Data Literacy

Open Data | Literacy Data Colourbox.de

Not all segments of the population profit equally from the internet. In Indonesia, as elsewhere, the proportion of women who have access to the internet is lower than that of men in the population.

Indonesia is not only one of the largest and most populated countries in the world, but it also has one of the highest growth rates of internet penetration. But not all segments of the population profit equally from the internet. In Indonesia, as elsewhere, the proportion of women who have access to the internet is lower than that of men in the population. Further, numerous studies show that a significantly lower percentage of women and girls use the internet to participate in public life, to gain information, and to expand their learning horizons. The teaching of digital information competence (ICT) was dropped from the curriculum in Indonesian schools in 2013, a fact which has intensified gender inequality with regard to digital competence.
 
With the project “Starting them Young: Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia”, Goethe-Institut addresses this complex topic through two avenues of approach. One is workshops in which educators and female pupils work together to develop concepts that can be implemented in schools for learning information competence in the areas of open data and open knowledge. The other is sensitizing the public and the decision makers in the education sector concerning the importance of teaching information competence in the classroom and, concurrently, reintroducing the topic to the educational policy agenda.
 
“Starting them Young: Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia” is a joint project of Goethe-Institut Indonesien, the PASCH initiative, Open Data Labs Jakarta, and the World Wide Web Foundation.

Events

10.-12.07.2018

Staring them young: Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia

GOETHEHAUS
Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta

Data Literacy

Open Data | Literacy Data Colourbox.de

Vom Internet profitieren nicht alle Bevölkerungsgruppen gleichermaßen. Auch in Indonesien ist der Anteil der Frauen, die Zugang zum Internet haben, geringer als der Anteil unter der männlichen Bevölkerung.

Indonesien ist nicht nur eines der größten und bevölkerungsreichsten Länder der Welt – sondern weist auch eine der höchsten Zuwachsraten bei der Internetdurchdringung auf. Vom Internet profitieren aber nicht alle Bevölkerungsgruppen gleichermaßen. Auch in Indonesien ist der Anteil der Frauen, die Zugang zum Internet haben, geringer als der Anteil unter der männlichen Bevölkerung. Und nicht nur das: Zahlreiche Untersuchungen belegen, dass prozentual deutlich weniger Frauen und Mädchen das Internet als ein Mittel verstehen, um partizipativ am öffentlichen Leben teilzuhaben, sich zu informieren und weiterzubilden. Dass im Jahr 2013 die Vermittlung von digitaler Informationskompetenz (ICT) aus den Curricula indonesischer Schulen gestrichen worden ist, hat zu einer weiteren Zuspitzung der Ungleichheit zwischen den Geschlechtern im digitalen Bereich beigetragen.
 
Mit dem Projekt „Starting them Young: Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia” nähert sich das Goethe-Institut diesem Themenkomplex aus zwei unterschiedlichen Ansätzen heraus. Zum einen sollen in gemeinsamen Workshops von Pädagogen und Schülerinnen Konzepte entwickelt werden, die an Schulen zur Vermittlung von Informationskompetenz gerade in den Bereichen Open Data und Open Knowledge eingesetzt werden können. Zum anderen ist es ein Anliegen des Projekts, die Öffentlichkeit und Entscheidungsträger im Bildungswesen für die Wichtigkeit der Vermittlung von digitaler Informationskompetenz im Unterricht zu sensibilisieren und das Thema wieder auf die bildungspolitische Agenda zu heben.
 
„Starting them Young: Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia” ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien, der PASCH-Initiative, der Open Data Labs Jakarta sowie der World Wide Web Foundation.
 

Veranstaltung

10.-12.07.2018

Advancing Data Literacy for Girls in Indonesia

GOETHEHAUS
Pusat Kebudayaan Jerman Jakarta
Jl. Sam Ratulangi 9-15
10350 Jakarta