Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Interview
Dr. Gabriele Gauler, institute director

The director of the institute, Dr. Gabriele Gauler, is standing in the garden of the Goethe-Institut Nicosia and smiling at the camera. She is wearing a blue and white blouse. The green trees and plants as well as the little water fountain of the institute frame the photo in the background.
© Goethe-Institut/Marie Lena Groenewald

On 1 February 2022, Dr Gabriele Gauler took over as director of the Goethe-Institut Cyprus. Born in Kassel, she studied Sinology, Japanology and German Studies in Würzburg and Taipei (Taiwan). Since 1991 she has served in various positions at the Goethe-Institut in Munich, Bremen, Beijing, Budapest, Hong Kong and Berlin. In this interview, she talks about the individual characteristics of Cyprus as a location, the impacts of the pandemic, goals for the near future as well as her personal encounters and exchanges in Cyprus.

What, in particular, distinguishes the work being done in Cyprus regarding German culture and language?

For over 60 years, the institute here has contributed to educating people about the German language and culture, as well as providing any other general information regarding Germany. That alone is worth mentioning, as 60 years is truly a long time. What is also special is the longstanding cooperation with partners in the southern, as well as in the northern part of Cyprus. In addition, we reach a large target group of all ages with our language courses: children, young people and adults whose mother tongue is Greek or Turkish, or who are bilingual. This is also what makes the work in Cyprus so special.

The most striking thing for a person visiting our institute is, of course, the fact that we are located in the buffer zone. The institute is located between the Greek Cypriot and Turkish Cypriot checkpoints. We are next door to the Ledra Palace, which is a building that everybody here in Cyprus knows and that is steeped in history.

Are there any similarities between your last place of work in Berlin and now here in Nicosia?

Nicosia is the last divided capital in Europe. Berlin was also a divided city. Both cities share this experience of division. Fortunately, this division in Berlin was surmounted in 1989. Here, the island has been divided since 1974 and the city of Nicosia since 1963. Naturally, that does something to the people, the country and the mentality. Therefore, parallels can be drawn, even though the historical origins are completely different and the situations are, of course, not directly comparable.

The contexts are also otherwise different. Berlin has a population of 3.7 million people. It is a cosmopolitan city, while Nicosia is much smaller. Here I have realized that you get to know a lot of people very quickly, who then in turn know other mutual acquaintances. It is in that sense a completely different place here.

What does openness mean to you within the context of the pandemic we have been facing?

The pandemic has had a tremendous impact on all of us around the world in recent years, which also influenced the work of the Goethe-Instituts worldwide. I experienced the start of the pandemic in Berlin, where we were affected by the lockdown. The institute had to remain closed for a few months and the employees had to be put on short-time work, which had an adverse effect on my colleagues and me. And here in Cyprus, I can, of course, still feel the changes, even now in the third year of the pandemic. For all the Goethe-Instituts worldwide, but also for the Goethe-Institut in Nicosia, it was important to try to maintain the existing programme on offer, i.e. to make them digitally accessible. This especially affected our language courses. Exams could not be carried out here for a long time due to official regulations and social distancing rules. But like many institutes in the world, the teachers at the Goethe-Institut adjusted very quickly, and acquired knowledge in the field of online learning and teaching. We continue to make use of this, as there are course participants who still learn German online with us. However, there are also course participants who have returned to the institute for face-to-face courses, which, as you would expect, pleases us particularly.

Is Cyprus located in Asia or in Europe?

That is a good question. If you look at it politically, we are of course in Europe. After all, Cyprus has been part of the EU for many years. In just over three hours of flight time, Germany can be reached quickly and easily. English is one of the official languages in Cyprus, and many people here speak it extremely well. This also speaks for a strong proximity to Europe. But when it comes to the sentiments of the people, the music, the smells in the city and the heat, you can of course already sense that the island is very close to the Near East and the Levant. Historically, there were very strong cultural influences. These factors are exciting and very enriching in terms of the work we do.

What can someone visiting the Goethe-Institut in Cyprus expect?

Firstly, visitors get to view our location, which is in the buffer zone, in the middle of the divided island. At the institute, visitors are thus able to meet people from the southern and the northern part. For me, it is one of the most beautiful experiences that people from both parts of the island are able to come to cultural events and exhibition openings. The Goethe-Institut Cyprus functions as a meeting point. It is open all day. Our exhibitions can be visited almost every day. We have a great exhibition hall that currently has a very nice exhibition titled Found and Lost.  We are presently showcasing both a German artist and a Cypriot artist there. We also have a beautiful garden. We have five classrooms and very nice colleagues, who are always happy to answer questions. It is an open, friendly place, where we always try to familiarise people with Germany and German culture through our courses and cultural programmes.

When did you first come into contact with Cyprus yourself?

I have always-and continue to do so-read a great deal. As a teenager, one of my favourite books was a Greek mythology book. I read that five, six, seven times (laughs). I was fascinated by the Greek myths. One of these myths, of course, was the famous story of the birth of Aphrodite. That was my initial contact with Greek and Cypriot culture as a child and teenager. During my time as a student in Würzburg, there were some very nice Cypriot students in the student residence where I then lived. Most of them were studying medicine or dentistry. That is when I first came into contact with Cypriots.

Do you have an object in mind that is representative of Cyprus for you?

There is an olive tree here in Nicosia that fascinates me. It must be ancient. It remained untouched during the construction work for Eleftheria Square. This ancient tree has a very thick trunk and is utterly gnarly. The modern architecture of the entire Eleftheria Square converges on this one tree. I found it fascinating how modern architecture tries to incorporate these old and traditional elements, and the nature of Cyprus.

Another object that I have seen in various exhibitions, for example in the Archaeological Museum and the Leventis Museum, are small figurines made of light green-grey minerals found in tombs. They have oversized heads, thick necks, short torsos and thick legs. They are made of a stone called picrolite. It is only found in Cyprus. These objects are more than 4500 years old and were recovered from the first grave finds in Cyprus. The figurines can be seen in different places here. For me, that is also representative of Cyprus.

What goals have you set for yourself during your time in Cyprus?

The most significant goal for me is to continue the successful work that the institute has undertaken over the past few decades. I hope that this will be possible in spite of the pandemic and Europe’s current state, which has been strongly influenced by the war in Ukraine. In my first few weeks here, I learned that the German language is on the decline, especially in the southern part of Cyprus, even though there are some schools with great initiatives that strongly promote the study of German. That is why I would like to further promote the German language and reinforce its reach. And I also have two very specific goals: firstly, we have to make our building earthquake-proof. That is an important goal for this year. Secondly, another important goal is to implement a project that has been commissioned by the European Union. This is a scholarship programme for the northern part of Cyprus, which is aimed at students as well as graduates, and provides scholarships throughout Europe and not just in Germany. This project has only just begun and will keep us very busy for the next few years.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Interview
Dr. Gabriele Gauler, Institutsleiterin

Die Institutsleiterin Frau Dr. Gabriele Gauler steht im Garten des Goethe-Instituts Nikosia und lächelt in die Kamera. Sie trägt eine blau-weiße Bluse. Im Hintergrund sind die grünen Bäumen und Pflanzen sowie der Springbrunnen des Instituts zu sehen.
© Goethe-Institut/Marie Lena Groenewald

Am 1. Februar 2022 übernahm Frau Dr. Gabriele Gauler die Leitung des Goethe-Instituts Zypern. Die gebürtige Kasselänerin studierte Sinologie, Japanologie und Germanistik in Würzburg und Taipei (Taiwan). Seit 1991 war sie in verschiedenen Funktionen an den Standorten München, Bremen, Peking, Budapest, Hongkong und Berlin fürs Goethe-Institut tätig. In diesem Interview spricht sie über die Besonderheiten des Standorts Zypern, die Auswirkungen der Pandemie, Zielsetzungen für die nächste Zeit sowie ihre persönlichen Begegnungen und den Austausch in Zypern.

Was zeichnet die deutsche Kultur- und Spracharbeit in Zypern besonders aus?

Das Institut hier macht schon seit über 60 Jahren kontinuierlich Angebote in der Sprach-, Kultur- und allgemeinen Informationsarbeit über Deutschland. Allein das ist besonders erwähnenswert, denn 60 Jahre sind wirklich eine lange Zeit. Besonders ist auch die große Kontinuität in der Zusammenarbeit mit Partnern im Süden sowie im Norden Zyperns. Außerdem erreichen wir mit unseren Sprachkursen eine große Zielgruppe jeden Alters: Kinder, Jugendliche und Erwachsene, deren Muttersprache Griechisch oder Türkisch ist, oder die bilingual aufwachsen. Auch das macht das Besondere der Arbeit auf Zypern aus.

Das Hervorstechende für eine:n Besucher:in unseres Instituts ist natürlich, dass wir in der so genannten Pufferzone beheimatet sind. Das Institut befindet sich zwischen griechisch-zyprischem und türkisch-zyprischem Checkpoint. Wir sind direkter Nachbar des Ledra Palace, einem Gebäude, das jede:r hier auf Zypern kennt, und das sehr geschichtsträchtig ist.

Gibt es Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Ihrem letzten Arbeitsort Berlin und Nikosia?

Nikosia ist die letzte geteilte Hauptstadt in Europa. Auch Berlin war eine geteilte Stadt. Diese Erfahrung der Teilung haben beide Städte gemeinsam. In Berlin konnte sie glücklicherweise 1989 überwunden werden. Hier ist die Insel seit 1974 und die Stadt Nikosia bereits seit 1963 geteilt. Das macht natürlich etwas mit den Menschen, dem Land und der Mentalität. Es lassen sich also schon Parallelen ziehen, auch wenn die historischen Ursprünge völlig andere sind, und die Situationen selbstverständlich nicht direkt vergleichbar sind.

Auch ansonsten sind die Kontexte verschieden. Berlin hat eine Einwohnerzahl von 3,7 Millionen Menschen. Es ist eine Weltstadt, während Nikosia sehr viel kleiner ist. Hier mache ich die Erfahrung, dass man sehr schnell viele Menschen kennenlernt, die dann wiederum gemeinsame Bekannte kennen. Insofern ist es hier dann doch ein ganz anderer Ort.

© Goethe-Institut Zypern

Was bedeutet Offenheit in Zeiten der Pandemie für Sie?

Die Pandemie hat uns alle auf der Welt in den letzten Jahren wahnsinnig beeinflusst, auch die Arbeit der Goethe-Institute weltweit. Ich habe den Anfang der Pandemie in Berlin erlebt, wo wir vom Lockdown betroffen waren. Das Institut musste einige Monate geschlossen bleiben und die Mitarbeiter:innen mussten in Kurzarbeit gehen. Das war eine sehr starke Beeinträchtigung für meine Kolleg:innen und mich. Und auch hier in Zypern spüre ich die Veränderungen natürlich auch noch jetzt, im dritten Jahr der Pandemie. Für das Goethe-Institut weltweit, aber auch in Nikosia, war es wichtig, die Angebote, die es gibt, möglichst aufrecht zu erhalten, also digital zugänglich zu machen. Das betraf besonders unsere Sprachkursangebote. Prüfungen konnten hier aufgrund der offiziellen Bestimmungen und Abstandsregeln über längere Zeit leider nicht durchgeführt werden. Aber wie viele Institute auf der Welt haben auch die Lehrkräfte des Goethe-Instituts Nikosia sehr schnell umgelernt und Wissen im Bereich Online Lernen und -Unterrichten aufgebaut. Dies nutzen wir auch weiterhin, denn es gibt Kursteilnehmende, die online bei uns Deutsch lernen, aber auch Kursteilnehmende, die wieder zu Präsenzkursen ins Institut kommen, was uns natürlich besonders freut.

Befindet sich Zypern in Asien oder in Europa?

Das ist eine gute Frage. Wenn man es politisch sieht, sind wir natürlich in Europa, denn immerhin gehört Zypern ja seit vielen Jahren zur EU. Auch Deutschland ist mit gut drei Flugstunden noch schnell und gut erreichbar. Englisch ist eine der offiziellen Sprachen in Zypern und viele Menschen hier sprechen extrem gut Englisch. Auch das spricht für eine starke Nähe zu Europa. Aber im Bereich der Gefühlswelt, der Musik, der Gerüche in der Stadt, der Hitze merkt man natürlich schon, dass die Insel sehr nah an Vorderasien und bei der Levante liegt. Da gab es geschichtlich sehr starke kulturelle Einflüsse. Diese Faktoren sind spannend und für die Arbeit sehr bereichernd.

Was erwartet eine:n Besucher:in des Goethe-Instituts Zypern?

Besucher:innen erwartet zuerst einmal natürlich, dass wir in der Pufferzone inmitten der geteilten Insel angesiedelt sind und man dadurch Menschen aus dem Süden und aus dem Norden treffen kann. Dass Menschen von beiden Teilen der Insel zu Kulturveranstaltungen und Ausstellungseröffnungen kommen, ist für mich eine der schönsten Erfahrungen. Das Goethe-Institut Zypern ist ein Treffpunkt. Es ist den ganzen Tag offen. Fast jeden Tag können unsere Ausstellungen besucht werden. Wir haben einen tollen Ausstellungssaal, in dem es aktuell eine sehr schöne Ausstellung mit dem Titel Found and Lost gibt. Dort stellen wir momentan eine deutsche Künstlerin und eine zyprische Künstlerin vor. Wir haben außerdem einen schönen Garten. Wir haben fünf Klassenräume und sehr nette Kolleg:innen, die immer gerne auf Fragen antworten. Es ist ein offener, freundlicher Ort, der immer versucht, mit seinen Angeboten Deutschland und die deutsche Kultur ein bisschen näher zu bringen.

Wann kamen Sie selbst zum ersten Mal mit Zypern in Berührung?

Ich habe immer – und tue es auch immer noch – sehr, sehr viel gelesen. Als Jugendliche war eins meiner Lieblingsbücher ein griechisches Sagenbuch. Das habe ich fünf, sechs, sieben Mal gelesen (lacht). Ich war fasziniert von den griechischen Sagen. Darin fand sich natürlich auch die berühmte Geschichte der Geburt der Aphrodite. Das war für mich als Kind und Jugendliche die erste Berührung mit dem griechischen und zyprischen Kulturkreis. In meiner Studienzeit in Würzburg gab es im Studierendenwohnheim, in dem ich damals gewohnt habe, sehr nette zyprische Studierende. Die meisten von ihnen haben Medizin oder Zahnmedizin studiert. Da bin ich das erste Mal mit Zyprern in Kontakt gekommen.

Haben Sie ein Objekt geistig präsent, das für Sie Zypern repräsentiert?

Es gibt hier in Nikosia einen Olivenbaum, der mich fasziniert. Er muss uralt sein. Bei den Bauarbeiten für den Eleftheria Square ist er unberührt stehen geblieben. Dieser uralte Baum ist ganz dick und total verkrüppelt. Die gesamte, moderne Architektur läuft auf diesen einen Baum zu. Ich fand es faszinierend, wie da die moderne Architektur versucht, das Alte, die Tradition und die Natur auf Zypern einzubeziehen.

Ein anderes Objekt, das ich in verschiedenen Ausstellungen, zum Beispiel im Archäologischen Museum und im Leventis Museum, gesehen habe, sind kleine Figürchen aus hellgrüngrauen Mineralen, die man in Gräbern gefunden hat. Sie haben überdimensionierte Köpfe, einen dicken Hals, einen kurzen Körper und dicke Beine. Sie sind aus einem Stein gemacht, der Picrolit genannt wird. Den gibt es nur auf Zypern. Diese Objekte sind mehr als 4500 Jahre alt und man hat sie bei den ersten Grabfunden auf Zypern geborgen. Man sieht die Figürchen hier an verschiedenen Stellen. Auch das steht für mich für Zypern.

Welche Ziele haben Sie sich für Ihre Zeit in Zypern gesetzt?

Das wichtigste Ziel für mich ist, die erfolgreiche Arbeit des Instituts der letzten Jahrzehnte weiterzuführen. Ich hoffe, dass die Pandemie und die aktuelle Situation in Europa, die stark durch den Krieg in der Ukraine geprägt ist, das auch zulassen. Ich habe in meinen ersten Wochen hier gelernt, dass die deutsche Sprache besonders im südzyprischen Teil eher rückläufig ist, auch wenn es tolle Initiativen an einzelnen Schulen gibt, die den Deutschunterricht sehr stark befördern. Deshalb möchte ich die Stärkung der deutschen Sprache gerne weiter voranbringen. Und ich habe auch zwei sehr konkrete Ziele: Zum einen müssen wir das Haus erdbebensicher machen. Das ist ein wichtiges Ziel für dieses Jahr. Zum anderen ist es ein weiteres wichtiges Ziel, einen Projektauftrag der Europäischen Kommission umzusetzen. Dabei handelt es sich um ein Stipendienprogramm für den Norden Zyperns, das sich an Studierende, aber auch Graduierte richtet und für Stipendien in ganz Europa – nicht nur in Deutschland – gilt. Dieses Projekt hat gerade erst begonnen und wird uns die nächsten Jahre sehr beschäftigen.

Top