Game Jams Marathons on Monitors

The InnoGames Game Jam in Cologne
The InnoGames Game Jam in Cologne | Photo (detail): © InnoGames Game Jam

In Germany Game Jams are becoming more and more popular – within the space of a few hours the participants develop computer games that really work – and learn a lot about team work.

There was a hum of concentrated activity in the hall. There were groups of people either sitting or standing at rows of tables that had been pushed together, all staring spellbound at laptop screens, deep in discussion or sticking gaily coloured labels on partition walls. There were just over 200 participants from 27 nations taking part in the InnoGames Game Jam, held in Cologne at the Gamescom computer games fair in August 2016. All of them were working on games that focused on the subject of “masks”. And everyone was energised for there were only 48 hours left until the results had to be presented.

Using small teams to create original game ideas

Being creative under time pressure and having a lot of fun – this is the basic idea of game jams. The approach first came about in the USA, where, shortly after the turn of the century, computer game developers got together in small groups to design experimental prototypes. This joint improvising (“jamming”) started to attract more and more followers, in the meantime there are game jams in almost every country in the world, a lot of them also take place online. In Germany game jams are becoming more and more popular – almost every week somewhere in the Federal Republic there is some game jam event happening; the organisers are mostly game companies, universities or technical colleges.

German game jams benefit from a growing independent scene. Not only in large cities such as Berlin, Hamburg and Munich are more and more start–ups popping up all over the place, all with small teams implementing original game ideas. For these start–ups, game jams are a welcome opportunity to meet with other representatives from the industry and studios. The InnoGames Game Jam in Cologne was one of the largest ever to be held in Germany.  When the 48-hour deadline ran out, the participants had submitted a total of 39 games. A jury selected the best contributions, for example, a virtual reality game, in which a mask wearer hunts down a tiny figure (Panoptes) that is also player-operated. Or games for up to four participants, in which three sheep have to be wary of a disguised wolf (A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing).

A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing (Team: NPSheeps) A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing (Team: NPSheeps) | Photo (Screenshot): © InnoGames Game Jam

Being creative in a prescribed amount of time

Game Jams come in all sorts of different forms. “The basic constant is a limited timeframe,” says Johannes Kristmann, “but that timeframe can vary between eight hours to a whole week”. Kristmann is the co-founder of Maschinen-Mensch, a start-up in Berlin. He has already participated in various game jams, including the online jam Ludum Dare and the Global Game Jam, which takes place in many countries at the same time. “Only recently was the German edition of the Alt Ctrl Game Jam held in Berlin – a jam that focuses on alternative input methods,” says Kristmann. The participants designed their own control devices, for example, musical instruments and fruits. Before they start, most game jams decide on a certain theme, which can then be interpreted quite freely like “escape” or “discovery”. Others take place at very specific venues, such as on trains, boats or in castles.

The focus is not on competing

As different as the jams may be, “The basic idea is that anyone can participate,” explains Kristmann – not only programmers, graphic artists or soundtrack composers, but also amateurs who are simply interested in computer games. Awarding prizes to jam contributions, as was the case in Cologne, is more the exception. The focus is not on competing, but on cooperating amicably and exchanging ideas and experience. “You can learn a lot from game jams,” says Kristmann. “Not just the pure craftsmanship, but also about project management and many human things.” For example, how to make compromises between one’s own ideas and those of others.
 
Christiaan Janssen can only confirm this. Together with his colleagues Tobias Wehrum and Ivan Gabowitsch, the native Dutchman organises the traditional Berlin Mini Jam, which has been held on a monthly basis since the autumn of 2010. The particularly tight timeframe of eight hours facilitates the organisation, because, unlike in the case of events lasting several days, the organisers do not have to worry about finding accommodation for the participants. The Berlin Mini Jam takes place on Saturdays in a co-working space in the Berlin district of Kreuzberg.

Janssen explains the schedule as follows: “At the beginning, we organise a short game to get the participants talking to each other. Then Tobias explains in his introductory speech what a game jam is basically all about.” Subsequently, the participants propose a number of topics, from which one is selected by majority vote. Then the actual jam starts: The participants form working groups, which usually comprise four to five members. “There are, however, always people who prefer to work alone,” says Janssen. After a brainstorming phase, the concrete implementation phase, i.e. the programming, the graphic design, the plot and the search for suitable sound effects and music begins. “At the end, every team shows what it has achieved in the eight hours on a projector,” says Janssen. It is an exciting moment in which the games are presented for the first time. They do not necessarily have to be computer games – board and card games are also possible.

Many jam contributions are available to the public

But what actually happens with the games that are produced in the jams? “70 to 80 per cent of the contributions are not developed any further,” says Johannes Kristmann. However, some ideas are so good that they are developed into a marketable commodity by the participants. One example is TRI, the puzzle adventure game by Rat King Entertainment in Halle, which won the German computer game prize in 2015. However, many jam games are uploaded as prototypes on internet platforms like itch.io and are thus available to the general public. Sometimes the basic idea also reappears in another game.


Kristmann assumes that the jam scene in Germany will continue to grow. He is also now active as a jam organiser and mentor who advises the participants. Together with Riad Djemili von Maschinen-Mensch, he is currently organising a game-jam series on “Politics and Art in Games” for the Goethe-Institut. It is to have toured through eight different countries by 2018.

Game Jams Marathons an Monitoren

Virtual Reality beim InnoGames Game Jam in Köln
Virtual Reality beim InnoGames Game Jam in Köln | Foto (Ausschnitt): © InnoGames Game Jam

In Deutschland werden Game Jams immer beliebter: Binnen weniger Stunden entwickeln die Teilnehmenden funktionsfähige Computerspiele – und lernen dabei viel über die Arbeit im Team.

Im Saal herrscht konzentrierte Betriebsamkeit. An zusammengeschobenen Tischen sitzen und stehen Menschen in Grüppchen zusammen, schauen gebannt auf Laptop-Bildschirme, diskutieren miteinander oder kleben bunte Merkzettel an Stellwände. Knapp 200 Teilnehmer aus 27 Nationen hat der InnoGames Game Jam, der während der Computerspielmesse Gamescom im August 2016 in Köln stattfindet. Alle feilen sie an Spielen zum Leitthema „Masken“. Und alle stehen ordentlich unter Dampf. Denn bis zur Präsentation der Ergebnisse bleiben nur 48 Stunden Zeit.

Mit kleinen Teams originelle Spielideen umsetzen

Unter Zeitdruck kreativ sein und dabei jede Menge Spaß haben – das ist die Grundidee der Game Jams. Entstanden ist sie in den USA: Dort trafen sich kurz nach der Jahrtausendwende Entwickler von Computerspielen, um in kleinen Gruppen experimentelle Prototypen zu entwerfen. Dieses gemeinsame Improvisieren („Jammen“) fand immer mehr Anhänger. Mittlerweile gibt es Game Jams in nahezu jedem Land der Welt, viele finden zudem online statt. Auch in Deutschland werden Game Jams immer beliebter: Fast jede Woche gibt es irgendwo im Bundesgebiet eine entsprechende Veranstaltung; die Organisatoren sind meist Spielefirmen, Universitäten oder Fachhochschulen.

Die deutschen Game Jams profitieren von einer wachsenden Independent-Szene: Nicht nur in Großstädten wie Berlin, Hamburg und München schießen immer mehr Start-ups aus dem Boden, die in kleinen Teams originelle Spielideen umsetzen. Für diese Start-ups sind Game Jams eine willkommene Gelegenheit, sich mit anderen Branchenvertretern und Spiele-Studios auszutauschen. Der InnoGames Game Jam in Köln war einer der größten, die es bislang in Deutschland gab: Am Ende der 48-Stunden-Frist hatten die Teilnehmenden insgesamt 39 Spiele eingereicht. Eine Jury wählte die besten Beiträge aus, zum Beispiel ein Virtual-Reality-Game, bei dem ein Maskenträger eine winzige, ebenfalls spielergesteuerte Figur jagt (Panoptes), oder auch ein Spiel für bis zu vier Teilnehmer, bei dem sich drei Schafe vor einem getarnten Wolf in Acht nehmen müssen (A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing).

A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing (Team: NPSheeps) A Wolf in Sheep's Clothing (Team: NPSheeps) | Foto (Screenshot): © InnoGames Game Jam

Kreativ sein in vorgegebener Zeit

Game Jams gibt es in den unterschiedlichsten Ausprägungen. „Die Grundkonstante ist ein begrenzter Zeitrahmen“, sagt Johannes Kristmann, „Der kann allerdings zwischen acht Stunden und einer Woche schwanken“. Kristmann ist Mitbegründer von Maschinen-Mensch, einem Start-up aus Berlin. Er hat schon an verschiedenen Game Jams teilgenommen, unter anderem am reinen Online-Jam Ludum Dare sowie am Global Game Jam, der zeitgleich in vielen Ländern stattfindet. „Erst kürzlich fand hier in Berlin die deutsche Ausgabe des Alt Ctrl Game Jam statt, der sich mit alternativen Eingabemethoden befasst“, erzählt Kristmann. Die Teilnehmer bastelten eigene Steuergeräte, etwa aus Musikinstrumenten oder Früchten. Die meisten Game Jams geben kurz vor Beginn bestimmte Themen vor, die dann recht frei interpretiert werden können, wie zum Beispiel „Flucht“ oder „Entdeckung“. Andere haben besondere Austragungsorte und werden in Zügen, Booten oder Burgen veranstaltet.

Im Vordergrund steht nicht der Wettbewerb

So unterschiedlich die Jams auch sein mögen: „Der Grundgedanke ist, dass jeder mitmachen kann“, erklärt Kristmann – also nicht nur Programmierer, Grafiker oder Soundtrack-Komponisten, sondern auch Laien, die sich für Computerspiele interessieren. Dass Jam-Beiträge prämiert würden wie in Köln, sei eher die Ausnahme. Denn nicht der Wettbewerb stehe im Vordergrund, sondern freundschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Erfahrungsaustausch. „Bei Game Jams kann man viel lernen“, sagt Kristmann. „Nicht nur das rein Handwerkliche, sondern auch Projektmanagement und viele menschliche Dinge.“ Zum Beispiel, wie man Kompromisse zwischen eigenen und fremden Ideen findet.

Christiaan Janssen kann das nur bestätigen. Gemeinsam mit seinen Kollegen Tobias Wehrum und Iwan Gabowitsch organisiert der gebürtige Niederländer den traditionsreichen Berlin Mini Jam, der seit Herbst 2010 monatlich stattfindet. Der besonders enge Zeitrahmen von acht Stunden erleichtert die Organisation, denn anders als bei mehrtägigen Veranstaltungen müssen sich die Macher nicht um Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten kümmern. Der Berlin Mini Jam findet samstags in Kreuzberg statt.

Janssen erläutert den Ablauf: „Zu Beginn veranstalten wir ein kurzes Spiel, um die Teilnehmer miteinander ins Gespräch zu bringen. Dann erklärt Tobias in seiner Einführungsrede, worum es grundsätzlich bei einem Game Jam geht.“ Anschließend schlagen die Teilnehmer Themen vor, aus denen eines per Mehrheitsentscheid ausgewählt wird. Nun startet der eigentliche Jam: Die Teilnehmenden bilden Arbeitsgruppen, die meist vier bis fünf Mitglieder umfassen. „Wobei es auch immer wieder Leute gibt, die allein arbeiten“, sagt Janssen. Nach einer Brainstorming-Phase beginnt die konkrete Umsetzung, also die Programmierung, die grafische Gestaltung, der Entwurf einer Handlung und die Suche nach passenden Sound-Effekten und Musik. „Zum Schluss zeigt jedes Team an einem Projektor, was es in den acht Stunden geschaffen hat“, sagt Janssen. Ein spannender Moment, in dem die Spiele erstmals präsentiert werden. Das müssen nicht zwangsläufig Computerspiele sein: auch Brett- und Kartenspiele kommen infrage.

Jam-Beiträge sind auch für die Allgemeinheit 

Doch was geschieht eigentlich mit den Spielen, die in den Jams entstehen? „70 bis 80 Prozent der Beiträge werden danach nicht weiterentwickelt“, sagt Johannes Kristmann. Manche Ideen sind allerdings so gut, dass sie von den Teilnehmern bis zur Marktreife ausgearbeitet werden: Ein Beispiel ist das Rätselabenteuer TRI von Rat King Entertainment aus Halle, das 2015 den Deutschen Computerspielpreis gewann. Viele Jam-Beiträge werden jedoch als Prototypen auf Internet-Plattformen wie itch.io hochgeladen und stehen damit der Allgemeinheit zur Verfügung. Bisweilen taucht die Grundidee dann auch in einem anderen Spiel wieder auf. 


Kristmann geht davon aus, dass die Jam-Szene in Deutschland weiter wachsen wird. Er selbst ist inzwischen auch als Jam-Veranstalter und Mentor tätig, der die Teilnehmer berät. Zusammen mit Riad Djemili von Maschinen-Mensch organisiert er für das Goethe-Institut derzeit eine Game-Jam-Reihe zum Thema „Politik und Kunst in Spielen“. Sie soll bis 2018 durch acht verschiedene Länder touren.