Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
In the right quarter of the image the text "Frau Architekt" is written in white letters on an orange background. The rest of the image is a collage of black and white photographs. These show various architectural works and designs as well as women architects at work.© Goethe-Institut Zypern

Exhibition: 07.12.2021–19.03.2022
Frau Architekt

The Frau Architekt exhibition in Nicosia presents the work and personal portraits of 11 female Cypriot architects, in addition to the 22 female German architects originally presented at the DAM (German Architecture Museum) in Frankfurt, in 2017.

The expansion of Frau Architekt in Nicosia, constitutes the first dedicated exhibition celebrating the work of women architects from Cyprus. The exhibition connects to a global movement which discusses and highlights the valuable contributions of female architects who are transforming the field. This exhibition aims to open the discussion and enable local experts to engage in this conversation.

Moreover, the exhibition celebrates architecture as a diverse practice which creates a positive impact on society. It features works ranging from designed and realized projects, to academia, activism, social engagement, entrepreneurship, sustainability, urbanism, and preservation.

A conscious effort was made to select and showcase Cypriot female architects from different periods, as well as different fields within the profession of architecture. While it is the first exhibition focused on female architects in Cyprus, it is not to be viewed as a comprehensive or historical presentation. The portraits feature individuals and partnerships working on either side of the divide and/or closely collaborating across it. Such collaborations are in themselves a political statement and a step towards peacebuilding. The exhibition also showcases for the first time the work of Maro Efthymiades-Adjini, the first known Cypriot female architect, who graduated in 1960. She opened the way for other contemporaries such as Solmaz Feridun (1961), Eleni Romanou Demetriadou (1969), Androula Demetriou (1970) and Sevim Altan (1972).

The Cypriot architects presented in the exhibition are Maro Efthymiades-Adjini, Meltem Nalbantoğlu, Sevina Floridou, Margarita Danou, Esra Can Akbil, Münevver Özgür Özersay, Christiana Ioannou, Athina Papadopoulou, İlkay Feridun, Veronika Antoniou, and Simzer Kaya.

The Curators of the Cypriot Chapter:
Müge Riza and Teresa Tourvas


Over a 100 years women in architecture

  • A man in jeans and grey jacket and a women in black clothes wearing face masks are standing in an exhibition room. Each one browses on a booklet. At the background there is a board with the title of the exhibition FRAU ARCHITEKT, text and photos and an open wooden door with people standing around it. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • Several visitors wearing face masks are in an exhibition room. In the left half of the picture, a young man in a jeans jacket is browsing through the exhibition catalogue, while in the right half of the picture, several visitors are reading the exhibition panels in concentration. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • Three visitors are reading and looking at the exhibition board on the Cypriot architects Margarita Danou and Sevina Floridou. The lady on the left wears glasses and a black jumper, the one in the middle wears a loose-fitting white top, and the woman on the right a red jumper with a golden scarf. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • A young man with a face mask, baseball cap and black hoodie reads the text on the exhibition board about the architect Christiana Ioannou. In the background you can see the grey metal scaffolding on which the exhibition panels are mounted and a woman with a black face mask. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • A visitor to the exhibition is looking at a picture of a building designed by Christiana Ioannou. She has an exhibition flyer in her right hand and is wearing a beige jacket, a brown backpack and has a coloured ribbon in her hair. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • A woman is standing at a wooden table leafing through the catalogue of the exhibition FRAU ARCHITEKT. On the table there are also some exhibition booklets containing translations of the exhibition texts. On the open page of the catalogue one can see monochrome architectural illustrations. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • A darkly dressed woman with a light grey handbag stands in front of two exhibition panels on German women architects. The lady's right foot is slightly bent forward. The panels are attached to the white wall with transparent threads. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"
  • Two ladies are having an intense conversation in the exhibition space. The woman on the left of the picture carries a glass in her right hand and underlines the course of the conversation with a movement of her left hand. In the foreground one can see part of the exhibition scaffolding and a screen. Both visitors are in the back of the photo, dressed in black and wear black face masks. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Exhibition "Frau Architekt"

Events

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Das rechte Viertel des Bildes nimmt eine orangene Fläche ein. Auf dieser steht vertikal und in weißer Schrift Frau Architektin. Den Rest des Bildes nimmt eine Collage ein. Auf dieser sind verschiedene Bauwerke und Entwürfe, sowie Frauen während der Arbeit zu sehen. Die Collage ist in schwarz-weiß gehalten.© Goethe-Institut Zypern

Ausstellung: 07.12.2021–19.03.2022
Frau Architekt

Die Ausstellung Frau Architekt in Nikosia zeigt zusätzlich zu den 22 weiblichen deutschen Architektinnen, die ursprünglich 2017 im DAM (Deutsches Architektur Museum) in Frankfurt vorgestellt wurden, die Arbeiten und persönlichen Porträts von 11 zypriotischen Architektinnen.

Die Erweiterung der Ausstellung in Nikosia ist die erste eigene Ausstellung, welche die Arbeit von zypriotischen Architektinnen würdigt. Die Ausstellung nimmt Bezug auf eine globale Bewegung, die die wertvollen Beiträge von Architektinnen hervorhebt und darüber diskutiert, welche davon das Feld maßgeblich verändert haben. Die Ausstellung soll die Diskussion in Zypern eröffnen und lokalen Expert*innen die Möglichkeit geben, sich an diesem Gespräch zu beteiligen.

Darüber hinaus würdigt die Ausstellung die Architektur als eine vielfältige Praxis, die einen positiven Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft hat. Sie zeigt geplante und realisierte Projekte mit Bezug zu Wissenschaft, Aktivismus, sozialem Engagement, Unternehmertum, Nachhaltigkeit, Urbanismus und Denkmalschutz reichen.

Es wurde bewusst versucht, zypriotische Architektinnen aus verschiedenen Epochen sowie aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Architektur auszuwählen und zu präsentieren. Obwohl es sich um die erste Ausstellung handelt, die sich auf Architektinnen in Zypern konzentriert, ist sie nicht als umfassende oder historische Präsentation zu verstehen. Die Porträts zeigen Einzelpersonen und Arbeitsgemeinschaften, die auf beiden Seiten der Trennungslinie arbeiten und/oder eng über diese hinweg zusammenarbeiten. Solche Kooperationen sind an sich schon ein politisches Statement und ein Schritt in Richtung Friedenskonsolidierung. Die Ausstellung zeigt auch zum ersten Mal das Werk von Maro Efthymiades-Adjini, der ersten bekannten zyprischen Architektin, die 1960 ihren Abschluss machte. Sie ebnete den Weg für andere Zeitgenossinnen wie Solmaz Feridun (1961), Eleni Romanou Demetriadou (1969), Androula Demetriou (1970) und Sevim Altan (1972).

Die folgenden zypriotischen Architektinnen werden in der Ausstellung präsentiert: Maro Efthymiades-Adjini, Meltem Nalbantoğlu, Sevina Floridou, Margarita Danou, Esra Can Akbil, Münevver Özgür Özersay, Christiana Ioannou, Athina Papadopoulou, İlkay Feridun, Veronika Antoniou und Simzer Kaya.

Die Kuratorinnen für den zypriotischen Teil sind:
Müge Riza und Teresa Tourvas


Über 100 Jahre Frauen im Architektenberuf

  • Ein Mann in Jeans und grauer Jacke und eine Frau in schwarzer Kleidung mit Gesichtsmasken stehen in einem Ausstellungsraum. Jeder von ihnen blättert in einer Broschüre. Im Hintergrund sieht man eine Tafel mit dem Titel der Ausstellung FRAU ARCHITEKT, Texten und Fotos sowie eine offene Holztür, um die herum Menschen stehen. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Mehrere Besucher und Besucherinnen mit Gesichtsmaske befinden sich in einem Ausstellungsraum. In der linken Bildhälfte durchblättert ein junger Mann in Jeansjacke den Ausstellungskatalog, während in der rechten Bildhälfte mehrere Besuchende konzentriert die Ausstellungstafeln lesen. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Drei Besucherinnen lesen und betrachten die Ausstellungstafel zu den zyprischen Architektinnen Margarita Danou und Sevina Floridou. Die Dame links im Bild trägt Brille und einen schwarzen Pullover, jene in der Mitte ein weitgeschnittenes weißes Oberteil, und die Frau rechts im Bild einen roten Pullover mit goldenem Schal. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Ein junger Mann mit Gesichtsmaske, Baseballkappe und schwarzem Kapuzenpullover liest den Text der Ausstellungstafel zur Architektin Christiana Ioannou. Im Hintergrund sieht man das graue Metallgerüst auf dem die Ausstellungstafeln befestigt ist, sowie eine Frau mit schwarzer Gesichtsmaske. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Eine Besucherin der Ausstellung betrachtet ein Bild eines von Christiana Ioannou entworfenen Gebäudes. Sie hat einen Ausstellungstext in der rechten Hand und trägt eine beige Jacke, einen braunen Rucksack und hat weiterhin ein farbiges Band in den Haaren. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Eine Frau steht an einem Holztisch und durchblättert den Katalog der Ausstellung FRAU ARCHITEKT. Auf dem Tisch liegen weiterhin einige Ausstellungsbüchlein, in welchen Übersetzungen der Ausstellungstexte zu finden sind. Auf der aufgeschlagenen Seite des Kataloges sieht man monochrome Architekturillustrationen. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Vor zwei Ausstellungstafeln zu deutschen Architektinnen steht eine dunkel gekleidete Frau mit hellgrauer Handtasche. Der rechte Fuß der Dame ist angewinkelt. Die Tafeln sind mithilfe durchsichtiger Fäden an der weißen Wand befestigt. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“
  • Zwei Damen führen eine intensive Unterhaltung im Ausstellungsraum. Jene Frau links im Bild trägt in ihrer rechten Hand ein Glas und unterstreicht mit ihrer linken Hand den Gesprächsverlauf. Im Vordergrund sieht man ein Teil des Ausstellungsgerüsts und des Bildschirmes. Beide Besucherinnen befinden sich im hinteren Teil des Fotos, sind schwarz gekleidet und tragen schwarze Gesichtsmasken. © Goethe-Institut Zypern, Antonia Maria Nicolaides
    Ausstellung „Frau Architekt“

Veranstaltungen

Top