136 Goethe Lab
A NEW SPACE FOR THE ARTS

136 GOETHE Main © Goethe-Institut The Goethe-Institut Singapore understands the importance of physical spaces for the arts in a dense urban environment and welcomes artists and cultural practitioners to its new project space 136 GOETHE LAB.

Purpose-built space
Once library and reading room, the souterrain space in the historic shophouse on Neil Road has been transformed. At about 100sqm (1076sqft), equipped with professional sound and lighting, and with a separate access point on Bukit Pasoh Road, it lends itself to multiple functions and uses, be it workshops, performances, or exhibitions.

136 GOETHE chonteng hoch © Goethe-Institut. Mural: Rizman Putra Collaborative approach
The opening of a project space on the current premises of the Goethe-Institut Singapore and its open-ended concept are the result of an ongoing conversation with partners, audiences and representatives of the arts community of Singapore. Throughout 2020, a number of surveys and evaluations were conducted, including a series of sharing sessions with nearly 40 practitioners from different disciplines including theatre, dance, music, visual arts, literature and critical writing.

Initial programming
As a first intervention, artist Rizman Putra created a chonteng (Malay for doodle) at 136 GOETHE LAB. Lines, dots and patterns extend from the floor across the walls to the ceiling of the entrance landing. Through the transparent floor coating part of the work will become permanent. 
 

Call for Collaboration

We would like to invite the public, the arts community of Singapore and everyone who is interested in intercultural collaboration and innovative practices to engage in and access 136 GOETHE LAB.

An open-ended and a process oriented approach in terms of what this space will become and can provide in the future is fully intended. The meaning and utilisation of the space shall be as much defined by its users and visitors, by artists and independent cultural practitioners, as by the Goethe-Institut Singapore.

136 GOETHE Han-Song Hiltmann & Valerie-Ann Tan hoch Han-Song Hiltmann & Valerie-Ann Tan © Goethe-Institut The utilisation of the space will be part of our ongoing programming. It is our idea to provide a platform which allows openness and meaningful engagements, with the intention that these engagements will shape the constitution and meaning of the space. We provide our own framework, our institutional expertise, our support and our resources, while we explore ways of shared ownership, collaborative modes of working and opportunities that allow new ideas and practices to unfold for a space of innovation and experimentation.
 
In this sense the Goethe-Institut Singapore means and hopes for this project space to be the start of an ongoing conversation with the public and arts community of Singapore.

Get in touch!

The engagement of the public and the arts scene is as important as our own programming to create a meaningful space. Please reach out to us if you are interested in collaborative projects, innovative contemporary practices and international exchange in the arts.

valerie-ann.tan@goethe.de

136 Goethe Lab
Ein neuer Raum für die Künste

136 GOETHE Main © Goethe-Institut Das Goethe-Institut Singapur weiß um die Bedeutung physischer Räume für die Künste in einem verdichteten städtischen Umfeld und heißt Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende in seinem neuen Projektraum 136 GOETHE LAB willkommen.

Zweckmäßiger Raum
Einst Bibliothek und Lesesaal, wurde das Souterrain in dem historischen Geschäftshaus in der Neil Road umgebaut. Auf rund 100 Quadratmetern, ausgestattet mit professioneller Ton- und Lichttechnik und mit einem separaten Eingang in der Bukit Pasoh Road, ist der Raum für eine Fülle an Funktionen und Nutzungsarten geeignet, sei es für Workshops, Performances oder Ausstellungen.
136 GOETHE chonteng hoch © Goethe-Institut. Mural: Rizman Putra
Kollaborativer Prozess
Die Eröffnung eines Projektraums in den Räumlichkeiten des Goethe-Instituts Singapur und das offene Konzept sind das Ergebnis einer fortlaufenden Konversation mit Partnern, Publikum und Vertreter*innen der Kunstszene Singapurs. Im Laufe des Jahres 2020 haben wir eine Reihe von Umfragen und Evaluierungen durchgeführt, darunter Sharing Sessions mit fast 40 Praktiker*innen aus verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Theater, Tanz, Musik, bildende Kunst, Literatur und kritisches Schreiben.

Erste Aktivierung
Als erste Intervention schuf der Künstler Rizman Putra in 136 GOETHE LAB ein Chonteng (malaiisch für Kritzelei). Linien, Punkte und Muster ziehen sich vom Boden über die Wände bis zur Decke des Eingangsbereichs. Durch die transparente Bodenversiegelung wird ein Teil des Werks dauerhaft.
 

Aufruf zur Zusammenarbeit

Wir möchten die Öffentlichkeit, Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffende in Singapur und alle, die an interkultureller Zusammenarbeit und innovativen Praktiken interessiert sind, einladen, sich in 136 GOETHE LAB einzubringen.
 
Ein ergebnisoffener und prozessorientierter Ansatz in Bezug auf das, was 136 GOETHE LAB in Zukunft werden und bieten kann, ist durchaus beabsichtigt. Bedeutung und Funktion des Raumes sollen ebenso von seinen Nutzer*innen und Besucher*innen, von Künstler*innen und unabhängigen Kulturschaffenden, wie vom Goethe-Institut Singapur definiert werden.

136 GOETHE Han-Song Hiltmann & Valerie-Ann Tan hoch Han-Song Hiltmann & Valerie-Ann Tan © Goethe-Institut Die Nutzung des Raumes wird Teil unseres laufenden Programms sein. Wir möchten wir eine Plattform bieten, die Transparenz und sinnvolles Engagement ermöglicht, mit der Absicht, dass dieses Engagement Gestalt und Bedeutung des Raumes prägt. Wir stellen unseren eigenen Rahmen, unsere institutionelle Expertise, unsere Unterstützung und unsere Ressourcen zur Verfügung, und werden gleichzeitig  gemeinsame Verantwortung, kollaborative Arbeitsweisen und Möglichkeiten erkunden, wie sich neue Ideen und Praktiken an einem Ort der Innovation und des Experimentierens entfalten.
 
In diesem Sinne hofft das Goethe-Institut Singapur, dass dieser Projektraum der Beginn einer fortlaufenden Konversation mit der Öffentlichkeit und mit Künstler*innen und Kulturschaffenden Singapurs sein wird.

Sprechen Sie uns an!

Das Engagement der Öffentlichkeit und der Kunstszene ist ebenso wichtig wie unser eigenes Programm, um einen Raum mit Bedeutung zu schaffen. Bitte sprechen Sie uns an, wenn Sie Interesse an gemeinsamen Projekten, innovativen gegenwärtigen Praktiken und internationalem Austausch in der Kunst haben.

valerie-ann.tan@goethe.de