Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

News

The Social Translating Podium Discussion at the Weltempfang Photo: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner

Blog - December 17, 2018
The Merck Social Translating Project at the Frankfurt Book Fair 2018

“It’s like juggling two worlds” – a conversation between translators Anchalee Topeongpong (Bangkok) and Ashani Ranasinghe (Colombo) at the Frankfurt Book Fair on October 13, 2018.
 

Thomas Melle auf der SIBF Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/Yunsik Lim, Joonhee Kim

Blog - December 10, 2018
Thomas Melle at the Seoul International Book Fair 2018

There had already been many virtual meetings, but it finally happened in June 2018: Thomas Melle, author of “Die Welt im Rücken” (“The World at Your Back”) came to Seoul for the first time to discuss the Merck Social Translating Project. Learn more about his visit to the Seoul International Book Fair 2018 and his thoughts about the project.

Information about Translations © Photo: Goethe-Insitut/Loredana La Rocca

Translations
“The World at Your Back” Translations

The ten translators in the Merck Social Translating Project have worked intensively on translating the book “Die Welt im Rücken” (“The World at Your Back”) into ten different Asian languages. The translations are now being published in the following languages: Bengali, Chinese (traditional and simplified), Japanese, Korean, Marathi, Mongolian, Sinhalese, Thai, and Vietnamese. On this page you will find an overview of currently published translations.


About the Merck Social Translating Project

The Merck Social Translating Project is testing a new social practice for literary translation.
Ten translators from Asia are translating a German-language novel into their respective native languages. During the process, they meet in a closed digital forum and work on their translations by interacting with one another and engaging in a close discourse with the author.
 
The project is the first time that an e-book platform with social functions has been used. It allows the users to make marginal notes in the text of an e-book as well for the translators and the author to follow up on each other’s comments. Thomas Melle’s novel Die Welt im Rücken (The World at Your Back) was selected for the first social translating discourse. The novel is being translated into Bengali, Chinese (traditional and simplified), Japanese, Korean, Marathi, Mongolian, Sinhalese, Thai, and Vietnamese. In 2018, the translations and the results of the project will be presented at international book fairs in Asia and at the Frankfurt Book Fair.
 
The Merck Social Translating Project was developed by the Goethe-Institut Korea in partnership with Merck Korea.

Merck Logo

  Seitentrenner 1

Thomas Melle: “The World at Your Back”


The Translators

  Seitentrenner 2

Social Translating: The Blog

Thomas Melle auf der SIBF Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/Yunsik Lim, Joonhee Kim

Blog - December 10, 2018
Thomas Melle at the Seoul International Book Fair 2018

There had already been many virtual meetings, but it finally happened in June 2018: Thomas Melle, author of “Die Welt im Rücken” (“The World at Your Back”) came to Seoul for the first time to discuss the Merck Social Translating Project. Learn more about his visit to the Seoul International Book Fair 2018 and his thoughts about the project.

More articles
The Social Translating Blog

Every day the translators meet in the digital forum on the Internet platform to go over their questions about specific parts of the text, share their impressions, and discuss cultural differences. The blog captures the voices of those involved and sheds light on what the digital forum is all about. The blog posts are available in German, English and Korean.


Partner


With support from

  Seitentrenner 3
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Aktuelles

Social Translating Podiumsdiskussion am Weltempfang Foto: Goethe-Institut/Markus Kirchgessner

Blog - 17. Dezember 2018
Das Merck Social Translating Projekt auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2018

„Man jongliert mit zwei Welten“ - ein Gespräch zwischen den Übersetzerinnen Anchalee Topeongpong (Bangkok) und Ashani Ranasinghe (Colombo) auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse am 13. Oktober 2018.

Thomas Melle auf der SIBF Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/Yunsik Lim, Joonhee Kim

Blog - 10. Dezember 2018
Thomas Melle auf der Seoul International Book Fair 2018

Virtuelle Begegnungen gab es bereits viele, doch im Juni 2018 war es endlich so weit: Thomas Melle, Autor von „Die Welt im Rücken“, kam zum ersten Mal nach Seoul, um über das Merck Social Translating Projekt zu diskutieren. Erfahren Sie mehr über seinen Besuch auf der Seoul International Book Fair 2018 und seine Gedanken zum Projekt.

Information über Übersetzungen © Foto: Goethe-Insitut/Loredana La Rocca

Übersetzungen
„Die Welt im Rücken“ Übersetzungen

Zehn Übersetzungen des Buches „Die Welt im Rücken“ in zehn verschiedene Sprachen Asiens. Daran haben die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer des „Merck Social Translating Projektes“ intensiv gearbeitet. Nun erscheinen die Übersetzungen in folgenden Sprachen: Chinesisch (Lang- und Kurzzeichen), Bengali, Japanisch, Koreanisch, Marathi, Mongolisch, Singhalesisch, Thai und Vietnamesisch. Auf dieser Seite finden Sie einen Überblick über aktuell veröffentlichte Übersetzungen.


Über das Merck Social Translating Projekt

Das Merck Social Translating Projekt erprobt eine neue soziale Praxis des literarischen Übersetzens.
Zehn Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer aus Asien übertragen einen deutschsprachigen Roman in ihre jeweiligen Landessprachen, treffen sich dabei in einem geschlossenen digitalen Raum und erarbeiten ihre Übersetzungen im Austausch untereinander sowie im engen Diskurs mit dem Autor.

Im Rahmen des Projektes wird erstmals eine E-Book-Plattform mit sozialen Funktionen genutzt: Sie erlaubt Randnotizen am Text eines E-Books und aufeinander aufbauende Kommentare der beteiligen Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer und des Autors. Für den ersten Social Translating Diskurs wurde „Die Welt im Rücken“ von Thomas Melle ausgewählt. Übersetzt wird der Roman in Bengali, Chinesisch (Langzeichen, Kurzzeichen), Japanisch, Koreanisch, Marathi, Mongolisch, Singhalesisch, Thai und Vietnamesisch. Die Übersetzungen und die Ergebnisse des Projektes werden 2018 auf den Podien Internationaler Buchmessen in Asien und auf der Frankfurter Buchmesse vorgestellt.
 
Das Merck Social Translating Projekt wurde vom Goethe-Institut Korea in Partnerschaft mit Merck Korea entwickelt.

Merck Logo 

  Seitentrenner 1

Thomas Melle: „Die Welt im Rücken“


Die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer

  Seitentrenner 2

Social Translating: der Blog

Thomas Melle auf der SIBF Foto: Goethe-Institut Korea/Yunsik Lim, Joonhee Kim

Blog - 10. Dezember 2018
Thomas Melle auf der Seoul International Book Fair 2018

Virtuelle Begegnungen gab es bereits viele, doch im Juni 2018 war es endlich so weit: Thomas Melle, Autor von „Die Welt im Rücken“, kam zum ersten Mal nach Seoul, um über das Merck Social Translating Projekt zu diskutieren. Erfahren Sie mehr über seinen Besuch auf der Seoul International Book Fair 2018 und seine Gedanken zum Projekt.

Social Translating Key Visual

Weitere Artikel
Social Translating: Der Blog

Täglich treffen sich die Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer im digitalen Forum auf der Internetplattform, um ihre Fragen zu einzelnen Textstellen zu klären, Eindrücke auszutauschen oder kulturelle Differenzen zu diskutieren. Der Blog fängt Stimmen der Akteure ein und beleuchtet, worum es im digitalen Forum geht. Die Einträge sind in deutscher, englischer und koreanischer Sprache verfügbar.


Partner


Mit Unterstützung von

  Seitentrenner 3
Top