Film screening

KINO! Film Salon: Rosenstrasse

Rosenstrasse
© Studio Hamburg

07/17/2022
2:00pm EDT

Online

Details

Language: English
Price: Free admission
info@telescopefilm.com Registration required

Related links

Register
KINO! Film Salon is a monthly online film club to discuss German film.
 
How it works: Each month we choose a German film or series currently available to stream on U.S. platforms, watch it independently, and come together for a hosted conversation with other fans of German film.
 
For our July session we have picked Margarethe von Trotta’s 2003 film Rosenstrasse, “a modest yet moving fact-based drama” (Washington Post). The film features the powerhouse cast of Katja Riemann, Maria Schrader, Doris Schade, and Jutta Lampe. U.S. participants can stream the film on Prime Video, Google Play, Apple TV, and others.

Rosenstrasse was Margarethe von Trotta’s first film in nearly a decade, and it’s an exhilarating return to the intense cinema that made her name. An impassioned portrait of a key moment in the history of WWII, the film is anchored by stunning performances from the iconic Katja Riemann and Maria Schrader. The innovative structure moves between 2000 and 1943, exploring the detention of Jewish husbands of Aryan women in an anonymous building on Rosenstrasse, Berlin. The film particularly focuses on the fearless efforts of the women who commit to freeing their loved ones. Albeit with some provocative factual liberties, Rosenstrasse is a story of love, resilience and hope that plays like a thriller and resonates like a dark memory.

Hosted by Jim Kolmar
 
Jim programmed for South by Southwest Film Festival from 2009-2020, where he continues to consult on international and feature film programming. He is also currently programming for Trinidad & Tobago Film Festival, and was a founding committee member at Festival Internacional de Cine Tulum (FICTU). Jim was a guest curator for Portland International Film Festival 2021. And he will be working with German Films on a new curated film package exhibition tour across the US - called KINO! Germany NOW! 2023 Discover New Talent, scheduled for early spring 2023.
 
KINO! Film Salon is a production of Telescope Film, in partnership with the German Film Office.

Rosenstrasse
Dir. Margarethe von Trotta
With Katja Riemann, Maria Schrader, Doris Schade, and Jutta Lampe
Germany/Netherlands, 2003
136 minutes

Filmvorführung

KINO! Film Salon: Rosenstrasse

Rosenstrasse
© Studio Hamburg

17.07.2022
14:00 Uhr EDT

Online



Details

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Kostenlos
info@telescopefilm.com Anmeldung erforderlich

Links zum Thema

Anmeldung
KINO! Film Salon ist ein monatlicher Online-Filmclub, in dem Sie mit anderen über deutsche Filme diskutieren können.
 
Wie es funktioniert: jeden Monat suchen wir uns einen deutschen Film oder eine Serie aus, die in den USA aktuell zum Streamen verfügbar sind, schauen sie unabhängig voneinander an und treffen uns dann zu einem moderierten Gespräch mit anderen Fans des deutschen Films.
 
Für unsere Juli-Sitzung haben wir Margarethe von Trottas Film Rosenstrasse aus dem Jahr 2003 ausgewählt, "ein bescheidenes, aber bewegendes, auf Tatsachen beruhendes Drama" (Washington Post). Der Film ist mit Katja Riemann, Maria Schrader, Doris Schade und Jutta Lampe hochkarätig besetzt. US-Teilnehmer können den Film auf Prime Video, Google Play, Apple TV und anderen streamen.

Rosenstrasse ist Margarethe von Trottas erster Film seit fast einem Jahrzehnt, und es ist eine berauschende Rückkehr zu dem intensiven Kino, das sie bekannt gemacht hat. Der Film ist ein leidenschaftliches Porträt eines Schlüsselmoments in der Geschichte des Zweiten Weltkriegs und wird von den umwerfenden Leistungen der kultigen Katja Riemann und Maria Schrader getragen. Die innovative Struktur bewegt sich zwischen den Jahren 2000 und 1943 und erforscht die Inhaftierung jüdischer Ehemänner arischer Frauen in einem anonymen Gebäude in der Berliner Rosenstraße. Der Film konzentriert sich vor allem auf die furchtlosen Bemühungen der Frauen, die sich für die Befreiung ihrer Liebsten einsetzen. Rosenstrasse ist eine Geschichte von Liebe, Widerstandskraft und Hoffnung, die wie ein Thriller spielt und wie eine dunkle Erinnerung nachhallt, wenn auch mit einigen provokanten faktischen Freiheiten.

Moderiert von Jim Kolmar
 
Jim Kolmar war von 2009 bis 2020 Programmgestalter des South by Southwest Film Festival, wo er weiterhin als Berater für die Programmgestaltung von internationalen und Spielfilmen tätig ist. Derzeit programmiert er auch für das Trinidad & Tobago Film Festival und war Mitglied des Gründungsausschusses des Festival Internacional de Cine Tulum (FICTU). Jim war Gastkurator für das Portland International Film Festival 2021. Und er wird mit German Films an einer neuen kuratierten Filmpaket-Ausstellungstour durch die USA arbeiten - KINO! Deutschland JETZT! 2023 Discover New Talent, die für das Frühjahr 2023 geplant ist.
 
KINO! Film Salon ist eine Produktion von Telescope Film, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem German Film Office.

Rosenstrasse
Regie: Margarethe von Trotta
Mit Katja Riemann, Maria Schrader, Doris Schrade, und Jutta Lampe
Deutschland/Niederlande 2003
136 Minuten