Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig_LIA_with_logos© Goethe-Institut

Artist-in-residence
Pazifik - Leipzig

In collaboration with LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) the Goethe-Institute offers artists from Southeast Asia a three-month residency at the Art and Culture Centre Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. At the beginning of the 20th century the Baumwollspinnerei (cotton mill) was the site of Europe’s largest processing centre for cotton, today it houses the cultural centre for one of the most exciting places for the production and exhibition of contemporary art and culture in Europe.


Participants of the residency program

Yadanar Win

Yadanar Win © Yadanar Win Yadanar Win is a performance, video, and installation artist based in Yangon. With an early interest in international exchange, driven by her university studies in English, she joined New Zero Art Space, a non-profit visual art organization established in Yangon, Myanmar in 2008, working there for many years as an organizer, participant, and art professional.

Her unique ability to seamlessly join her own body, to the document of her performance, and bring them together into an art object is reflective of her generation’s willingness to experiment with all mediums, and abandon the traditional painting and sculpture so common in the Myanmar art scene. Her performances are passionate and critical, often citing the plight of Myanmar’s peace process or personal struggles as a young, female artist.

Jadanar's intend is to develop two art projects exploring the thriving art scene in Leipzig. One project will include series of performances at specific locations where she could find connections through space, time, body and personal belongings. Another idea is to have conversations with people in the region to collect words which reflect the social political situation of Germany.

Yadanar Win

  • Yadanar Artwork 1 © Yadanar Win
  • Yadanar Artwork 2 © Yadanar Win
  • Yadanar Artwork 3 © Yadanar Win
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig_LIA_with_logos© Goethe-Institut

Residenzprogramm
Pazifik - Leipzig

In Zusammenarbeit mit LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Südostasien eine dreimonatige Residenz im Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts noch Europas größte Anlage zur Verarbeitung von Baumwolle, handelt es sich beim heutigen Kreativzentrum um einen der spannendsten Produktions- und Ausstellungsorte für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur in Europa.

Pazifik - Leipzig

Teilnehmer des Residenzprogrammes

Yadanar Win

Yadanar Win © Yadanar Win Yadanar Win arbeitet im Feld Performance, Video und Installation als freischaffende Künstlerin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Yangon, Myanmar. Schon sehr früh entwickelte sie durch ihr Studium in England ein Interesse am internationalen Austausch. 2008 wurde sie Teil von Zero Art Space, einer non-profit Kunstorganisation in Yangon und arbeitete dort für mehrere Jahre als Organisatorin, Teilnehmerin und professionelle Künstlerin.

Ihre einzigartige Fähigkeit ihren eigenen Körper in ihre Vorstellungen einfließen zu lassen reflektiert die Bereitschaft ihrer Generation mit einer Vielzahl an verschiedenen Medien zu experimentieren und die traditionelle Kunstproduktion in Myanmar hinter sich zu lassen. Ihre Performances sind emotional und kritisch zugleich - oft beziehen sie sich auf Myanmars Friedensprozess oder die persönlichen Herausforderungen, welche sie als junge weibliche Künstlerin überwinden muss.

Jadanar möchte in Leipzig zwei Kunstprojekte entwickeln, indem sie die aufkommende Kunstszene vor Ort erforscht. Ihr Projekt wird eine Reihe von ortspezifischen Performances beinhalten, durch welche sie die Verbindungen von Raum, Zeit, Körper und persönlichen Gegenständen darstellen möchte. Durch Dialoge mit der lokalen Bevölkerung möchte sie zudem Wörter sammeln, welche die sozial-politische Situation in Deutschland widerspiegeln.

Yadanar Win

  • Yadanar Artwork 1 © Yadanar Win
  • Yadanar Artwork 2 © Yadanar Win
  • Yadanar Artwork 3 © Yadanar Win
Top