Storytelling in Museums
A Curatorial Workshop

Storytelling in Museums © Annissa M Gultom



Goethe-Institut Indonesien, in cooperation with Makassar Biennale Foundation, is inviting up to 30 participants to learn and exchange in person with museum experts from Germany, New Zealand, and Indonesia.

In the ethnically, culturally and religiously diverse region of Southeast Asia, the institution of the museum is currently being confronted with numerous questions and challenges. Starting 2017, in the framework of the multistage project Transitioning Museums in Southeast Asia, Goethe-Institut initiated and organized several activities such as field trip research, close roundtable discussions, and an open symposium discussing various aspects of contemporary museum practices: How museums deal with photographic documents and archives, cooperation with educational institutions, the work of artists and various communities, and the expectations of the public.

As part of this exchange, the program “Storytelling in Museums – a Curatorial Workshop” engages with a relevant and urgent topic for museums in Indonesia: How to develop content strategies in museums that are engaging, relevant and practical to different communities and the large public. Facilitated by Annissa M Gultom (Indonesian Museologist), Paul Spies (Director of Stadtmuseum Berlin/City Museum Berlin), Puawai Cairns (Head of Mātauranga Māori/Māori Collection at Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa), and Makassar Biennale Foundation; the workshop aims at giving participants a better picture on how to deal with the challenge of presenting to an Indonesian audience an engaging, meaningful and layered narrative in the overall context of the museum as a key institution to serve the purpose of nation building.

Highlights:

  • Multi-day workshop and networking opportunity featuring international curators from Berlin and New Zealand and other professionals
  • Field trip to relevant museums/ spaces
  • Hands-on experiences: participants are assigned to working in groups on spesific study cases
  • Intimate mentorship sessions 


REQUIREMENTS

  • Independent museum practitioners, institution professionals, students
  • Living and working in Indonesia; priority is given to applicants from outside Jakarta or Java island
  • English language skills are obligatory
  • At least 2 years relevant experiences involved in content development/curation in exhibition/museum setting outside of study. Internship experience can be included


APPLICATION FORMAT, DOCUMENTS, DEADLINE
Please send the following documents to Maya, Cultural Program Coordinator at Goethe-Institut Indonesia: maya.maya@goethe.de at the latest by Wednesday 8th May 2019, 23.00 Jakarta time.

  1. Filled-in application form in English. Downloadable in here.
  2. Motivation letter max. 500 words in English that able to expresses interest on the subject and the program, your goals and objectives in participating this Workshop - how this experience may beneficial for your career plans and your institution or beyond.
The selection for this residency will be made by a committee consisting of Annissa M Gultom, Makassar Biennale, and Goethe-Institut Indonesien.


BENEFITS

The Goethe-Institut will cover costs for domestic airfare/transportation, airport transfers (if needed), and sharing accommodation up to 5 nights (only for participants outside Makassar). We will also provide lunch during the program. In the end of the program, all eligible participants will receive a certificate.

Storytelling in Museen
ein kuratorischer Workshop

Storytelling in Museums © Annissa M Gultom



Das Goethe-Institut und die Makassar Biennale Foundation ermöglichen es bis zu 30 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern, sich mit Museumsexpertinnen und Museumsexperten aus Deutschland, Neuseeland und Indonesien auszutauschen und so ihren Erfahrungshorizont zu erweitern.

Südostasien ist eine von ethnischer, kultureller und religiöser Vielfalt geprägte Region, in der das Museum als Institution derzeit mit vielen Fragen und Herausforderungen konfrontiert ist. Im Rahmen des mehrphasigen Projekts Transitioning Museums In Southeast Asia bot das Goethe-Institut 2017/2018 diverse Aktivitäten an, darunter Recherche-Reisen, Diskussionsrunden sowie ein öffentliches Symposium, die sich mit unterschiedlichen Fragen zu zeitgenössischer Museumsarbeit auseinandersetzten: Wie gehen die Museen mit Fotodokumenten und Archiven um, welche Kooperationen mit Bildungseinrichtungen gibt es, welche Kooperationen entstehen zwischen Künstlerinnen, Künstlern und Communities und welche Erwartungen hat das Publikum?

Anknüpfend an diesen Austausch leistet das Programm Storytelling in Museen – ein kuratorischer Workshop einen bedeutenden Beitrag für Museen in Indonesien, indem es sich einer wichtigen Fragestellung widmet: Wie entwickelt man einen relevanten und ansprechenden Content im Museum, der für verschiedene Interessensgemeinschaften und die breite Öffentlichkeit gleichermaßen interessant ist? Durchgeführt wird der Workshop von der indonesischen Museumskundlerin Annissa M. Gultom, Paul Spies vom Berliner Stadtmuseum und Puawai Cairns von der Māori Ausstellung im Museum Of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (Mātauranga Māori) sowie der Makassar Biennale Foundation. Ziel der Veranstaltung ist es, den Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern Strategien zu vermitteln, um dem indonesischen Publikum spannende, bedeutsame und vielschichtige Geschichten zu erzählen. Und dies vor dem Hintergrund des Museums als Institution, die einen zentralen Beitrag zur Nationenbildung leistet.

Zu den Kernpunkten zählen folgende Programminhalte:

  • Mehrtägiger Workshop und Möglichkeit zum Netzwerken mit internationalen Kuratorinnen und Kuratoren aus Berlin, Neuseeland und weiteren Fachleuten
  • Besichtigung bedeutender Museen und anderer Ausstellungsorte
  • Praktische Erfahrungen: Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden in Gruppen verschiedene Themen erarbeiten
  • Persönliche Mentorengespräche


TEILNAHMEBEDINGUNGEN

  • Freiberufliche Museumsmitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, Fachleute aus entsprechenden Institutionen, Studierende
  • Personen, die in Indonesien leben und arbeiten; bevorzugt Bewerberinnen und Bewerber, die außerhalb Jakartas oder Javas leben
  • Sehr gute Englischkenntnisse
  • Mindestens zwei Jahre Erfahrung im Bereich Content-Entwicklung/Kuratieren in einem Museum oder einem anderen Ausstellungsort außerhalb des Studiums (auch Praktika gelten als Nachweis)


BEWERBUNGSFORMULAR, UNTERLAGEN, BEWERBUNGSFRIST
Interessenten senden bis spätestens Rabu, 08. Mai 2019 23 h (Jakarta Zeit) folgende Unterlagen an Maya, Programmkoordinatorin Kultur im Goethe-Institut Indonesien: maya.maya@goethe.de

  1. Ausgefülltes Bewerbungsformular in englischer Sprache. Das Formular kann hier heruntergeladen werden
  2. Anschreiben (max. 500 Wörter) auf Englisch, aus dem das Interesse am Thema bzw. Programm sowie die eigenen Wünsche und Erwartungen an den Workshop hervorgehen. Hier sollte erläutert werden, inwieweit eine Teilnahme Vorteile für die eigene Karriereplanung bzw. die Weiterentwicklung der eigenen Institution bieten könnte

Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer werden von einem Komitee ausgewählt, das aus Annissa M. Gultom, der Makassar Biennale sowie dem Goethe-Institut Indonesien besteht.
 

LEISTUNGEN

Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt die Kosten für Inlandsflüge/Anreise, Flughafentransfer (wenn nötig) und Unterkunft für bis zu 5 Tage (nur für Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer außerhalb von Makassar). Mittagessen während des Programms ist bei der Veranstaltung inbegriffen. Bei erfolgreicher Teilnahme wird am Ende der Veranstaltung ein Zertifikat überreicht.