Deep Water Cultures
Video Projections curated by Tina Sauerländer

  • Anuk Miladinovic © Anuk Miladinovic
    Anuk Miladinovic "Dream"
  • Jonas Blume © Jonas Blume
    Jonas Blume "ISO-E-Super"
  • Marte Kiessling © Marte Kiessling
    Marte Kiessling "Camac"

Deep Water Cultures

​Water, often referred to as the essence of life, is also the foundation of the cultural development of humans. Today water is used, applied and presented in a multitude of ways. The works by the artists Jonas Blume, Marte Kiessling and Anuk Miladinović center on the topic how humankind handles its most important element.

Jonas Blume reflects on cultural representations of water between reality and virtuality, realism and idealisation. The digital sequences of Iso-E-Super (2017) show water as a purging, natural, clear substance that the artist distributes over his body. The idealised aesthetics of this video collage combining real footage and digital images is deceiving – Iso-E-Super is a synthetic aroma-chemical that is added to many men’s fragrances, shampoos and soaps. As a toxic and bio-accumulative substance Iso-E-Super is harmful to the water system and as such should be classified as special waste, however, it lands uncontrolled in the groundwater and our eco-systems.

In Dream (2016), Anuk Miladinović creates collages from overlaying her own film sequences of different cultural uses of water, such as a swimming pool filled with impeccably clean water where people swim their laps, or a sluice filled with dirty water where large vessels pass through and disappear. The artist shows how water can be both a safe place for sports and wellness activities, as well as a contaminated global transport route for container ships that seem endless. There is no clear narrative; illogical and unrealistic contexts refer to a different fantasy world where the conditions of real life reflect the subconscious.

Camac (2014) by Marte Kiessling are window-like landscape collages from the surroundings of the Camac Art Centre in Marnay-sur-Seine, France, where the artist was a resident artist. Inspired by the serenity of nature, the movements of the birds and the air and the quiet steady rhythm of the Seine River nearby, Kiessling visualises the images in a flowing circle of shapes that continuously expand and contract. The images show excerpts of the countryside and the old monastery that houses the artist accommodations. In her work, nature is shown in its solemnity, as a place where one can find rest and meditation in our time. Culture seems to be following in the path of nature here and both coexist side by side.

Jonas Blume © Jonas Blume

Deep Water Cultures
Jonas Blume "ISO-E-Super"

Marte Kiessling © Marte Kiessling

Deep Water Cultures
Marte Kiessling "Carmac"

Anuk Miladinovic © Anuk Miladinovic

Deep Water Cultures
Anuk Miladinović "Dream"

About the artists and the curator

In his conceptual works, Jonas Blume reflects, across a variety of media, the conditions of life in the digital age, and the effects of the Internet and social networks on the identity of the individual, which he interprets as a dynamic entity. In his art he also explores the cultural concepts and uses of water, as well as the forms that these uses take in analog and digital environments. Jonas Blume, born in 1989 in Bielefeld, Germany, lives and works in Berlin. He studied sculpture at the Pratt Institute in New York and visual and media anthropology at the Free University in Berlin. His works have been exhibited in New York and Berlin.

Website: www.jonasblume.com
Her conceptual approach makes it possible for Marte Kiessling to work in a wide range of media in which she presents her main topics – archiving, memory and the desire to understand the human need for coherent stories between fact and fiction. Her starting point is always her personal view of her surroundings. Marte Kiessling, who was born 1981 in Kelheim, Bavaria, and lives and works in Berlin, studied at the University of Fine Arts in Hamburg. She was awarded several residencies and scholarships including the RUD Air Residency Laxarby (Sweden), MAWA Residency (Winnipeg, Canada) as well as funding by the German Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa) and the Danish Arts Council (2012). Her works have been shown at solo exhibits in Berlin, Hamburg, New York, Trondheim and Tokyo.

Website: www.martekiessling.de
The videos by Anuk Miladinović, distinct collages with elements from different contexts, often have no clear narrative and thus seem cryptic or absurd. Anuk Miladinović, who was born 1984 in Basel, Switzerland and lives in Munich and Basel, studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich. Her works received several awards, grants and funding, including funding from the Expert Committee Movie and Media Art Basel (2016), a project grant from the Bavarian State Ministry for Bavarian Studio Promotion for Fine Artists (2015), as well as project awards from the Erwin und Gisela von Steiner Foundation and the Karin Abt-Straubinger Foundation (2012). Her works have been exhibited in Munich, Basel, Belgrade, Leipzig, Moscow, Vienna and Jerusalem.

Website: www.anukmiladinovic.com
Tina Sauerländer is an art historian, curator and writer. She focuses primarily on the impact of the digital and the Internet on individual environments and society. With her exhibition hub peer to space she has been organizing and curating international group exhibitions in various institutions, e.g. Reset III and VIRTUAL REALITY (Cologne, 2017), The Unframed World. Virtual Reality as Artistic Medium for the 21st Century (Basel, 2017), When The Cat’s Away, Abstraction (Berlin, 2016), PORN TO PIZZA—Domestic Clichés (Berlin, 2015). She is the author of many comprehensive texts on contemporary artists, e.g. Taryn Simon, Alicja Kwade, Gregor Hildebrandt, Carsten Nicolai or Anselm Reyle for Kritisches Lexikon der Gegenwartskunst. She contributes to the New York based blog ArteFuse about contemporary art exhibitions in Berlin. She is co-founder of Radiance, an international online platform and research database for artistic VR experiences. She is the founder of the SALOON, a network for women working in the art field in Berlin, Paris and Vienna. She is board member of the medienkunstverein (media arts society) in Berlin. 

More: http://www.peertospace.eu

The videos will be shown on this site and in the windows of the institute every night until February 24, 2018. More info about the projections here.

The title DEEP WATER CULTURES refers to an agricultural method where plants are placed in water with a high nutrient content, which speeds up their growth and increases the yield. Deep Water Culture (DWC) symbolises the cultural urge of humans to create the best conditions, boost efficiency, and improve the natural setting. The title also summarises the topic of the artworks on display, which feature different concepts of the cultural handling of water.

Deep Water Cultures
Videoprojektionen kuratiert von Tina Sauerländer

  • Anuk Miladinovic © Anuk Miladinovic
    Anuk Miladinovic "Dream"
  • Jonas Blume © Jonas Blume
    Jonas Blume "ISO-E-Super"
  • Malte Kiessling © Malte Kiessling
    Malte Kiessling "Camac"

Deep Water Cultures (Hydrokulturen)

Der vielzitierte Urstoff des Lebens, das Wasser, ist zugleich Grundlage für die kulturelle Entwicklung des Menschen und erfährt heute vielfältige Anwendungsmöglichkeiten, Nutzungsarten und Darstellungsformen. Die KünstlerInnen Jonas Blume, Marte Kiessling und Anuk Miladinović thematisieren in ihren Arbeiten den Umgang des Menschen mit seinem wichtigsten Element.

Jonas Blume beschäftigt sich mit kulturellen Repräsentationen von Wasser zwischen Realität und Virtualität, Realismus und Idealisierung. Die für Iso-E-Super (2017) verwendeten digitalen Sequenzen zeigen Wasser als reinigende, natürliche, klare Substanz, die der Künstler auf seinem Körper verteilt. Die idealisierte Ästhetik der Videocollage aus filmischen und digital kreierten Bildern täuscht darüber hinweg, dass Iso-E-Super ein synthetischer Stoff ist, der in vielen Herrenparfums, Shampoos und Seifen verwendet wird. Da sich das toxische und bioakkulumative Iso-E-Super im Wasser anreichert, müsste es als Sondermüll entsorgt werden, gerät aber stattdessen über unsere Abflüsse in den Wasserkreislauf und unser Ökosystem. 

In Dream (2016) collagiert und überblendet die Künstlerin Anuk Miladinović reale, selbst gedrehte Filmsequenzen, die kulturelle Nutzungsarten von Wasser zeigen: Ein Schwimmbecken, in dem Menschen ihre Bahnen im klaren Nass ziehen oder eine mit dreckigem Wasser gefüllte Schleuse, durch die Schiffe hindurch gleiten und wieder verschwinden. Wasser erinnert hier an einen sauberen Sport- oder Wellnessort genauso wie an einen verschmutzten, globalen Transportweg mit schier endlosen Containerschiffen. Der Film folgt keiner klaren Narration. Unlogische oder unrealistische Zusammenhänge rekurrieren auf eine andersartige Traumwelt, in der reale Zustände das Unterbewusste spiegeln.

Camac (2014) von Marte Kiessling zeigt ausschnitthafte Landschafts-Collagen aus der Umgebung des französischen Camac in Marnay-sur-Seine, das die Künstlerin während eines Residency-Aufenthaltes kennenlernte. Inspiriert durch die Stille der Natur, die Bewegung der Vögel und der Luft sowie dem ruhig fließenden Rhythmus der nahen Seine visualisiert die Künstlerin die vorgefundenen Bilder in einem fließenden Kreislauf von sich stetig langsam ausdehnenden und wieder zusammenlaufenden Formen. Sie zeigen Ausschnitte der dortigen Landschaft und des alten Klostergebäudes, in dem die Künstlerin wohnte. Natur erscheint hier in ihrer Erhabenheit und als zeitgenössischer Ort der Ruhe und Meditation. Kultur scheint hier an der Natur ausgerichtet zu sein und beide existieren im Einklang miteinander.

  • Dream / Anuk Miladinović © Jean-François Leblanc, Anuk Miladinović
    Dream / Anuk Miladinović
  • Dream / Anuk Miladinović © Jean-François Leblanc, Anuk Miladinović
    Dream / Anuk Miladinović
  • Dream / Anuk Miladinović © Jean-François Leblanc, Anuk Miladinović
    Dream / Anuk Miladinović
  • Camac /  Marte Kiessling © Jean-François Leblanc, Marte Kiessling
    Camac / Marte Kiessling
  • Camac /  Marte Kiessling © Jean-François Leblanc, Marte Kiessling
    Camac / Marte Kiessling
  • Camac /  Marte Kiessling © Jean-François Leblanc, Marte Kiessling
    Camac / Marte Kiessling
  • Camac /  Marte Kiessling © Jean-François Leblanc, Marte Kiessling
    Camac / Marte Kiessling
  • Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume © Jean-François Leblanc, Jonas Blume
    Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume
  • Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume © Jean-François Leblanc, Jonas Blume
    Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume
  • Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume © Jean-François Leblanc, Jonas Blume
    Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume
  • Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume © Jean-François Leblanc, Jonas Blume
    Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume
  • Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume © Jean-François Leblanc, Jonas Blume
    Iso-E-Super / Jonas Blume

Über die KünstlerInnen und die Kuratorin

Der Künstler Jonas Blume reflektiert in seinen konzeptuellen Arbeiten in verschiedenen Medien die Lebensbedingungen im digitalen Zeitalter und die Auswirkungen des Internet und der sozialen Netzwerke auf die individuelle Identität, die er als dynamische Entität auffasst. Weiterhin beschäftigt er sich mit kulturellen Konzepten und Verwendungsweisen von Wasser sowie deren Ausprägungen in analogen und digitalen Umgebungen. Jonas Blume (*1989 in Bielefeld, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) studierte Bildhauerei am Pratt Institute in New York sowie Visuelle und Medienanthropologie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Seine Arbeiten wurden in New York und Berlin ausgestellt. 


Website: www.jonasblume.com
Der konzeptuelle Ansatz von Marte Kiessling erlaubt Arbeiten in einer Vielzahl von Medien, in denen die Künstlerin ihre Hauptthemen wie Archivierung, Erinnerung oder die Untersuchung des menschliches Bedürfnisses nach kohärenten Geschichten im Spiegel von Fiktion und Wahrheit untersucht. Dabei geht die Künstlerin stets von ihrer eigenen Sichtweise auf die Umgebung aus. Marte Kiessling (*1981 in Kelheim/Niederbayern, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin) studierte Freie Kunst an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. Für ihre Arbeit erhielt verschiedene Auszeichnungen, wie die RUD Air Residency Laxarby (Schweden), die MAWA Residency (Winnipeg, Kanada) oder Projektförderungen der IFA und des Danish Arts Council (2012). Ihr Werk wurde in Einzelausstellungen in Berlin, Hamburg, New York, Trondheim oder Tokio gezeigt. 

Website: www.martekiessling.de
Die Videoarbeiten von Anuk Miladinović verfolgen meist keine gezielte Narration und erscheinen oftmals kryptisch oder absurd. Charakteristisch dabei ist Collagierung von Elementen aus verschiedenen Kontexten. Anuk Miladinović (*1984 in Basel, Schweiz, lebt und arbeitet in München und Basel) studierte an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München. Für ihre Arbeit erhielt sie verschiedene Auszeichnungen, darunter den Projektbeitrag vom Fachausschuss Film und Medienkunst Basel-Stadt / Basel-Land (2016), das Projektstipendium Bayerisches Staatsministerium (2015) oder die Projektförderungen der Erwin und Gisela von Steiner-Stiftung sowie der Karin Abt-Straubinger Stiftung (2012). Ihr Werk wurde in Ausstellungen in München, Basel, Belgrad, Leipzig, Moskau, Wien oder Jerusalem gezeigt.

Website: www.anukmiladinovic.com
Tina Sauerländer ist Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin und Autorin. Sie konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf die Auswirkungen des Digitalen und des Internets auf einzelne Umgebungen und die Gesellschaft. Mit ihrer Netzwerkplattform Peer To Space organisierte und kuratierte sie internationale Gruppenausstellungen an verschiedenen Orten, z.B. Reset III and VIRTUAL REALITY (Köln, 2017), The Unframed World. Virtual Reality as Artistic Medium for the 21st Century (Basel, 2017), When The Cat’s Away, Abstraction (Berlin, 2016), PORN TO PIZZA—Domestic Clichés (Berlin, 2015). Sie ist Autorin vieler umfassender Texte über zeitgenössische Künstler, z.B Taryn Simon, Alicja Kwade, Gregor Hildebrandt, Carsten Nicolai oder Anselm Reyle für das Kritische Lexikon der Gegenwartskunst. Sie beteiligt sich am New Yorker Blog ArteFuse über zeitgenössische Kunstausstellungen in Berlin. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von Radiance, einer internationalen Online-Plattform und Forschungsdatenbank für künstlerische VR-Erlebnisse. Sie ist Gründerin von SALOON, einem Netzwerk für Frauen im Kunstbereich in Berlin, Paris und Wien. Sie ist Vorstandsmitglied des medienkunstvereins in Berlin. 

Mehr: http://www.peertospace.eu

Die Videos waren abendlich in den Fenstern des Institutes bis zum 24. Februar 2018 zu sehen. Infos zu den Projektionen hier.

Der Titel DEEP WATER CULTURES rekurriert auf eine Methode des Pflanzenanbaus, bei dem die Wurzeln in sehr nährstoffreichem Wasser hängen, damit sie schneller wachsen und höhere Erträge abwerfen. Deep Water Culture (DWC) symbolisiert hier den kulturellen Drang nach besten Bedingungen, Effizienz, und der Verbesserung natürlicher Gegebenheiten. Er steht hier zusammenfassend für die vorgestellten künstlerischen Konzepte vom kulturellen Umgang mit Wasser.