Tuning In

Poster of the secret location gig © Katie Rochow

9th March 2018 - Wellington
In the audience

One of the best things about doing research on music-making in Wellington is that I “have to” go to numerous gigs, shows and musical festivities throughout the year. There is definitely no shortage of live music events

After the show: Großer Saal Musiktheater in Linz, Österreich © Imogen Thirlwall

9th March 2018 - Berlin
In the audience

Berlin offers an incredible volume of diverse live musical experiences. Proximity to other European countries opens even more opportunity. In my first visit to Austria, I attended a production of “La Damnation de Faust” in Linz

An example of phrases to use before your audition from “What The Fach?!” by Philip Shepard © Imogen Thirlwall

25th February 2018 - Berlin
Conversations/ Connections

Learning German while living in Germany has its challenges. At the core of immersion is making conversation, from everyday pleasantries to sharing ideas and hopes

The Moorings stage set up for a nautical theme party © Katie Rochow

25th February 2018 - Wellington
Conversations/ Connections

Moving to a new city means creating new social networks. When Katie arrived in Wellington to start her doctoral studies, she knew only a handful of people. A few years later, she was playing her own gig for her wider “musical family”

Oriental Parade Beach © Katie Rochow

19th January 2018 - Wellington
Festive times, festive places

Picnics with glow-worms, containers for live art, and a street party: Christmas is only the start of the festivities… 

December in Berlin © Imogen Thirlwall

16th December 2017 - Berlin
Learning curve

A first experience of collective music making in a foreign language

Books © Katie Rochow

16th December 2017 - Wellington
Learning curve

Learning how to teach – and teaching how to learn

Urban Exploration Photo 2 © Imogen Thirlwall

16th November 2017 - Berlin
Urban Exploration

Going off rail: exploring sites of German history 

Cuba Street © Katie Rochow

16th November 2017 - Wellington
Urban Exploration

Birdsong to buckets on Wellington’s streets...

The record player: at the heart of a home © Imogen Thirlwall

17th October 2017 - Berlin
Winds of change

Kiwi singer Imogen embraces the freedom of uncertainty...

“Solace of the Wind”, Wellington waterfront © Katie Rochow

17th October 2017 - Wellington
Winds of change

Katie looks for the sources of Wellington's creativity...

Our bloggers

Katie Rochow

Katie Rochow © Katie Rochow Originally from the South of Germany, Katie moved to Wellington in 2013 to do her PhD in Media Studies at Victoria University. Her dissertation “Sensing the City – Mapping the Beat” explores the socio-musical and spatial dynamics of music-making in Wellington and Copenhagen. At the moment, Katie works as a Teaching Assistant in the College of Creative Arts and in the School of English and Media Studies at Massey University in Wellington. Besides teaching, she loves to read, think, write, listen and play music from all over the world. During her travels she picked up some Swedish, Danish, French and Spanish but she mainly speaks and writes in English and German.

katierochow.com
 

Imogen Thirlwall

Imogen Thirlwall © Imogen Thirlwall As one of New Zealand's most versatile young sopranos, Imogen is known for her adventurous approach to modern repertoire and naughty maid character roles. She is a Freemasons New Zealand Opera Artist & Master of Music graduate from Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music. Driven to chase the dream of being a working singer, she recently relocated from Wellington to Berlin. After dabbling in foreign languages through vocal repertoire, Imogen is now learning German through immersion and study with the Goethe-Institut. 

www.imogenthirlwall.com

Tuning In

Lyall Bay on a sunny day © Katie Rochow

05. Juni 2018 - Wellington
Orte der Inspiration

„Nothing can beat Wellington on a sunny day” ist ein bekanntes, wenn auch etwas banales Sprichwort, das man in Wellington des Öfteren zu hören bekommt. Trotz der etwas schwammigen Bedeutung, kann jeder der einmal eine Zeit lang in Wellington gelebt hat nachvollziehen, was es mit dem Sprichwort auf sich hat.

Photo 1 © Imogen Thirlwall

05. Juni 2018 - Berlin
Inspirierende Orte

Wenn man mir vor ein paar Wochen erzählt hätte, dass ich mal in der Wartburg singen würde, jenem berühmten Schauplatz der Wagner-Oper „Tannhäuser”, hätte ich wohl nur ungläubig gelacht und das Ganze mit „yeah-nah“ oder einem ähnlichen bei uns in Neuseeland üblichen Ausdruck kommentiert. Aber dann kam der Anruf, der alles verändern sollte …

Home Economics Poster © Katie Rochow

26. April 2018 - Wellington
Hinter den Kulissen

Obwohl es in Wellington pro Kopf scheinbar mehr Cafés, Bars und Restaurants gibt als in New York City, findet ein Großteil Wellingtons blühenden (Ausgeh-) Kultur jedoch "hinter den Kulissen" statt...

Meininger Staatstheater © Imogen Thirlwall

26. April 2018 - Berlin
Hinter den Kulissen

In den vergangenen sechs Monaten hatte ich das Vergnügen, in Deutschland und Österreich für verschiedenste Zwecke vorsingen zu dürfen: Für Agenturen, Projekte, ein Opernstudio sowie für diverse Festanstellungen in Opernhäusern. Das Ambiente reichte dabei von einem winzigen mit Teppich ausgelegtem Mini-Zimmer bis zur Hauptbühne eines Opernhauses

Poster of the secret location gig © Katie Rochow

09. März 2018 - Wellington
Im Publikum

Zu einer der spannendsten Tätigkeiten meiner Promotion zählt das Erkunden der lokalen Musikszene, was bedeutet dass ich das ganze Jahr über zu zahlreichen Gigs, Shows und musikalischen Festivitäten gehen „muss”

Nach der Aufführung: Großer Saal des Musiktheaters in Linz, Österreich © Imogen Thirlwall

09. März 2018 - Berlin
Im Publikum

Berlin ist ein wahres Paradies für Freunde von Live-Musik aller Spielarten. Die Nähe zu anderen europäischen Ländern birgt für Musikliebhaber noch mehr Möglichkeiten. So konnte ich bei meinem ersten Besuch in Österreich eine Aufführung von „Fausts Verdamnis” („La Damnation de Faust”) in Linz erleben

Beispielsatz aus What The Fach?! von Philip Shepard, den man vor dem Vorsingen anwenden kann © Imogen Thirlwall

25. Februar 2018 - Berlin
Verbindungen

In Deutschland Deutsch zu lernen, ist nicht immer einfach. Wenn man richtig in die Sprache eintauchen will, muss man ständig sprechen, angefangen vom täglichen Small Talk bis hin zur Beschreibung seiner eigenen Hoffnungen und Wünsche

The Moorings Bühnen-set für eine Nautik-party © Katie Rochow

25. Februar 2018 - Wellington
Verbindungen

Der Umzug in eine neue Stadt bedeutet auch, dass man sich neue soziale Netzwerke aufbauen muss. Als Katie in Wellington ankam, um zu promovieren, kannte sie nur eine Hand voll Leute. Ein paar Jahre später gab sie ihr erstes Konzert für die „musikalische Familie“.

Oriental Parade Beach © Katie Rochow

19. Januar 2018 - Wellington
Festliche Zeiten, Festliche Orte

Picknick mit Glühwürmchen, Container-Kunst und Straßen Partys: Weihnachten ist nur der Anfang der Feierlichkeiten

Dezember in Berlin © Imogen Thirlwall

16. Dezember 2017 - Berlin
Lernerfahrung

Zum ersten Mal gemeinsam in einer fremden Sprache Musik machen

Bücher © Katie Rochow

16. Dezember 2017 - Wellington
Lernerfahrung

Lernen wie man lehrt – und lehren wie man lernt...

Urban Exploration Photo 2 © Imogen Thirlwall

16. November 2017 - Berlin
Urban Exploration

Zug um Zug neue Erfahrungen: Geschichtsträchtige Orte in Deutschland

Plattenspieler. Neue Saiten aufziehen © Imogen Thirlwall

17. Oktober 2017 - Berlin
Winds of change

Imogen freundet sich mit den Freiheiten an, die das Neue und Ungewisse mit sich bringen….

“Solace of the Wind”, Wellington © Katie Rochow

17. Oktober 2017 - Wellington
Winds of change

Katie auf der Suche nach den Quellen der Wellingtoner Kreativität…

Unsere Blogger

Katie Rochow

Katie Rochow © Katie Rochow Katie kommt ursprünglich aus Süddeutschland und zog 2013 nach Wellington um dort an der Victoria University in Media Studies zu promovieren. Ihre Dissertation Sensing the City – Mapping the Beat. A Rhythmanalysis of music-making in Wellington and Copenhagen erforscht die sozio-musikalischen und affektiven Dynamiken lokaler Musikszenen. Im Moment unterrichtet Katie Studenten des College of Creative Arts und der School of English and Media Studies an der Massey University in Wellington. Außer zu unterrichten, schreibt, liest und hört sie gerne Musik aus aller Welt. Während ihres Studiums und diversen Auslandsaufenthalten lernte Katie etwas Schwedisch, Dänisch, Spanisch und Französisch. Sie spricht und schreibt jedoch hauptsächlich auf Englisch und Deutsch. 

katierochow.com
 

Imogen Thirlwall

Imogen Thirlwall © Imogen Thirlwall Imogen ist eine von Neuseelands vielseitigsten jungen Sopranistinnen und ist bekannt für ihren experimentierfreudigen Zugang zu modernen Stücken sowie ihre Rollen als unartiges Dienstmädchen. Sie ist Ensemblemitglied der Freemasons New Zealand Oper und hat einen Master of Music an der Te Kōkī New Zealand School of Music absolviert. Mit dem Traum Berufssängerin zu werden, hat sie vor kurzem ihren Wohnsitz von Wellington nach Berlin verlegt. Nachdem Imogen sich durch ihr Gesangsrepertoire an anderen Sprachen versucht hat, taucht sie nun in die deutsche Sprache ein und lernt Deutsch am Goethe-Institut.

www.imogenthirlwall.com