Panel discussion: The Beauty of Immersion: Past, Present + Future of Cinema - Goethe-Institut
Panel discussion

The Beauty of Immersion: Past, Present + Future of Cinema

The Beauty of Immersion: Past, Present + Future of Cinema

Friday, May 28th, 10 am PT |1 pm ET | 7 pm CET

Online

Details

Language: English
Registration required

Related links

For the past year, we have very much missed experiencing a film in an actual movie theater. This theatrical space of the cinema is a space that allows us to escape from everyday life. It’s a place where we can laugh out loud, cry in public without any shame, suffer by proxy, experience joy, and where we can forget ourselves. It’s a place to build relationships with our neighbors (who always seem to be sitting way too close by) even without talking to them. All of this can potentially happen to us within a film’s duration of 90 minutes or more.
But what exactly are the elements constituting that “ribbon of dreams” (Orson Welles) that make the cinematic experience so very special?

The panel discussion seeks to investigate this question by focusing on the cinema as a place of representation and reception that is deeply rooted in our cultural histories. What are the new forms of cinematic storytelling? What role does the immersive experience play, more and more driven, as it is, by various new technologies? And what role does cinema and a shared cinematic experience play for the community?

Panelists:

Prof. Dr. Lisa Gotto Courtesy of Lisa Gotto Lisa Gotto is Professor of Film Theory at the University of Vienna. Her research in cinema and digital media focuses on film culture and film aesthetics over a variety of historical periods, including transformative processes in audience agency, moving image culture between cinema and post cinema, and interaction and immersion in digital media environments. She is co-editor of Bild und Bit. Visualität in der digitalen Medienkultur (2012), New Game Plus. Perspektiven der Game Studies. Genres – Künste – Diskurse (2015), Filmische Moderne. 60 Fragmente (2019), Hollywood im Zeitalter des Post Cinema. Eine kritische Bestandsaufnahme (2020). Her book Passing and Posing between Black and White. Calibrating the Color Line in U.S. American Cinema is forthcoming.

Nim Shapira Courtesy of Nim Shapira Nim Shapira is a filmmaker, artist, and creative director working at the intersection of storytelling and technological innovation. His work spans a spectrum of the moving image, from traditional ‘linear’ filmmaking to virtual-reality experiences. He won Webby, Addy, Clio & Lovie awards for his films, digital campaigns, commercials, interactive experiences, and XR projects. As an XR filmmaker, Nim is dedicated to creating a positive social impact in the world. His work revolves around questions of humanism, communication, and compassion. His first VR experience ‘Bystanding’, will world premiere at the 2021 Tribeca Film Festival. Nim is a 2021 fellow at the MIT Open Documentary Lab (ODL). He is a 2020 alumni of NEWINC and a graduate of the La Biennale Di Venezia’s College Cinema for VR.

Rana San Courtesy of Rana San Rana San is an artist and curator whose creative practice melds dreamwork, written word, embodied movement, video poetry, and analog photography. She uses experimental modes of visual storytelling to examine intimacy and interdependence as spiritual tools for survival. In community, Rana crafts collective experiences that celebrate the work of independent artists and activists who center emergent practices in moving image media and contemporary performing arts. As the Artistic Director at Northwest Film Forum, Rana co-curates year-round community programming, including ByDesign Festival, Cadence: Video Poetry Festival, and Local Sightings Film Festival. Her engagement as a co-curator for Yellow Fish Festival VI, a long form inquiry into durational performance art as a means to support methods of staying alive in our present times, is culminating with live performances in New York this month.

Arlin Golden Courtesy of Arlin Golden Arlin Golden is an all-around film person living and working in the Bay Area. He rarely dreams, but the most frequent ones are the ones where it's finals and he hasn't been to class all semester. He hopes one day that the world recognizes the many values of the siesta system. Arlin Golden received his BA in Film Studies in 2010, is a documentary distributor and filmmaker, and runs Drunken Film Fest Oakland which has been voted 2019's Best New Cultural Event by East Bay Express readers.

The panel discussion is a collaboration between the Goethe-Institut San Francisco, the Goethe Pop Up Seattle and the German Film Office.

Podiumsdiskussion: Die Faszination des Immersiven: Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft des Kinos - Goethe-Institut
Podiumsdiskussion

Die Faszination des Immersiven: Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft des Kinos

Die Faszination des Immersiven: Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft des Kinos

28.05.21
10 Uhr PT |13 Uhr ET | 19 Uhr CET

Online

Details

Sprache: Englisch
Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Im vergangenen Jahr haben wir das Filmerlebnis im Kinosaal vermisst. Der theatralische Raum des Kinos ist ein Ort, der uns die Flucht vom alltäglichen Leben ermöglicht. Es ist ein Raum, in dem wir laut lachen, vor Anderen ohne Scham weinen, mitfühlen, uns freuen und in dem wir vergessen können, wer wir sind. Das Kino ist ein Ort, in dem wir Beziehungen zu unseren Nachbar*innen (deren physische Nähe mitunter irritierend wirkt) aufbauen, auch wenn wir uns nicht mit ihnen unterhalten. All das kann uns innerhalb der 90 Minuten oder mehr widerfahren. Aber was zeichnet die Kinoerfahrung im Detail aus? Was macht dieses „ribbon of dreams“, als welches Orson Welles das Kino beschreibt, so besonders?

Die Paneldiskussion will dieser Frage nachgehen, indem sie das Kino als einen Ort der Repräsentation und Rezeption in den Mittelpunkt stellt, der tief in unserer Kulturgeschichte verwurzelt ist. Was sind neue Formen filmischen Erzählens? Welche Rolle spielt das immersive Erlebnis, das durch die verschiedenen neuen Technologien weiter verstärkt wird? Und welche Rolle spielt das Kino als Begegnungsort und Ort des gemeinsamen Kinoerlebnisses für die Community?  

Diskussionsteilnehmer*innen:

Prof. Dr. Lisa Gotto Courtesy of Lisa Gotto Lisa Gotto ist Professorin für Filmtheorie an der Universität Wien. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt im Bereich Kino und digitale Medien liegt auf Theorie, Geschichte und Ästhetik des Films, wobei sie in ihren Studien auch transformative Prozesse in der Audience Agency, der Bewegtbildkultur zwischen Kino und Post-Kino sowie Interaktion und Immersion in digitalen Medienumgebungen mit einbezieht. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin von Bild und Bit. Visualität in der digitalen Medienkultur (2012), New Game Plus. Perspektiven der Game Studies. Genres – Künste – Diskurse (2015), Filmische Moderne. 60 Fragmente (2019), Hollywood im Zeitalter des Post Cinema. Eine kritische Bestandsaufnahme (2020). Ihre Monografie Passing and Posing in Black and White. Calibrating the Color Line in U.S. American Cinema wird demnächst erscheinen.  

Nim Shapira Courtesy of Nim Shapira Nim Shapira ist Filmemacher, Künstler, und Creative Director. Seine Arbeiten lassen sich an der Schnittstelle von Storytelling und technologischer Innovation verorten. Sein Werk umfasst ein breites Spektrum des Bewegtbildes: von  traditionell linearem Formen des filmischen Erzählens bis hin zu  VR. Für seine Filme, Kampagnen im Digitalen, Werbespots, interaktiven Arbeiten und XR-Projekte hat er bereits Webby, Addy, Clio & Lovie Awards gewonnen.  Als XR-Filmemacher behandelt Nim gesellschaftlich relevante Themen. Sein Werk befasst sich mit Fragen des Humanismus, der Kommunikation und des Mitgefühls. Seine erstes VR-Erlebnis “Bystanding„ wird 2021 auf dem Tribeca Film Festival Weltpremiere feiern. Nim ist 2021 Stipendiat am MIT Open Documentary Lab (ODL), ein  2020 Alumni am NEWINC, und Absolvent des La Biennale Di Venezia’s College Cinema for VR. 

Rana San Courtesy of Rana San Rana San ist Künstlerin und Kuratorin, deren kreative Praxis das Verschmelzen von Traumarbeit, geschriebenem Wort, verkörperter Bewegung, Video-Poesie und analoger Fotografie Arbeit innewohnt. Sie nutzt experimentelle Formen der visuellen Erzählkunst, um Intimität und Interdependenz als spirituelle Werkzeuge des Überlebens zu untersuchen. In der Gemeinschaft schafft Rana kollektive Erfahrungen, die die Arbeit unabhängiger Künstler*innen und Aktivist*innen feiern, die neue Verfahren des Bewegtbildes und der zeitgenössischen darstellenden Kunst in den Mittelpunkt stellen. Als künstlerische Leiterin des  Northwest Film Forums ko-kuratiert Rana u.a. das ByDesign Festival, das Cadence: Video Poetry Festival, und das Local Sightings Film Festival. Ihre Tätigkeit als Ko-Kuratorin für das Yellow Fish Festival VI, eine Langzeituntersuchung der Performancekunst als Mittel zur Unterstützung von Methoden, in unserer heutigen Zeit am Leben zu bleiben, feiert diesen Monat mit Live-Performances in New York ihren Höhepunkt.   

Arlin Golden Courtesy of Arlin Golden Arlin Golden ist ein Allround-Filmmensch und lebt und arbeitet in der Gray Area. Er träumt sehr selten. Wenn er aber träumt, dann träumt er kurz vor einer Abschlussprüfung zu stehen und das gesamte Semester über nicht an der Uni gewesen zu sein. Er hofft, dass die Welt eines Tages die vielen Vorteile der Siesta erkennt. Arlin Goldin erhielt 2010 seinen Bachelor in Filmwissenschaften, ist Dokumentarfilmemacher und -verleiher. Er leitet darüber hinaus das Drunken Film Festival in Oakland, das von den Leser*innen des East Bay Express zum besten neuen Kulturevent des Jahres 2019 gewählt wurde.  

Die Paneldiskussion ist eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem  Goethe-Institut San Francisco, dem Goethe Pop Up Seattle und dem German Film Office