Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)


What is Bauhaus?

With the public Bauhaus school in 1919 in Weimar, one of the earliest and most important schools of art and design was founded. Almost no other movement has influenced modern art and architecture as much as Bauhaus. And yet, it was not formed through a universal aesthetic theory, but specifically through the social-democratic politics of the Weimar Republic.

Founded and directed by architect Walter Gropius, the education at the Bauhaus school aimed to connect art and craft. The goal of the school was the training of a new type of artist, who was to combine design and architecture, and create individual products suitable for mass production.

THE Bauhaus did not and does not exist. This school is by no means a specifically German phenomenon. Rather, Bauhaus and its network can be considered a culmination of various avant-garde trends. Architects, artists, crafters, academics/researchers, educators and dancers, from around the world, taught and were taught at the Bauhaus. Equally heterogeneous were their respective motives and perspectives on artistic production.

Today the Bauhaus can still be considered an interchangeable term for the modern. On its 100th birthday the Goethe-Institut along with its partners, experts and interested visitors embark upon a search for its traces and ask questions about its influence – looking for the legacy of Bauhaus in architecture, design, art, dance, film, education and music.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)


Was ist Bauhaus?

Mit dem staatlichen Bauhaus in Weimar entstand 1919 eine der frühesten und bedeutendsten Hochschulen für Kunst und Design. Kaum eine andere Bewegung hat die Kunst und die Architektur der Moderne so sehr beeinflusst wie das Bauhaus. Und dennoch ist es nicht aus einer universalistischen ästhetischen Theorie entstanden, sondern ganz konkret aus der sozialdemokratischen Politik der Weimarer Republik.

Unter der Leitung des Architekten Walter Gropius gegründet, sollte die Ausbildung am Bauhaus Kunst und Kunsthandwerk verbinden. Ziel der Schule war die Ausbildung eines neuen Künstlertypus, der Produkte im Bereich Design und Architektur verbinden sollte, welche sich für die individuelle Massenproduktion eigneten.

DAS Bauhaus gab und gibt es nicht. Die Schule ist keineswegs eine speziell deutsche Erscheinung. Vielmehr lassen sie und ihr Netzwerk sich als Kulminationspunkte verschiedener avantgardistischer Strömungen ansehen. Am Bauhaus lehrten und lernten AchitektInnen, bildende KünstlerInnen, HandwerkerInnen, WissenschaftlerInnen, PädagogInnen und TänzerInnen aus der ganzen Welt. Genauso heterogen waren ihre jeweiligen Motive und Sichtweisen auf künstlerische Produktionen.

Noch heute steht das Bauhaus fast stellvertretend für den Begriff der Moderne. Zu seinem 100. Geburtstag begibt sich das Goethe-Institut mit seinen PartnerInnen, mit ExpertInnen und interessierten BesucherInnen auf Spurensuche und fragt nach der Wirkungsgeschichte des Bauhauses – sucht nach dem Erbe des Bauhauses in Architektur, Design, Kunst, Tanz, Film, Pädagogik und Musik.

Top