Innovation Exchange Science Solutions in New Zealand and Germany

RV Sonne in Auckland
© Thomas Henzschel, German Embassy Wellington

Bionic joints, marine ecosystems, super-diversity: scientists from New Zealand and Germany are working together to find better answers to shared concerns. The science and technology cooperation agreement between the two countries began over forty years ago. New Zealand’s current coordinator of the initiative, physicist and atmospheric chemist Dave Lowe, explains how it works…

Why would two countries like New Zealand and Germany so far apart geographically, with quite different languages and cultures decide to work together in a science and research partnership? Intuitively you would think that such a relationship would be very unlikely and against all odds. However, the opposite is the case.

I’ve been active in the MBIE (NZ Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment) NZ/Germany science and innovation coordinator role since 2012. However, my adventure with Germany began many years earlier when I was a Masters student at Victoria University. Back then, I couldn’t speak a word of German, but I decided to apply for a German government scholarship to do a PhD in atmospheric chemistry at the University of Cologne. As soon as I was accepted on the programme, I enrolled on a German course.

PhD with added extras

The experimental work for my PhD was based at a giant German research facility in Jülich, a small town in the middle of sugar beet fields and surrounded by brown coal fired power plants about halfway between Cologne and Aachen. My interactions with my supervisor and fellow researchers were all in German, with many moments of hilarity as I built fluency in the language and gained an appreciation of German attitudes to work and fun.

Receiving my “Doktorhut” from the University of Cologne. This German custom involves your colleagues making a weird hat which is supposed to represent the subject of your PhD work. Irena and son Greg (born in Jülich) look on. Receiving my “Doktorhut” from the University of Cologne. This German custom involves your colleagues making a weird hat which is supposed to represent the subject of your PhD work. Irena and son Greg (born in Jülich) look on. | © Dave Lowe For a Kiwi like me it was a life-changing experience. My wife and I had four wonderful years in Jülich, and at the end of my scholarship I had gained not only a PhD but also two children born in Germany – as well as an enduring affinity with the country, its language and people.

Later, my career in atmospheric science took me to the USA as well as back to Germany and New Zealand. The experience of working in different research cultures – and particularly my first-hand understanding of research in Germany – proved to be an ideal background when I started as coordinator of the science and innovation relationship between New Zealand and Germany.

Excellence on both sides

To act effectively in the role from the New Zealand side, I needed in-depth knowledge of the strengths of the New Zealand and German science systems. One key to this has been looking for excellence in both countries and areas where groups might work together to produce work of mutual benefit.

All of this must be underpinned by suitable research funding and an important part of the role is liaising with funding agencies. In Germany these are mostly located in Bonn and include the Alexander von Humboldt foundation, the German Research Council (Deutscheforschungsgemeinschaft or DfG) and the Federal Ministry for Education and Research.

In New Zealand most funding for science projects comes from MBIE and I work on their behalf. I also work closely with the New Zealand embassy in Berlin and the German embassy in Wellington. Both embassies are incredibly supportive of the science bilateral between the countries.

German research vessel, the RV Sonne, in Auckland harbour after a research voyage to the Kermadec trench region north of New Zealand in January 2017. German research vessel, the RV Sonne, in Auckland harbour after a research voyage to the Kermadec trench region north of New Zealand in January 2017. | © Thomas Henzschel, German Embassy Wellington Many projects involve education and the DfG has developed a superb PhD graduate school concept. One such school is INTERCOAST, which has been running in Tauranga for eight years as a joint project between the Universities of Bremen and Waikato. It focuses on marine coastal science involving aspects of climate change, environmental law, aquaculture and coastal marine studies. The programme requires students to live and study in each other’s countries for several months each year. In the INTERCOAST case this has been incredibly successful with fifty-seven PhD graduates (about half from each country) so far. These highly motivated and talented young people are now in the workforce and contributing to improving environmental, social and economic conditions in both countries.

German INTERCOAST student sampling trace elements in seawater from Tauranga harbour German INTERCOAST student sampling trace elements in seawater from Tauranga harbour | © Karin Bryan, University of Waikato A second graduate school began this year as a joint project between the Universities of Auckland and Stuttgart in the field of “soft tissue robotics” or medical robotics. Already the researchers have developed a prototype of a remarkable bionic arm brace which will be used for injury prevention in the work place as well as patient rehabilitation. The brace is worn over the arm and elbow, and prevents the user from overexertion during heavy lifting in factories for example.



Scientist (and Chancellor) Dr Angela Merkel

One of the highlights during my time as science coordinator was a visit in 2014 by the German chancellor, Angela Merkel, to the University of Auckland. The chancellor has a PhD in physical chemistry, knows about the long-standing science relationship, and specifically asked to meet with young New Zealand scientists and students. You can imagine the lasting impact this had on these young people. New Zealand is viewed very favourably in Germany and the science linkages have helped cement a relationship built on trust and respect between the countries.

Science Success Stories

40 years of NZ-Germany science cooperation Logo © MBIE 2017 marked forty years since the German and New Zealand governments signed an agreement to cooperate in joint scientific and technical research. During that period there have been literally thousands of successful projects ranging from one-on-one scientist exchange visits to multi-million dollar ventures. The projects have covered all disciplines, not only in physical and natural sciences but also in social science. One example of the latter is a joint project between Massey University and the Max Planck institute showing the benefits of “super-diversity” generated by migrants to Germany and New Zealand.

The forty years of science cooperation were celebrated at events in both countries. At a ‘New Zealand Day’ in October I gave a keynote speech in German to scientists and dignitaries from all over Germany. This level of fluency in the language has been essential throughout my role: it is expected by our German colleagues and leads to enhanced communication between the science ministries of both countries.

German scientists are interested in New Zealand for many reasons, including its location and environment. Baring Head atmospheric trace gas sampling station has developed into a globally recognized site for science, with many German researchers visiting the station. German scientists are interested in New Zealand for many reasons, including its location and environment. Baring Head atmospheric trace gas sampling station has developed into a globally recognized site for science, with many German researchers visiting the station. | © Dave Lowe The successful relationship between New Zealand and Germany is no accident. It is built on a lot of features and values shared by both countries. We live in a difficult world facing climate change, energy supply, security, economic and health issues. Both the New Zealand and German governments are committed to investment in science and innovation as an effective way of tackling pressing problems and building bridges between countries.

Innovationsaustausch Wissenschaftliche Forschung in Neuseeland und Deutschland

RV Sonne in Auckland
© Thomas Henzschel, German Embassy Wellington

Bionische Gelenke, Meeresökosysteme, Superdiversität: Um bessere Lösungen für gemeinsame Belange zu finden, arbeiten Wissenschaftler aus Neuseeland und Deutschland zusammen. Die Vereinbarung über eine wissenschaftliche und technologische Kooperation zwischen den beiden Ländern ist schon über 40 Jahre alt. Wie die Zusammenarbeit funktioniert, erklärt der derzeitige Koordinator der Initiative in Neuseeland Dave Lowe.

Warum, so mag man sich fragen, sollten Neuseeland und Deutschland, die geographisch so weit voneinander entfernt sind und ganz unterschiedliche sprachliche und kulturelle Hintergründe haben, eine Partnerschaft in Sachen Wissenschaft und Forschung eingehen? Auf den ersten Blick scheint eine solche Verbindung ungewöhnlich und wenig sinnvoll. Doch das genaue Gegenteil ist der Fall.

Ich bin seit 2012 neuseeländisch-deutscher Koordinator für Wissenschaft und Innovation beim MBIE (das neuseeländische Ministerium für Wirtschaft, Innovation und Arbeit). Das Abenteuer Deutschland begann jedoch schon einige Jahre früher, als ich Masterstudent an der Victoria University war. Damals sprach ich kein Wort Deutsch, habe mich aber trotzdem entschieden, mich für ein Doktorandenstipendium der Bundesregierung für Atmosphärische Chemie an der Universität Köln zu bewerben. Nachdem ich dort einen Platz bekommen hatte, habe ich mich sofort für einen Deutschkurs angemeldet.

Doktortitel mit kleinen Extras

Die Versuche für meine Doktorarbeit habe ich dann in einer riesigen Forschungseinrichtung in Jülich, einer kleinen Stadt zwischen Köln und Aachen, inmitten von Zuckerrübenfeldern und Braunkohlekraftwerken, durchgeführt. Mit dem wissenschaftlicher Betreuer und den anderen Forschenden habe ich dabei ausschließlich auf Deutsch kommuniziert, und mein Weg zur völligen Beherrschung der Sprache war mit vielen lustigen Momenten gepflastert. Auch die Einstellung der Deutschen zu Arbeit und Spaß habe ich hier kennen- und schätzen gelernt.

Hier bekomme ich gerade meinen „Doktorhut“ – hier war es Tradition, dass die Kollegen einem einen verrückten Hut in Anlehnung an das Thema der Doktorarbeit bastelten. Irena und unser in Jülich geborener Sohn Greg schauen auch zu. Hier bekomme ich gerade meinen „Doktorhut“ – hier war es Tradition, dass die Kollegen einem einen verrückten Hut in Anlehnung an das Thema der Doktorarbeit bastelten. Irena und unser in Jülich geborener Sohn Greg schauen auch zu. | © Dave Lowe Für mich als Kiwi hat diese Erfahrung mein Leben verändert. Meine Frau und ich haben vier wunderbare Jahre in Jülich verbracht, und nach Ablauf meines Stipendiums hatte ich nicht nur einen Doktortitel, sondern auch zwei in Deutschland zur Welt gekommene Kinder, von der heute noch andauernden Liebe zu Land, Leuten und Sprache ganz zu schweigen.

Danach hat mich meine Karriere in Atmosphärenwissenschaften wieder zurück in die USA, aber auch wieder nach Deutschland und Neuseeland geführt. Die Tatsache, dass ich bereits verschiedene Forschungskulturen kennengelernt hatte und vor allem mit der deutschen Forschungswelt so vertraut war, war die idealen Voraussetzung für meine Tätigkeit als Koordinator im Bereich Wissenschaft und Innovation bei der neuseeländisch-deutschen Zusammenarbeit.

Kompetenz auf beiden Seiten

Um von Neuseeland aus effektiv arbeiten zu können, musste ich die Stärken des wissenschaftlichen Arbeitens in Neuseeland und Deutschland genau kennen. Eine der wichtigsten Voraussetzungen dafür war es, in beiden Ländern kompetente Partner ausfindig zu machen und Zusammenarbeiten zu initiieren, von denen beide Seiten profitieren.

Das alles muss von Forschungsgeldern getragen werden. Dazu muss man sich mit den richtigen Partnern zusammenschließen, die diese Projekte finanzieren. In Deutschland sind diese vor allem in Bonn ansässig, etwa die Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung, die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In Neuseeland werden wissenschaftliche Projekte meist vom MBIE finanziert, für das ich tätig bin. Ich arbeite auch eng mit der neuseeländischen Botschaft in Berlin und der deutschen Botschaft in Wellington zusammen. Beide sind sehr um den wissenschaftlichen Austausch zwischen den beiden Ländern bemüht.

Die RV Sonne im Hafen von Auckland nach einer Forschungsreise zum Kermadecgraben nördlich von Neuseeland im Januar 2017. Die RV Sonne im Hafen von Auckland nach einer Forschungsreise zum Kermadecgraben nördlich von Neuseeland im Januar 2017. | © Thomas Henzschel, German Embassy Wellington Viele Projekte werden zu Lehrzwecken durchgeführt und die DFG hat ein hervorragendes Graduiertenkolleg entwickelt. Eine dieser Einrichtungen ist INTERCOAST. Das gemeinsame Projekt der Universitäten Bremen und Waikato in Tauranga läuft nun schon seit acht Jahren. Der Hauptschwerpunkt liegt auf der Erforschung der Meeresküste. Dabei geht es etwa um verschiedene Aspekte des Klimawandels, Umweltrecht, Aquakultur und der Küsten- und Meeresforschung. Studierende, die an dem Programm teilnehmen, müssen jedes Jahr einige Monate im jeweils anderen Land leben und studieren.

Im Fall von INTERCOAST ist dieses Konzept ein Riesenerfolg, bei dem bislang 57 Teilnehmer (rund die Hälfte aus jedem Land) ihren Doktortitel gemacht haben Diese hochmotivierten und kompetenten jungen Leute leisten nun ihren Beitrag, um in beiden Ländern den Umweltschutz zu fördern und die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen zu verbessern.

Ein deutscher Teilnehmer des INTERCOAST Studienprogramms nimmt im Hafen von Tauranga Proben von Spurenelementen Ein deutscher Teilnehmer des INTERCOAST Studienprogramms nimmt im Hafen von Tauranga Proben von Spurenelementen | © Karin Bryan, University of Waikato Und noch ein weiteres Graduiertenkolleg ist in diesem Jahr gestartet: Die Universitäten Auckland und Stuttgart haben im Bereich der sogenannten Soft Tissue Robotics bzw. medizinischer Robotertechnik (also Roboter, die mit weichen Materialien interagieren) ein gemeinsames Projekt initiiert. Das Forscherteam hat bereits einen Prototypen einer innovativen bionischen Armstütze entwickelt, die zur Unfallvermeidung am Arbeitsplatz oder auch zur Patientenrehabilitation eingesetzt werden wird. Die Stütze, die über Arm und Ellenbogen getragen wird, soll etwa beim Heben von schweren Gegenständen vor Überanstrengung schützen.



Wissenschaftlerin (und Kanzlerin) Dr. Angela Merkel

Eines meiner Highlights während meiner Zeit als wissenschaftlicher Koordinator war der Besuch der deutschen Bundeskanzlerin Angela Merkel, die 2014 die Universität Auckland besuchte. Die Kanzlerin, die selbst einen Doktortitel in Physikalischer Chemie hat und um die langjährigen Forschungsbeziehungen zwischen beiden Ländern weiß, hatte explizit um ein Treffen mit jungen Menschen, die in Neuseeland im Bereich Forschung tätig sind bzw. hier studieren, gebeten. Sie können sich vorstellen, dass diese Begegnung bei den jungen Leuten einen bleibenden Eindruck hinterlassen hat.

Erfolge aus der Welt der Wissenschaft

40 years of NZ-Germany science cooperation Logo © MBIE 2017 feierte die Vereinbarung zwischen den Regierungen Deutschlands und Neuseelands über eine Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Wissenschaft und technischer Forschung ihren 40. Jahrestag. Diese vier Jahrzehnte haben tausende Beispiele erfolgreicher Kooperation hervorgebracht, angefangen vom Austausch einzelner Wissenschaftler bis hin zu millionenschweren Forschungsprojekten. Die Projekte waren in den verschiedensten Bereichen angesiedelt. So wurde nicht nur auf dem Gebiet der Physik und Naturwissenschaft geforscht, auch die Sozialwissenschaft stand auf dem Plan, etwa in Form eines gemeinsamen Projekts der Massey University und dem Max Planck Institut, das die positiven Auswirkungen der Superdiversität untersucht hat, die durch Migration nach Deutschland und Neuseeland entstanden ist.

Das 40. Jubiläum feiert man in beiden Ländern mit diversen Veranstaltungen. Zum Neuseelandtag im Oktober habe ich vor Wissenschaftlern und Würdenträgern eine programmatische Rede aus ganz Deutschland gehalten – auf Deutsch. Meine Sprachkompetenz war stets der Schlüssel zu meiner Funktion: Unsere deutschen Kollegen wissen es sehr zu schätzen, dass man die Sprache beherrscht, und diese Fähigkeit vereinfacht die Kommunikation zwischen den wissenschaftlichen Ministerien beider Länder enorm.

Es gibt viele Gründe, warum sich deutsche Wissenschaftler für Neuseeland interessieren, etwa die Lage oder die Umwelt des Landes. Die Forschungsstätte Baring Head etwa hat sich zu einem international renommierten Institut im Bereich atmosphärischer Spurenstoffe entwickelt, das auch von vielen deutschen Wissenschaftlern besucht wird. Es gibt viele Gründe, warum sich deutsche Wissenschaftler für Neuseeland interessieren, etwa die Lage oder die Umwelt des Landes. Die Forschungsstätte Baring Head etwa hat sich zu einem international renommierten Institut im Bereich atmosphärischer Spurenstoffe entwickelt, das auch von vielen deutschen Wissenschaftlern besucht wird. | © Dave Lowe Die erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Neuseeland und Deutschland ist kein Zufall: Sie fußt auf vielen Ähnlichkeiten und gemeinsamen Werten. Unsere Welt steht vor vielen Herausforderungen: Klimawandel, Energieversorgung, Sicherheit, Wirtschaftskrisen, Krankheiten. Sowohl die neuseeländische als auch die deutsche Regierung haben verstanden, dass man in Wissenschaft und Innovation investieren muss, wenn man diese dringenden Probleme effektiv angehen und eine Brücke zwischen verschiedenen Ländern bauen will.