Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
HAN GNP Banner Final© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Graphic Novel Project

The Graphic Novel Project is a collaboration between the Institut Français and the Goethe-Institut Hanoi to promote the creation of graphic novels by Vietnamese artists.
 

The Institut Français and the Goethe-Institut, with the support of the Franco-German Cultural Fund, have launched a workshop for creating graphic novels. This European initiative is intended to encourage participating artists to try out new artistic practices for the graphic novel genre and develop them for the Vietnamese book market. The publishing grant for the project will be given to Nha Nam Culture and Communication Joint Stock Company (referred to as Nha Nam). Nha Nam provides each artist with eight to ten pages to publicize their story. The workshop will be accompanied for three months by graphic novel artists Robert Deutsch and Nicholas Sauge. UNESCO is supporting the project because it promotes the development of Hanoi's status as a City of Design.


The Graphic Novel Project 2022/23

Graphic novels belong to the literary genre of comics, but their more complex and comprehensive narratives make them comparable to novels. Unlike comics, graphic novels are usually based on autonomous stories and are detached from serial forms of publication. But just like novels, they can consist of several volumes...

The market for graphic novels is booming in both Europe and Southeast Asia. But there are differences between the markets. The Vietnamese market for graphic novels is similar to the trend in Japan and South Korea, based on the aesthetic form of manga. The European-influenced graphic novel has the potential for growth in Vietnam. The graphic novel is based on historical and biographical narratives and therefore focuses on non-fiction. In addition, the genre of graphic non-fiction may form another branch in the Vietnamese book market in the future.

With this background, the Institut Français and the Goethe-Institut invited applications to participate in a graphic novel workshop. From three dozen applications, 12 participants were selected. The featured speakers were Robert Deutsch from Germany and Nicolas Sauge from France. They shared their expertise and practical experience with the Vietnamese artists.

In cooperation with the Nhã Nam Culture and Communication Joint Stock Company (Nhã Nam), it quickly became clear that the planned publications should tell authentic stories. Considering the partnership with UNESCO, it was obvious that Vietnamese traditional cultural heritage would be the common thread of all the stories. The artists revived folk songs, myths, and legends in visual form and integrate these valuable narratives into the world of today's Vietnam.

In "Paper Realm" Tran Thu Ngan illustrates the importance of traditional Vietnamese handicrafts in the present and the past. Duong Huong Ly's graphic novel "Kitchen & Living Room" deals with the social obligations of a traditional Vietnamese wife, shedding light on the tension between implicitness and appreciation. Nguyen Thi Le addresses the contemporary conflict of pursuing traditions by using the example of the folk belief "Dao Mau". The artists use the genre of the graphic novel to make complex cultural content tangible in the form of graphic representations, creating a different approach to Vietnamese norms, values, and history.

Robert Deutsch is convinced that the artists "have a very prosperous future ahead of them." One participant lauds, "The workshop is a great asset to my view of the Vietnamese comics industry, and I'm especially grateful for the cross-cultural experience I've gained."

The artists and the two European cultural institutes are receptive to the continuation of such workshops. These workshops promote artistic exchange between Europe and Vietnam and enhance Hanoi's position as a City of Design.

Nhã Nam Publishing releases the anthology of completed works from the graphic novel workshop next year (2023).

Further information on the graphic novel project, biographies of the participants, interviews with the artists, and a selection of recommended graphic novels can be found on our website.

Speakers

Robert Deutsch Photo: Yvonne Most

Germany
Robert Deutsch (*1981)

Robert Deutsch studied illustration and communication design in Halle and has been working as a freelance illustrator and graphic designer since 2012. His works have been exhibited in Porto, Berlin, Leipzig, and Los Angeles and published in several magazines. In 2014 he was awarded the GiebichenStein Design Award in the category Best Communication. He lives and works in Leipzig. His debut Turing was released in March 2017.

Interview with Robert Deutsch

Nicolas Sauge © Private

France
Nicolas Sauge (*1975)

Nicolas Sauge gained his first professional experience in various artistic fields, from illustration to advertising and animation. In 2011, he co-wrote the book "Samourawaii Legends: Neron" with the publisher Indeez. Since then, he has illustrated and co-written a three-volume series titled "Golam" published by le Lombard, illustrated a two-volume series named "a l'Année Prochaine", and self-published a book titled "2 chemins". Sauge lives and works in Paris where he is a comic book artist, comic book teacher, and illustrator.

Interview with Nicolas Sauge


Participants

HAN GNP Alle TN 7630x3200 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

From three dozen applications, 12 participants were selected... [More...]


Workshop

  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Graphic Novel Recommendations


Previous events

HAN GNP Zum Lachen und zum Nachdenken © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

2009
For laughter and reflection


Organizers

Franco-German Cultural Fund © Franco-German Cultural Fund Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut  institut-francais-logo © Institut Français Nhã Nam © Nhã Nam UNESCO_logo © UNESCO

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
HAN GNP Banner Final© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Graphic Novel Projekt

Das Graphic-Novel-Projekt ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Institut Français und dem Goethe-Institut Hanoi zur Förderung vietnamesischer Künstler*innen bei der Erstellung von Graphic Novels.

Das Institut Français und das Goethe-Institut haben mit Unterstützung des deutsch-französischen Kulturfonds einen Workshop zur Erstellung von Graphic Novels eingerichtet. Dieser europäische Impuls will die teilnehmenden Künstler*innen dazu ermutigen, neue künstlerische Praktiken für das Genre der Graphic Novel auszuprobieren und für den vietnamesischen Buchmarkt zu entwickeln. Das Projekt enthält einen Publikationszuschuss der an der Nha Nam Culture and Communication Joint Stock Company (im Folgenden als Nha Nam bezeichnet) geht. Nha Nam plant, jeder Künstler*in acht bis zehn Seiten zur Publikation ihrer Geschichte bereitzustellen. Der Workshop wird drei Monate lang begleitet von den Graphic Novel-Künstlern Robert Deutsch und Nicholas Sauge. UNESCO fördert das Projekt, weil es die Entwicklung der Stadt Hanoi zur City of Design unterstützt.


Das Graphic Novel Projekt 2022/23

Graphic Novels gehören zur Literaturgattung der Comics, sind aber aufgrund ihrer längeren und komplexeren Erzählungen mit Romanen vergleichbar. Anders als bei Comics basieren Graphic Novels in der Regel auf eigenständigen Geschichten und verzichten auf serielle Publikationsformen. Graphic Novels können jedoch wie Romane aus mehreren Bänden bestehen...

Der Graphic Novel-Markt boomt sowohl in Europa als auch in Südostasien. Es gibt aber Unterschiede zwischen den Märkten. Der vietnamesische Graphic Novel-Markt ähnelt dem Trend, wie er Japan und Südkorea ausgeprägt wurde und stützt sich auf die ästhetische Form des Manga. Die europäisch geprägte Graphic Novel hat in Vietnam noch Wachstumspotential. Die Graphic Novel basiert auf historischen und biografischen Geschichten und ist somit auf Non-Fiction ausgerichtet. Daneben könnte das Genre des grafischen Sachbuches zukünftig auch einen weiteren Zweig auf dem vietnamesischen Buchmarkt bilden.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Institut Français zusammen mit dem Goethe-Institut zur Teilnahme an einem Graphic Novel-Workshop eingeladen. Aus den drei Dutzend Bewerbungen wurden 12 Teilnehmer*innen ausgewählt. Als Referenten wurden Robert Deutsch aus Deutschland und Nicolas Sauge aus Frankreich gewonnen. Sie vermitteln den vietnamesischen Künstler*innen ihr Fachwissen und ihre praktischen Erfahrungen.

In Zusammenarbeit mit der Nhã Nam Kultur- und Kommunikations-Aktiengesellschaft (Nhã Nam) wurde recht schnell deutlich, dass die geplante Publikationen authentischen Geschichten erzählen soll. Mit Blick auf die Partnerschaft zu UNESCO ergab es wie von selbst, dass das traditionelle vietnamesische Kulturerbe der roten Faden aller gezeichneten Geschichten bilden wird. Die Künstler*innen bereiten Volkslieder, Mythen und Legenden in visueller Form auf und fügen all diese wertvollen Geschichten in die Welt des heutigen Vietnams ein.

Beispielhaft beleuchtet Tran Thu Ngan in "Paper Realm" die Bedeutung des traditionellen vietnamesischen Handwerks in der Gegenwart und in der Vergangenheit. Duong Huong Lys Graphic Novel „Kitchen & Living Room“ beschäftigt sich mit den sozialen Pflichten einer traditionellen vietnamesischen Ehefrau, und beleuchtet damit das Spannungsfeld zwischen Selbstverständlichkeit und Wertschätzung. Nguyen Thi Le thematisiert den modernen Konflikt der Aufrechterhaltung von Traditionen am Beispiel des Volksglauben „Dao Mau“. Die Künstler*innen nutzen das Genre der Graphic Novel, um komplexe kulturelle Inhalte in Form von grafischen Darstellungen greifbarer zu machen und so einen anderen Zugang zu vietnamesischen Normen, Werten und Geschichte zu schaffen.

Robert Deutsch ist sich sicher, dass die Künstlerinnen und Künstler „eine sehr blühende Zukunft vor sich haben.“ Ein Teilnehmer lobt: „Der Workshop ist ein großer Gewinn für meine Perspektive auf die vietnamesische Comicindustrie und insbesondere bin ich dankbar für meine gesammelten interkulturellen Erfahrungen.“

Die Künstler*innen sowie beiden europäischen Kulturinstitute stehen der Fortsetzung derartiger Workshops aufgeschlossen gegenüber. Solche Workshops fördern den künstlerischen Austauschs zwischen Europa und Vietnam und stärken die Position Hanois als City of Design.

Der Sammelband mit den abgeschlossenen Werken des Graphic Novel-Workshops erscheint im kommenden Jahr (2023) beim Nhã Nam Verlag.

Weitere Informationen zum Graphic Novel Projekt, Biografien der Projektteilnehmer*innen, Interviews der Künstler sowie eine Auswahl an empfehlenswerten Graphic Novels sind auf unserer Webseite zusammengestellt.

Referenten

Robert Deutsch Foto: Yvonne Most

Deutschland
Robert Deutsch (*1981)

Robert Deutsch studierte Illustration und Kommunikationsdesign in Halle und arbeitet seit 2012 als freiberuflicher Illustrator und Grafikdesigner. Seine Arbeiten wurden in Porto, Berlin, Leipzig und Los Angeles ausgestellt und in zahlreichen Magazinen veröffentlicht. Im Jahr 2014 wurde er mit dem GiebichenStein Design Award in der Kategorie „Beste Kommunikation“ ausgezeichnet. Er lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig. Sein Debüt „Turing“ erschien im März 2017.

Interview mit Robert Deutsch

Nicolas Sauge © Privat

Frankreich
Nicolas Sauge (*1975)

Nicolas Sauge sammelte seine ersten beruflichen Erfahrungen in verschiedenen künstlerischen Bereichen, von der Illustration über die Werbung bis zur Animation. Im Jahr 2011 war er Co-Autor des Buches "Samourawaii Legends: Neron" mit dem Verlag Indeez. Seitdem hat er eine dreibändige Serie mit dem Titel "Golam" illustriert und mitgeschrieben, die von Le Lombard veröffentlicht wurde, eine zweibändige Serie namens "a l'Année Prochaine" illustriert und ein selbstverlegtes Buch mit dem Titel "2 chemins" veröffentlicht. Sauge lebt und arbeitet in Paris, wo er als Comiczeichner, Illustrator und Comic Book Teacher tätig ist.

Interview mit Nicolas Sauge


Teilnehmer*Innen

HAN GNP Alle TN 7630x3200 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Aus den drei Dutzend Bewerbungen wurden 12 Teilnehmer*innen ausgewählt... [Mehr...]


Workshop

  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • HAN GNP Workshop © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Graphic Novel Empfehlungen


Frühere Veranstaltungen


Organisatoren

Deutsch-französischer Kulturfonds © Deutsch-französischer Kulturfonds Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut Delegation of the European Union to Vietnam © Delegation of the European Union to Vietnam  institut-francais-logo © Institut Français Nhã Nam © Nhã Nam UNESCO_logo © UNESCO

Top