The maker movement Just make it yourself

FabLab Berlin
FabLab Berlin | Photo (detail): © Stephan Pramme

The maker scene has grown considerably in Germany. There are even the first instances of cooperation with the government and business.

The 3D printer on the windowsill is humming gently. Three young men are engaged in quiet discussion in front of a flipchart. Further back in the room the smell of Turkish doner kebab hangs in the air – a working group is sitting together over lunch. The heady mix of creativity, curiosity, commitment and communication is almost palpable when one enters the Fab Lab, an open high-tech workshop in Berlin’s Prenzlauer Berg district. The atmosphere in the workspace of around 200 square metres is highly concentrated, yet lively at the same time – and typical of the maker scene.

This movement, which might be described as a digital version of the do-it-yourself trend, emerged in the USA, from where it quickly made its way to Europe. There is particular enthusiasm in Italy, which is where the Arduino – a programmable mini-computer that is extremely popular in the maker scene – originated. Nowadays Germany also boasts dozens of open workshops, known as maker spaces or fab labs (an abbreviation of “fabrication laboratory”). Every year sees more events, conferences and publications devoted to the trend. The biggest meetings are held in Munich, Hanover and Berlin. “Furthermore, the scene here has a particularly regional focus, with more than 15 smaller-scale maker fairs in German-speaking countries”, says Martin Laarmann, CEO of consulting firm Make Germany and one of the organizers of the Make Munich fair.

Innovations made out of textiles, light and metal

But what do makers actually do? “I interpret the term very broadly”, says Laarmann. He believes that a maker is anyone who makes something themselves. “Repair cafés” – places where neighbours get together to help each other repair old electronic devices – can certainly be seen as part of the same movement, in his view. Some makers are more interested in fashion and experiment with fabrics, while others work with light or metal. Yet others design furniture or jewellery. In addition, there are numerous boffins who are brilliant at programming and construction. They use fab labs to produce prototypes of innovative electronic products or spare parts for older models. “20 to 30 people come here every day”, explains Sam Robinson, a manager at the Fab Lab Berlin, where they take advantage of the textiles lab or woodworking shop, use the milling machine or print out their designs on one of the numerous 3D printers. 

In some cases makers prove to be more inventive and creative than the R&D departments of large companies, which also makes the scene of interest to big business. Many high-tech companies are very much interested in establishing contact with makers. The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) has also recognized the scene’s potential for Germany as a location of business and science, and is therefore promoting exchange between companies and young developers. One particular focus here is on photonics, or light technology. There are great hopes that the independent developer scene will contribute ideas and impetus to this area. The approach is known as “citizen science”, where ordinary people can get directly involved in research and product development.

More than just an incubator for promising start-ups

So far, however, the dialogue between the new generation of inventors and large-scale companies is still in its infancy. As Laarmann explains, there is still fairly limited institutional funding in Germany as compared with other European countries. “We want to see the government do even more to support the scene.” After all, maker spaces can do a great deal more for public life than simply serve as an incubator for promising start-ups. They are a meeting point and promote dialogue between hackers and DIY enthusiasts, between the older and younger generations, and between local companies and future employees. “It can thus be completely worthwhile even for smaller towns to establish a fab lab.”

Not all makers at the Fab Lab Berlin want to develop complex prototypes or immediately start their own business. Many simply enjoy the pleasant working atmosphere – and are happy that they have the chance to use the latest machinery for their experiments at very little cost. Democratizing production is also one of the movement’s central goals. “Some people merely want to make individual gifts”, says Sam Robinson. And of course, these makers are also welcome at any time.

Maker-Bewegung Einfach machen

FabLab Berlin
FabLab Berlin | Foto (Ausschnitt): © Stephan Pramme

Die Szene der sogenannten Maker ist in Deutschland stark gewachsen. Es gibt sogar erste Kooperationen mit Politik und Wirtschaft.

„Wrmm, wrmm, wrmm“, macht der 3-D-Drucker auf der Fensterbank. Vor einem Flipchart stehen drei junge Männer und diskutieren leise. Weiter hinten im Raum riecht es nach türkischem Döner Kebap – hier sitzt eine Arbeitsgruppe beim Mittagessen zusammen. Wer das Fab Lab betritt, eine offene Hightech-Werkstatt im Stadtteil Prenzlauer Berg in Berlin, kann sie förmlich mit Händen greifen – diese spezielle Mischung aus Kreativität, Neugier, Engagement und kommunikativem Austausch. In den rund 200 Quadratmeter großen Arbeitsräumen herrscht eine konzentrierte und doch lebendige Atmosphäre. Sie ist typisch für die Maker-Szene.

Diese Bewegung, die man als digitale Spielart des Do-it-yourself-Trends bezeichnen kann, ist in den USA entstanden und von dort schnell nach Europa gelangt. In Italien – dem Herkunftsland des in der Szene sehr beliebten programmierbaren Mini-Computers Arduino – ist die Begeisterung besonders groß. Auch in Deutschland gibt es inzwischen Dutzende offene Werkstätten, sogenannte Maker Spaces oder Fab Labs (von „fabrication laboratory“, also in etwa „Herstellungslabor“). Jedes Jahr gibt es weitere Veranstaltungen, Konferenzen, Publikationen zum Thema. Die größten Treffen finden in München, Hannover und Berlin statt. „Mit mehr als 15 kleineren Maker-Messen im deutschsprachigen Raum präsentiert sich die Szene hier zudem besonders regional“, sagt Martin Laarmann, Geschäftsführer der Beratungsfirma Make Germany und einer der Organisatoren der Messe Make Munich.

Innovationen aus Textilien, Licht, Metall

Doch was genau machen Maker eigentlich? „Ich fasse den Begriff sehr weit“, sagt Laarmann. Maker sieht er überall da am Werk, wo Menschen selbst Hand anlegen. Auch „Repair Cafés“, in denen Nachbarn sich gegenseitig beim Reparieren von alten Elektrogeräten helfen, könne man durchaus als Teil der Bewegung sehen. Manche Maker interessieren sich für Mode und experimentieren mit Stoff, andere arbeiten mit Licht oder Metall. Wieder andere entwerfen Möbel oder Schmuckstücke. Darüber hinaus gibt es zahlreiche Tüftler, die exzellent programmieren und konstruieren können. Sie stellen in den offenen Werkstätten Prototypen innovativer elektronischer Produkte oder Ersatzteile für ältere Modelle her. „Zwischen 20 und 30 Leute kommen täglich“, erzählt Sam Robinson, Manager im Fab Lab Berlin. Dort nutzen sie das Textillabor oder die Holzwerkstatt, bearbeiten Material an der Fräse oder drucken ihre Entwürfe an einem der zahlreichen 3-D-Drucker aus. 

Manchmal sind die Maker dabei einfallsreicher und kreativer als die Entwicklungsabteilungen großer Unternehmen. Das macht die Szene auch für die Wirtschaft interessant. Viele Hightech-Firmen haben großes Interesse daran, mit den Makern in Kontakt zu kommen. Auch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) hat das Potenzial für den Wirtschafts- und Wissenschaftsstandort Deutschland erkannt und fördert deshalb den Austausch zwischen Unternehmen und jungen Entwicklern. Vor allem das Thema Photonik, also Lichttechnologie, steht dabei im Fokus. In diesem Bereich hofft man besonders auf die Ideen und Impulse der freien Entwicklerszene. „Citizen Science“ heißt der Ansatz: Bürger können sich direkt und unmittelbar an Forschung und Produktentwicklung beteiligen.

Mehr als eine Wiege für vielversprechende Start-ups

Doch noch steht der Dialog zwischen der neuen Erfindergeneration und den Großunternehmen am Anfang. Gemessen an anderen europäischen Ländern sei die institutionelle Förderung in Deutschland recht überschaubar, so Laarmann. „Wir würden uns wünschen, dass die Politik noch mehr tut, um die Szene zu unterstützen.“ Denn Maker Spaces könnten viel mehr für das öffentliche Leben tun, als eine Wiege für vielversprechende Start-ups zu sein. Sie sind ein Treffpunkt, fördern den Dialog zwischen Hackern und Handwerkern, zwischen Älteren und Jüngeren, zwischen lokalen Unternehmen und dem Nachwuchs. „Selbst für kleinere Städte kann sich die Einrichtung eines Fab Lab daher absolut lohnen.“

Auch im Fab Lab Berlin wollen nicht alle Maker komplexe Prototypen entwickeln oder gleich eine eigene Firma gründen. Viele genießen einfach die angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre – und freuen sich, dass sie für ihre Experimente gegen eine geringe Gebühr neueste Maschinen nutzen können. Die Demokratisierung der Produktion – auch das ist ein zentrales Motiv der Bewegung. „Manche wollen bloß individuelle Geschenke basteln“, sagt Sam Robinson. Und natürlich sind auch diese Maker jederzeit willkommen.