Film Program Past as Process, Pt. I: Redrawing the Past

Past as Process -  Part I Cover © RomaTrial, Elliot Blue, Can Candan

Mon, 06/21/2021 -
Thu, 06/24/2021

Past as Process: ​Redrawing the Past

In their animations and colorful subtitles, these films toast the tellings of history with subjective points of view.
RSVP Memory Boxes (2019) Dir. Hamze Bytyçi
Germany. 9 minutes.
In English.


To protect himself from the trauma of the past, Zoni Weisz blocked all of his family memories. Not just the horrible memories of their deportation to Auschwitz and the empty apartment left behind, but also the beautiful ones: of his little sister’s coat, the forest, and his aunt’s caravan. Based on Weisz’s memoir The Forgotten Holocaust, this short animated film, produced by RomaTrial e. V. and the Foundation Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe, visualizes the emotional side of Weisz’s harrowing journey from Dutch Sinto Holocaust survivor to activist.

Home? (2018) Dir. Elliot Blue
Germany. 18 minutes.
In English.


Blue moves from small-town Germany to the capital city of Berlin. Through stream-of-consciousness musings to their diary and hand-drawn animation, the short documentary inscribes with what is outside of the frame: the colonial history and context to Black life in Europe. A humorous and infectious declaration of unrequited love to Germany.

Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls (1991) dir. Can Candan
Turkey/Germany. 85 minutes.
In German, Turkish, and English with English subtitles.


Made just two years after the fall of the Berlin Wall, Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls shapes the past through oral histories that show the vast diversity of arrival stories in Germany. Through personal interviews, the documentary tells the remarkable stories of how Turkish intellectuals, artists, and guest workers created a home for themselves in Germany to make a significant contribution to German business and culture. Candan’s provocative personal refections: “How does a foreigner become an immigrant?” and colorful subtitles punctuate the intimate perspectives in this timeless film.

Back

Filmprogramm Past as Process, Teil I: Die Vergangenheit neuzeichnen

Past as Process -  Part I Cover © RomaTrial, Elliot Blue, Can Candan

Mo, 21.06.2021 -
Do, 24.06.2021

Past as Process: Die Vergangenheit neuzeichnen

Mit Animationen und farbigen Untertiteln reichern diese Filme Erzählungen über die Vergangenheit mit subjektiven Sichtweisen an.
Zur Reservierung Memory Boxes (2019) Regie: Hamze Bytyçi
Deutschland. 9 Min.
In englischer Sprache.


Um sich vor den Traumata der Vergangenheit zu schützen, verdrängte Zoni Weisz alle Erinnerungen an seine Familie. Nicht nur die schrecklichen Erinnerungen an ihre Deportation nach Auschwitz und die zurückgelassene leere Wohnung, sondern auch die schönen Erinnerungen: an den Mantel seiner kleinen Schwester, den Wald und den Wohnwagen seiner Tante. Basierend auf Weisz' Memoiren Der vergessene Holocaust visualisiert dieser kurze Animationsfilm, der von RomaTrial e.V. und der Stiftung Denkmal für die ermordeten Juden Europas produziert wurde, die emotionale Seite von Weisz' ergreifendem Weg vom niederländischen Sinto und Holocaust-Überlebenden zum Aktivisten.

Home? (2018) Regie: Elliot Blue
Deutschland. 18 Min.
In englischer Sprache.


Blue zieht von der deutschen Kleinstadt in die Hauptstadt Berlin. Anhand von Bewusstseinsströmen zu Blues Tagebuch und handgezeichneten Animationen widmet sich der kurze Dokumentarfilm dem, was außerhalb des Rahmens liegt: die koloniale Vergangenheit und der Kontext Schwarzen Lebens in Europa. Eine humorvolle und mitreißende, unerwiderte Liebeserklärung an Deutschland.

Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls (1991) Regie: Can Candan
Die Türkei/Deutschland. 85 Min.
In deutscher, türkischer and englischer Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln.


Duvarlar – Mauern – Walls entstand nur zwei Jahre nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer und gestaltet die Vergangenheit durch mündliche Erzählungen, die die ganze Bandbreite der Berichte über die Ankunft in Deutschland offenbaren. Anhand von Interviews erzählt der Dokumentarfilm bemerkenswerte Geschichten darüber, wie sich türkische Intellektuelle, Künstler*innen und Gastarbeiter*innen in Deutschland eine Heimat geschaffen haben und einen bedeutenden Beitrag zur deutschen Wirtschaft und Kultur leisten. Candans kontroverse persönliche Betrachtungen zu der Frage, wie aus Ausländer*innen Einwander*innen werden, sowie die farbigen Untertitel unterstreichen die einfühlsamen Perspektiven dieses zeitlosen Films.

Zurück