Film festival: NewFest - Goethe-Institut
Film festival

NewFest

Bliss

10/15–10/26/2021

Online & in person

SVA Theater, 333 West 23rd Street
New York, NY 10011

Details

Language: With English subtitles
Price: Theater $18, streaming $14
gfo-newyork@goethe.de

Related links

33rd New York LGBTQ+ Film Festival

Founded in 1988 in direct response to the AIDS crisis, the New York LGBTQ+ Film Festival has been a tentpole of NYC’s queer cultural scene for decades. Join its 33rd annual edition in person throughout New York or stream it nationwide.

The German Film Office is pleased to co-present Henrike Kull’s Bliss, a Panorama section favorite at this year’s Berlinale. It screens at the SVA Theater on October 16, 8pm with the director in person, and online throughout the festival. The tender feature debut Boy Meets Boy by Daniel Sánchez López is online only.

Email us at gfo-newyork@goethe.de for a chance to win an All Access Virtual Pass to the festival! Use code GOETHE21 for $2 off tickets to Bliss and Boy Meets Boy.

Henrike Kull, Bliss (Germany, 2021, 90 min.)
Two sex workers bond while working at a Berlin brothel in director Henrika Kull’s perceptive character study. Wielding vastly different temperaments, Sascha and new-hire Maria navigate the economic pressures of the job and their growing affection for one another.

Brimming with refreshing candor, Bliss offers a sober depiction of sex work to unravel a drama of unparalleled intensity.

With Katharina Behrens, Adam Hoya

Buy tickets

Daniel Sánchez López, Boy Meets Boy (Germany, 2021, 70 min.)
Harry has been partying for 48 hours when he meets Johannes on the dance floor of a club in Berlin. With 15 hours left until Harry’s flight back to London, Johannes offers to help him print his boarding pass, a mundane task that leads to a day wandering the city together. The contrasts in their lives and values force them to confront their own truths in this naturalistic romance.

Calling to mind a queer Before Sunrise, this tender feature debut from Daniel Sánchez López tracks the journey of a brief encounter and the mark left by fleeting moments of joy.

With Alexandros Koutsoulis, Matthew James Morrison

Buy tickets

Filmfestival

NewFest: 33rd New York LGBTQ+ Film Festival

Bliss

15.–26.10.2021

Online & im Kino

SVA Theater, 333 West 23rd Street
New York, NY 10011

Details

Sprache: Mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kino $18, Streaming $14
gfo-newyork@goethe.de

Links zum Thema

Das New York LGBTQ+ Film Festival wurde 1988 als direkte Reaktion auf die AIDS-Krise gegründet und ist seit Jahrzehnten ein fester Bestandteil der queeren Kulturszene von New York. Die 33. jährliche Ausgabe des Festivals können Sie in New Yorker Kinos erleben oder landesweit streamen.

Das German Film Office freut sich, Henrike Kulls Film Bliss, einen der Favoriten der Panoramasektion der diesjährigen Berlinale, zu präsentieren. Der Film wird am 16. Oktober um 20 Uhr im SVA Theater in Anwesenheit der Regisseurin gezeigt und ist während des gesamten Festivals auch online verfügbar. Das zarte Spielfilmdebüt Boy Meets Boy von Daniel Sánchez López ist nur online zu sehen.

Schicken Sie uns eine E-Mail an gfo-newyork@goethe.de und gewinnen Sie einen virtuellen All Access Pass für das Festival! Für $2 Rabatt auf Tickets für Bliss und Boy Meets Boy verwenden Sie den Code GOETHE21.

Henrike Kull, Bliss (Deutschland 2021, 90 Min.)
In der einfühlsamen Charakterstudie von Regisseurin Henrika Kull lernen sich zwei Sexarbeiterinnen während ihrer Arbeit in einem Berliner Bordell kennen. Mit sehr unterschiedlichen Temperamenten meistern Sascha und die neue Mitarbeiterin Maria den wirtschaftlichen Druck des Jobs und ihre wachsende Zuneigung füreinander.

Voller erfrischender Offenheit bietet Bliss eine nüchterne Darstellung der Sexarbeit, um ein Drama von unvergleichlicher Intensität zu entschlüsseln.

Mit Katharina Behrens, Adam Hoya

Kartenvorverkauf

Daniel Sánchez López, Boy Meets Boy (Deutschland 2021, 70 Min.)
Harry hat 48 Stunden lang gefeiert, als er Johannes auf der Tanzfläche eines Berliner Clubs trifft. 15 Stunden vor Harrys Rückflug nach London bietet Johannes ihm an, ihm beim Ausdrucken seiner Bordkarte zu helfen. Die Gegensätze in ihren Leben und Wertvorstellungen zwingen sie dazu, sich mit ihren eigenen Wahrheiten auseinanderzusetzen.

Dieses zärtliche Spielfilmdebüt von Daniel Sánchez López erinnert an ein queeres Before Sunrise und zeigt die Erfahrung einer kurzen Begegnung und die Spuren, die flüchtige Augenblicke der Freude hinterlassen.

Mit Alexandros Koutsoulis, Matthew James Morrison

Kartenvorverkauf