And the winner is ... Kitso

"We recognize the artists' strong commitment to re-anchoring knowledges beyond the conventional academic sphere.There is a notable effort to look back in order to move forward, finding anchors in different streams of existence.Frederick, Kitso and Wambui have demonstrated a keen awareness of their artistic identity and the power to navigate diverse influences."

—2024 Jury:Marie Helene Pereira (senior curator, Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin, Germany), Meriem Berrada (artistic director, MACAAL in Marrakech, Morocco) and Tandazani Dhlakama (curator at Zeitz Museum of Contemporary Art in Cape Town, South Africa).

Artwork by Kitso Lynn Lelliott

Main prize winner: Kitso Lynn Lelliott

Kitso's work resonated with the jury for its articulation of disobedience and disruption. There is a firm affirmation of the necessity to look beyond traditional references to colonial powers. Notably, in considering Kitso's work, the jury viewed it not as a final achievement but as a constant state of becoming—a metaphor for the artist herself. Kitso embodies a perpetual reinvention, eschewing the notion of a finished work in favour of one that exists and re-exists, signifying a continuous and evolving artistic journey.
Johannes Ebert, Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut, notes: “The Henrike Grohs Art Prize, in honour of its namesake, promotes the principles and values of international cultural exchange as understood by the Goethe-Institut and stands as a beacon for the recognition and support of outstanding artistic talent. For the fourth edition of the award, 690 applications from 40 African countries have been submitted, more than ever before. I sincerely congratulate the main winner Kitso Lynn Lelliott from Botswana, who has captured the hearts and minds of our esteemed jury members with exceptional talent and creativity, and the two deserving runners-up Wambui Kamiru Collymore from Kenya and Frederick Ebenezer Okai from Ghana.”

Congratulations to the 2024 runners up

Henrike Grohs Art Award 2024 Top 3: Wambui Wamae Kamiru Collymore

Wambui Wamae Kamiru Collymore

VR animation of various clay pots on an open space in front of an evening sky. Name of the artwork: Efi Kesiem (Compund House) - Henrike Grohs Arts Award 2024: Frederick Ebenezer Okai

Frederick Ebenezer Okai

AkiliInstallationView - Wambui Kamiru Collymore © Akili Ni Nywele installation by Wambui Kamiru Collymore (Photo credit: Eric Muriu)

Twenty-one artists shortlisted for the HGAA 2024

We received a record number of applications for the 2024 Henrike Grohs Art Award – 690 applications from 40 countries across the African continent! Twenty-one artists have been shortlisted by a selection committee made up of Martha Kazungu, Jean Kamba and Edna Bettencourt. An international jury will select the top 3 award winners, with the main prize winner receiving a cash prize of 20.000€ and 10.000€ towards the publication of their work. Two runners-up will receive 5.000€ each. 

Shortlist 2024

How does the Henrike Grohs Art Award support the African art scene?

Conceived in honour of the late Henrike Grohs - a dedicated promoter of contemporary art in Africa - the prize aims to support outstanding artistic practices and contributes to cultural dialogue on the African continent. Since its inauguration in 2018, the prize has established itself as an outstanding opportunity to promote exceptional African contemporary art practice. Contemporary visual artists from various disciplines living and working on the African continent are eligible to apply.

The winning individual artist or collective will receive a cash prize of 20.000€ and 10.000€ towards the production of a publication on their work. Two artists or collectives will be selected as runners up and will be awarded a cash prize of 5.000€ each.

Previous Award winners are Gladys Kalichini, Zambia (2022), Jackie Karuti, Kenya (2020) and Em'kal Eyongakpa, Cameroon (2018).

About the Henrike Grohs Art Award

The Henrike Grohs Art Award is a biennial visual art prize conceived by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family in memory of the former Head of Goethe-Institut in Abidjan, Henrike Grohs.