Collaborative knowledge in the web

  • Ivan Lanin is one of the founders of Wikimedia Indonesia in 2008. © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
    Ivan Lanin is one of the founders of Wikimedia Indonesia in 2008.
  • Winner of writing competition on wikipedia Indonesia © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
    Winner of writing competition on wikipedia Indonesia

Free and unhindered access to knowledge and information is an essential cornerstone of democratic societies. Collaborative platforms such as the online encyclopedia Wikipedia ensure that users have access to high-quality information irrespective of their origin and financial means. In order to strengthen collaborative knowledge platforms, Goethe-Institut Indonesien has been cooperating in various projects with Wikimedia Indonesia since 2016.

A special challenge facing many volunteer Wikipedia authors is that the usage options of the digital tools of the online encyclopedia as well as the guidelines for creating and editing articles are quite extensive. This was the context that spawned the project “WikiLatih Indonesiana”, a workshop for Wikipedia authors that gives them the basic knowledge necessary to create and edit articles for the encyclopedia. Supported by Goethe-Institut Indonesien, the training is a joint project of Wikimedia Indonesia and Indorelawan.

The project “Ganesha” is a cooperation of Wikimedia Indonesia and Goethe-Institut Indonesien designed to increase the number and quality of social science articles of the online encyclopedia. Named after the Hindu god of knowledge Ganesha, the project is a multi-stage writing competition that presents 1,400 participants with ten quite different and challenging tasks. In the course of the competition, around 4,000 already existing Wikipedia articles were edited and 1,065 newly created.

Kollaboratives Wissen im Netz

  •  Ivan Lanin ist einer der Gründer von Wikimedia Indonesia im Jahr 2008. © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
    Ivan Lanin ist einer der Gründer von Wikimedia Indonesia im Jahr 2008.
  • Gewinner des Schreibwettbewerbs auf Wikipedia Indonesien © Goethe-Institut Indonesien
    Gewinner des Schreibwettbewerbs auf Wikipedia Indonesien

Der freie und ungehinderte Zugang zu Wissen und Informationen ist eine unverzichtbare Grundlage demokratischer Gesellschaften. Kollaborative Plattformen wie die Online-Enzyklopädie Wikipedia tragen dazu bei, dass Nutzerinnen und Nutzer ungeachtet ihrer Herkunft, ihres Geschlechts, ihrer Vorbildung und ihrer finanziellen Möglichkeiten Zugang zu hochwertigen Informationen erhalten. Um kollaborative Wissensplattformen zu stärken, arbeitet das Goethe-Institut Indonesien seit 2016 in verschiedenen Projekten mit Wikimedia Indonesia zusammen.

Eine besondere Herausforderung, vor der die vielen ehrenamtlichen Autorinnen und Autoren der Wikipedia stehen, ist der Umstand, dass die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der digitalen Werkzeuge der Online-Enzyklopädie sowie die Richtlinien für das Abfassen und Editieren von Artikeln sehr umfangreich sind. In diesem Kontext entstand das Projekt „WikiLatih Indonesiana“, eine Werkstatt für Wikipedia-Autoren, die wichtige Grundkenntnisse des Verfassens und des Editierens von Artikeln für die Enzyklopädie vermittelt. Das Training ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von Wikimedia Indonesien und Indorelawan, das vom Goethe-Institut Indonesien unterstützt wird.

Das Projekt „Ganesha“ ist eine Zusammenarbeit von Wikimedia Indonesia und Goethe-Institut Indonesien, mit der die Anzahl und die Qualität sozialwissenschaftlicher Artikel in der Online-Enzyklopädie gesteigert werden sollen. Benannt nach „Ganesha“, dem hinduistischen Gott des Wissens, stellte ein mehrstufiger Schreibwettbewerb insgesamt 1.400 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer vor zehn sehr unterschiedliche und herausfordernde Aufgabenstellungen. Im Laufe des Wettbewerbs sind rund 4.000 bereits vorhandene Wikipedia-Artikel editiert worden und 1.065 Artikel neu entstanden.