Contest: Youth 4 German Cinema

26th Berlin & Beyond Film Festival - Youth 4 German Cinema © Barak Shrama
Youth 4 German Cinema

Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) takes high-school students backstage for a glimpse into the workings of the international film festival Berlin & Beyond. In doing so, students are introduced to the German language cinema landscape and learn about filmmaking, film criticism and international films as a whole. 

Chosen from a pool of applications from across the US, Canada and Central America, Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) allows select high-school students to participate in and to go behind the scenes of an international film festival; to meet industry professionals; to participate in artistic workshops; and to increase their cross-cultural awareness. Finally, they also help select the two winning films which are screened at the festival for hundreds of visiting students from across the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.

Youth 4 German Cinema 2022 – it’s a wrap!

The eighth season of Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) was another big success! Organized by the Goethe-Institut San Francisco’s Language Department, Berlin & Beyond Film Festival and the North American youth portal Step Into German, this special program brings together young film enthusiasts in vivid appreciation of German cinema, language, and culture.

This year’s winners of Youth 4 German Cinema Y4GC) received an all-access experience to the festival, including a walk on the red carpet on the Opening Night, the introduction of their film selection, a Q&A session with the lead actor of “Wet Dog”, Doguhan Kabadayi, and the participation in a film workshop with filmmaker Liz Anderson.

We thank you for the numerous and interesting applications. Congratulations to:

Geraldine Nadia Clausen Garcia from Mexico; Jason Alexander Dement from Ohio, USA; Aubrey Belcher from Missouri, USA; and Nandita Suri from Georgia, USA.

The 2022 Youth 4 German Cinema Y4GC) jury chose Barbara Kronenberg’s feature directorial debut “Mission Ulja Funk” as this year’s winning film. It’s a film about 12 year-old astronomy lover Ulja who, after her deeply religious grandmother prevents her from following her passion, steals the family hearse to go on a road trip through Eastern Europe to watch the impact of an asteroid.

Damir Lukacevic’s “Wet Dog” (“Ein nasser Hund”) garnered the jury’s runner-up award. Based on Arye Sharuz Shalicar’s autobiography, this film takes us on the journey of 16 year-old Soheil’s search for identity, when he is met with rejection after his friends learn about his Jewish ancestry.    
Meet a jury from Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC):

Youth 4 German Cinema

26. Berlin & Beyond Film Festival - Youth 4 German Cinema © Barak Shrama
Youth 4 German Cinema

Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) führt Highschool-Schüler*innen hinter die Kulissen des internationalen Filmfestspiels Berlin & Beyond. Dabei werden die Schüler und Schülerinnen in die deutschsprachige Kinolandschaft eingeführt und lernen das Filmschaffen, die Filmkritik und den internationalen Film als Ganzes kennen. 

Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) ermöglicht den Highschool-Schüler*innen, die aus einem Bewerbungspool in den USA, Kanada und Zentralamerika ausgewählt werden, die Teilnahme an einem internationalen Filmfestival, einen Blick hinter die Kulissen, die Begegnung mit Experten der Branche, die Teilnahme an künstlerischen Workshops und damit die Stärkung ihres interkulturellen Bewusstseins. Und schließlich helfen sie auch bei der Auswahl der beiden Gewinnerfilme des „Festival Field Trip“ von Youth 4 German Cinema, die auf dem Festival vor Hunderten von Gastschülern aus der San Francisco Bay Area und Nordkalifornien gezeigt werden.

Das war Youth 4 German Cinema 2022!

Die achte Runde von Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) war ein großer Erfolg! Organisiert von der Sprachabteilung des Goethe-Instituts San Francisco, dem nordamerikanischen Jugendportal des Goethe-Instituts „Step Into German“ und dem Filmfestival „Berlin & Beyond“ bringt Youth 4 German Cinema junge Filmenthusiast*innen und Fans des deutschsprachigen Kinos und der Kultur zusammen.

Die Gewinner*innen dieses Jahres sind nach San Francisco geflogen und konnten Einblicke hinter die Kulissen des Festivals erlangen. Dazu gehörte ein Lauf über den roten Teppich am Eröffnungsabend, die Vorstellung ihrer Filmauswahl, eine Q&A-Session mit Schauspieler Doguhan Kabadayi und die Teilnahme an einem Film-Workshop, geleitet von der Filmemacherin Liz Anderson.

Wir bedanken uns für die zahlreichen und interessanten Bewerbungen und gratulieren:

Geraldine Nadia Clausen Garcia aus Mexiko; Jason Alexander Dement aus Ohio, USA; Aubrey Belcher aus Missouri, USA; und Nandita Suri aus Georgia, USA.

Die Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) Juror*innen zeichneten in diesem Jahr Barbara Kronenbergs Regiedebut „Mission Ulja Funk“ aus. Nachdem ihre tief religiöse Großmutter ihr verbietet, ihrer Leidenschaft für die Wissenschaft nachzugehen, begibt sich die 12-jährige Hobbyastronomin Ulja auf einen Roadtrip durch Osteuropa, um den Einschlag eines Asteroiden persönlich zu sehen.

Der zweite Platz ging an „Ein nasser Hund“ („Wet Dog“) von Damir Lukacevic. Es ist die Verfilmung von Arye Sharuz Shalicars Autobiographie, in der wir die Suche nach Identität des 16-jährien Soheil mitverfolgen, nachdem er auf Ablehnung bei seinen Freunden stößt, als diese von seiner jüdischen Abstammung erfahren.  
Hier stellen wir euch eine Jury von Youth 4 German Cinema (Y4GC) vor: