unrest 62|22 program Grenzfrequenz /Tele Musicking

Fri. May 27, 2022
7:00 p.m. JST
12:00 p.m. CET

Sat. May 28, 2022
7:00 p.m. JST
12:00 p.m. CET

advance ticket: PEATIX (Tokyo)
                         KOKA (Berlin, May 27, May 28)

The Goethe-Institut Tokyo turns 60. On this occasion the series of events unrest 62|22 take a look at the early years of German-Japanese cultural exchange and invites artists* to reinterpret the electronic music scene of the 1960s from a contemporary perspective. Since it is not possible to experience music and social exchange together in one place, two locations are connected by two acoustic quadraphonic projection spaces that are played bidirectionally. In this way, the ideas from the 1960s also provide impulses for an experimental and creative encounter in the wake of the pandemic-related restrictions.

Friday, 27th May: Grenzfrequenz

12:00 CET, Japanisches-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin (Saargemünder Str. 2, 14195 Berlin)
19:00 JST, Goethe-Institut Tokyo (7-5-56 Akasaka, Minato-ku, 107-0052 Tokyo)

Stockhausen_1994_WDR Karl-Heinz Stockhausen - Telemusik (1966)
sound projection by Juan Verdaguer

Yasunao Tone - Music for Pump Organ (1962)
performed by Manami Kakudo


On 27th May the focus will be on the historical works with the acousmatic performance of TELEMUSIK by Karl-Heinz Stockhausen, the performance MUSIC FOR PUMP ORGAN (1962) by Yasuano Tone and accompanying lectures. In Telemusik, Stockhausen uses recordings from Japan and traditional music from different countries as mutual modulation sources to create an electronic world music. The work of Tone was produced when he was advocating "anti-music," exploring a different direction from Stockhausen, and in the 1970s it was re-performed with an anti-war message. Tone was one of the musicians who participated in the premiere of TELEMUSIK in Japan.

Saturday, May 28: Tele Musicking

12:00 CET, Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin (Saargemünder Str. 2, 14195 Berlin)
19:00 JST, Goethe-Institut Tokyo (7-5-56 Akasaka, Minato-ku, 107-0052 Tokyo)

On 28th May (Saturday) the idea will be taken up in the joint TELE MUSICKING experiment: The parallel acoustic experience space will be played by experimental and electronic musicians* between Tokyo and Berlin. Concerts and their quadraphonic recordings will be sent back and forth and reproduced acoustically in the other location. In the finale, the sound material from both locations will be used as mutual modulation sources in further live performances and merge into a new common music.
  > unrestmusik_musiker
Mieko Suzuki (Turntables, Live Electronic)
Naoko Kikuchi (Koto)
Makoto Oshiro (Sound Objects)
Gebrüder Teichmann (Live Electronic, Cross-Modulation)
 
YPY (Electronics)
Tatsuhisa Yamamoto (Drums, Percussion & Objects)
ju sei (songs & etc.)

Tomoya Matsuura (Cross-Modulation)
okachiho (Cross-Modulation)
   

Additional Programme


13th May, 17.30, Auditorium, Superbooth 22, FEZ, Berlin
HAINBACH will talk about the technology and techniques of the early electronic music studios WDR and NHK, and examples of modulations will be demonstrated using Stockhausen's Telemusik. The lecture is the prelude to the music programme for the 60th anniversary of the Goethe-Institut in Tokyo. The lecture is accessible on link (GI YouTube page)

25th – 29th May, 14:00 – 19:00, Foyer, Goethe-Institut Tokyo
“Sisters With Transistors” by Lisa Rovner, UK/France, 2020, 86 min, English 

Lisa Rovner’s superb documentary pays a deeply deserved, seldom-expressed tribute to the female composers, musicians and inventors from the brief history of electronic music, narrated by music icon Laurie Anderson. 

25th – 29th May, 14:00 – 19:00, Foyer, Goethe-Institut Tokyo
“Kölner Klänge” – Das waren mal ganz neue Töne: Die faszinierende Geschichte des WDR-Studios für Elektronische Musik - und der Kampf um sein Vermächtnis, WDR Köln, online-Ausstellung Google Arts & Culture, (dt. Originalfassung)

​​Programme Concept: Gebrüder Teichmann
Curation: Makoto Oshiro, Andi und Hannes Teichmann
Produced by Goethe-Institut Toyko
Supported by Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin

Back

unrest 62|22 Grenzfrequenz / Tele Musicking

Ukraine

Fr. 27.05.2022
19:00- JST/12:00- MEZ

Sa. 28.05.2022
19:00- JST/12:00- MEZ

Kartenvorverkauf:
PEATIX (Tokyo), Restkarten an der Abendkasse
KOKA (für 27.05. und 28.05. Berlin)

Das Goethe-Institut Tokyo wird 60 Jahre alt. Aus diesem Anlass wirft die Veranstaltungsreihe unrest 62|22 einen Blick auf die frühen Jahre des deutsch-japanischen Kulturaustauschs und lädt Künstler*innen ein, die elektronische Musikszene der 1960er Jahre aus heutiger Sicht neu zu interpretieren. Da es zur Zeit nicht möglich ist, Musik und Austausch gemeinsam an einem Ort zu erleben, werden zwei Orte durch zwei akustische quadrophonische Projektionsräume verbunden, die bidirektional bespielt werden. Auf diese Weise geben die Ideen der 1960er Jahre auch nach den pandemiebedingten Einschränkungen Impulse für eine experimentelle und kreative Begegnung.

Freitag, 27. Mai: GRENZFREQUENZ


ab 12:00 MEZ, Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin (Saargemünder Str. 2, 14195 Berlin)
ab 19:00 JST, Goethe-Institut Tokyo (7-5-56 Akasaka, Minato-ku, 107-0052 Tokyo)

Stockhausen_1994_WDR Karlheinz Stockhausen - Telemusik (1966)
Klangprojektion von Juan Verdaguer

Yasunao Tone – Music for Pump 
Organ (1962)
performance von Manami Kakudo


Am 27. Mai liegt der Schwerpunkt auf den historischen Werken mit der akusmatischen Aufführung von TELEMUSIK von Karlheinz Stockhausen, der Aufführung MUSIC FOR PUMP ORGAN (1962) von Yasunao Tone und begleitenden Vorträgen. In Telemusik verwendet Stockhausen Aufnahmen aus Japan und traditionelle Musik aus verschiedenen Ländern als gegenseitige Modulationsquellen, um eine elektronische Weltmusik zu schaffen. Das Werk von Tone entstand zu einer Zeit, als er sich für "Anti-Musik" einsetzte und eine andere Richtung als Stockhausen verfolgte. Sie wurde in den 1970er Jahren mit einer Antikriegsbotschaft wieder aufgeführt. Tone war einer der Musiker, die an der Premiere von TELEMUSIK in Japan teilnahmen.

Samstag, 28.Mai: TELE MUSICKING


ab 12:00 MEZ, Japanisch-Deutsches Zentrum Berlin (Saargemünder Str. 2, 14195 Berlin)
ab 19:00 JST, Goethe-Institut Tokyo (7-5-56 Akasaka, Minato-ku, 107-0052 Tokyo)

am 28. Mai gibt es experimentelle und elektronische Live-Konzerte in Tokyo und Berlin, gefolgt von akusmatischen Konzerten ihrer quadrophonischen Aufnahmen in der jeweils anderen Stadt. Im Finale werden beide Konzerte als gegenseitige Modulationsquellen in weiteren Live-Performances genutzt und verschmelzen zu einer neuen gemeinsamen Musik. Mit: Gebrüder Teichmann, Makoto Oshiro, Mieko Suzuki, Juan Verdaguer, Naoko Kikuchi (Berlin) und YPY, Tatsuhisa Yamamoto, ju sei, Tomoya Matsuura und okachiho (Tokyo). > unrestmusik_musiker  

Begleitprogramm

13. Mai, 17.30 MEZ, Auditorium, Superbooth 22, FEZ, Berlin
HAINBACH wird über die Technik der frühen elektronischen Musikstudios WDR und NHK sprechen und anhand von Stockhausens Telemusik Beispiele für Modulationen demonstrieren. Der Vortrag ist der Auftakt zum Musikprogramm zum 60-jährigen Bestehen des Goethe-Instituts in Tokyo. Der Vortrag ist unter folgendem Link abrufbar (GI YouTube Seite)

25. - 29. Mai, 14:00 - 19:00 JST, Foyer, Goethe-Institut Tokio
"Sisters With Transistors" von Lisa Rovner, UK/Frankreich, 2020, 86 min, englische Originalfassung ohne Untertitel
Lisa Rovners großartiger Dokumentarfilm ist eine Hommage an die vergessenen Komponistinnen, Musikerinnen und Erfinderinnen aus der kurzen Geschichte der elektronischen Musik, erzählt von der Musikikone Laurie Anderson.

25. bis 29. Mai, 14:00 - 19:00 JST, Foyer, Goethe-Institut Tokyo
"Kölner Klänge" - Das waren mal ganz neue Töne: Die faszinierende Geschichte des WDR-Studios für Elektronische Musik - und der Kampf um sein Vermächtnis, WDR Köln, Online-Ausstellung Google Arts & Culture, (dt. Originalfassung) 

Programmkonzept: Gebrüder Teichmann
Kuratoren: Makoto Oshiro, Andi und Hannes Teichmann
Veranstaltet vom Goethe-Institut Tokyo
unterstützt durch das Japanisch-Deutsche Zentrum Berlin
 
Am Do. den 26.5. wurde bei DOMMUNE begleitend zu unserem Musikprogramm „GRENZFREQUENZ / TELE MUSICKING“ (27. und 28.5.) die Sendung “Karlheinz Stockhausen vs Yasunao Tone - dawn of electronic music and Japan's fluxus” ausgestrahlt.
Gäste: Atsushi Sasaki (HEADZ), Hiroshi Hieida (Musikproduzent), Toshie Kakinuma (Musikwissenschaftlerin)
Moderation: Naohiro Ukawa (Dommune)
Livemusik: Yuya Kawasaki (Elektronikus), Masahiko Okura (Altosachs Clarinet )
                                
 

Zurück