Virtual Concert
Harmoniously crafted solos engulf Goethe-Institut

Harmoniously crafted solos engulf Goethe-Institut
© Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo

Diverse compositions by individual members of the band Soul Nice show their competence and mastery

By John Owoo

A cool night breeze from the Atlantic Ocean enabled leaves on several trees to shift listlessly as rich rhythms from five talented musicians filled the air at the Goethe-Institut in Accra.

In a performance that forms part of the Institut’s Covid 19 programmes, the Soul Nice group led by Bright Osei exhibited great tact and poise as they unfolded intricate compositions from individual members of the group.

Featuring Anthony Ansah (tenor sax), Anthony Adubofour (drums), Nicholas Mettle (piano), Kenneth Obi (talking drums) and Bright Osei (bass guitar) performed with passion and enthusiasm to a virtual audience as they try to adjust to what has been described as the “new normal”.  



With suitable emphatic lines from Osei, Mettle and Ansah, the sound from the stage was heightened with drum beats from Adubofour and Obi ranging freely while minimal stage lighting added to the environmental poignancy of the stage. 

A number of tunes including “Funky Jamestown” (Bright Osei), “Praise Him / Funk In the Air” (Anthony Ansah), “Worry Not” (Dave Corbus / Bright Osei) and “You Don’t Want to Know” (Nicholas Mettle), vividly revealed the power of improvisation and blending of cross cultural rhythms.
  • Harmoniously crafted solos engulf Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo
  • Harmoniously crafted solos engulf Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo
  • Harmoniously crafted solos engulf Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo

Interspersed with a series of harmoniously crafted solos, Osei, who is also a composer / arranger and his musicians filled the air with infectious drum beats, hyper funk textures and instinctive saxophone lines that sounded like a galactic artistic feast. 

Band leader Osei has toured with a number of highlife greats including Jewel Ackah, Papa Yankson, Gyedu Blay-Ambolley, Paa Bobo, Daddy Lumba, Ofori Amponsah and Kojo Antwi among others. He subsequently moved into jazz and has been performing with the GH Jazz Collective

On the international front, he has performed with Barry Finnerty, Peter White (UK), Tues Nobel (Netherlands), Nicholas Genest (France), Entienne Charles, Gordon Louis, Benjamin Boone, Dave Corbos, Rocky Dawuni (USA), Pilani Bubu, Ernie Smith (South Africa), Gert Vincent (Denmark) and others.

Goethe-Institut Ghana sponsored the concert.

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Virtuelle Konzert
Harmonische Soli erfüllen das Goethe-Institut

Harmonische Soli erfüllen das Goethe-Institut
© Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo

Verschiedene Kompositionen von einzelnen Mitgliedern der Band Soul Nice zeigen ihre Kompetenz und Meisterschaft
 

Von John Owoo

Eine kühle Nachtbrise ließ die Blätter in den Bäumen rauschen, während die Rhythmen fünf junger talentierter Musiker die Räume des Goethe-Instituts in Accra erfüllten.

In einer Aufführung, die Teil der Covid 19-Programme des Instituts ist, zeigte die Gruppe Soul Nice unter der Leitung von Bright Osei großes Fingerspitzengefühl in ihrer Darbietung  komplizierter Kompositionen der verschiedenen Bandmitglieder Mitglieder.

Mit Anthony Ansah (Tenorsaxophon), Anthony Adubofour (Schlagzeug), Nicholas Mettle (Klavier), Kenneth Obi (sprechendes Schlagzeug) und Bright Osei (Bassgitarre) trat die Band mit Leidenschaft und Begeisterung vor einem virtuellen Publikum auf, das versucht, sich an das anzupassen, was als "new normal" beschrieben wurde.



Die eingängigen Melodielinien von Osei, Mettle und Ansah wurden perkussiv von Adubofour und Obi verstärkt, während die minimale Bühnenbeleuchtung zum stimmungsvollen Ambiente des Aufführungssaals beitrug. 

Eine Reihe von Melodien, darunter "Funky Jamestown" (Bright Osei), "Praise Him / Funk In the Air" (Anthony Ansah), "Worry Not" (Dave Corbus / Bright Osei) und "You Don't Want to Know" (Nicholas Mettle), entwickelten eine mitreissende Dynamik und zeigten anschaulich die Kraft der Improvisation und die Verschmelzung kulturübergreifender Rhythmen.
  • Harmonische Soli erfüllen das Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo
  • Harmonische Soli erfüllen das Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo
  • Harmonische Soli erfüllen das Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Ghana/ John Owoo


Durchsetzt mit einer Reihe harmonisch gestalteter Soli füllten Osei, der auch Komponist/Arrangeur ist, und seine Musiker den fast leeren Saal mit ansteckenden Rhythmen, Hyper-Funk-Linien und jazzigen Saxophonklängen, die den Raum in ein galaktisches Kunstfest verwandelten.

Bandleader Osei ist bereits mit einer anzahl von Highlife-Größen wie Jewel Ackah , Papa Yankson, Gyedu-Blay Ambolley, Paa Bobo, Daddy Lumba, Ofori Amponsah, Kojo Antwi und anderen auf Tour gewesen. Seit einiger zeit hat er sich mehr dem Jazz zugewandt und spielt aktuell mit dem GH Jazz Collective, das in Accra ansässig ist.

Auf der internationalen Bühne hat er mit Barry Finnerty, Peter White (UK), Tues Nobel (Niederlande), Nicholas Genest (Frankreich), Entienne Charles, Gordon Louis, Benjamin Boone, Dave Corbos, Rocky Dawuni (USA), Pilani Bubu, Ernie Smith (Südafrika), Gert Vincent (Dänemark) und anderen gespielt.

Das Konzert wurde vom Goethe-Institut Ghana ermöglicht.
 

Top