Film screening: Lovemobil - Goethe-Institut
Film screening

Lovemobil

12/4-12/6/2020

Online

Details

Language: German, English, and Bulgarian with English subtitles
Price: Free
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Registration required

Related links

Anmeldung
The German Film Office is pleased to present the award-winning documentary Lovemobil by Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss as its last German Movie Night of 2020. The film will be available to viewers in New York State. 

When night falls in rural Germany, old VW caravans decorated with flashy lights line country roads cutting through potato fields and dark forests. Inside these caravans, sex workers from Eastern Europe and Africa await their clients. In her debut feature, Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss gives voice to women who came from far away in search of a better life and ended up stranded by the side of these eerie roads. Lovemobil is a film about a microcosm at the outer edge of global capitalism.

“The impulse for the film was a night-drive to my hometown after spending years abroad. Passing the caravans, they jumped at me as a grotesque picture of a microcosm at the edge of society. Throughout the course of three years, we tried to capture in atmospheric images and scenes what lies hidden in the dark abyss of these roads, aiming to convey the feeling what it’s like to live, work, dream, and getting abused in this loneliness, depicted from the angle of our brave and captivating protagonists.” –Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss



Lovemobil
Dir. Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss
Germany, 2019
103 minutes

Filmvorführung

Lovemobil

Lovemobil © Christoph Rohrscheidt
© Christoph Rohrscheidt

4.-6.12.2020

Online

Details

Sprache: Deutsch, Englisch und Bulgarisch mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kostenlos
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
Das German Film Office freut sich, den preisgekrönten Dokumentarfilm Lovemobil von Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss als letzte German Movie Night des Jahres zu präsentieren. Der Film steht Zuschauer*innen im Bundesstaat New York zur Verfügung.

Wenn die Nacht im ländlichen Deutschland hereinbricht, säumen alte, mit grellen Lichtern geschmückte VW-Wohnwagen die die durch Kartoffelfelder und dunkle Wälder führenden Landstraßen. In diesen Wohnwagen warten Sexarbeiterinnen aus Osteuropa und Afrika auf ihre vorbeifahrenden Kunden. Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss gibt Frauen, die von weit her auf der Suche nach einem besseren Leben kamen und in diesen gespenstischen Straßen gelandet sind, eine Stimme. Lovemobil ist ein Film über einen Mikrokosmos am äußeren Rand des globalen Kapitalismus.

„Der Anstoß für den Film war eine Nachtfahrt in meine Heimatstadt nach Jahren im Ausland. Als ich an den Wohnwagen vorbeifuhr, stürzten sie sich auf mich als groteskes Bild eines Mikrokosmos am Rande der Gesellschaft. Über einen Zeitraum von drei Jahren haben wir versucht, in atmosphärischen Bildern und Szenen einzufangen, was im dunklen Abgrund dieser Straßen verborgen liegt, um das Gefühl zu vermitteln, wie es ist, in dieser Einsamkeit zu leben, zu arbeiten, zu träumen und missbraucht zu werden, aus dem Blickwinkel unserer mutigen und fesselnden Protagonistinnen.“ –Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss



Lovemobil
Regie: Elke Margarete Lehrenkrauss
Deutschland 2019
103 Minuten