Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
The Art of Investigation: Open Source Intelligence Tools For Journalists

Panel 2
25.11.2021 | 3.30 - 5.30 PM

With an abundance of publicly available information on the internet, open source intelligence (OSINT) has become one of journalism’s most valuable tools. The right analytical tools, satellite images, social media posts, pictures, and videos provide the means to uncover the truth about events. What are the opportunities that OSINT might offer to journalists in a region where information is heavily regulated? What is the impact of OSINT, and how best to investigate while respecting data privacy?


Speakers

Teguh ApriantoPrivat © Teguh Aprianto

Teguh Aprianto

is a cyber security consultant and the founder of Ethical Hacker Indonesia. Together they have created several digital-based platforms designed to be used by the public free of charge. Two of these platforms are periksadata.com and osint.sh. Periksadata.com is a site used to check for data leaks; osint.sh is a site created to streamline the process of gathering information. Most users of osint.sh are from Indonesia, followed by the US, Canada, Russia, India, the UK, Poland, the Netherlands, France and Germany.

Kuek Ser Kuang Keng Privat: © Kuek Ser Kuang Keng

Kuek Ser Kuang Keng

is a digital journalist, data journalism trainer and media consultant based in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. He is the founder of Data-N, a training program that helps newsrooms to integrate data journalism into daily reporting. Earlier this year, he joined the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting as the Data Editor for its Rainforest Investigations Networks. He was a journalist with Malaysiakini for 8 years. In 2013, he was awarded a Fulbright scholarship to pursue a master's program in journalism at the New York University. Keng is also a Google Journalism Fellow and a Tow-Knight Fellow.

Julia Bayer© Jenia

Julia Bayer

is an investigative journalist, innovation manager and trainer at Deutsche Welle. At DW´s investigative unit she is using OSINT to dig deep online to locate publicly available sources for the purpose of uncovering the (in)visible. At DW´s research and cooperation unit, she is involved in verification projects such as Truly Media, InVid and Digger-Deepfake detection. Julia is the founder of @quiztime, which is about little quizzes to train and strengthen your verification and geolocation skills on your own or in a team. Since she started around four years ago, a number of journalists and verification enthusiasts have joined.

Johanna WildPrivat © Johanna Wild

Johanna Wild

works for the investigative collective Bellingcat, which uses publicly available sources to uncover wrongdoing all around the world. She set up Bellingcat’s Investigative Tech Team to conduct data-intensive investigations and collaborate with a worldwide tech community to build tools for open source investigators. Johanna is from Germany and has a journalism background.


Moderator

Sita DewiPrivat © Sita Dewi

Sita Dewi

is a journalism lecturer at Universitas Multimedia Nusantara in Tangerang. Before joining academia, she was the deputy editor on the national desk at the English-language daily The Jakarta Post. She has extensive experience in the media industry, having worked for a number of major media organizations in Indonesia for over a decade. She completed her master's degree in Asia-Pacific Studies at the Australian National University in 2017.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digital Discourses
Die Kunst der Recherche: Open Source Intelligence für Journalist*innen

Panel 2

Dank der Vielzahl an öffentlich zugänglichen Nachrichten im Internet ist die Open Source Intelligence (OSINT) einer der wichtigsten Bereiche des Journalismus geworden. Mit den richtigen Analyse-Tools können Satellitenbilder, Social Media Posts, Fotos und Videos genutzt werden, um den Wahrheitsgehalt hinter einem Ereignis zu ermitteln. Welche Möglichkeiten könnte OSINT Journalist*innen in einer Region bieten, in der Informationen massiv reguliert werden? Welche Auswirkungen hat OSINT schon heute - und wie lassen sich eine Open Source Recherche und der Datenschutz miteinander vereinbaren?


Sprecher*innen

Teguh ApriantoPrivat © Teguh Aprianto

Teguh Aprianto

berät in Sachen Cybersicherheit und gründete Ethical Hacker Indonesia. Hier werden verschiedene digitale Plattformen bereitgestellt, die für die Öffentlichkeit kostenlos verfügbar sind. So etwa die Plattformen periksadata.com und osint.sh. Während Periksadata.com dem Finden von Datenlecks dient, erleichtert die Website osint.sh das Beschaffen von Informationen im Netz. Verwendung findet sie in erster Linie in Indonesien, gefolgt von den USA, Kanada, Russland, Indien, dem Vereinigten Königreich, Polen, den Niederlanden, Frankreich und Deutschland.

Kuek Ser Kuang Keng Privat: © Kuek Ser Kuang Keng

Kuek Ser Kuang Keng

ist Online-Journalist und Trainer im Bereich Datenjournalismus sowie Medienberater aus Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. Er hat Data-N gegründet, ein Traingsprogramm, mit dessen Hilfe Nachrichtenredaktionen Datenjournalismus einfach in ihre täglichen Berichte integrieren können. Anfang des Jahres ist er zum Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting („Pulitzer Zentrum für Krisenberichterstattung“) gewechselt, um dort als Datenredakteur für investigative Netzwerke rund um das Thema Regenwald zu arbeiten. Er hat acht Jahre lang als Journalist für Malaysiakini gearbeitet. 2013 erhielt er ein Stipendiat der Fulbright Stiftung, um an der New York University seinen Master in Journalismus zu absolvieren. Keng ist zudem Stipendiat bei Google Journalism und Tow-Knight.

Julia Bayer© Jenia

Julia Bayer

ist investigative Journalistin, Innovationsmanagerin und Trainerin bei der Deutschen Welle. In der Abteilung für investigativen Journalismus der DW nutzt sie OSINT-Technologien, um offen zugängliche User-Inhalte auszuwerten und so das (Un-) Sichtbare darzustellen. In der Forschungs- und Kooperationsabteilung der DW arbeitet sie auch im Bereich Faktenverifikation, etwa mit Truly Media, InVid oder Digger, einer Deepfake-Entlarvungs-Software. Julia Bayer ist außerdem die Gründerin von @quiztime, einem Format mit täglichen kleinen Rätseln, in denen die Community ihre Verifikations- und Geolokalisierungsfähigkeiten alleine oder in einem Team trainieren und stärken kann. Seit sie vor rund zwei Jahren angefangen hat, haben sich viele Journalist*innen und Faktenchecker*innen angeschlossen.

Johanna WildPrivat © Johanna Wild

Johanna Wild

arbeitet für das investigative Kollektiv Bellingcat, welches öffentlich zugängliche Quellen nutzt, um Missstände auf der ganzen Welt aufzudecken. Innerhalb von Bellingcat gründete sie das Tech Team für die Durchführung datenintensiver Untersuchungen. Zusammen mit einer weltweiten Tech-Community werden digitale Werkzeuge für Open-Source-Ermittler entwickelt. Johanna Wild stammt aus Deutschland und hat einen journalistischen Hintergrund.


Moderator*in

Sita DewiPrivat © Sita Dewi

Sita Dewi

ist Dozentin für Journalismus an der Universitas Multimedia Nusantara in Tangerang. Vor ihrer akademischen Laufbahn war sie  stellvertretende Leiterin der nationalen Redaktion der englischsprachigen Zeitung The Jakarta Post. Sie verfügt über umfangreiche Medienerfahrung und hat schon seit über 10 Jahren für zahlreiche Medienorganisationen in Indonesien gearbeitet. An der Australian National University hat sie zudem 2017 ihren Master-Abschluss im Fach Asienwissenschaften erlangt.

Top