Film series: Comes the Revolution: The Berlinale Forum at 50 - Goethe-Institut
Film series

Comes the Revolution: The Berlinale Forum at 50

Film still from Rosa von Praunheim's "It Is Not the Homosexual Who Is Perverse, But the Society In Which He Lives": a group of naked men sit on a mattress
© Bavaria Media

12/14-12/20/20

Online

Details

Language: In various languages with English subtitles
Price: Free
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Registration required

Please note that a one-time registration will grant you access to both the film series and the panel discussion.

Related links

Register
The German Film Office and Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art present a showcase of the Berlinale Forum’s 50th anniversary program with curated film selections by The Museum of Modern Art. The films will be available on demand December 14-20 to viewers across the United States. The panel discussion Radical Cinema, Then and Now will take place December 18, 2:00pm EST and will be accessible worldwide.

One of the world’s premier showcases of radical cinema both in form and content, the International Forum of Young Film (later: Berlinale Forum) celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2020. The selection of six programs, drawn by The Museum of Modern Art from a more extensive series that took place at Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art in Berlin earlier this year, presents work made between 1969 and 1971 that premiered in the first edition of the Forum. Filmmakers as subversive as Chris Marker, Sarah Maldoror, Rosa von Praunheim, and Helke Sander did not shy from confronting the social, political and economic upheavals that were then giving rise to revolutionary movements around the world, whether Black Power or African independence, second-generation feminism, gay liberation, or workers’ rights. Now, a half century later, we can contemplate their successes and failures in finding a filmic language to express these seismic shifts on the ground – in streets, factories, universities, and bedrooms – and perhaps find a renewed urgency and inspiration in their collective ongoing struggle.

Curated by Josh Siegel, The Museum of Modern Art

Programs 1 and 2: Black Liberation
Yolande du Luart, Angela, Portrait of A Revolutionary (1971, USA/France, 1971, 60 min)
William Klein, Eldridge Cleaver, Black Panther (1970, Algeria/France, 75 min)

Program 3: African Independence
Med Hondo, Mes voisins (1971, France, 35 min)
Sarah Maldoror, Monangambee (1969, Algeria, 16 min)
Members of the Pan Africanist Congress, Phela-ndaba (End of the Dialogue) (1970, South Africa, 45 min)

Program 4: Women’s Liberation
Helke Sander, Eine Prämie für Irene (Bonus for Irene) (1971, West Germany, 50 min)

Program 5: Gay Liberation
Rosa von Praunheim, Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt (1971, West Germany, 67 min)

Program 6: Workers’ Rights
Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Eine Sache, die sich versteht (15x) (Something Self Explanatory (15x)) (1971, West Germany, 64 min)
Chris Marker, On vous parle de Paris: Maspero, les mots ont un sens (Calling from Paris: Maspero. Words Have a Meaning) (1970, France, 20 min)
Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux, Les trois-quarts de la vie (Three Quarters of a Life) (1971, France, 18 min)

MORE ABOUT THE FILMS:

Yolande du Luart, Angela: Portrait of a Revolutionary
On August 18, 1970, Angela Davis was named to the FBI’s Top 10 Most Wanted Fugitives list for her alleged involvement in the armed takeover of a federal courthouse in which four people were killed. Filmed during a period of high tension by Davis’s philosophy students at UCLA, this documentary portrait captures the radical thinker and activist at her most “dangerously subversive,” a woman who through her words and deeds sowed deep hostility toward American imperialist interests in Vietnam, Africa, and Latin America, and who battled rampant sexism within the Black Power movement even as she fought – and continues to fight – systemic racism, sexism, and class exploitation both at home and abroad.

William Klein, Eldridge Cleaver, Black Panther
An American expatriate in Paris, William Klein collaborated with the journalist Robert Scheer on this measured profile of Eldridge Cleaver, the Black Panther leader who in 1968 fled murder charges in the US by taking asylum in more-than-obliging Cuba, Mexico, France, and Algeria. As Cleaver meets with Pan African nationalists and Vietnamese freedom fighters, and reflects on the future of the black liberation movement and his own exiled role within it, he becomes a study  in complexity and contradiction.

Med Hondo, Mes voisins (My Neighbors)
The fiercely independent Mauritanian filmmaker Med Hondo, who died last year, made this short film in 1971 as a prelude to his revolutionary debut feature Soleil Ô, interviewing African migrants in Paris about the racial hardships they face in finding jobs, homes, and acceptance.

Sarah Maldoror, Monangambee
A French filmmaker of West Indian descent, Sarah Maldoror dedicated herself to a radical mode of anticolonial cinema – much like Med Hondo – before her death from COVID-19 earlier this year. Maldoror cast amateur actors in Algeria in this adaptation of a novella by the dissident Angolan writer José Luandino Vieira, assuming the feminist perspective of a poor black woman who attempts to visit her husband, a political prisoner, in a miserable jail on the outskirts of the capital Luanda.

Members of the Pan-Africanist Congress, Phela-ndaba (End of the Dialogue)
Bearing witness to the crimes of Apartheid from a distinctly personal viewpoint, expatriate black South African members of the Pan-Africanist Congress (Antonia Caccia, Chris Curling, Simon Louvish, Nelson 'Nana' Mahomo, Vus Make and Rakhetla Tsehlana) shot this film clandestinely in South Africa and smuggled it to Great Britain for international release. To shocked audiences worldwide, they made visible and incontrovertible  a brutal and totalizing system of racial oppression and persecution, their film culminating in a harrowing roll call of victims of state-led imprisonment, torture, and murder.

Helke Sander, Eine Prämie für Irene (Bonus for Irene)
Helke Sander staked her claim within the New German Cinema and second generation feminism with this devilishly brilliant satire of rampant and unrepentant sexism at home and work. In addition to writing and directing she stars as Irene, the defiant single mother who galvanizes her female assembly-line colleagues at a washing-machine factory into standing up against all forms of harassment and surveillance.

Rosa von Praunheim, Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt (It Is Not the Homosexual Who Is Perverse, But the Society In Which He Lives)
“Two years after the Stonewall riots, Rosa von Praunheim nearly ignited another queer intifada with his first feature, It Is Not the Homosexual Who Is Perverse, But the Society in Which He Lives (1971). A Brechtian soap opera with endlessly quotable narration, It Is Not savages gay-male self-destruction and the pathological need to fit into bourgeois culture: ‘Faggots don’t want to be faggots. They don’t want to be different. They live in a dream world of glossy magazines and Hollywood movies,’ intones the first of several increasingly hysterical, thickly Teutonic voices, before this utopian call-to-arms is sounded: ‘Let’s work together with the blacks and women’s liberation. Get involved politically. Being gay is not a career’” (Melissa Anderson, The Village Voice).

Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Eine Sache, die sich versteht (15x) (Something Self Explanatory (15x))
While filmmakers like Godard and Gorin in France and Bertolucci and Pasolini in Italy were reveling in their own brands of Marxist cinema, Bitomsky and Farocki in West Germany set out to define the very form and meaning of Marxist cinema with this crash course in 15 clever and deceptively simple lessons, playing out ideas of commodity, labor, and exchange and use value in humorously staged vignettes.

Chris Marker, On vous parle de Paris: Maspero, les mots ont un sens (Calling from Paris: Maspero. Words Have a Meaning)
The role of the public intellectual in society, free press, and revolutionary politics has long vexed the great thinkers of France, from Voltaire and Rousseau to Camus and de Beauvoir. In this episode of his series On vous parle de Paris, Chris Marker limns the fragile line between leftist journalism and radical activism, creating a compelling portrait of François Maspero, the controversial reporter and publisher of Fritz Fanon’s censored The Wretched of the Earth, the writings of Che Guevara, and other indictments of colonialism and Western democracy.

Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux, Les trois-quarts de la vie (Three Quarters of a Life)
The fantasy of a true Workers’ Cinema, the realization of a Soviet ideal of putting cameras directly into the hands of honest, untutored, and unfettered proletariats, took on renewed currency amid the violent economic, political, and social upheavals of late 1960s France. Taking its name from one of Chris Marker’s favorite Soviet filmmakers, Aleksandr Medvedkin, who brought Film Truth to the masses with his locomotive cinema, the Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux united documentarians and militant unionists from a local Peugeot factory in a collective cri de coeur against capitalist exploitation.

Filmreihe

Comes the Revolution: The Berlinale Forum at 50

Filmszene aus Rosa von Praunheims "Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt": eine Gruppe von nackten Männern sitzt auf einer Matratze
© Bavaria Media

14.-20.12.20

Online

Details

Sprache: In verschiedenen Sprachen mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kostenlos
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Anmeldung erforderlich

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Sie sich für die Filmreihe und die Podiumsdiskussion nur einmal anmelden müssen.

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
Das German Film Office und das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst präsentieren eine vom Museum of Modern Art kuratierte Filmauswahl aus dem 50. Jubiläumsprogramm des Berlinale Forums. Die Filme stehen Zuschauer*innen in den USA vom 14.-20. Dezember digital zur Verfügung. Am 18. Dezember um 14.00 Uhr EST findet eine weltweit zugängliche Podiumsdiskussion zum Thema Radical Cinema, Then and Now statt.

2020 feiert das Internationale Forum des Jungen Films (später: Berlinale Forum), eines der weltweit prominentesten Schauplätze von radikalem Filmemachen sowohl in Form als auch Inhalt, sein 50. Jubiläum. Aus einer breiter angelegten Reihe, die bereits Anfang des Jahres beim Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst in Berlin zu sehen war, stellte das Museum of Modern Art sechs Programme mit Arbeiten aus den Jahren 1969 bis 1971, die während der ersten Ausgabe des Forums Premiere hatten, zusammen. Subversive Filmemacher wir Chris Marker, Sarah Maldoror, Rosa von Praunheim und Helke Sander scheuten nicht davon zurück, die sozialen, politischen und ökonomischen Umbrüche zu thematisieren, die damals den Weg für revolutionäre Bewegungen in der ganzen Welt ebneten – sei es Black Power oder die afrikanische Freiheitsbewegung, die zweite Welle des Feminismus, die Schwulenbewegung oder der Kampf um Arbeiterrechte. Heute, ein halbes Jahrhundert später, können wir über die Erfolge und Misserfolge bei der Suche nach einer Filmsprache, die die tektonischen Verschiebungen jener Zeit – in den Straßen, Fabriken, Universitäten und Schlafzimmern – abbildet, nachsinnen. Und vielleicht finden wir erneuerte Dringlichkeit und Inspiration in ihrem kollektiven, weiterhin andauernden Kampf.

Kurator: Josh Siegel, Museum of Modern Art

Programm 1 und 2: Black Liberation
Yolande du Luart, Angela: Portrait of a Revolutionary (1971, USA/Frankreich, 1971, 60 Min.)
William Klein, Eldridge Cleaver, Black Panther (1970, Algerien/Frankreich, 75 Min.)

Programm 3: African Independence
Med Hondo, Mes voisins (1971, Frankreich, 35 Min.)
Sarah Maldoror, Monangambee (1969, Algerien, 16 Min.)
Mitglieder des Pan Africanist Congress, Phela-ndaba (1970, Südafrika, 45 Min.)

Programm 4: Women’s Liberation
Helke Sander, Eine Prämie für Irene (1971, BRD, 50 Min.)

Programm 5: Gay Liberation
Rosa von Praunheim, Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt (1971, BRD, 67 Min.)

Programm 6: Workers’ Rights
Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Eine Sache, die sich versteht (15x)  (1971, BRD, 64 Min.)
Chris Marker, On vous parle de Paris: Maspero, les mots ont un sens (1970, Frankreich, 20 Min.)
Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux, Les trois-quarts de la vie (1971, Frankreich, 18 Min.)

MEHR ÜBER DIE FILME:

Yolande du Luart, Angela – Portrait of A Revolutionary
Am 18. August 1970 fügte das FBI Angela Davis Namen zu ihrer Liste der Top 10 meistgesuchten Flüchtigen hinzu für ihre mutmaßliche Beteiligung an einer gewaltsamen Besetzung eines staatlichen Gerichtsgebäudes, bei der vier Menschen getötet wurden. Gefilmt von Davis Philosophie-Studenten an der UCLA während einer Zeit großer Spannungen, zeigt dieser Dokumentarfilm die radikale Denkerin und Aktivistin zu ihrer „gefährlichsten subversivsten“ Zeit. Eine Frau, die durch ihre Worte und Taten tiefgreifende Feindlichkeit gegen amerikanische Imperialisten mit Interesse an Vietnam, Afrika und Lateinamerika streute und die sich gegen den wild um sich greifenden Sexismus in der Black Power Bewegung auflehnte, während sie gleichzeitig gegen den systemischen Rassismus, Sexismus und die Klassenausbeutung im eigenen Heim wie außerhalb kämpfte – und immer noch kämpft. 

William Klein, Eldridge Cleaver, Black Panther
Als Amerikaner in Paris arbeitete William Klein zusammen mit dem Journalisten Robert Scheer an diesem gemäßigten Profil von Eldridge Cleaver, dem Black Panther Anführer, der 1968 vor einer Anklage wegen Mordes in den US floh und Asyl suchte in Ländern, die ihn freudig willkommen hießen, wie Kuba, Mexiko, Frankreich und Algerien. Während Cleaver sich mit panafrikanischen Nationalisten und vietnamesischen Freiheitskämpfern trifft und die Zukunft der Black Liberation-Bewegung sowie seine eigene Rolle im Exil reflektiert, entwickelt er sich mehr und mehr in ein Beispiel für Komplexität und Widersprüchlichkeit.

Med Hondo, Mes voisins
Der überzeugt unabhängige mauretanische Filmemacher Med Hondo, der letztes Jahr verstarb, hat für diesen Kurzfilm, den er 1971 als Einführung für sein revolutionäres Erstlingswerk Soleil Ô zeigte, afrikanische Einwanderer in Paris zur Rassendiskriminierung interviewt, mit der sie konfrontiert werden bei der Suche nach Jobs, Wohnungen und Akzeptanz.    

Sarah Maldoror, Monangambee
Sarah Maldoror, eine französische Filmemacherin mit westindischen Wurzeln, hat sich einer radikalen Methode des antikolonialen Kinos verschrieben – nicht unähnlich zu Med Hondo – bevor sie Anfang diesen Jahres an COVID-19 verstarb. Maldoror engagierte Laienschauspieler in Algerien für diese Adaption einer Novelle des querdenkenden, angolanischen Schriftstellers José Luandino Vieira, in der sie die feministische Perspektive einer schwarzen, verarmten Frau einnimmt, die versucht ihren Mann, einen politischen Gefangenen, in einem heruntergekommenen Gefängnis an den Rändern der Hauptstadt Luanda zu besuchen.

Mitglieder des Pan-Africanist Congress, Phela-ndaba
Um die Verbrechen der Apartheit von einem stark persönlich geprägten Standpunkt aus zu dokumentieren, filmten ausgewanderte, schwarze südafrikanische Mitglieder des Pan-Africanist Congress (Antonia Caccia, Chris Curling, Simon Louvish, Nelson ‚Nana‘ Mahomo, Vus Make und Rakhetla Tsehlana) diesen Film heimlich in Südafrika und schmuggelten ihn schließlich nach Großbritannien, um ihn einer internationalen Öffentlichkeit zu zeigen. Für eine geschockte weltweite Zuschauerschaft machten sie das brutale und totalitäre System von Rassenunterdrückung und Verfolgung sichtbar. Der Film erreicht seinen Höhepunkt in einem qualvollen Appell der Opfer von staatlich angeordneter Inhaftierung, Folter und Ermordung.

Helke Sander, Eine Prämie für Irene
Helke Sander forderte einen Platz im Neuen Deutschen Film und der zweiten Welle des Feminismus mit dieser teuflisch genialen Satire auf den Zügel- und reuelosen Sexismus zu Hause wie auf der Arbeit. Nicht nur hat sie den Film geschrieben und Regie geführt, sie spielt auch Irene, die aufrührerische, alleinerziehende Mutter, die ihre weiblichen Fließband-Kolleginnen einer Waschmaschinenfabrik dazu animiert, sich gegen jegliche Form von Schikane und Überwachung aufzulehnen.   

Rosa von Praunheim, Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt
„Zwei Jahre nach den Stonewall Ausschreitungen entfachte Rosa von Praunheim fast eine weitere queere Intifada mit seinem ersten Langspielfilm Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt (1971). Der Film, eine Brecht’sche Seifenoper mit unendlich vielen Zitat-würdigen Stellen, setzt sich mit der schwul-männlichen Selbstzerstörung und dem pathologischen Bedürfnis, sich in die bürgerliche Kultur zu integrieren, auseinander: ‚Schwule wollen nicht schwul sein. Sie wollen nicht anders sein. Sie leben in einer Wunschwelt aus Hochglanzmagazinen und Hollywood Filmen‘, kommentiert eine von vielen, mehr und mehr ins Hysterische abdriftende, teutonisch triefende Stimme, bevor dieser utopische Griff zu den Waffen erklingt: ‚Lasst uns mit den Bürgerrechtsbewegungen und der Frauenbefreiung zusammenarbeiten. Engagiert euch politisch. Schwul sein ist keine Karriere.‘“ (Melissa Anderson, The Village Voice).

Hartmut Bitomsky, Harun Farocki, Eine Sache, die sich versteht (15x)
Während Filmemacher wie Godard und Gorin in Frankreich und Bertolucci und Pasolini in Italien in ihren eigenen Versionen des marxistischen Kinos schwelgten, machten sich Bitomsky und Farocki in Westdeutschland daran, ihre Idee von Format und Bedeutung des marxistischen Kinos zu definieren mit diesem Schnellkurs von 15 klugen und vermeintlich einfachen Lehren, die Ideen wie Rohstoffe, Arbeit und Handel durchspielten, und nutzen dabei Wert in humorvoll inszenierten Vignetten.

Chris Marker, On vous parle de Paris: Maspero, les mots ont un sens Die Rolle des Intellektuellen in der Gesellschaft, der freien Presse und der revolutionären Politik hat lange schon die großen Dichter und Denker Frankreichs – von Voltaire über Rousseau und Camus zu de Beauvoir – verärgert. In dieser Episode seiner Serie On vous parle de Paris zieht Chris Marker eine fragile Linie zwischen linken Journalisten und radikalem Aktivismus und kreiert damit ein fesselndes Portrait von François Maspero, dem kontroversen Reporter und Herausgeber von Fritz Fanons zensiertem Die Verdammten dieser Erde, den Schriften von Che Guevara und anderen Anklageschriften gegen den Kolonialismus und die westliche Demokratie.

Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux, Les trois-quarts de la vie
Die Fantasie eines echten Arbeiterkinos, die Realisierung des sowjetischen Ideals die Kameras direkt in die Hände von ehrlichen, ungeschulten und uneingeschränkten Proletariern zu geben, bekam während der gewaltsamen ökonomischen, politischen und sozialen Ausschreitungen der späten 1960er Jahre in Frankreich eine ganz neue Bedeutung. Benannt nach einem von Chris Markers liebsten sowjetischen Filmemachern, Aleksandr Medvedkin, der mit seinem Filmzug Kino Pravda zu den Massen brachte, vereinte die Groupe Medvedkine Sochaux Dokumentaristen und militante Gewerkschaftler einer lokalen Peugeot Fabrik in einem kollektiven Aufschrei gegen die kapitalistische Ausbeutung.