Film club

KINO! Film Salon: I’m Your Man

11/14/21
2:00pm EST

Details

Language: English
Price: Free admission
info@telescopefilm.com Registration required

Related links

Register
KINO! Film Salon is a monthly online film club to discuss German film.
 
How it works: Each month we choose a German film or series currently available to stream, watch it independently, and come together for a hosted conversation with other fans of German film.
 
In November we’ll talk about I’m Your Man by Maria Schrader, which is available to stream in the U.S. on platforms including Prime Video and Apple TV. The film is Germany’s contender for nomination to the 2022 Academy Award for Best International Feature Film.

Alma (Maren Eggert) is a scientist at the famous Pergamon Museum in Berlin. To secure funding for her research, she accepts an offer to participate in an extraordinary experiment. For three weeks, she is to live with a humanoid robot who has been designed to become her ideal life partner. Enter Tom (Dan Stevens), a machine in handsome human form, created to make Alma happy. What ensues is a tragicomic tale that explores notions of love, longing, and what makes us human.

Hosted by Sydney Levine
 
Sydney Levine consults, interviews, and writes about filmmakers and the film industry. She has taught international film business at universities including UCLA, Chapman, The New School of Social Research, and the University of Television and Film Munich, as well as at festivals including the Cannes Producers Workshop, and Berlinale Talents. She created FilmFinders, the film industry’s first database, which was acquired by IMDb. She currently lives in Berlin and Los Angeles. 
 
KINO! Film Salon is a production of Telescope Film, in partnership with the German Film Office.

Ich bin dein Mensch
Dir. Maria Schrader
With Maren Eggert, Dan Stevens, Sandra Hüller, Hans Löw
Germany, 2021
105 minutes

Filmklub

KINO! Film Salon: Ich bin dein Mensch

Ich bin dein Mensch
© Bleecker Street

14.11.21
14:00 Uhr EST

Details

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Kostenlos
info@telescopefilm.com Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
KINO! Film Salon ist ein monatlicher Online-Filmclub, in dem Sie mit anderen über deutsche Filme diskutieren können.
 
Wie es funktioniert: Jeden Monat suchen wir uns einen deutschen Film oder eine Serie aus, die aktuell zum Streamen verfügbar ist, schauen sie unabhängig voneinander an und treffen uns dann zu einem moderierten Gespräch mit anderen Fans des deutschen Films.
 
Im November besprechen wir Ich bin dein Mensch von Maria Schrader. Der Film kann in den USA unter anderem auf Prime Video und Apple TV gestreamt werden. Ich bin dein Mensch ist Deutschlands Kandidat für die Nominierung zum Besten Internationalen Spielfilm bei den Oscars 2022.

Die Wissenschaftlerin Alma (Maren Eggert) arbeitet am berühmten Pergamonmuseum in Berlin. Um an Fördermittel für ihre Studien zu kommen, erklärt sie sich zur Teilnahme an einem außergewöhnlichen Experiment bereit. Drei Wochen lang soll sie mit Tom (Dan Stevens), einem humanoiden Roboter, der sich dank künstlicher Intelligenz in den für sie perfekten Lebenspartner verwandeln wird, zusammenleben. Die Maschine in attraktiver Menschengestalt ist dazu geschaffen, Alma glücklich zu machen. Es entfaltet sich eine Tragikomödie, die Vorstellungen von Liebe und Sehnsucht auslotet und fragt, was den Menschen ausmacht.

Moderiert von Sydney Levine
 
Sydney Levine berät, interviewt und schreibt über Filmemacher und die Filmindustrie. Sie lehrte internationales Filmgeschäft an Universitäten wie UCLA, Chapman, The New School of Social Research und der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München sowie auf Festivals wie dem Cannes Producers Workshop und Berlinale Talents. Sie kreierte FilmFinders, die erste Datenbank für die Filmindustrie, die von IMDb akquiriert wurde. Derzeit lebt sie in Berlin und Los Angeles. 
 
KINO! Film Salon ist eine Produktion von Telescope Film, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem German Film Office.

Ich bin dein Mensch
Regie: Maria Schrader
Mit Maren Eggert, Dan Stevens, Sandra Hüller, Hans Löw
Deutschland 2021
105 Minuten