Professional migration
Hanoi

Goethe-Institut prepares young Vietnamese for working in Germany

  • Abschlussfeier Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Michael Flucht (2nd from left), Deputy Director of the Goethe-Institut Hanoi, with heads of partner schools at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) in Berlin.
  • Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Tuấn, Nam Anh and Tình.
  • Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Graduates of nurse training at the closing ceremony in Braunschweig.
  • Abschlussfeier Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
  • Graduation ceremony in Braunschweig © Goethe-Institut Vietnam
    Show of the Vietnamese graduates at the ceremony.
  • Ceremony Braunschweig © Goethe-Institut Vietnam

Many young Vietnamese dream of living and working in Germany. Two of those who made it are Tuấn and Tình (both 25 years old). In 2013, after Germany and Vietnam agreed on a common framework to train young Vietnamese as nurses in geriatric care in Germany, these two were among the first to sign up for the pilot project. The background: Because of its increasingly aging population, Germany has a large demand for labour force in geriatric nursing, which the national job market cannot meet. As a result, qualified staff from abroad is in great demand.

Tuấn had already worked in nursing, but in order to work in Germany, he first had to learn the language. As official cooperation partner, the Goethe-Institut’s responsibility is preparing the future trainees for their life in Germany. For this purpose, the Institut developed a special course, combining both intensive language classes and intercultural training. “We aim to communicate a comprehensive image of Germany, so that participants can start their training with realistic expectations and have a good start in their new country”, says Nguyen Nam Anh, who works in the field of pre-integration at the Goethe-Institut Hanoi. His commitment to the course participants goes well beyond the standard guidance: He created a Facebook group for the future nurses, so they can connect with each other and exchange their experiences. This way, he is kept up-to-date by the participants – and can intervene, should they receive a dubious job offer in Germany in exchange for a fee.

Tips for learning German

Tuấn, Nam Anh and Tình at the graduation ceremony in Braunschweig. Tuấn, Nam Anh and Tình at the graduation ceremony in Braunschweig | © Goethe-Institut/Nguyen Nam Anh The participants of the first pilot project were led to the A2 language exam within six months. A challenging time, Tình tells us: „I made a point of learning five to ten German words every day, and also read a couple of short newspaper articles.” She also has some advice for her successors: “Audio books and online radio are great ways to practice, too”.

When Tuấn and Tình arrived in Braunschweig in early September of 2013, there were still plenty of new things for them to discover. The first two weeks, they got to know their new home, then the official training started. Next to studying in a nursing school, they also worked in nursing homes, and stationary and ambulatory care facilities. Once a week, the Vietnamese trainees continued to receive language classes in German.

Quite some work, but Tuấn draws a positive conclusion: “Both at school and at work we discovered that Germans are not only punctual, but also very kind. Whenever we have a problem, they are always helpful”. The biggest challenge for Tuấn was the language, but with a little help from his colleagues and teachers, his friends and a Vietnamese association in Braunschweig, he quickly progressed.

Conclusions from the pilot project: Goethe-Institut offers even more intensive German courses

Michael Flucht with Can Thi Dung, who has recently completed her training as a nurse in pediatric care, and representatives of partner schools in a nursing home in Germany. Michael Flucht with Can Thi Dung, who has recently completed her training as a nurse in pediatric care, and representatives of partner schools in a nursing home in Germany. | © Goethe-Institut/Nguyen Nam Anh By now, in October 2015, already the second group of young Vietnamese has left for Germany. After the pilot project, it was decided to prolong the language courses in Vietnam to a whole year, so that participants can complete the B2 level and start their training in Germany with much better preparation. They are employed under the same conditions like their German colleagues and can freely decide for how long they wish to stay in Germany. What about Tuấn and Tính? They recently graduated with top marks. Their jobs in Germany are a done deal.

The pilot project „Training nurses from Vietnam to become geriatric nurses in Germany” is realised on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi), and in cooperation with the Central Foreign and Specialist Placement Agency (ZAV) of the Federal Employment Agency (Bundesagentur für Arbeit). Responsible for the selection of participants from Vietnam is Berlin-based Vivantes, the biggest municipal hospital group in Germany, and the Center for Overseas Labour (COLAB). In preparation for the training in Germany, participants provide a language certificate on B2 level accredited by the Goethe-Institut, then start a professional training in Germany for 2-3 years. The Goethe-Institut is an experienced and reliable provider of professional language courses.  

Shared commitment for a fair acquisition of Vietnamese professionals for training in elderly care in Germany (PDF; 63 KB)

News

Berufsmigration
Hanoi

Goethe-Institut macht junge Vietnamesen fit für ihren Weg nach Deutschland

  • Abschlussfeier Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Michael Flucht (2.v.l.), stellv. Leiter des Goethe-Instituts Hanoi, mit Leitern der Partnerschulen zu Gast im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) in Berlin.
  • Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Tuấn, Nam Anh und Tình.
  • Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
    Absolventen der Pflegeausbildung bei ihrer Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig.
  • Abschlussfeier Braunschweig Copyright: Goethe-Institut Hanoi/Nguyen Nam Anh
  • Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig © Goethe-Institut Vietnam
    Show der vietnamesischen Absolventen bei ihrer Abschlussfeier.
  • Abschlussfeier Braunschweig © Goethe-Institut Vietnam

Viele junge Vietnamesen träumen davon, in Deutschland zu leben und zu arbeiten. Zwei von ihnen, die es geschafft haben, sind Tuấn und Tình (beide 25). Als sich Deutschland und Vietnam 2013 auf eine gemeinsame Linie geeinigt haben, um vietnamesische Kräfte in Deutschland zu Altenpflegefachkräften auszubilden, gehörten die beiden zu den Ersten, die sich für das Pilotprojekt angemeldet haben. Der Hintergrund: Deutschland hat einen großen Bedarf an Pflegefachkräften für seine stark alternde Bevölkerung, den es mit seinem eigenen Nachwuchs nicht mehr decken kann. Deshalb sind gut qualifizierte Pflegekräfte aus dem Ausland in Deutschland sehr gefragt.

Tuấn hatte zwar schon Berufserfahrung in der Krankenpflege, aber um in Deutschland arbeiten zu können, musste er zunächst die Sprache lernen. Das Goethe-Institut hat als offizieller Kooperationspartner die verantwortungsvolle Aufgabe übernommen, die Azubis in spe auf ihr Leben in Deutschland vorzubereiten. Dafür hat das Institut einen speziellen Kurs entwickelt, der neben intensivem Sprachunterricht auch interkulturelles Training beinhaltet. „Unser Ziel ist, dass unsere Teilnehmer ein umfassendes Deutschlandbild erhalten und mit realistischen Vorstellungen in ihre Ausbildung starten, damit sie möglichst wenig Anfangsschwierigkeiten haben“, erklärt Nguyen Nam Anh, Mitarbeiter des Arbeitsbereichs Vorintegration  im Goethe-Institut Hanoi. Sein Engagement für die Kursteilnehmer geht weit über die übliche Beratung hinaus: Er hat eine Facebook-Gruppe gegründet, um die angehenden Altenpfleger untereinander zu vernetzen und ihnen eine Plattform für den Erfahrungsaustausch zu bieten. Dadurch bekommt er selbst stets mit, was bei den Teilnehmern anliegt — und schreitet ein,  wenn unseriöse Anbieter gegen Gebühr einen Job in Deutschland in Aussicht stellen.

Tipps für Deutschlerner

Tuấn, Nam Anh und Tình bei der Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig. Tuấn, Nam Anh und Tình bei der Abschlussfeier in Braunschweig. | © Goethe-Institut/Nguyen Nam Anh Die Teilnehmer des ersten Pilotprojekts wurden innerhalb von sechs Monaten für die A2-Sprachprüfung fit gemacht. Eine anspruchsvolle Zeit, erzählt Tình: „Mir war sehr wichtig, dass ich jeden Tag fünf bis zehn deutsche Wörter lerne. Außerdem habe ich auch noch jeden Tag ein paar kleinere Artikel in der Zeitung gelesen.“ Und sie hat noch einen Tipp für ihre Nachfolger: „Eine gute Übung sind auch Hörbücher und Internetradio!“

Als Tuấn und Tình Anfang September 2013 in Braunschweig ankamen, war natürlich trotzdem erst einmal alles neu für sie. Zwei Wochen hatten sie Zeit, ihre neue Heimat kennenzulernen, dann fing die Ausbildung an. Neben dem Unterricht in einer Altenpflegeschule beinhaltet diese auch die praktische Arbeit in einem Heim oder einer stationären oder ambulanten Pflegeeinrichtung. Für die vietnamesischen Azubis stand zusätzlich einmal pro Woche Deutschunterricht auf dem Programm.

Ganz schön viel zu tun, aber Tuấn zieht eine positive Bilanz: „Sowohl in der Berufsschule als auch bei der Arbeit haben wir festgestellt, dass die Deutschen nicht nur pünktlich, sondern auch sehr nett sind. Wenn wir ein Problem haben, sind sie immer hilfsbereit.“ Die größte Herausforderung war für ihn die Sprache, aber mit der Hilfe seiner Kollegen und Lehrer, seiner Freunde und einem vietnamesischen Verein in Braunschweig hat er schnell Fortschritte gemacht.

Erfahrungen aus dem Pilotprojekt: Goethe-Institut bietet noch intensivere Deutschkurse an

Anfang Oktober 2015 hat bereits die zweite Gruppe junger Vietnamesen ihren Weg nach Deutschland angetreten. Nach den Erfahrungen aus dem Pilotprojekt war beschlossen worden, die Sprachkurse auf ein Jahr zu verlängern, sodass die Teilnehmer nun mit Deutschkenntnissen auf  B2-Niveau noch besser vorbereitet in die Ausbildung starten. Sie werden zu den gleichen Bedingungen wie ihre deutschen Kolleginnen und Kollegen beschäftigt und können frei entscheiden, wie lange sie als Pfleger in Deutschland bleiben wollen. Und Tuấn und Tính? Sie haben ihre Ausbildung kürzlich mit Bestnoten abgeschlossen. Ihren Job in Deutschland haben sie längst in der Tasche.

Michael Flucht mit Can Thi Dung, die kürzlich ihre Ausbildung zur Pflegefachkraft absolviert hat, und Vertretern von Partnerschulen in einem Pflegeheim in Deutschland. Michael Flucht mit Can Thi Dung, die kürzlich ihre Ausbildung zur Pflegefachkraft absolviert hat, und Vertretern von Partnerschulen in einem Pflegeheim in Deutschland. | © Goethe-Institut/Nguyen Nam Anh Das Pilotprojekt „Ausbildung von Arbeitskräften aus Vietnam zu Pflegefachkräften“ wird im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), in Zusammenarbeit mit der Zentralen Auslands- und Fachvermittlung (ZAV) der Bundesagentur für Arbeit und der Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) durchgeführt. Verantwortlich für die Auswahl der jungen Leute aus Vietnam sind im Pilotprojekt die GIZ, die ZAV und das Department of Overseas Labour (DOLAB). Das Folgeprojekt wird finanziert und organisiert von Vivantes, Deutschlands größtem kommunalen Klinikkonzern in Berlin, und dem Center for Overseas Labour (COLAB). Zur Vorbereitung auf die Ausbildung in Deutschland weisen die Teilnehmer einen durch das Goethe-Institut zertifizierten Sprachabschluss auf dem Niveau B 2 nach und beginnen dann in Deutschland die zwei- bis dreijährige Berufsausbildung. Das Goethe-Institut ist ein erfahrener und verlässlicher Anbieter von Fachsprachenkursen.

Gemeinsame Absichtserklärung über die Grundzüge einer fairen Gewinnung von Kräften zur Ausbildung in der Altenpflege in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (PDF; 63 KB)
Pressemitteilung (PDF; 207KB)