Virtual film viewing & #AskAnExpert: Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro - Goethe-Institut
Virtual film viewing & #AskAnExpert

Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro

Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro
© Dan Budnik, courtesy Magnolia Pictures

12/10/20
6:00pm

Online


Toronto

Details

Language: English

Partner

internationalen literaturfestival berlin

The Goethe-Instituts in the United States, Canada, and Mexico are participating in the call by the international literature festival berlin (ilb) for a worldwide screening of the Oscar-nominated documentary I Am Not Your Negro by Raoul Peck on December 10, Human Rights Day.

Please join us on December 10, 6:00pm EST to virtually watch with us I Am Not Your Negro from our homes. The viewing will be live-tweeted @GoetheToronto.

In the US, the film is available through the streaming service Kanopy, which some viewers can access with their public library cards, and via subscription services such as Netflix, Hulu, and Prime Video.

 
Prof. Vershawn Young (Dr. Vay) from the University of Waterloo, a scholar and teacher of African American communication, literature, and performance as well as a James Baldwin expert and multi-media artist, will accompany the viewing on Twitter and answer questions from participants. Before joining the departments of Communication Arts and English Language and Literature at the University of Waterloo, he was on faculty at the University of Kentucky and the University of Iowa. As an anti-racist activist, Dr. Vay is a member of the Aptly Outspoken Collective, which offers consulting services related to diversity and inclusion to organizations and schools.

Dr. Vay will take over the Twitter account @GoetheToronto from 6:00-8:00pm EST on December 10 to contextualize the film, Baldwin’s work, and Black masculinity, and to answer your questions. During that time window please tag your questions #AskAnExpert #IAmNotYourNegro or email them to the Goethe-Institut Toronto beforehand.

I Am Not Your Negro
USA/France/Belgium/Switzerland
2016, 95 minutes
Directed by Raoul Peck
Narrated by Samuel L. Jackson

In this award-winning documentary, based on the unfinished manuscript Remember This House by James Baldwin, Raoul Peck seeks to capture the racism of US society in a chronological panorama from 1890 to 2014 by means of cinematic collage and the life story of three friends of Baldwin who were murdered in the 1960s: human rights lawyer Medgar Evers (✝1963), Malcolm X (✝1965), and Martin Luther King Jr. (✝1968). By confronting the deeper connections between the lives and assassinations of these three men, Peck uncovers a larger narrative of America’s historical denial and irrational relationship with race.

“You would be hard-pressed to find a movie that speaks to the present moment with greater clarity and force, insisting on uncomfortable truths and drawing stark lessons from the shadows of history.” –The New York Times

“This Oscar-nominated portrait of James Baldwin uses the author’s words to bridge the civil-rights past with our racially incendiary present. It’s unmissable and unforgettable.” –The Rolling Stone
 


Awards:
BAFTA Award
César Award
Australian Film Critics Association Award
Berlin International Film Festival Panorama Audience Award
Chicago International Film Festival Audience Choice Award
Toronto International Film Festival Audience Choice Award 
Black Film Critics Circle Special Mention
and 24 others

Partner

internationalen literaturfestival berlin

Virtuelle Filmsichtung & #AskAnExpert: Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro - Goethe-Institut
Virtuelle Filmsichtung & #AskAnExpert

Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro

Raoul Peck: I Am Not Your Negro
© Dan Budnik, courtesy Magnolia Pictures

10.12.20
18.00 Uhr

Online

Details

Sprache: Englisch

Partner

internationales literaturfestival berlin

Die Goethe-Institute in den USA, Kanada und Mexiko folgen dem Aufruf des internationalen literaturfestivals berlin (ilb), den Oscar-nominierten Dokumentarfilm I Am Not Your Negro von Raoul Peck am 10. Dezember, dem Tag der Menschenrechte, weltweit zu zeigen.

Seien Sie dabei, wenn wir am 10. Dezember um 18.00 Uhr EST I Am Not Your Negro gemeinsam anschauen. Der Film wird von @GoetheToronto live getweetet.

In den USA ist der Film über die Streamingplattform Kanopy, zu der Zuschauer*innen mit einem Bibliotheksausweis Zugang haben, verfügbar ebenso wie über die kostenpflichtigen Streamingdienste Netflix, Hulu und Prime Video.


Prof. Vershawn Young (Dr. Vay) von der University of Waterloo, Wissenschaftler und Dozent für Afroamerikanische Kommunikation, Literatur und Performance sowie James Baldwin-Experte und Multimedia-Künstler, wird unsere Ausstrahlung auf Twitter begleiten und Fragen beantworten. Bevor er dem Lehrstuhl für Kommunikationswissenschaften und Englische Sprache und Literatur an der University of Waterloo beigetreten ist, hat Dr. Vay an der University of Kentucky und der University of Iowa gelehrt. Als Aktivist für Anti-Rassismus ist er Mitglied von Aptly Outspoken Collective, die Beratung in Fragen von Inklusion und Diversität für Schulen und Organisationen anbietet. 

Am 10. Dezember wird Dr. Vay den Twitter Account @GoetheToronto von 18.00-20.00 Uhr EST übernehmen, um den Film, Baldwins Arbeit und schwarze Maskulinität zu kontextualisieren und Fragen von Zuschauer*innen zu beantworten. Fragen sollten in diesem Zeitraum mit #AskAnExpert und #IAmNotYourNegro getaggt oder im Vorfeld per Mail an das Goethe-Institut Toronto geschickt werden.

I Am Not Your Negro
USA/Frankreich/Belgien/Schweiz
2016, 95 Minuten
Regie: Raoul Peck
Narration: Samuel L. Jackson

In dieser preisgekrönten Doku, die auf dem Romanfragment Remember This House von James Baldwin basiert, versucht Raoul Peck die Geschichte des Rassismus in den USA chronologisch von 1890 bis 2014 darzulegen. Er tut dies anhand einer filmischen Kollage und der Geschichte von drei Freunden Baldwins, die in den 1960er Jahren ermordet wurden: Medgar Evers (✝1963), Malcolm X (✝1965) und Martin Luther King Jr. (✝1968). Durch die Auseinandersetzung mit den tieferliegenden Verbindungen zwischen den Leben dieser drei Männer und den Attentaten auf sie deckt Peck ein übergreifendes Narrativ von Amerikas historischer Verleugnung und irrationalem Umgang mit dem Rassismus auf.

„Es wird schwer sein, einen Film zu finden, der mit größerer Klarheit und Deutlichkeit über die unbequemen Wahrheiten unserer Gegenwart spricht, indem er Lehren aus den Schatten der Geschichte hervorzieht.“ –The New York Times

„Dieses Oscar-nominierte Porträt von James Baldwin benutzt die Worte des Autors als Brücke zwischen der Civil Rights Vergangenheit und unserer politisch aufgeladenen Gegenwart. Es ist unverpassbar und unvergesslich.“ –The Rolling Stone
 


Awards:
BAFTA Award
César Award
Australian Film Critics Association Award
Berlin International Film Festival Panorama Audience Award
Chicago International Film Festival Audience Choice Award
Toronto International Film Festival Audience Choice Award 
Black Film Critics Circle Special Mention
und 24 andere

Partner

internationales literaturfestival berlin