Film Screening

German Movie Nights: Schwarze Adler

Schwarze Adler
© Sven Simon

07/16-07/18/2021

Online

Details

Language: German with English subtitles
Price: Free admission
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Registration required

Related links

Register
Our German Movie Nights in July are all about diversity and inclusion in professional soccer.

We are pleased to present the U.S. virtual premiere of the documentary Black Eagles by Torsten Körner from July 16-18. The film is available to viewers in the United States.


Schwarze Adler is a documentary about German soccer, racism, and the Black players in the national teams. These trailblazing men and women share their personal stories of growing up in Germany and their experiences on the way to the top of the country’s most popular sport: the prejudice and racial hostility they faced, the obstacles they had to overcome. From the first generation of professional players, some of them the children of American GIs stationed in Germany after the war, to today’s international stars.

The players recount what it’s like to be racially abused by thousands in soccer stadiums and by millions in front of their TVs, casting a light on how fans, the media, and German society itself have dealt with race from the early postwar years to today.

Schwarze Adler
Documentary
Dir. Torsten Körner
With Guy Acolatse, Otto Addo, Gerald Asamoah, Anthony Baffoe, Cacau, Rigobert Gruber, Jimmy Hartwig, Steffi Jones, Erwin Kostedde, Jean-Manuel Mbom, Patrick Owomoyela, Beverly Ranger, Shary Reeves, Jordan Torunarigha
Germany, 2021
100 minutes

Filmvorführung: German Movie Nights: Schwarze Adler - Goethe-Institut
Filmvorführung

German Movie Nights: Schwarze Adler

Schwarze Adler
© Sven Simon

16.-18.07.2021

Online

Details

Sprache: Deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln
Preis: Kostenlos
gfo-newyork@goethe.de Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
Im Juli stehen unsere German Movie Nights ganz im Zeichen von Vielfalt und Inklusion im Profifußball.

Wir freuen uns, am Wochenende vom 16.–18. Juli die amerikanische Onlinepremiere des Dokumentarfilms Schwarze Adler von Torsten Körner zu präsentieren. Der Film ist für Zuschauer*innen in den USA verfügbar.

Schwarze Adler ist eine Dokumentation über den deutschen Fußball, Rassismus und die schwarzen Spieler in der Nationalmannschaft. Diese bahnbrechenden Männer und Frauen erzählen ihre persönlichen Geschichten über das Aufwachsen in Deutschland und ihre Erfahrungen auf dem Weg an die Spitze des beliebtesten Sports der Deutschen: die Vorurteile und rassistischen Anfeindungen, denen sie ausgesetzt waren, die Hindernisse, die sie überwinden mussten. Von der ersten Generation von Profispielern – zum Teil Kinder von amerikanischen GIs waren, die nach dem Krieg in Deutschland stationiert waren – bis hin zu den internationalen Fußballstars der Aktualität.

Die Spieler erzählen, wie es ist, von Tausenden in den Fußballstadien und von Millionen vor den Fernsehern rassistisch beschimpft zu werden, und werfen ein Licht darauf, wie Fans, Medien und die deutsche Gesellschaft seit der frühen Nachkriegszeit mit dem Thema Hautfarbe umgehen.

Schwarze Adler
Dokumentarfilm
Regie: Torsten Körner
Mit Guy Acolatse, Otto Addo, Gerald Asamoah, Anthony Baffoe, Cacau, Rigobert Gruber, Jimmy Hartwig, Steffi Jones, Erwin Kostedde, Jean-Manuel Mbom, Patrick Owomoyela, Beverly Ranger, Shary Reeves, Jordan Torunarigha
Deutschland 2021
100 Minuten