Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Leipzig international art programme© Goethe-Institut

Artist-in-residence
Pazifik - Leipzig

In collaboration with LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) the Goethe-Institute offers artists from Southeast Asia a three-month residency at the Art and Culture Centre Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. At the beginning of the 20th century the Baumwollspinnerei (cotton mill) was the site of Europe’s largest processing centre for cotton, today it houses the cultural centre for one of the most exciting places for the production and exhibition of contemporary art and culture in Europe.


Artist-in-residence program for artists from Southeast Asia

In 2020 the new cooperation project “Pacific-Leipzig” between the Goethe-Institut and LIA starts. About 200 artists had applied for the open call for artists from Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Thailand and Vietnam. The jury has chosen the five winners, in cooperation with the Goethe Institute in the respective countries. The winners will receive their own studio and are professionally accompanied by the LIA-team. The artworks, which the artists will produce during their stay in Leipzig, will be made accessible to interested visitors during regular held Open Studio sessions. Moreover, after the conclusion of the residencies, a small exhibition with works of all participants will be organized.

 


Report from Le Hien Minh

The Goethe-Institut has been funding residencies in Leipzig for artists from Southeast Asia since 2020. The first Vietnamese artist to participate in this programme is Ms. Le Hien Minh from Ho Chi Minh City. Since March 1st she has been living and working in the art and culture center of Leipzig's "Baumwollspinnerei" (cotton mill). The corona virus epidemic has also spread to Germany since the beginning of March. We asked Ms. Le Hien Minh to report how she was doing.


Residence as a stage for cultural exchange

The Residency program allows artists to work in a new cultural environment and to draw drom a variety of new inspirations. Moreover, they offer the opportunity to engage in an open exchange with local artists and to connect with the Leipzig art scene. New ideas are born out of exchanges with local artists, curators as well as the local crowd, and from here new projects can be developed and realised.

The Goethe-Institut has made the promotion of cultural exchanges one of its aims. Residency programmes for international artists help achieve this aim. Pazifik-Leipzig does not merely bring Scandinavian artists and their German contemporaries together, it also offers participants from Scandinavia the opportunity for cultural exchange amongst each other.


Leipzig international art programme


Open call

LIA studio of fellow T. Kiernander, Canada © LIA

Application deadline | 31.03.2020
​OPEN CALL FOR A THREE-MONTHS-RESIDENCY IN LEIPZIG

Residency Period III from 2nd November, 2020 - 29th January, 2021: for artists from Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.


Participants of the residency program

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Leipzig international art programme© Goethe-Institut

Residenzprogramm
Pazifik - Leipzig

In Zusammenarbeit mit LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Südostasien eine dreimonatige Residenz im Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts noch Europas größte Anlage zur Verarbeitung von Baumwolle, handelt es sich beim heutigen Kreativzentrum um einen der spannendsten Produktions- und Ausstellungsorte für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur in Europa.


Residenzprogramm für Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus Südostasien

2020 startet das neue Kooperationsprojekt “Pazifik-Leipzig” zwischen dem Goethe-Institut und LIA. Nach einer offenen Ausschreibung für Künstler*Innen aus den Ländern Malaysia, Myanmar, Neuseeland, Thailand und Vietnam, auf die sich knapp 200 Künstler*Innen beworben haben, wählte eine Jury, in Kooperation mit den Goethe-Instituten in den jeweiligen Ländern, die Gewinner aus. Die Gewinner werden in der Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei ein eigenes Atelier beziehen und werden vor Ort professionell vom LIA-Team in ihrem künstlerischen Schaffen unterstützt. Die Arbeiten, welche während des Aufenthalts in der Spinnerei entstehen, werden in den regelmäßig stattfindenden Open Studios der kunstinteressierten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht. Zudem wird am Ende des Residenzprogrammes eine kleine Ausstellung mit Werken aller Teilnehmer organisiert.

 


Bericht von Le Hien Minh

Das Goethe-Institut fördert seit 2020 Residenzaufenthalte in Leipzig für Künstler aus Südostasien. Die erste Künstlerin aus Vietnam, die an diesem Programm teilnimmt, ist Frau Le Hien Minh aus Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt. Seit dem 1. März lebt und arbeitet sie in dem Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Seit Anfang März hat sich die Corona-Virus Epidemie auch nach Deutschland ausgebreitet. Wir haben Frau Le Hien Minh gebeten, zu berichten, wie es ihr geht.


Residenzen als Rahmen für den Kulturaustausch

Das Residenzprogramm ermöglicht Künstlerinnen und Künstlern in einem neuen kulturellen Kontext zu arbeiten und aus einer Vielzahl neuer Inspirationen zu schöpfen. Zudem bietet das Programm die Möglichkeit sich mit lokalen Künstlern auszutauschen und sich mit der Leipziger Kunstszene zu vernetzen. Durch den Austausch mit lokalen Künstler*Innen, Kurator*Innen und der Bevölkerung vor Ort können neue Impulse gesammelt und innovative Ideen herausgearbeitet werden.
 
Das Goethe-Institut hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den kulturellen Austausch zu fördern. Residenzprogramme schaffen dafür einen passenden Rahmen. Pazifik Leipzig bringt nicht nur Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus Südostasien mit deutschen Kolleginnen und Kollegen zusammen, sondern gibt den Teilnehmenden auch Gelegenheit für den Austausch untereinander.

 


Leipzig international art programme


Ausschreibung

LIA studio of fellow T. Kiernander, Canada © LIA

Bewerbungsschluss | 31.03.2020
​OPEN CALL FOR A THREE-MONTHS-RESIDENCY IN LEIPZIG

Residency Period III from 2nd November, 2020 - 29th January, 2021: for artists from Indonesia, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam.


Teilnehmer des Residenzprogrammes

Top