Games in Germany Games: A part of Lifestyle and Culture for People in Germany

Presentation Gaming; Linda Kruse, Moritz Lehr
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Games are a fundamental factor in the development of (human) culture, says cultural historian Johan Huizinga in his 1938 book Homo Ludens (the playing human). He shows how centuries ago, cultural systems have developed from playful modes of behavior, and how the people could escape death by starvation merely by distracting themselves with playing games.

Location-based Games Augmented Reality (AR)

Today, digital games have gained a strong foothold in society. The latest example is the success app of 2016: Pokemon Go, where users are hunting the yellow monster Pikachu and his friends. Pokemon Go generated a hype that traversed all age groups and drew people and their smartphones outside, in any wind and weather.

Gamescom 2016 Gamescom 2016 | © Steven Aang The app enables players to see a view of reality through the camera of their smartphones, enhanced by elements of the game. In this augmented reality, monsters (pokemons) appear at certain locations and can be caught by throwing digital balls (pokeballs) at them.

Despite the instant boom, the number of active players decreased after two months. Pokemon Go lacks elements of the game that keep players interested for a longer period of time. The revenue brought in by the game in just two months, however, not only makes developers Niantic and Pokemon Group happy, but also future investors. It shows that location-based games with AR technology can work perfectly in combination with the right brand and an appealing concept.


Mass Audience, Indies and Virtual Reality (VR)

In August 2016, more than 345 000 visitors from 97 countries came to the Gamescom in Cologne, the biggest exhibition for games and interactive entertainment worldwide. For five days, international experts, gamers and game enthusiasts came together to test the newest games.

In the exhibition halls, one could find AAA games like The Legend of Zelda, Mafia 3, Overwatch and Watch Dogs 2, that have been produced and distributed by publishers for a mass audience with a budget of several hundred millions of Euro, mostly overseas. But at the exhibition, visitors could also take a look at indie games, which are mostly developed by smaller teams, and independent from big publishers and exorbitantly huge marketing budgets. The Indie Arena Booth at the last Gamescom, spread across 620 square meters, featured 60 indie developers from 18 countries.

Gamescom 2016 Gamescom 2016 | © Steven Aang
The selection was quite impressive: one could find just about anything, from text adventure Code 7 to games that could be played with virtual reality headsets.
In FAR: Lone Sails, players become an adventurer, whose vehicle must constantly be repaired in order to continue the journey. In The Inner World, a classic point and click adventure, players rescue the flute noses of Asposia together with Robert and Laura.
Multiplayer games like Shift Happens which is played in co-op mode (two players play together) and Oniri Islands where two players solve puzzles with real haptic meeples on a tablet, also enthused the audience.

The Holocafé will become Europe’s first “local multiplayer VR” arcade. Similar to the arcade halls with slot machines, the Holocafé will be a place for VR players. Here, one can book rooms featuring VR headsets and play specially developed VR games for 2 to 4 players, such as the multiplayer archery game which would be possible in a setting like this.

Virtual Reality was again a trend at the Gamescon 2016. Games with VR headsets by various developers were mostly recognized by the long queues of enthusiastic gamers. In addition to the aforementioned indie games, VR games by well-known publishers were also on display, such as Climb by Frankfurt-based Crytec where the player can climb lifelike 3D rocky landscapes. In Batman: Arkham VR, the player follows in the footsteps of Bruce Wayne to solve a mystery from the ego-perspective instead of the third-person perspective

Serious Games and Simulations

There are of course also games are not necessarily available in shops. In Germany, for instance, simulation games such as the farming simulator, are extremely popular, among the developers as well as the players.

“Serious Games” that are especially developed to transfer learning content, are increasingly used as teaching material in vocational education and training, like for recruitment purposes of companies or internal seminars and training of big corporations.
Even in the health-care sector, recent research has shown that games have a positive effect on rehabilitation and can even be used as replacement for tranquilizer before surgery. This eases the daily routine of physicians and nursing staff, and at the same boosts the patients’ participation in therapeutic or rehabilitating exercises, as the game Patchie has shown .

It seems that games in the modern age can increasingly be seen as a fundamental factor in the development of human culture - in the sense of Johan Huizinga - and will play an even more important cultural role in the future.
 

Linda Kruse,
and Marcus Bösch founded The studio The Good Evil GmbH in2013 in Cologne. She and her team specialize itself in newsgames, games for museums and science games. One of these games is the award-winning language learning adventure Squirrel & Bear.

Spiele in Deutschland Spiele als Teil der Lebenskultur für Menschen in Deutschland

Presentation Gaming; Linda Kruse, Moritz Lehr
© Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Das Spiel ist ein elementarer Faktor zur Bildung von (menschlicher) Kultur. Schreibt der Kulturhistoriker Johan Huizinga 1938 in “Homo Ludens” (der spielende Mensch). Er zeigt auf wie selbst vor Hunderten von Jahren kulturelle Systeme aus spielerischen Verhaltensweisen entwickelt wurden. Oder wie ein Volk nur durch die Ablenkung durch spielen dem Hungerstod entkommen konnte.

Ortsbasierte Spiele und Augmented Reality (AR)


Heute - 2016 sind auch digitale Spiele (Games) mehr und mehr “in der Mitte der Gesellschaft” angekommen. Jüngstes Beispiel dafür ist die Erfolgsapp dieses Jahres: Pokemon Go. Auf das gelbe Monster Pikachu und seine Freunde wurde die Jagd eröffnet. Pokémon Go löste einen Hype aus, der sich durch alle Altersgruppen zog und die Bevölkerung bei Wind und Wetter mit dem Smartphone in der Hand vor die Tür lockte.

Gamescom 2016 Gamescom 2016 | © Steven Aang In der App ist es dem Spieler möglich ein Abbild der Realität zu sehen, welches über die Kamera des Smartphones übertragen wird, der allerdings Elemente des Spiels eingefügt werden. Auf dieser Umgebung erscheinen dann, an bestimmten geographischen Punkten Monster (Pokémons), die sich durch werfen von digitalen Bällen (Pokébälle) einfangen lassen.

Knapp zwei Monate später ist die Zahl der aktiven Spieler bereits zurückgegangen. Pokémon Go fehlt es noch an Spielelementen, die die Spieler auch längerfristig begeistern könnten. Der Umsatz, den das Spiel in den zwei Monaten erwirtschaftet hat, erfreut allerdings nicht nur den Entwickler Niantic und die Pokémon Group, sondern auch zukünftige Investoren. Es zeigt, dass mit der richtigen Marke und einem ansprechenden Konzept auch ortsbasierte Spiele mit Augmented Reality (AR) - Technologie ausgezeichnet funktionieren können.


Massenpublikum, Indies und Virtual Reality (VR)


Im August empfing die Gamescom als weltweit größte Messe für Spiele und interaktive Unterhaltung 345.000 Besucher aus 97 Ländern Köln. Über fünf Tage trafen hier sowohl Branchenpublikum, als auch Gamer und Spielebegeisterte an, um die neusten Spiele auszutesten.

In den Messehallen fanden sich  die großen Triple-A Spiele wie The Legend of Zelda, Mafia 3, Overwatch und Watch Dogs 2, welche für den Massenmarkt mit Herstellungsbudgets von mehreren hundert Millionen Euro, meist im Ausland, produziert und durch Publisher vertrieben werden. Aber auch “Indie Games”, die von den Besuchern angespielt werden konnten fanden sich auf der Messe. “Indie Games” sind Spiele von meist kleineren Entwicklerteams, welche unabhängig von großen Publishern und exorbitanten Marketingbudgets entwickelt werden. Dieses Jahr umfasste die “Indie Arena Booth”  620qm2 mit  60 Indie Entwickler aus 18 Ländern.

Gamescom 2016 Gamescom 2016 | © Steven Aang
Die Auswahl konnte sich sehen lassen: vom Text-Adventure Code 7 bis hin zu Spielen, die mittels Virtual Reality- Brillen  gespielt werden können war alles dabei.
In FAR:Lone Sails spielte man einen kleinen Abenteurer, dessen Fahrzeug auf der Reise konstant repariert werden muss, um weiter zu kommen. Bei The Inner World, einem klassischen Point und Click Adventure, geht es darum mit Robert und Laura die Flötennasen Aposiens zu retten. Aber auch Multiplayer-Spiele wie Shift Happens, welches im Co-Op Modus (zwei Spieler spielen zusammen) gespielt wird und Oniri Islands  wo zwei Spieler mit echten haptischen Spielfiguren auf einem Tablet Rätsel lösen, konnten begeistern.

Das Holocafé wird Europas erste “local multiplayer VR” Arcade. Ähnlich wie damals die “Arcade-Hallen” mit  Spielautomaten, wird das Holocafé ein Ort für VR-Spieler werden. Hier lassen sich mit VR-Brillen ausgestattete Räume buchen und mit 2–4 Spielern extra entwickelte VR-Spiele spielen. Eines dieser Beispiele wäre das Multiplayer Bogenschießen, das in diesem Rahmen möglich wäre.

Virtual Reality war auch bei der diesjährigen Gamescom ein Trend gewesen. Spiele mit den VR-Brillen unterschiedlicher Hersteller ließen sich an den zumeist großen Schlangen von anstehenden Menschen erkennen. Neben den o.g. Indie Spielen, gab es natürlich auch VR-Spiele bekannter Publisher. Wie z.B. Climb von Crytec aus Frankfurt. In Climb kann der Spieler naturgetreue 3D-Felslandschaften hochklettern. Oder bei Batman: Arkham VR schlüpft der Spieler in den Körper von Bruce Wayne, um das Abenteuer investigativ aus der Ego-Perspektive anstatt aus der Third-Person Perspektive zu lösen.

Serious Games und Simulationen


Es gibt natürlich auch Spiele, die nicht unbedingt im Laden zu finden sind. In Deutschland sehr beliebt sowohl aus Entwicklersicht als auch auf Seite der Spieler, sind Simulationsspiele, wie ein Landwirtschaftssimulator, als eines der Beispiele.

Aber auch „Serious Games“, Spiele die zur Vermittlung von Lerninhalten speziell konzipiert werden, finden mehr und mehr Anwendung als Unterrichtsmaterial in der beruflichen Aus- und Weiterbildung, wie in den Bereichen des Recruitings für Firmen oder für interne Schulungen und Fortbildung großer Unternehmen.

Auch im Gesundheitsbereich belegen aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse immer wieder, welche positiven Effekte auf Rehabilitation fungieren können oder jüngst gar als Ersatz für Beruhigungsmittel vor Operationen eingesetzt werden können. Dies erleichtert sowohl den Alltag der Mediziner und des Pflegepersonals, als auch die Routine und Freude der Patienten an therapeutischen oder rehabilitierenden Übungen, wie beim Spiel Patchie zu sehen ist.

Es scheint, dass auch „Games“, die Spiele des modernen Zeitalters, ganz im Sinne Johan Huizinga, mehr und mehr als elementarer Faktor der Bildung menschlicher Kultur gesehen werden können und auch für die Zukunft eine noch wichtigere Rolle in der Kultur einnehmen werden.
 

Linda Kruse,
und Marcus Bösch gründeten das Studio The Good Evil GmbH 2013 in Köln. Sie und ihr Team sind spezialisiert auf Newsgames, Games für Museen und Science-Games. Eines dieser Spiele ist das preisgekrönte Sprachlernabenteuer Squirrel & Bär.