Jermania
Gaming

Jermania


Trailer - Jermania

The interactive journey to Germany

JERMANIA is an Educational Game for young Indonesians who are interested in German language and culture. The players can interactively explore five German cities, exploring sights such as the Cologne Cathedral or the Semperoper of Dresden. Mini games provide a lot of fun and variety, while at the same time enabling a playful introduction into learning German language.
 

The learning game of the Indonesian video game forge Nightspade allows virtual tours through Berlin, Dresden, Freiburg, Cologne and Stuttgart. Thereby Germany is shown in its entire regional diversity and with its very own cultural characteristics. In Berlin, the player can prepare some Currywurst and admire the symbols of the modern German democracy, while in Cologne, Halvehahn and carnival celebrating folks can be discovered. The whole thing is accompanied by a wonderful Japanese-RPG-style soundtrack
 

  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

The players are slipping into the role of an Indonesian who, in the library of his hometown, accidentally stumbles over a book about Germany. Instantly excited, he decides to travel to Germany with his friends and sets out for the airport. Once arrived in Germany, he finds himself in a colorful pixel version of the city of Cologne. The players can now wander around, visit museums, take photos and collect fun facts about the sights of the city. In conversations with passersby and through funny mini-games, they can hunt for in-game achievements and collect money as a reward. With enough money in the pocket, the protagonist can make his way to the next city.

The mini games additionally contain small language learning elements on the A1 level. If the players are interested in German language and would like to know more about learning German, embedded links will guide them to the website of the Goethe-Institut and the german learning portal Deutsch für Dich.

Jermania is the product of a collaboration of Indonesian and German video game developers organized by Goethe-Institut Indonesien. Nightspade was supported by the German studios kunst-stoff and the Good Evil. Special thanks go to the Federal Foreign Office of Germany, who financed the project from special funds for the creative industry. Now the game will be available in Indonesia for free download at Google Play and Apple App Store. Currently, it is only available in Indonesia.

Jermania
Gaming

Jermania


Trailer - Jermania

Die interaktive Deutschlandreise

JERMANIA ist ein Educational Game für junge Indonesier*innen, die sich für Deutschlands Sprache und Kultur interessieren. Die Spieler*innen können fünf deutsche Städte interaktiv bereisen und dabei Sehenswürdigkeiten wie den Kölner Dom oder die Dresdener Semperoper erkunden. Mini Games sorgen für viel Spaß und Abwechslung  und ermöglichen gleichzeitig einen spielerischen Einstig ins Deutschlernen.
 

Das Lernspiel aus der indonesischen Gaming-Schmiede Nightspade ermöglicht virtuelle Rundgänge durch Berlin, Dresden, Freiburg, Köln und Stuttgart. Dabei wird Deutschland in seiner ganzen regionalen Vielfalt und seinen kulturellen Eigenheiten erfahrbar gemacht. So kann man zum Beispiel in Berlin Currywurst zubereiten und die Symbole der modernen Bundesrepublik bewundern, während es in Köln Halve Hahn und Karnevalsjecken zu bestaunen gibt. Untermalt wird das Ganze von einem wundervollen Soundtrack, der an japanische Rollenspiele erinnert.
 

  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
  • Jermania © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Die Spieler*innen schlüpfen in die Rolle eines Indonesiers, der in der Bibliothek seiner Heimatstadt zufällig über ein Buch zum Thema Deutschland stolpert. Begeistert beschließt er, mit seinen Freunden nach Deutschland zu reisen und macht sich auf den Weg zum Flughafen. In Deutschland angekommen findet er sich zunächst in einer kunterbunten Pixelversion der Stadt Köln wieder. Die Spieler*innen können nun umherstreifen, Museen besuchen, Fotos schießen und Fun Facts zu den Sehenswürdigkeiten der Stadt sammeln. In Gesprächen mit Passanten und durch lustige Mini-Games können sie auf die Jagd nach In-Game Achievements gehen und als Belohnung etwas Geld kassieren. Mit genügend Geld in der Reisekasse, kann sich der Protagonist auf den Weg in die nächste Stadt machen. 

Die Mini-Spiele enthalten zusätzlich kleine Sprachlernelemente auf dem Niveau A1. Wenn sich die Spieler*innen für die deutsche Sprache interessieren und mehr über das Deutschlernen erfahren möchten, werden sie über eingebettete Links auf die Webseite des Goethe-Instituts und das Lernportal Deutsch für Dich geleitet.

Jermania ist das Produkt einer, durch das Goethe-Institut Indonesien organisierten Zusammenarbeit indonesischer und deutscher Videospielentwickler. Nightspade wurde dabei von den deutschen Studios kunst-stoff und the Good Evil unterstützt. Ein besonderer Dank gilt dem Auswärtigen Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, welches das Projekt aus Sondermitteln für die Kreativwirtschaft finanziert hat. Das Spiel wird ab sofort in Indonesien auf Google Play und im Apple App Store zum kostenlosen Download angeboten. Die App ist jedoch nur für den Gebrauch in Indonesien freigegeben.