Tasks and Targets

 Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut

As the globally active cultural institution of the Federal Republic of Germany, we advocate for understanding between Germany, Europe and the world. The framework agreement with the German Federal Foreign Office is the foundation for this work. Worldwide, we provide information about the cultural and societal diversity of Germany and Europe. 158 Goethe-Instituts in 98 countries together with numerous partner institutions form the basis of our global network. The Federal Foreign Office supports our work institutionally. As a registered charity we operate autonomously on a legally independent basis and are not affiliated to any political party. We generate around a third of our revenue ourselves through income from language courses and examinations. We also receive support from the European Union (EU), further German federal ministries as well as foundations and companies in Germany and abroad.

We contribute to establishing the German language in the educational systems of the guest countries. We support over 100,000 schools worldwide in giving high-quality German tuition, and promote the advanced professional training and qualification of teachers of German. Furthermore, we offer languages courses ranging from general German courses to prevocational language courses and seminars to raise societal and cultural awareness. Our services include online courses and autonomous learning programmes. Every year, more than half a million people sit a German examination at a Goethe-Institut or one of our cooperation partners. With a wide range of educational and information programmes, we support in particular students and skilled workers from abroad on their route to Germany. 

We believe in the potential of international cultural exchange. Our approximately 20,000 cultural events per year take place in partnership with governmental and non-governmental institutions and initiatives from civil society in our guest countries. We qualify, advise and interlink cultural professionals and support the development of sustainable structures in the cultural and creative economy by advanced training measures for cultural entrepreneurs or the internationalisation of creative companies. With our residence programmes, partnerships and co-productions, we promote the networking of cultural professionals around the globe. We offer stakeholders from civil society a protected space and scope for a sincere exchange of views. We do not break off democratic dialogue, even in difficult times. In our work we orientate ourselves towards the values of a democratic, liberal society governed by the rule of law.

Via our digital information and educational programmes in more than 60 languages and a network with 95 libraries, we offer a space to learn, meet up and participate. We use innovative technologies, seize the opportunities of digitalisation and, at the same time, reflect on their implications for people and society. Through diverse formats such as information trips for multipliers, specialist exchange between experts, youth exchange programmes and international festivals we enable communication on a worldwide basis.

The Goethe-Institut in Saudi Arabia

The Goethe-Institut Saudi Arabia opened in 2014 offering language courses and exams. It was located in the building of the German International School in Riyadh. In 2016 the institute moved to its own residence in Umm Al Hamam Al Gharbi and in 2020 it expanded its program, teaching German to more than 1,200 students every year. The Goethe-Institut Saudi Arabia also promotes the German language in Saudi schools and offers exams and courses in cooperation with Batterjee Medical College in Jeddah.

The cultural program of the Goethe-Institut Saudi Arabia promotes cultural exchange and dialogue. A particular focus is set on collaboration with local stakeholders, trying out new community-oriented formats, and fostering dialogue between Saudi Arabia and Germany in the fields of art, culture, and civil society.

In 2021 the establishment of the EUNIC Saudi Arabia cluster marked another important step toward a intensive cultural dialogue between the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia and the countries of the European Union through their national cultural institutes.
 

„Wie die Corona-Krise unseren Tagesablauf verändert hat“

Stimmen unserer Teilnehmer im Podcast

Deutschlerner mit dem Sprachniveau B1 berichten aus ihrem Leben. Eine freiwillige Projektarbeit im Rahmen des B1/2 Kurses "Deutsch als Fremdsprache" am Goethe-Institut Saudi- Arabien

Goethe-Institut Riad

Aufgaben und Ziele

 Goethe-Institut © Goethe-Institut

Als das global tätige Kulturinstitut der Bundesrepublik Deutschland setzen wir uns für die Verständigung zwischen Deutschland, Europa und der Welt ein. Die Grundlage dafür bildet der Rahmenvertrag mit dem Auswärtigen Amt. Weltweit informieren wir über die kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt Deutschlands und Europas. 158 Goethe-Institute in 98 Ländern bilden zusammen mit zahlreichen Partnereinrichtungen unser globales Netzwerk. Das Auswärtige Amt fördert unsere Arbeit institutionell. Als eingetragener Verein agieren wir eigenverantwortlich, parteipolitisch ungebunden und rechtlich selbstständig. Rund ein Drittel unseres Budgets erwirtschaften wir durch Erlöse aus Sprachkursen und Prüfungen selbst. Darüber hinaus unterstützen uns die Europäische Union, weitere Bundesministerien sowie Stiftungen und Unternehmen im In- und Ausland.

Wir tragen zur Verankerung der deutschen Sprache in den Bildungssystemen der Gastländer bei. Mehr als 100.000 Schulen weltweit unterstützen wir bei der Durchführung eines hochwertigen Deutschunterrichts und fördern die Weiterbildung und Qualifizierung von Deutschlehrenden. Darüber hinaus bieten wir Sprachkurse an, die von allgemeinen Deutschkursen über berufsvorbereitende Sprachkurse bis hin zu Seminaren der gesellschaftlichen und kulturellen Sensibilisierung reichen. Online-Kurse und Selbstlern-Programme sind Teil unseres Angebots. Pro Jahr legen weltweit mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen eine Deutschprüfung an einem Goethe-Institut oder bei unseren Kooperationspartnern ab. Mit einem breiten Lern- und Informationsangebot unterstützen wir insbesondere Studierende und Fachkräfte aus dem Ausland auf ihrem Weg nach Deutschland.  

Wir vertrauen auf das Potenzial des internationalen Kulturaustausches. Unsere rund 20.000 Kulturveranstaltungen im Jahr entstehen in partnerschaftlicher Zusammenarbeit mit staatlichen und außerstaatlichen Institutionen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen in unseren Gastländern. Wir qualifizieren, beraten und vernetzen Kreative und unterstützen den Aufbau nachhaltiger Strukturen in der Kultur- und Kreativwirtschaft, etwa durch Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen für Kulturunternehmer*innen oder die Internationalisierung von Kreativunternehmen. Mit unseren Residenzprogrammen, Kooperationen und Koproduktionen fördern wir die globale Vernetzung von Kulturschaffenden. Akteur*innen der Zivilgesellschaft bieten wir Schutz- und Freiräume, um einen offenen Meinungsaustausch zu ermöglichen. Den demokratischen Dialog lassen wir auch in schwierigen Zeiten nicht abreißen. Wir orientieren uns in unserer Arbeit an den Werten einer demokratischen, freiheitlichen und rechtsstaatlichen Gesellschaftsordnung.

Über unsere digitalen Informations- und Lernangebote in mehr als 60 Sprachen und ein Netzwerk mit 95 Bibliotheken bieten wir Orte des Lernens, der Begegnung und der Partizipation. Wir nutzen innovative Technologien, ergreifen die Chancen der Digitalisierung und reflektieren gleichermaßen ihre Auswirkungen auf Mensch und Gesellschaft. Durch vielfältige Formate wie Informationsreisen für Multiplikator*innen, den fachlichen Austausch zwischen Expert*innen, Jugendaustauschprogramme und internationale Festivals ermöglichen wir weltweite Begegnungen.

Das Goethe-Institut Saudi-Arabien

Das Goethe-Institut Saudi-Arabien wurde 2014 als Sprachkurs- und Prüfungszentrum in Riad gegründet, untergebracht war es im Gebäude der Deutschen Internationalen Schule Riad. Im Jahr 2016 zog das Institut in eine eigene Villa in Umm Al Hamam Al Gharbi um, 2020 wurde es zu einem vollwertigen Goethe-Institut ausgebaut und bietet jedes Jahr etwa 1200 Interessierten die Chance, die deutsche Sprache zu erlernen. Außerdem fördert das Goethe-Institut Saudi-Arabien die deutsche Sprache an saudischen Schulen und bietet Prüfungen und Kurse in Kooperation mit dem Batterjee Medical College in Jeddah an.

Das Kulturprogramm des Goethe-Instituts Saudi-Arabien fördert neben dem Sprachunterricht auch den kulturellen Austausch. Ein besonderer Fokus liegt auf der Zusammenarbeit mit der lokalen Szene, der Erprobung neuer community-orientierter Formate und dem Dialog zwischen Saudi-Arabien und Deutschland in den Bereichen Kunst, Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft.

Im Jahr 2021 folgte mit der Gründung des EUNIC-Clusters Saudi-Arabien ein weiterer wichtiger Schritt zum Kulturdialog zwischen dem Königreich Saudi-Arabien und den Ländern der Europäischen Union über ihre nationalen Kulturinstitute.

 

„Wie die Corona-Krise unseren Tagesablauf verändert hat“

Stimmen unserer Teilnehmer im Podcast

Deutschlerner mit dem Sprachniveau B1 berichten aus ihrem Leben. Eine freiwillige Projektarbeit im Rahmen des B1/2 Kurses "Deutsch als Fremdsprache" am Goethe-Institut Saudi- Arabien

Goethe-Institut Riad