Interview "MUTUAL UNKNOWN": Experimental Exhibition Challenges Artists and Audience

Exhibition; Mutual Unknown - Jakarta
Exhibition; Mutual Unknown - Jakarta | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

From June 2 to 17, 2017 nine artists from across Southeast Asia presented their works as part of the experimental exhibition “Mutual Unknown”, a project by curators of CuratorsLAB, in Jakarta. Over the course of three weeks prior to the exhibition, they developed ideas, which they then finalized in front of an audience. The idea behind the project: In “Mutual Unknown”, curators, artists and audience saw themselves confronted with one another, initially as strangers. By continuing to work on their art pieces and through the open feedback, they eventually got to know each other. Four participating artists talk about their expectations, influences and experiences:
 


How would you describe the project “Mutual Unkown” in your own words?
 
Nuttapon: It’s a very interactive project. Every day, we learn something from the people, from the visitors. I change my work and my thought process every day because I have new ideas thanks to the activities around me as well as my conversations with the audience.
 
Tan Vatey: The project is a space that brings together artists, curators and audience. It is special because we interact with the audience and are able to meet them.

Leonard Yang: It is a fast-paced project that has opened our eyes. It is challenging, but at the same time also rewarding. We didn’t have much time to develop something or to follow a certain idea. In Singapore, I usually don’t work this fast. That’s why it was enriching to create a new artwork or series in only three weeks time.
 
How has “Mutual Unknown” changed your perception of Southeast Asia and Southeast Asian art?
 
Tan Vatey: There is another form of art here. The way I perceive it, it is all about building a network and interaction with the audience. I don’t work alone: I work with other artists and with the audience. The movement around me is inspiring and keeps my art alive.

Thuy Thien Nguyen: I actually don’t label art as “art from Southeast Asia”. It is nice that I don’t see so many differences between the artists. I don’t think: this is Renz Lee from the Philippines, this is Fajar Abadi from Indonesia, and I am from Vietnam. The collaborative atmosphere is exciting. But this form of work also changes me. I used to work with identities, but this time, my interest is different. My main themes now are time, past and present. These are very new topics for me, and I can learn a lot from the other artists.

Nuttapon:I don’t know much about Southeast Asia, except for Thailand and Indonesia. In my opinion, the visitors and artists here are different. The work of many artists in Thailand, including myself, is about political statements. Here, however, everything is much more relaxed. We can talk about anything, and the audience seems to understand it. During my conversations, I realized that we belong to the same generation and have a similar mindset.
 
What kind of expectations did you have prior to the project?
 
Leonard Yang: I expected to work individually - which actually happened, in a way. Many of the artists here work individually in a sense that they focus on their own ideas and pieces. Nevertheless, I had the chance to get to know them better, not through collaboration or a project, but through working together in the same environment every day.

Tan Vatey: Personally, I expected an exchange between Southeast Asian artists and curators. I was hoping to learn more about the Indonesian and Southeast Asian culture, that the artists find their own way to express themselves, and that we would visit some galleries together. Luckily, all of this happened, and we learned a lot.
 
What kind of challenges did you face during the project?
 
Thuy Tien Nguyen: Our own preparation time was really very short, it was less than one week. Therefore, it was difficult to develop a new point of view, because we didn’t understand enough to actually have a point of view. Everything I do and think is like an outline. First I thought that this would be a disadvantage, but now I believe that it makes sense – extensive time forces you to make decisions: what is important? What do I show, what do I conceal? You have to repeatedly ask yourself: Why am I interested in the development of my project? The tight schedule made us tired at first because we were on the move a lot, but it was also challenging in a good way. 

 
What kind of opportunities do you think does the exhibition offer to yourselves and the audience?
 
Leonard Yang: The visitors have the chance to really get to know the artists and learn firsthand what they want to present. That’s important, because it’s not every day that we have the opportunity to talk to those who we want to show our works to. They are often exhibited in a gallery or another institution, by someone else for us, in our name. For me, and I think also for some of the visitors, it is interesting to talk to each other and to find out more about my work and what I would like to do and express through my art.

Nuttapon: Many visitors come and take photos, but they don’t say anything. I actually would like to encourage them to become more active. They shouldn’t just take a look at the project, but talk to me about its concept. That way, they would be able to take something away from the exhibition.

Thuy Tien Nguyen: For the audience, this kind of exhibition is less intimidating. When they visit a museum and see the artworks, it always happens from a distance. But if they are able to observe the process, this barrier is slowly disappearing.
 

 

Leonard Yang © Leonard Yang Leonard Yang aus Singapur addresses the daily change of landscapes, the absence of unused land in the cityscape, as well as the estranged relationship to cultural heritage in his works. Leonard already presented his works in the “ASEAN-Korean Multimedia Competition Exhibition” in 2014. In 2016, he was a finalist of the art award exhibition of “Harper’s Bazaar” magazine.

Nuttapon © Nuttapon Nuttapon: The political unrest in Thailand in 2006 led Nuttapon to focus on the topic of politics – inspired by Phumsiak’s idea of art and culture as tool for social involvement. Nuttapon believes that every subject of study contains different learning curves and expositions. According to him, learning, experimenting, ideas and common practice are closely connected in the world of art.

Tan Vatey © Tan Vatey Tan Vatey studied at Sa Sa Art Projects and worked on a voluntary basis as art teacher and designer for various NGOs in Phnom Penh. Vatey ranked third in the competition “Art on Aids”, which took place on the 11th International AIDS Congress in Asia and the Pacific in 2013 in Bangkok. She has already participated in several live painting events in Phnom Penh and group exhibitions in Siem Reap.

Thuy Tien Nguyen © Thuy Tien Nguyen Thuy Tien Nguyen: Vietnamese artist Thuy Tien Nguyen experiments with different media, such as photography, video, text, installations and performance, revealing her deepest and most vulnerable sides of her self, her body, her psyche and her existence.

Interview "Mutual Unknown": Experimentelle Ausstellung fordert Künstler und Publikum

Ausstellung; Mutual Unknown - Jakarta
Ausstellung; Mutual Unknown - Jakarta | © Goethe-Institut Indonesien

Vom 2. bis zum 17. Juni 2017 präsentierten neun KüstlerInnen aus ganz Südostasien ihre Werke im Rahmen der experimentellen Ausstellung „Mutual Unknown“, einem Projekt von KuratorInnen des CuratorsLAB, in Jakarta. In den drei Wochen davor hatten sie ihre Ideen erarbeitet, vor den Augen des Publikums führten sie diese nun zu Ende. Die Idee dahinter: In „Mutual Unknown“ sahen sich die KuratorInnen, KünstlerInnen und das Publikum miteinander konfrontiert, waren sie sich einander zunächst gleichermaßen fremd. Durch die Weiterarbeit an den Werken und das offene Feedback lernten sie einander erst kennen. Vier der Künstler*innen berichten von ihren Erwartungen, Einflüssen und Erfahrungen:
 


Wie würdet Ihr das Projekt „Mutual Unknown“ in Euren eigenen Worten beschreiben?
 
Nuttapon: Das Projekt ist sehr interaktiv. Wir lernen jeden Tag etwas von den Menschen, von den Besuchern. Ich verändere meine Arbeit und mein Denken jeden Tag, denn ich bekomme neue Ideen das Handeln um mich herum und  das Publikum, indem ich mich mit den Menschen unterhalte.
 
Tan Vatey: Das Projekt ist ein Ort, der KünstlerInnen, KuratorInnen und das Publikum zusammenbringt. Es ist besonders, weil wir mit dem Publikum interagieren und einander treffen können.

Leonard Yang: Es handelt sich um ein wirklich temporeiches Projekt, das uns die Augen geöffnet hat. Es ist herausfordernd, aber auch bereichernd. Wir hatten wenig Zeit, um etwas zu erarbeiten und einer bestimmte Idee weiter nachzugehen. Normalerweise arbeite ich nicht so schnell, wenn ich in Singapur bin. Daher war es bereichernd, in nur drei Wochen eine neue Serie oder ein neues Werk zu erarbeiten
 
Inwiefern hat „Mutual Unknown“ Eure Perspektive über Südostasien und die Kunst hier verändert?
 
Tan Vatey: Es gibt hier eine andere Art von Kunst. So wie ich es wahrnehme, geht es hier um das Aufbauen von Verbindungen, das Interagieren mit dem Publikum. Ich arbeite also nicht allein: Ich arbeite mit anderen KünstlerInnen, mit dem Publikum. Die Bewegung um mich herum ist inspirierend und hält meine Kunst am Leben.

Thuy Thien Nguyen: Ich etikettiere Kunst eigentlich nicht als „Kunst aus Südostasien“. Es ist schön, dass ich gar nicht so große Unterschiede zwischen den Künstler*innen sehe. Ich denke ja nicht: Das ist Renz Lee von den Philippinen, das ist Fajar Abadi aus Indonesien und das bin ich aus Vietnam. Diese gemeinschaftliche Atmosphäre finde ich sehr spannend. Aber diese Arbeit verändert mich auch. Früher habe ich immer mit Identitäten gearbeitet, dieses Mal ist mein Interesse anders. Meine Hauptthemen sind jetzt Zeit, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Es sind ganz neue Themen und ich kann dabei viel von den anderen KünstlerInnen lernen.

Nuttapon: Ich weiß nicht viel über Südostasien, nur über Thailand und Indonesien. Mir erscheinen die BesucherInnen und die KünstlerInnen hier anders. Viele KünstlerInnen in Thailand arbeiten an politischen Statements, so auch ich, wenn ich dort bin. Hier ist alles entspannter. Wir können über alles sprechen und das Publikum versteht es. Bei meinen Gesprächen ist mir aufgefallen, dass wir derselben Generation angehören und ähnlich denken.
 
Mit welchen Erwartungen seid Ihr in das Projekt gegangen?
 
Leonard Yang: Ich habe erwartet, individuell zu arbeiten, was sich in bestimmter Weise auch erfüllt hat. Viele der KünstlerInnen hier arbeiten individuell in dem Sinne, dass sie sich auf ihre eigenen Ideen und Arbeiten konzentrieren. Dennoch habe ich sie besser kennen gelernt, nicht durch Kollaboration oder ein Projekt, aber dadurch, dass wir alltäglich in derselben Umgebung gearbeitet haben.

Tan Vatey: Ich persönlich habe Austausch zwischen südostasiatischen KünstlerInnen und KuratorInnen erwartet. Ich habe gehofft, mehr über die indonesische und die südostasiatische Kultur zu lernen,  dass die KünstlerInnen eigene Wege finden, sich auszudrücken, dass wir Galerien gemeinsam besuchen. All das ist glücklicherweise passiert und wir haben viel gelernt.
 
Welche Herausforderungen musstet Ihr während des Projekts überwinden?
 
Thuy Tien Nguyen: Die eigene Einarbeitungszeit war wirklich sehr kurz, sie betrug weniger als eine Woche. Es war also schwer, einen neuen Standpunkt zu entwickeln, weil man noch nicht genug verstand, um einen Standpunkt zu haben. Alles, was ich tue und denke, entspricht einer Skizze. Zuerst dachte ich, das wäre ein Nachteil, aber jetzt denke ich, dass es Sinn ergibt: Eine intensive Zeit bringt dich dazu, dich zu entscheiden: Was ist wichtig? Was zeige ich und was nicht? Und sich immer wieder zu fragen: Warum bin ich an der Entwicklung meines Projekts interessiert? Der straffe Zeitplan machte uns zuerst müde, weil wir so viel unterwegs waren, aber es war auf eine gute Art und Weise auch alles sehr herausfordernd.

 
Welche Chancen oder Möglichkeiten, glaubt Ihr, bietet die Ausstellung Euch und den Besucher-Innen?
 
Leonard Yang: Die BesucherInnen haben die Chance, die KünstlerInnen wirklich kennen zu lernen und von ihnen aus erster Hand mehr darüber zu erfahren, was sie präsentieren. Das ist wichtig, weil wir nicht jeden Tag die Chance haben mit denjenigen zu sprechen, denen wir unsere Werke zeigen. Oftmals werden sie von einer Galerie oder einer anderen Institution ausgestellt, von jemand anderem für uns, in unserem Namen. Es ist interessant für mich und ich denke auch für einige der BesucherInnen, auch miteinander sprechen zu können und mehr über meine Arbeit zu erfahren, darüber, was ich machen und damit ausdrücken möchte.

Nuttapon: Viele BesucherInnen kommen und machen ein Bild, sagen jedoch nichts. Ich möchte die Menschen eigentlich dazu ermutigen, tätig zu werden und zu handeln. Sie sollen sich das Projekt nicht einfach nur ansehen, sondern auch mit mir reden und über das Konzept dahinter sprechen. Auf diesem Weg würden sie noch mehr aus der Ausstellung mitnehmen.

Thuy Tien Nguyen: F ür das Publikum ist diese Art Ausstellung weniger einschüchternd. Wenn sie ein Museum besuchen und die Kunstwerke sehen, besteht immer noch eine Distanz dazu. Aber wenn sie den Prozess beobachten können, löst sich dieser Filter immer weiter auf.
 

 

Leonard Yang © Leonard Yang Leonard Yang aus Singapur thematisiert in seinen Werken den alltäglichen landschaftlichen Wandel, die Abwesenheit ungenutzter Flächen im Stadtbild und die entfremdete Beziehung zu kulturellem Erbe. Seine Arbeiten präsentierte er bereits in der „ASEAN-Korean Multimedia Competition Exhibion“ 2014 und trat 2016 als Finalist in der Kunstpreisausstellung des Magazins „Harper’s Bazaar“ an.

Nuttapon © Nuttapon Nuttapon: Die politischen Unruhen in Thailand 2006 bewegten Nuttapon dazu, sich auf das Thema  Politik zu konzentrieren-inspiriert von Phumsiaks Idee von Kunst und Kultur als Apparat für soziale Auseinandersetzungen. Nuttapon glaubt, dass jedes Studienfach über verschiedene Lernprozesse und Darstellungen verfügt. In der Kunst sind ihm zufolge das Lernen, Experimentieren, die Ideen und die Praxis eng miteinander verbunden

Tan Vatey © Tan Vatey Tan Vatey lernte bei Sa Sa Art Projects und arbeitete danach ehrenamtlich als Kunstlehrerin und Designerin bei diversen NGOs in Phnom Penh. Vatey landete auf dem dritten Platz im Art On Aids-Wettbewerb am elften Internationalen AIDS-Kongress in Asien und Pazifik, der 2013 in Bangkok stattfand. Sie nahm bereits an mehreren Live-Painting-Events in Phnom Penh und Gruppenausstellungen in Siem Reap teil.

Thuy Tien Nguyen © Thuy Tien Nguyen Thuy Tien Nguyen: Die vietnamesische Künstlerin Thuy Tien Nguyen experimentiert mit unterschiedlichen Medien, wie Fotographie, Video, Text, Installationen und Performance. Sie berichtet dabei von den tiefsten und verletzlichsten Seiten ihrer Selbst, ihres Körpers, ihrer Psyche und Existenz.