Apik
Basic Training of Visual Arts Exhibition Management

Apik © Goethe-Institut Indonesien


Basic training in visual arts exhibition management with experts in Indonesia for aspiring and emerging exhibition makers, managers, and producers

Goethe-Institut Indonesien is offering a training program on exhibition making for up to 30 aspiring and emerging exhibition makers, managers, and producers in Indonesia. Developed specifically for the Indonesian contemporary visual arts context, several learning modules will be delivered through online lectures, tasks, discussions and face-to-face meetings with mentors, topped off by a final workshop in Jakarta.
 

Spurred by the rapid development of the Indonesian art scene in the last ten years, organizational work has become increasingly important. Although incorporated into the work practices of curators, artist collectives and independent institutions, visual arts exhibition organization has not been widely discussed as an independent profession with its own distinct challenges. In the realm of cultural education and discourse, and as a cultural organization with global reach, Goethe-Institut has been prolific for many years in bringing forward programs in the field of cultural management with various initiatives and formats adopting international and local contexts.
 
Co-developed with curator and exhibition maker Leonhard Bartolomeus, the program seeks to nourish a deeper knowledge of the profession with different practical modules covering management, production, and communication. Over the course of the program, you will explore a multitude of issues concerning structure and organization, funding and cooperation, public communication, audience development, production, logistics and maintaining a balanced work environment. The program itself is divided into two stages:

1) September until November 2019

Mandatory online classes consisting of video lectures, task assignments, as well as live discussion and mentorship with Indonesian experts from Museum MACAN, Jakarta Biennale, Serrum, Ace House Collective, and Komunitas Salihara. Participants are obliged to successfully complete this stage before joining the final workshop.

2) December 2019

Intensive workshop in Jakarta with comprehensive insights from Indonesian and German experts on exhibition related issues as well as arts programs in general. In this direct encounter, participants are expected to reflect on and discuss their own situations, approaches, and challenges when making exhibitions in their hometowns.
 
Selected participants will receive the opportunity to complete an internship with different institutions and communities within Goethe-Institut Indonesien’s network in 2020.
 

Highlights of APIK:

  • Specific and handy knowledge and experiences: practical insights of exhibition-making that can be applied easily in professional development
  • Exclusive mentorship sessions and intimate training with established and experienced practitioners and academics from Indonesia and Germany
  • Meeting other participants from all over Indonesia and learning from each other
  • Further possibility of internship in Indonesia and Germany.


REQUIREMENTS

  • At least 20 years of age
  • Living and working in Indonesia; priority is given to applicants living and working outside the main cultural hubs (Jakarta, Bandung, and Yogyakarta)
  • Working in arts (mainly in visual arts but also open to other fields) with minimum 2 years of experience or prior involvement in 3 projects
  • Final year students, independent cultural workers, as well as those affiliated with an organization, community or institution are welcome 

 

APPLICATION FORMAT, DOCUMENTS, DEADLINE

Please send the following documents to Maya, Cultural Program Coordinator at Goethe-Institut Indonesia: maya.maya@goethe.de at the latest by Sunday 21 July 2019, 23:00 Jakarta time.
 
Filled-in application form in Indonesian. Downloadable in here.
 
The selection for this program will be made by a committee consisting of Goethe-Institut Indonesien, Leonhard Bartolomeus, and Agung Hujatnikajennong. We will inform you about the selection results by email at the latest on 13 August.

Apik
Grundlagen des Ausstellungsmanagements

Apik © Goethe-Institut Indonesien


Grundlagen des Ausstellungsmanagements im Bereich bildende Kunst mit Experten in Indonesien für angehende und aufstrebende Ausstellungsmacher, Manager und Produzenten

Das Goethe-Institut Indonesien bietet ein Trainingsprogramm zum Thema Ausstellungsorganisation für bis zu 30 Nachwuchs-Ausstellungsmacher, Organisatoren und Produzenten in Indonesien an. Die Lernmodule wurden eigens auf die Bedürfnisse der gegenwärtigen indonesischen bildenden Kunst zugeschnitten. Auf dem Programm stehen Online-Kurse, konkrete Aufgabenstellungen, Diskussionen und persönliche Gespräche mit Mentoren, gefolgt von einem Abschluss-Workshop in Jakarta.
 
Vor dem Hintergrund einer indonesischen Kunstszene, die sich in den letzten 10 Jahren rapide weiterentwickelt hat, wird die organisatorische Arbeit in diesem Bereich immer wichtiger. Obwohl diese bei der Arbeitspraxis von Kuratoren, Künstlerkollektiven und unabhängigen Institutionen eine entscheidende Rolle spielt, wird die Organisation von Ausstellungen in der bildenden Kunst momentan kaum als eigenes Tätigkeitsfeld mit einem ganz eigenen Profil angesehen. Das Goethe-Institut war als ein im Bereich kulturelle Bildung und Austausch international präsente Kultureinrichtung viele Jahre lang Vorreiter bei der Entwicklung von Kulturmanagementprogrammen und hat zahlreiche Initiativen und Formate sowohl im internationalen als auch lokalen Kontext auf den Weg gebracht.
 
Das gemeinsam mit dem Kurator und Ausstellungsleiter Leonhard Bartolomeus,konzipierte Programm möchte tiefere Einblicke in die Anforderungen dieses Berufsbild geben. Dazu werden verschiedene praktische Module aus den Bereichen Organisation, Produktion und Kommunikation angeboten. Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden im Lauf des Kursprogramms zahlreiche Themenbereiche kennenlernen, angefangen von Strukturierung und Organisation über Förderprogramme und Kooperationen, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Zielgruppenfestlegung bis hin zu Produktion, Logistik und Aufrechterhaltung funktionierender Arbeitsstrukturen. Das Programm   ist in zwei Blöcke eingeteilt:
 

1) September bis November 2019

Online-Kurse mit Teilnahmepflicht, die aus Videovorträgen, Aufgabenverteilung, Live-Diskussionen und Mentoring-Gespräche mit Fachleuten aus MACAN Museum, Jakarta Biennale, Serrum, Ace House Collective und Komunitas Salihara bestehen. Vor der Teilnahme an dem Abschlussworkshop müssen die Kursbesucherinnen und -besucher diesen Teil erfolgreich absolviert haben.

2) Dezember 2019

Intensiv-Workshop in Jakarta, in dem Experten aus Indonesien und Deutschland ausführliche Einblicke in viele ausstellungsrelevante Themen bieten sowie allgemein über Kunstveranstaltungen sprechen. Bei dieser persönlichen Begegnung erhalten die Absolventinnen und Absolventen die Möglichkeit, ihre eigene Situation und Haltung in ihrem konkreten Ausstellungsumfeld zu reflektieren und zu diskutieren.
 
Einige ausgewählte Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer bekommen darüber hinaus die Möglichkeit, in verschiedenen Institutionen und Einrichtungen innerhalb des Netzwerks des Goethe-Instituts Indonesien im Jahr 2020 ein Praktikum zu absolvieren.
 

Das bietet Ihnen APIK:

  • Fachwissen und nützliche Erfahrungen: praktische Einblicke in die Organisation von Ausstellungen, die man in seinem beruflichen Alltag gut konkret nutzen kann.
  • Ausgewählte Mentoring-Sessions und persönliches Training mit etablierten und erfahrenen Fachleuten und Akademikern aus Indonesien und Deutschland.
  • Persönlichen Erfahrungsaustausch mit anderen Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern aus ganz Indonesien.
  • Vermittlung von Praktika in Indonesien.

 

VORAUSSETZUNGEN

  • Mindestalter: 20 Jahre.
  • Wohnsitz und Arbeitsort in Indonesien. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die in Regionen außerhalb der Kulturmetropolen Jakarta, Bandung und Yogyakarta leben und arbeiten, werden bevorzugt behandelt.
  • Seit mindestens zwei Jahren Tätigkeit im Bereich Kunst (hauptsächlich bildende Kunst, aber auch andere Bereiche) oder Erfahrungsnachweis bei drei Projekten.
  • Auch Examenskandidaten, freiberufliche Kulturschaffende sowie Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Organisationen, Gemeinschaften oder Institutionen können gerne teilnehmen.

 
BEWERBUNGSFORMAT, UNTERLAGEN, BEWERBUNGSFRIST

Bitte schicken Sie die folgenden Dokumente bis spätestens Sonntag, 21. Juli 2019, 23:00 (Zeit: Jakarta) an Maya, Programmkoordinatorin Kultur im Goethe-Institut Indonesien: maya.maya@goethe.de
 
Ein ausgefülltes Bewerbungsformular auf Indonesisch kann  hier heruntergeladen werden.

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer für diese Programme werden von einem Komitee ausgewählt, das aus dem Goethe-Institut Indonesien, Leonhard Bartolomeus sowie Agung Hujatnikajennong besteht. Bewerberinnen und Bewerber erfahren spätestens bis zum 13. August 2019, ob Sie für das Programm ausgewählt wurden.