Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Is There A Place For Journalism In Social Media?

Panel 1
25.11.2021 | 1 - 3 PM

The public increasingly uses social media as the primary source of news. It is also a stage for personal opinion and unverified information, thus a challenge for users to figure out the veracity of the news it disseminates. How will journalism evolve in the face of social media? How can news organizations build trust in the midst of information overload?
 


Speakers

Imam SafingiPrivat: © Imam Safingi

Imam Safingi

was engaged in self-learning video production and graphic design throughout his university years, Imam’s professional experience ranges from TV journalism, video production, graphic design, content creation and communication.​ Imam’s area of expertise is creative communication for humanitarian, advocacy, empowerment and sustainable activities. He has worked with various organizations, including media companies, non-profits, social enterprises and the government.​ Based on the perception that various information sources increasingly flood media channels, in 2020 he founded Perupadata, which filters, compiles and visualizes current information in a single infographic​.

Dr. Le Thu Mach Privat © Dr. Le Thu Mach

Dr. Le Thu Mach

is a lecturer of Journalism at the Ho Chi Minh National Academy of Politics in Hanoi, Vietnam, and an associate lecturer for the Academy of Journalism and Communication, and Swinburne University in Vietnam. She earned her PhD in Journalism from Monash University, and gained global media experience from several countries. Dr. Le Thu Mach’s focus of research is using digital media for social movement and the public sphere in Vietnam and Southeast Asia. Besides academia, Dr. Le Thu Mach also works as a communication consultant for government relations, and a collaborating writer for some media outlets.

Yasmina Al-Gannabi © Deutsche Welle

Yasmina Al-Gannabi

is a highly passionate and experienced audience development manager, trainer, and social media consultant with a demonstrated history of working in the broadcast media industry. She is currently working for Deutsche Welle (DW), Germany’s international broadcaster. On behalf of the DW Academy and other organizations she travels around the world training journalists and NGOs in data-based work on social media, storytelling, newsgathering, and safety on social media.

Sophia Smith Galer© Brian Prentke

Sophia Smith Galer

is a multi-award-winning senior news reporter for VICE World News. She has pioneered how TikTok can be used as a newsgathering and publishing tool for journalists and was the first journalist to have been selected for the TikTok Creator Council. She has broken stories on the misuse of influencer advertising for political gain, Donald Trump's TikTok campaigning (despite simultaneously trying to ban the app), how anti-vaxxers have gamed the algorithm, and how moderated TikTok ads have sold everything from laughing gas to fake diet products through fraudulent use of the videos by bona fide doctors. Harper Collins will publish her first book Losing It: Sex Education for the 21st Century next April.


Moderator

Prita Kusumaputri© Dani Purba

Prita Kusumaputri

is currently a correspondent for Deutsche Welle Indonesia, where she is also part of the Instagram team that manages the @dw.nesia account, which has developed well since its launch and achieved its targets. Prita has more than five years of experience in journalism. She has been a reporter at NET MEDIATAMA and became a content writer at MRA Media Group. She has a special interest in communication, digital media, research, facts and data, and layout design.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Hat Journalismus einen Platz in den sozialen Medien?

Panel 1

Die Öffentlichkeit nutzt zunehmend Soziale Medien als primäre Nachrichtenquelle. Sie sind auch eine Bühne für persönliche Meinungen und ungeprüfte Informationen und somit eine Herausforderung für die Benutzer, den Wahrheitsgehalt der von ihnen verbreiteten Nachrichten herauszufinden. Wie wird sich Journalismus angesichts der sozialen Medien entwickeln? Wie können Nachrichtenorganisationen inmitten der Informationsflut Vertrauen aufbauen?
 


Sprecher*innen

Imam SafingiPrivat: © Imam Safingi

Imam Safingi

hat sich an der Universität viel mit der Produktion von Lernvideos und mit Grafik-Design beschäftigt. Inzwischen arbeitet er in den Bereichen TV-Journalismus, Videoproduktion, Grafik-Design, Content Creation und Kommunikation. Imam Safingis Kernkompetenz ist der Bereich kreative Kommunikation für Menschenrechtsorganisationen, Aktivismus, Empowerment und Nachhaltigkeit. Er hat bereits mit vielen Organisationen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Medienunternehmen, Non-profit-Organisationen, soziale Einrichtungen und die Regierung. ​Als Antwort auf die zunehmende Nachrichtenflut, die durch die Medienkanäle dringt, hat er 2020 Perupadata gegründet, um aktuelle Informationen zu filtern und in Info-Grafiken zusammenzufassen.

Dr. Le Thu Mach Privat © Dr. Le Thu Mach

Dr. Le Thu Mach

ist Dozentin für Journalismus an der Ho-Chi-Minh-Akademie für Politik in Hanoi, Vietnam, sowie Lehrbeauftragte an der Akademie für Journalismus und Kommunikation und an der Swinburne-Universität in Vietnam. Sie promovierte im Fach Journalismus an der Monash University und konnte internationale Medienerfahrungen in mehreren Ländern sammeln. Dr. Le Thu Machs Forschungsschwerpunkt ist die Nutzung digitaler Medien für soziale Bewegungen und für die Öffentlichkeit in Vietnam und Südostasien. Neben ihrer akademischen Tätigkeit arbeitet Dr. Le Thu Mach auch als Beraterin in Sachen Kommunikation für die Regierung und als Autorin für einige Medien.

Yasmina Al-Gannabi © Deutsche Welle

Yasmina Al-Gannabi

ist eine leidenschaftliche und erfahrene Audience Development Managerin, Trainerin und Social-Media-Beraterin mit einer beachtlichen Erfahrung in der Rundfunk- und Medienbranche. Derzeit arbeitet sie für die Deutsche Welle (DW), dem deutschen Auslandssender. Im Auftrag der DW Academy und anderer Organisationen reist sie um die Welt und schult Journalisten und NGOs in datenbasiertem Arbeiten für die sozialen Medien, in Storytelling, dem Sammeln von Nachrichten sowie in Sachen Sicherheit in sozialen Medien.

Sophia Smith Galer© Brian Prentke

Sophia Smith Galer

ist eine mehrfach ausgezeichnete Senior News Reporterin für VICE World News. Sie gilt als Pionierin, was die Nutzung von TikTok als Instrument zur Nachrichtenerfassung und deren Veröffentlichung für Journalisten betrifft. Sophia war die erste Journalistin, die jemals für den TikTok Creator Council ausgewählt wurde. So berichtete sie beispielsweise über den Missbrauch von Influencer-Werbung für politische Zwecke und über Donald Trumps TikTok-Kampagnen (der nebenbei gleichzeitig versuchte, die App zu verbieten). Ferner: wie Anti-Vaxxer den Algorithmus manipulierten und was moderierte TikTok-Anzeigen so alles verkauften - von Lachgas bis hin zu gefälschten Diätprodukten, bei denen auch noch auf betrügerische Art und Weise Videos von echten Ärzten Verwendung fanden. Sophia hat auch ihr erstes Buch geschrieben: Losing It: Sex Education for the 21st Century, veröffentlicht ab April bei Harper Collins.


Moderator*in

Prita Kusumaputri© Dani Purba

Prita Kusumaputri

arbeitet derzeit als Korrespondentin für die Deutsche Welle in Indonesien, wo sie auch Teil des Instagram-Teams ist, welches den Account @dw.nesia verwaltet. Diese Präsenz hat sich seit ihrem Start gut entwickelt, gesetzte Ziele wurden erreicht. Prita hat mehr als fünf Jahre Journalismus-Erfahrung. Sie war Reporterin bei NET MEDIATAMA und danach Redakteurin bei der MRA Media Group. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt den Bereichen Kommunikation, den digitalen Medien, der Recherche, Fakten und Daten sowie dem Design von Layouts.

Top