Visual Arts

The Fourth Wall, Installation Paço das Artes 2012 Photo: Clemens von Wedemeyer/Art: Clemens von Wedemeyer

German visual arts are highly regarded throughout the world. Through its varied programme of activities, the Goethe-Institut helps people all over the globe to come into contact and engage with art from Germany. The focus is on contemporary art.

The Visual Arts Division acts as consultant and motivator for diverse projects carried out or promoted by the Goethe-Instituts abroad in the fields of visual arts, design and architecture. A continuous dialogue generates programmes that convey insights into the current art scene in Germany that stimulate artistic discourses and facilitate personal encounters between artists at home and abroad.

The division is given support with regards to content by a voluntary advisory board made up of renowned figures from the German art scene.

Activities of the Visual Arts Division

The primary task of the Visual Arts Division is individual, professional consulting for the numerous art, design and architecture projects that are initiated, supported or conducted by the Goethe-Instituts abroad. Furthermore, the division promotes intercultural exchange by means of diverse centrally-coordinated programmes.

In cooperation with local partner organizations, we initiate and support group and solo exhibitions in all the various branches of the visual arts: painting, sculpture, the graphic arts, architecture, photography, media art, design and fashion.

The Goethe-Institut produces touring exhibitions that document cultural themes or recent historical developments. We also place touring exhibitions produced by the Institute for Foreign Relations (ifa) in Stuttgart with cultural institutes abroad.

Conferences and panel discussions focus on important trends in contemporary German art. Workshops, artist- and curator-in-residence programmes and curator research journeys and talks with artists from Germany are also organized.

The spectrum of the approximately 1,000 events held each year includes group and solo exhibitions, lectures, symposiums, workshops and artist-in-residency programmes.

Promotion

International Coproduction Fund

The Goethe-Institut has for the first time set up an International Coproduction Fund for the period from 2016 to 2018. The idea is to encourage new collaborative working processes and innovative productions involving international cultural exchange, with a view to promoting the creation of new working networks and approaches within a global context.
 
The International Coproduction Fund targets professional artists, ensembles and initiatives in Germany and abroad. The object is to help fund coproductions in the fields of theatre, dance, music and performance art, in which hybrid and interdisciplinary formats and the use of digital media may be key components. These projects are expected to be of high artistic calibre and presented in at least one of the countries involved. There are no topical or regional restrictions, but preference will be given to projects between German and non-European partners, especially in transition countries.
 
Go to goethe.de/ikf for information about how to apply (application deadlines, form etc.).

Bildende Kunst

The Fourth Wall, Installationsansicht Paço das Artes 2012 Foto: Clemens von Wedemeyer/Kunst: Clemens von Wedemeyer

Die deutsche Bildende Kunst genießt weltweit ein hohes Ansehen. Das Goethe-Institut trägt durch vielfältige Aktivitäten dazu bei, im Ausland die Begegnung und Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst aus Deutschland zu ermöglichen. Im Mittelpunkt steht die zeitgenössische Kunst.

Der Fachbereich Bildende Kunst agiert als Berater und Impulsgeber für vielfältige Projekte auf den Gebieten Bildende Kunst, Design und Architektur, die von den Goethe-Instituten im Ausland durchgeführt oder gefördert werden. Im kontinuierlichen Dialog entstehen Programme, die Einblicke in die aktuelle Kunstszene in Deutschland vermitteln, künstlerische Diskurse anstoßen und persönliche Begegnungen zwischen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern im In- und Ausland ermöglichen.

Der Fachbereich wird inhaltlich unterstützt von einem ehrenamtlichen Beirat, dem renommierte Persönlichkeiten aus der deutschen Kunstszene angehören.

Aktivitäten des Bereichs Bildende Kunst

Die Hauptaufgabe des Bereichs Bildende Kunst liegt in der individuellen fachlichen Beratung der zahlreichen Kunst-, Design und Architekturprojekte, die von den Goethe-Instituten im Ausland initiiert, unterstützt oder durchgeführt werden. Darüber hinaus fördert der Fachbereich den interkulturellen Austausch durch diverse zentral koordinierte Programme:

In Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern initiiert und fördert das Goethe-Institut Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen in allen Sparten der Bildenden Kunst: Malerei, Skulptur, Grafik, Architektur, Fotografie, Medienkunst, Design und Mode.

Das Goethe-Institut produziert dokumentarische Tournee-Ausstellungen zu kultur- und zeithistorischen Themen. Zugleich vermittelt es die vom Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, Stuttgart (ifa) erarbeiteten Tournee-Ausstellungen an Kunsteinrichtungen im Ausland.

Konferenzen und Podiumsdiskussionen informieren über wichtige Tendenzen in der zeitgenössischen deutschen Kunst. Organisiert werden zudem Workshops, Künstler- und Kuratoren-Residenzen sowie Kuratoren-Recherchereisen und Gesprächsveranstaltungen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Deutschland.

Das Spektrum der rund 1.000 Veranstaltungen pro Jahr reicht von Gruppen- und Einzelausstellungen über Vorträge und Symposien bis zu Workshops und Residenzprogrammen.

Förderung

Internationaler Koproduktionsfonds

Das Goethe-Institut legt für die Jahre 2016-2018 erstmals einen Internationalen Koproduktionsfonds auf. Das Goethe-Institut möchte mit diesem Förderinstrument kollaborative Arbeitsprozesse und innovative Produktionsweisen im internationalen Kulturaustausch anregen und die Entstehung neuer Netzwerke und Arbeitsformen in globalen Zusammenhängen unterstützen.
 
Der Internationale Koproduktionsfonds richtet sich an professionell arbeitende Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie Ensembles und Initiativen im Ausland und in Deutschland. Gefördert werden Koproduktionen in den Bereichen Theater, Tanz, Musik und Performance, wobei hybride und interdisziplinäre Formate und die Verwendung digitaler Medien tragende Komponenten darstellen können. Die Vorhaben sollen eine hohe künstlerische Qualität erwarten lassen und in mindestens einem der beteiligten Länder präsentiert werden. Eine thematische oder regionale Einschränkung gibt es nicht, jedoch werden Projekte zwischen deutschen und außereuropäischen Partnern, insbesondere aus Transformationsländern, bei der Förderung bevorzugt.
Weitere Details zur Bewerbung (Antragsfristen, Bewerbungsformular, etc.) finden Sie hier: goethe.de/ikf.