Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Experimenta/Sur
Tejidos conectivos

Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin. | Photo: David von Becker

The international platform of the fine arts Experimenta/Sur was set up in 2013 by the Siemens Stiftung, the Goethe-Institut and the artists’ collective Mapa Teatro – Laboratorio de artistas in Colombia. Its objective is to create temporary spaces for reflection, experimentation and dialogue.

During the thematic year Humboldt y las Américas, Experimenta/Sur was an integral part of the exhibition La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas / The Nature of Things: Humboldt, Comings and Goings and brought artists, academics and scientists from Latin America, Germany and the USA together around the concept for the tejidos conectivos project (loosely translates as connective tissue). The performative lecture De bogas y remeros / Of Bogas and Rowers as well as the performance El carguero / The Carrier emerged as part of this. The performance El viaje del formol / Formaldehyde Trip was also shown.

El carguero / The Carrier

  • The carrier. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Photo: David von Becker
    The carrier. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • The carrier. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Photo: David von Becker
    The carrier. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
In his diaries Humboldt describes the gure of the porter in the colonial social system. The porters, men of African or indigenous backgrounds, carried travellers and goods on their backs. The performance artist Jean Lucumi links this gure with questions about education in today’s postcolonial societies, where the inequalities from the colonial system of enslavement and exploitation based on ethnicity continue to survive in a different form. The freight that Lucumi carries is the texts that shaped his school days. A burden that he discards in the course of the performance and which initiates discussion about the connection between education and global social orders.

El viaje de formol / the Formaldehyde Trip

  • The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Photo: David von Becker
    The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Photo: David von Becker 
    The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Photo: David von Becker 
    The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin

  • The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin.  Photo: David von Becker
    The Formaldehyde Trip. Humboldt Forum Berlin. 
This performance presents a mythical world: the journey of the murdered Mixtec activist Alberta “Bety” Cariño through the underworld is depicted with the help of videos, songs and talking. During this politically surrealistic journey she nds companions in widows, enchanted animals and deities who accompany her to a rebirth ceremony. An axolotl soaking in formaldehyde simultaneously plays the role of storyteller, travel guide and a ghost object abducted during a colonial expedition. Humboldt had seen, drawn and described the Mexican “walking sh” axolotl in the waters around Mexico City. With this mythical narrative, the per- formance highlights the interdependent nature of the exploitation of natural resources and the oppression of Mexico‘s indigenous population.

De bogas y remeros / Of Bogas and Rowers

  • Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin.  Photo: David von Becker
    Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin. 
  • Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin.  Photo: David von Becker 
    Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin. 
  • Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin.  Photo: David von Becker
    Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin. 
  • Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin.  Photo: David von Becker 
    Of Bogas and Rowers. Humboldt Forum Berlin. 
In this performative lecture, anthropologist Mara Viveros refers to one of the few texts by Humboldt in which he describes a human being and the physical nature of his work. She presents this text in contrast to the story of the everyday life of a man, and Afro-Colombian, who lives on the coast and is possibly a descendant of the man described by Humboldt. The reading by Julián Díaz and Liliana Angulo Cortés is accompanied by improvisations from Stephan Micus, who followed in Humboldt’s footsteps along his route on the Orinoco as part of the Experimenta/Sur.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Experimenta/Sur
Tejidos Conectivos

Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin. | Foto: David von Becker

Die internationale Plattform darstellender Künste Experimenta/Sur wurde 2013 von der Siemens Stiftung, dem Goethe-Institut und dem Künstlerkollektiv Mapa Teatro – Laboratorio de artistas in Kolumbien gegründet. Ihr Ziel ist es, temporäre Reflexions-, Experimentier- und Dialogräume zu schaffen.

Anlässlich des Themenjahres Humboldt y las Américas war Experimenta/Sur integraler Bestandteil der Ausstellung La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas/Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen und brachte Künstlerinnen und Künstler, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus Lateinamerika, Deutschland und den USA zusammen, um sich gemeinsam mit dem Konzept tejidos conectivos (übersetzt etwa Bindegewebe) auseinanderzusetzen. In diesem Rahmen entstanden der performative Vortrag De bogas y remeros / Von Bogas und Ruderern sowie die Performance El carguero / Der Träger. Zudem wurde die Performance El viaje del formol /Formalinreise gezeigt. 

El carguero / Der Träger 

  • Der Träger. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Der Träger. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Der Träger. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Der Träger. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
Humboldt beschreibt in seinen Tagebüchern die Figur des Trägers im kolonialen Gesellschaftssystem. Die Träger, Männer afrikanischen oder indigenen Hintergrunds, trugen auf ihrem Rücken Reisende und Güter. Der Performance-Künstler Jean Lucumi verbindet diese Figur mit Fragen der Bildung in heutigen postkolonialen Gesellschaften, in denen die Ungleichheiten des kolonialen Systems von Versklavung und Ausbeutung aufgrund von ethnischer Zugehörigkeit in anderer Form weiterbestehen. Als Fracht trägt Lucumi jene Texte, die seine Schulzeit prägten. Eine Last, derer er sich im Laufe der Performance entledigt und die Anlass zum Gespräch über den Zusammenhang zwischen Bildung und globalen Gesellschaftsordnungen bietet.

El viaje de formol / Formalinreise 

  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker 
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker 
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin Foto: David von Becker
    Formalinrreise. Humboldt Forum Berlin
Die Performance inszeniert eine mythische Welt: Anhand von Videos, Liedern und Reden wird die Reise der ermordeten Mixteken-Aktivistin Alberta „Bety“ Cariño durch die Unterwelt dargestellt. Während dieser politisch-surrealistischen Reise ndet sie Gefährten in Witwen, Hexentieren und Gottheiten, die sie zu einer Wiedergeburtszeremonie begleiten. Ein in Formaldehyd eingelegter Axolotl spielt gleichzeitig die Rolle eines Geschichtenerzählers, eines Reiseführers und eines bei einer Kolonialexpedition entführten Geisterobjekts. Humboldt hatte den mexikanischen Schwanzlurch Axolotl in den Gewässern um Mexiko-Stadt gesehen, gezeichnet und beschrieben. Die Performance zeigt mit dieser mythischen Erzählung die Ver echtung zwischen der Ausbeutung natürlicher Ressourcen und der Unterdrückung der indi- genen Bevölkerung Mexikos.

De bogas y remeros / Von Bogas und Ruderern

  • Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker 
    Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker
    Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
  • Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin. Foto: David von Becker 
    Von Bogas and Ruderern. Humboldt Forum Berlin.
In diesem performativen Vortrag bezieht sich die Anthropologin Mara Viveros auf einen der wenigen Texte Humboldts, in denen er ein menschliches Wesen und die Körperlichkeit seiner Arbeit beschreibt. Viveros setzt diesen Text in ein spannungsvolles Verhältnis zu der Erzählung über den Alltag eines Mannes, eines Afrokolumbianers, der an der Küste lebt und möglicher Nachfahre des von Humboldt beschriebenen Mannes ist. Die Lesung von Julián Díaz und Liliana Angulo Cortés wird durch Improvisationen von Stephan Micus begleitet, der im Rahmen von Experimenta/Sur Humboldts Route auf dem Orinoco nachverfolgt hat.

Top