Film screening: Exile - Goethe-Institut
Film screening

Exile

Exile © Komplizen Film
© Komplizen Film

10/30-11/1/2020

Online

Details

Language: German and Albanian with English subtitles
Price: Free
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Registration required

Related links

Register
The German Film Office brings back the Goethe-Institut’s popular German Movie Nights series with an encore screening of the film Exile by Visar Morina. If you missed our Brooklyn Drive-in screening, you can now register to watch the film online between October 30 and November 1. Access will be limited to viewers logging in from New York state. 

Every month, our German Movie Nights will bring a notable film from Germany to a broad audience. The selection will range from box office hits and international co-productions to films lesser-known to US audiences.

First, there’s a dead rat hanging on the door of the house where Xhafer lives with his wife and children. Then his colleagues “accidentally” no longer receive his emails. The signs that the pharmaceutical engineer is being bullied and harassed in his workplace are increasing. Though neither his wife nor his colleagues seem to believe him, this man, who is originally from Kosovo but has built an existence in Germany, feels more and more outcast from his community. Or is he losing touch with reality?

In his second feature-length film, director Visar Morina dissects the psychological effects of social exclusion and presents them here as an interplay between belonging and alienation. Combining subtle images that gradually shift according to his protagonist’s state of mind with meticulous performances from his extraordinary cast, Morina shows how personality can shape the experience of immigration, and how quickly cracks can develop in even the most stable of identities.

Exil
Dir. Visar Morina
With Mišel Matičević, Sandra Hüller, Rainer Bock, Thomas Mraz
Germany/Belgium/Kosovo, 2020
121 minutes

Filmvorführung: Exil - Goethe-Institut
Filmvorführung

Exil

Exil © Komplizen Film
© Komplizen Film

30.10.-1.11.2020

Online

Details

Sprache: Deutsch und Albanisch mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kostenlos
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
Das German Film Office freut sich, die beliebte German Movie Nights-Reihe des Goethe-Instituts mit einer zusätzlichen Vorführung des Films Exil von Visar Morina wieder aufzunehmen. Wenn Sie unsere Vorführung im Brooklyn Drive-In verpasst haben, können Sie sich jetzt anmelden, um den Film zwischen 30. Oktober und 1. November online anzuschauen. Die Teilnahme ist auf Zuschauer*innen im Bundestaat New York begrenzt.

Einmal im Monat werden unsere German Movie Nights einen bedeutenden Film aus Deutschland einem breiten Publikum vorstellen. Die Auswahl wird von Kassenschlagern und internationalen Koproduktionen zu dem amerikanischen Publikum weniger bekannten Filmen reichen.

Erst hängt eine tote Ratte an der Tür des Hauses, in dem Xhafer mit seiner Frau und den Kindern lebt. Dann kommen Mails „versehentlich“ nicht an. Die Anzeichen, dass der Pharmaingenieur an seinem Arbeitsplatz gemobbt und schikaniert wird, mehren sich. Und auch wenn weder seine Frau noch seine Kolleg*innen ihm Glauben zu schenken scheinen, fühlt sich der aus dem Kosovo stammende, seit Jahren in Deutschland lebende Mann immer stärker ausgestoßen. Oder verliert er den Bezug zur Realität?

In seinem zweiten Langfilm seziert Regisseur Visar Morina die psychische Wirkung sozialer Ausgrenzung und inszeniert sie als Wechselspiel von Zugehörigkeit und Entfremdung. In subtilen, sich mit dem Zustand seines Protagonisten nach und nach verändernden Bildern und mit präzise agierenden Hauptdarsteller*innen zeigt Morina, welche Rolle Persönlichkeit bei der Integration in eine andere Gesellschaft spielt, und wie schnell ein vermeintlich stabiles Identitätsgerüst Risse bekommen kann.

Exil
Regie: Visar Morina
Mit Mišel Matičević, Sandra Hüller, Rainer Bock, Thomas Mraz
Deutschland/Belgien/Kosovo 2020
121 Minuten