Anton‑Wilhelm‑Amo‑Straße in Berlin erreichte auch Ghana: Dort sind an der Universität von Ghana erstmalig Amo-Vorlesungen geplant. Das transnationale und dialogische Gedenken hinsichtlich Amos Erbe wird endlich fortgesetzt. 
  • Latitude – Erste digitale Konferenz „Black Lives History Matters – auch in Niedersachsen“ mit dem Themenschwerpunkt Erinnerungskultur zu Anton Wilhelm Amo in Niedersachsen © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Erste digitale Konferenz „Black Lives History Matters – auch in Niedersachsen“ mit dem Themenschwerpunkt Erinnerungskultur zu Anton Wilhelm Amo in Niedersachsen
  • Anton-Wilhelm-Amo-Straße in Berlin © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Nach mehr als zwanzig Jahren Kampf erreicht die lokale Schwarze Community im März 2021, dass die M*Straße in Berlin-Mitte umbenannt wird. Deren neuer Name lautet Anton-Wilhelm-Amo-Straße.
  • Latitude – Die Stadt Jena hat am Wohnhaus des ersten Schwarzen Philosophen Anton Wilhelm Amo in der Jenergasse 9 eine Gedenktafel anbringen lassen. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Die Stadt Jena hat am Wohnhaus des ersten Schwarzen Philosophen Anton Wilhelm Amo in der Jenergasse 9 eine Gedenktafel anbringen lassen.
  • Latitude – Eine Plakette vor dem Fachbereich Philosophie an der Universität von Ghana erinnert an die transnationale Geschichte Anton Wilhelm Amos an der Universität Halle-Wittenberg. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Eine Plakette vor dem Fachbereich Philosophie an der Universität von Ghana erinnert an die transnationale Geschichte Anton Wilhelm Amos an der Universität Halle-Wittenberg.
  • Latitude – Die Statue „Freies Afrika“ des Bildhauers Gerhard Geyer in Halle © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Die Statue „Freies Afrika“ des Bildhauers Gerhard Geyer in Halle aus den 1960er-Jahren war ursprünglich als Geschenk der DDR an Ghana gedacht in Anerkennung der Vorreiterrolle des afrikanischen Staates im antikolonialen Kampf.
  • Latitude – Zum ersten Mal findet in Ghana 2021 eine mehrtägige Veranstaltung zu Anton Wilhelm Amo statt. © Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago
    Zum ersten Mal findet in Ghana 2021 eine mehrtägige Veranstaltung zu Anton Wilhelm Amo statt. Die Veranstalter*innen des ersten Arbeitstreffens: Professor Abena Oduro – Institutsleitung Maria Sibylla Merian Institute for Advanced Studies in Africa (MIASA) Ghana, Dr. Richmond Kwesi – Fachbereich Philosophie, Dr. Sarah F. Dorgbadzi – Fachbereich Theater, Andrea-Vicky Amankwaa-Birago – Initiatorin Anton Wilhelm Amo Erbschaft und Theaterproduktion Every Active Entity, Dr. Ekua Ekumah – Fachbereich Theater, William Nsuiban Gmayi – Ghana Monumental Museum Board an der University of Ghana, Sahba Sahebi – Theaterproduktion Every Active Entity, Viviane Boateng – Fachbereich Theater
  • Latitude – Arbeitsgruppen der Anton Wilhelm Amo Erbschaft in Deutschland © Han Le
    Arbeitsgruppen der Anton Wilhelm Amo Erbschaft in Deutschland
„Amo war stolz, Afrikaner zu sein und schrieb es überall hin: ‚Afer – der Afrikaner“, sagt die künstlerische Leitung des theatralen Symposiums der Sahba Theaterproduktion Every Active Entity, Dr. Ekua Ekumah. „Es ist so, als ob Amo spricht (...): ‚Mein Körper wird (...) verschwinden, doch mein Geist (...) wird bleiben.‘ Es wundert uns nicht, dass Amo ein starkes Selbstbewusstsein hatte.“ Ähnliche Gedanken finden sich auch in Amos philosophischer Abhandlung Das Leib‑Seele‑Problem.
 
Der erste Präsident Ghanas, Dr. Nkrumah, setzte sich bereits in den 1960er‑Jahren für eine transnationale Erinnerung an Amo ein: Nkrumah träumte von einer Anton‑Wilhelm‑Amo‑Stiftung, die es Ghanaer*innen ermöglichen sollte, in Deutschland über Amo zu forschen. Nach einem Putsch gegen die Nkrumah‑Regierung verschwanden sowohl diese Idee als auch die Geschichte Amos im ghanaischen Bildungssystem weitestgehend. In Shama, wo neben der Festung San Sebastian Amos Grab liegt, und auch in Axim, wo er geboren wurde, sind sich die Bürger*innen größtenteils gar nicht bewusst, wer Amo war und welche Bedeutung ihm zuteilwurde. In der Bibliothek Library of Africa and the African Diaspora in Legon wurde ein Raum geschaffen, der Menschen aus der afrikanischen Diaspora gedenkt –jedoch findet sich dort kein Buch über Amo.