"Ethics of passage" Against Identitarian Withdrawal

Achille Mbembe
Achille Mbembe | © Jean Counet

As nations and communities increasingly withdraw into their identitarian shells, postcolonial theorist Achille Mbembe counters with an ethics of ”passage, circulation and transfiguration” that breathes fresh air into the confines of increasingly musty national spaces.

Europe is turning into a fortress in order to better protect the “European way of life”, under the pretext that "France can’t take in everybody", as President Macron recently put it, the government is considering abolishing free primary health care (Aide médicale d'État) for asylum seekers. Europe in general and France in particular are sinking into a “politics of enmity” that is worlds away from the much-vaunted principles of the Enlightenment.
Faced with this withdrawal into nationalist and identitarian shells, Achille Mbembe, a post-colonial theorist of Cameroonian origin who teaches at Wits (University of the Witwatersrand) in South Africa, proposes an ethics of "passage, circulation and transfiguration". Braving the headwinds of nationalism and neoliberalism, he is carrying this ethics all the way into the agora of social networks, e.g. with his reactions on Facebook to two recent events in Paris.

"Role models" vs "sans-papiers"

On 11 July 2019, the French president received a group of "representatives of the African diaspora” at the Élysée. The intended message, wrote Mbembe on his Facebook page, was that “France no longer views Africa solely in terms of foreign policy and through the prism of its anxiety-inducing fixation on security and migration flows". The proposed solution is to bank more on “promoting role models to help ‘break down barriers’" than on "’positive discrimination’, meaning quotas". But the “encouraging and appreciative remarks" of a presidency bent on regilding the image of a former colonial power are belied by its less glorious actions lately.

The very next day, 12 July, a group of undocumented migrants who call themselves “Gilets Noirs” (i.e. "Black Vests") occupied the Pantheon, a highly symbolic bastion of the French Republic, to demand legal residency as well as a meeting with Prime Minister Édouard Philippe. But instead of getting their papers or face time with the PM, the sans-papiers were charged – and several injured – by the CRS riot police as they left the building. For Mbembe, this incident epitomizes the duplicity of heads of state who pose with their handpicked "role models" for the camera while passing over the fate of migrants in the Mediterranean in silence, putting up obstacles to stop "niggers from migrating to Europe" and, if they make it across the border all the same, forcibly push them back.

The word “nègre”, as Mbembe uses it, is not to be taken at face value, for class and race are intertwined here in a specifically postcolonial context: “The condition of being a nigger doesn’t necessarily refer to skin colour anymore. The nigger has become post-racial.” In the age of late capitalism, the “nigger” is not only the colonized, but the generic form of the subaltern, the oppressed. Within Europe itself, Greece – under the lash of the European "Troika", for whom democracy is of no avail against the primacy European treaties – also found itself relegated to the position of the "nigger" of the European Union.

Proliferating borders in a finite world

Paradoxically, never before have borders been talked about as much as they are now in a world that is shrinking and accelerating thanks to technological progress. These isolationist trend all over the world is symptomatic of what might be called the postcolonial condition: the one who, it was thought, could be relegated to the colonies, in other words the "nigger", is returning to the motherland in the manner of a “return of the repressed”.
So the "nigger" is the one whom the white man has for centuries sought to confine to the colonies, to marginalize, subjugate and regard as a non-entity. Now, after decolonization, colonialism, this dark side of Western democracies, has come flooding back, though this time inside society: “The great repression [...] is therefore followed by a great release.” Confronted with its dark past, the West reacts by glorifying its self-styled identity, and the negro, the Arab, the Jew, in short, the Other, serve both as its foil and bugbear, the scapegoat of (il)liberal democracies in the throes of decompensation: "Identity has become a sort of opium of the masses today.”

The fiction of identity

This discourse, against the current of history and life, cleaves to a fiction. It is what Michel Foucault called a “morale d’état civil”, "a morality of bureaucrats and the police”, in a passage to which Achille Mbembe could subscribe: "I am no doubt not the only one who writes in order to have no face,” writes Foucault. “Do not ask who I am and do not ask me to remain the same: leave it to our bureaucrats and our police to see that our papers are in order. At least spare us their morality when we write.” After all, what could be more accidental than one’s place of birth and more fragmentary than identity, which is always moving and changing?
Hence Mbembe’s preference for becoming – which is always in relation to others, whether human or not – over being. For if colonialism was the means by which capitalism sought to subdue nature and the supposedly inferior races, then overcoming capitalism must be achieved by removing all boundaries between people, but also between people and nature, embracing a policy of rapprochement and amity rather than separation and enmity.

Anti-Finkielkraut 

Achille Mbembe kicked off the 31st Forum Philo Le Monde Le Mans on the subject of “identity” with a defence of a "community of passersby" against a community of essence made up of identitarians. Last up at the conference was Alain Finkielkraut, the "last patriarch“ as journalist Mona Chollet calls him, the same Finkielkraut who in 2005 bemoaned the "black-black-black" makeup of the French national football team. In other words, the philosophy forum opened with a "global thinker " and closed with the author of L’Identité malheureuse ("The Unhappy Identity") – who also happens to be a friend of Renaud Camus, the conspiracy theorist of the "Great Replacement". They mark the opposite poles of the worldwide tension between diversity and monoculture, circulation and stagnation, openness and bunker mentality, embracing the future and pining for the past.

 
Selected bibliography of books by Achille Mbembe available in English translation

On the Postcolony, University of California Press, 2001

On Private Indirect Government (State of the Literature), Codesria, 2002

Critique of Black Reason, Duke University Press, 2017

Necropolitics, Duke University Press, 2019

„Ethik des Weges“ Gegen die identitäre Erstarrung

Achille Mbembe
Achille Mbembe | © Jean Counet

Der zunehmenden „Einigelung“ setzt der postkoloniale Theoretiker Achille Mbembe eine Ethik „des Weges, der Zirkulation und der Verwandlung“ entgegen und bringt frischen Wind in den immer penetranteren Muff der nationalen Räume.

Von Christophe Lucchese

Europa baut sich zur Festung aus, um seinen „European Way of Life“ besser zu schützen, und Frankreich erwägt, unter dem Vorwand, dass „Frankreich nicht alle aufnehmen [könne]“, die Abschaffung der kostenlosen medizinischen Grundversorgung für Menschen ohne legalen Aufenthaltsstatus (Aide médicale d’État). Europa im Allgemeinen und Frankreich im Besonderen verrennen sich in eine „Politik der Feindschaft“, die von den so gern bemühten Prinzipien der Aufklärung weit entfernt ist.

Dieser zunehmenden „Einigelung“ setzt Achille Mbembe, postkolonialer Theoretiker kamerunischen Ursprungs und Lehrbeauftragter an der südafrikanischen Universität Witwatersrand, eine Ethik entgegen, die sich als „eine Sache des Weges, der Zirkulation und der Verwandlung“ versteht. Den vereinten Gegenwinden von Nationalismus und Neoliberalismus trotzend trägt er diese Ethik bis in die sozialen Netzwerke hinein, etwa wenn er auf seiner Facebook-Seite aktuelle Geschehnisse kommentiert, die sich kurz nacheinander in Paris zugetragen haben.

„Vorbildpersönlichkeiten“ versus „Sans-Papiers“

So empfing der französische Präsident am 11. Juli 2019 im Élysée-Palast eine Gruppe von „Vertretern der afrikanischen Diaspora“. Ein augenscheinliches Signal, „dass Afrika von den Franzosen nicht mehr ausschließlich durch die außenpolitische Brille wahrgenommen werde und sich der Blick auf den Kontinent nicht mehr nur auf die ‚beunruhigenden Fixierungen‘ auf Sicherheit und Migrationsströme beschränke“. Zu diesem Zweck sollen zukünftig verstärkt „Vorbildpersönlichkeiten erkoren werden, die als Gallionsfiguren helfen sollen, Barrieren zu durchbrechen“, statt wie bisher vor allem auf „positive Diskriminierung, also Quoten“ zu setzen. Allein, „die Worte der Ermutigung und der Wertschätzung“ seitens einer Staatsführung, die sich als ehemalige Kolonialmacht um eine Aufwertung ihres Images bemüht, stehen im Widerspruch zu deren weniger glanzvollen Taten.

Einen Tag darauf, am 12. Juli, besetzte eine Gruppe von „Schwarzwesten“, die ohne geregelten Aufenthaltsstatus in Frankreich leben und arbeiten, das Pantheon – einen symbolträchtigen Ort der Französischen Republik – und forderten eine Legalisierung ihres Status sowie ein Treffen mit dem Premierminister. Doch statt der Legalisierung oder des Regierungschefs erwartete die sogenannten Sans-Papiers lediglich die Bereitschaftspolizei CRS, die sie beim Verlassen des Gebäudes abfing und im Zuge dessen mehrere Personen verletzte. Für Achille Mbembe steht diese Episode sinnbildlich für die Doppelzüngigkeit der Staatsoberhäupter, die den Mantel des Schweigens über das Schicksal der Migranten im Mittelmeer breiten und, während sie kamerawirksam mit ihren „Vorbildpersönlichkeiten“ paradieren, der „Migration der Neger nach Europa“ den Riegel vorschieben (und diese, wenn ihnen schließlich dennoch die Grenzüberquerung gelingt, unter Anwendung von Gewalt – in mehrerlei Hinsicht – zurückdrängen).

Der Begriff Neger allerdings ist aus der Feder von Achille Mbembe nicht wörtlich zu nehmen, denn in dieser Frage verschmelzen im wahrsten postkolonialen Sinne die Kategorien Klasse und Rasse miteinander: „Die conditio nigra bezieht sich nicht mehr notwendigerweise auf eine Frage der Hautfarbe. Der Neger ist postrassisch geworden.“ In der Ära des späten Kapitalismus ist der Neger nicht nur der Kolonisierte, er bezeichnet allgemein die Kategorie des Subalternen, des Unterdrückten. So fand sich inmitten Europas auch Griechenland – unter der Knute der europäischen „Troika“, der die Demokratie angesichts der europäischen Verträge als unmaßgeblicher Faktor erscheint, – in der Position des „Negers“ der Europäischen Union wieder.

Begrenztheit der Welt und Ausweitung der Grenzen

In einer Welt, die sich aufgrund des technischen Fortschritts beschleunigt und immer kleiner wird, wurde noch nie so viel über Grenzen geredet – ein scheinbares Paradox. Diese weltweit zu beobachtende Abschottungstendenz ist symptomatisch für das, was als postkoloniale Verfasstheit bezeichnet werden kann: Der vermeintlich in die Kolonien Verbannte, mit anderen Worten der „Neger“, bahnt sich als Wiedergänger des Verdrängten seinen Weg in das Mutterland zurück.

Der „Neger“ ist also derjenige, den man über Jahrhunderte versucht hat, in den Kolonien im Zaum zu halten, an die Peripherie zurückzudrängen, unter die Fuchtel zu bringen, als nichtig zu betrachten. Der Kolonialismus, jene Nachtseite aller westlichen Demokratien, begegnet den Gesellschaften nach der Dekolonisation ein zweites Mal, diesmal in ihrem Inneren: „Auf die große Verdrängung [...] folgt also das große Dampfablassen“. Der Westen, mit seiner dunklen Vergangenheit konfrontiert, reagiert, indem er seine angebliche Identität verherrlicht: Die Figuren des Negers, des Arabers, des Juden, kurz des Anderen, dienen ihm zugleich als Negativspiegel und als Schreckgespenst. Sie müssen den aus dem Lot geratenen (il)liberalen Demokratien als Sündenbock herhalten: „Die Identität ist heute zu einer Art Opium der Massen geworden.“

Die Fiktion der Identität

Dieser Diskurs, der gegen den Strom der Geschichte und des Lebens ankämpft, klammert sich an eine Fiktion. Es ist das, was Michel Foucault „eine Moral des Personalstandes“ nannte und was Achille Mbembe seinerseits unterschreiben könnte: „Mehr als einer schreibt wahrscheinlich wie ich und hat schließlich kein Gesicht mehr. Man frage mich nicht, wer ich bin, und man sage mir nicht, ich solle der Gleiche bleiben: das ist eine Moral des Personalstandes; sie beherrscht unsere Papiere. Sie soll uns frei lassen, wenn es darum handelt, zu schreiben.“ Was schließlich könnte zufälliger sein als der Geburtsort, was fragmentarischer als die Identität, die doch ständiger Bewegung und Veränderung unterworfen ist?

Aus diesem Grund zieht Achille Mbembe dem Sein das Werden vor, welches sich immer nur bezogen auf den oder das Andere(n) denken lässt. Denn wenn der Kolonialismus das Mittel war, mit dem der Kapitalismus die Natur und vermeintlich minderwertige Rassen zu unterwerfen suchte, dann muss seine Überwindung durch eine Abtragung aller Grenzen erreicht werden: zwischen den Menschen, aber auch zwischen Mensch und Natur, zugunsten einer Politik der Annäherung und Freundschaft, nicht der Trennung und Feindschaft.

Der Anti-Finkielkraut

Achille Mbembe, der zur 31. Auflage des Forum Philo Le Monde Le Man zum Thema Identität eingeladen wurde, gab den Startschuss mit einer Verteidigung der „Gemeinschaft der Passanten“ gegenüber der Wesensgemeinschaft der Identitätsverfechter. Den Schlusspunkt des nämlichen Forums aber bildete ein Gespräch mit Alain Finkielkraut, dem „letzten Patriarchen“, wie ihn Mona Chollet nennt, demselben Finkielkraut, der 2005 eine „schwarz-schwarz-schwarze“ französische Fußballnationalmannschaft beklagte. Das Forum wurde also mit dem „Globaldenker“ eröffnet und endete mit dem Autor von Die unglückliche Identität, Freund von Renaud Camus, dem Theoretiker des „großen Austauschs“. Sie markierten die Gegenpole eines Spannungsfeldes, das unsere Welt prägt: zwischen Vermischung und Monokultur, Bewegung und Stagnation, Offenheit und Abschottung, Zukunftshunger und Nostalgie.
 
Auswahlbibliografie von Achille Mbembe:

Postkolonie. Zur politischen Vorstellungskraft im gegenwärtigen Afrika, Turia + Kant, 2016

Ausgang aus der langen Nacht. Versuch über ein entkolonisiertes Afrika, Suhrkamp, 2016

Kritik der schwarzen Vernunft, Suhrkamp, 2014

Politik der Feindschaft, Suhrkamp, 2017