Impulses from the cradle of humanity “What we need to learn from Africa”

Felwine Sarr 2019 in Vienna at the Tipping Point Talks, facing a full audience at the Odeon Theatre.
Felwine Sarr 2019 in Vienna at the Tipping Point Talks, facing a full audience at the Odeon Theatre. | Photo (detail): Jacqueline Godany © ERSTE Stiftung / APA-Fotoservice / Godany

Senegalese economist, author and musician Felwine Sarr is one of the most active contemporary African intellectuals. During the Tipping Point Talks in Vienna, which were organised by the ERSTE Foundation in 2019, he explained how a satisfactory level of prosperity can be achieved for the majority of the world’s population.

By Christine Pawlata

In his recent book, Afrotopia, Sarr presents a holistic future scenario for the African continent: Africa must find its own way by reflecting on its cultural, political and economic roots, and breaking free from the colonial structures.

The world is suffering a legitimation crisis

The predominant economic order with the paradigm of constant growth and the organisation of the world into developed and under-developed countries does not, however, cripple the African continent, according to Sarr: “The whole world is in a state of permanent crisis. By that I don’t mean the financial crisis that repeats itself every ten years, but the inability of the global economic order to satisfy the basic needs of the majority of the population. The areas that generate profit are privatised to benefit just a few. The costs are then put upon the majority of the population. It’s a crisis of legitimation, and we need to consider how we can get away from this system in crisis.”

Africa in first place

One of the fundamental problems of the dominant economic order is rooted in the lack of environmental sustainability, believes Sarr. It would be a worthwhile exercise to take a closer look at the principles of African societies with regard to their relationship with Nature. “Although the continent is being hit hard by the consequences of climate change, it contributes the least to global warming, with four per cent of world carbon dioxide emissions. There’s probably something to be learned here. Going by these criteria, Africa’s in first place for once, not last.”
  • One of the first advanced civilizations in the world originated in Egypt. The avenue of ram head sphinxes at the 4,000 year old Karnak temple near Luxor. Manfred Bail © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    One of the first advanced civilizations in the world originated in Egypt. The avenue of ram head sphinxes at the 4,000 year old Karnak temple near Luxor.
  • Thanks to the invention of the hand wedge as man's first tool, 1.5 million years ago Homo ergaster, "the craftsman", was able to leave his native Africa and settle half of Asia. Prismaarchivo © picture alliance
    Thanks to the invention of the hand wedge as man's first tool, 1.5 million years ago Homo ergaster, "the craftsman", was able to leave his native Africa and settle half of Asia.
  • Writing on papyrus: Long before the invention of paper, as early as 2900 B.C., papyrus was produced and inscribed in Africa from the dried pith of the perennial plant of the same name. The village of Qaramos in Egypt is today the main production site for papyrus in the world and is on the UNESCO World Heritage List. Ahmed Gomaa © picture alliance/Xinhua
    Writing on papyrus: Long before the invention of paper, as early as 2900 B.C., papyrus was produced and inscribed in Africa from the dried pith of the perennial plant of the same name. The village of Qaramos in Egypt is today the main production site for papyrus in the world and is on the UNESCO World Heritage List.
  • Innovation for Africa: An employee of the Silicon Valley company Zipline in Rwanda is preparing a drone that will fly life-saving blood supplies to a remote clinic in East African Rwanda. Kristin Palitza © picture alliance/dpa
    Innovation for Africa: An employee of the Silicon Valley company Zipline in Rwanda is preparing a drone that will fly life-saving blood supplies to a remote clinic in East African Rwanda.
  • Jumia is the first African technology start-up company to be listed on the New York Stock Exchange. The online trading platform was founded in Nigeria in 2012, has offices in 13 African countries and is already known as "Amazon Africa". Jumia co-CEO Sacha Poignonnec, left, applauds as Jumia Nigeria CEO Juliet Anammah, center, rings a ceremonial bell when the company's stock begins trading, April 12, 2019. Richard Drew © picture alliance / AP Photo
    Jumia is the first African technology start-up company to be listed on the New York Stock Exchange. The online trading platform was founded in Nigeria in 2012, has offices in 13 African countries and is already known as "Amazon Africa". Jumia co-CEO Sacha Poignonnec, left, applauds as Jumia Nigeria CEO Juliet Anammah, center, rings a ceremonial bell when the company's stock begins trading, April 12, 2019.
 

An economy that produces relationships

Sarr presents a case for an economy in which the focus is on interpersonal relationships. “If I want to buy something, then I can find out how much it is, pay the price asked and then leave. That’s the end of the relationship. But I can also negotiate, haggle. Trading’s about more than just a financial exchange. We build up a relationship. If for example the discussion that occurs is positive, then the seller will probably drop the price at the end, and then maybe the buyer will become a regular customer,” explains Sarr. “In this economic exchange it’s primarily about the quality of the relationship that has been built up here, and this relationship in turn produces a material thing – but not the other way around.”  Trust is crucial to these economic systems, and Africa has some interesting approaches to offer in this respect as well: “Many people in our countries don’t have a bank account. If they want to take out a loan to set up a business enterprise, they turn to their community. If the social capital – in other words the relationship and trust between the applicant and their community – is strong, then the transaction goes through. We don’t need guarantees, we don’t need to burden our homes with a mortgage,” says Sarr. “This type of economy has the lowest transaction costs. In the dominant economic system most of the transaction costs arise through mistrust. To get around this mistrust, there’s a requirement for guarantees, mortgage lending and a court system. In that sense it’s more efficient to finance small businesses on the basis of long-term social capital.”

Listening to ensure a dialogue on equal footing

If a dialogue between Africa and Europe is to be held on an equal footing, Sarr goes on to say, it’s vital for Europe to adopt a listening stance. “In the past five hundred years, Europe has dominated the world power dynamic. But for challenges that affect the whole of humanity we need all the resources we can access globally, not just the knowledge from Europe. We need the knowledge from Asia, India, Africa, from what we call the developing countries. But Europe also needs to learn to listen, and be willing to learn from the experiences of others.” It won’t be easy, Sarr realises that, a degree of humility is required. “Based on the assumption that the cradle of humanity is in Africa, then it means that Africans have the longest experience of the meaning of life. So how can anyone think that we can’t learn anything from Africa?”

Impulse von der Wiege der Menschheit „Was wir von Afrika lernen müssen“

Felwine Sarr 2019 in Wien bei den Tipping Point Talks vor Publikum in dem vollen Saal des Odeon Theaters.
Felwine Sarr 2019 in Wien bei den Tipping Point Talks vor Publikum in dem vollen Saal des Odeon Theaters. | Foto (Detail): Jacqueline Godany © ERSTE Stiftung / APA-Fotoservice / Godany

Der senegalesische Ökonom, Schriftsteller und Musiker Felwine Sarr ist einer der aktivsten zeitgenössischen afrikanischen Intellektuellen. Im Rahmen der von der ERSTE Stiftung organisierten Tipping Point Talks in Wien 2019 erläuterte er, wie für den Großteil der Menschheit ein befriedigendes Wohlstandsniveau erreicht werden kann.

 

Von Christine Pawlata

In seinem jüngsten Buch Afrotopia skizziert Sarr ein ganzheitliches Zukunftsszenario für den afrikanischen Kontinent: Afrika muss seinen eigenen Weg finden, indem es sich auf seine kulturellen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Wurzeln besinnt und sich von den kolonialen Strukturen löst.

Die Welt in der Sinnkrise

Die vorherrschende Wirtschaftsordnung mit dem Paradigma des stetigen Wachstums und der Einteilung der Welt in entwickelte und unterentwickelte Länder lähme aber nicht nur den afrikanischen Kontinent, so Sarr „Die ganze Welt befindet sich in einer fortwährenden Krise. Ich meine damit nicht die Finanzkrise, die sich alle zehn Jahre wiederholt, sondern die Unfähigkeit der globalen Wirtschaftsordnung, die grundlegenden Bedürfnisse des Großteils der Menschheit zu befriedigen. Die Bereiche, die Gewinn erzeugen, werden zum Vorteil einiger weniger privatisiert. Die Kosten wiederum werden der Mehrheit der Bevölkerung aufgeladen. Es ist eine Sinnkrise und wir müssen uns überlegen, wie wir von diesem Krisensystem wegkommen.“

Afrika auf dem ersten Platz

Eines der grundlegenden Probleme der dominierenden Wirtschaftsordnung sieht Sarr in deren mangelnder ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit. Es würde sich lohnen, Grundsätze afrikanischer Gesellschaften in ihrer Beziehung mit der Natur genauer zu erkunden. „Obwohl der Kontinent die Konsequenzen des Klimawandels stark spürt, trägt er mit vier Prozent der weltweiten Kohlendioxidemissionen am wenigsten zur Erderwärmung bei. Wahrscheinlich gibt es hier etwas zu lernen. Wenn man dieses Kriterium verwendet, dann nimmt Afrika einmal den ersten Platz ein, nicht den letzten.“
  • Eine der ersten Hochkulturen der Welt entstand in Ägypten. Die Allee der Widderkopf-Sphinxe am 4.000 Jahre alten Karnak-Tempel nahe Luxor. Manfred Bail © picture alliance / imageBROKER
    Eine der ersten Hochkulturen der Welt entstand in Ägypten. Die Allee der Widderkopf-Sphinxe am 4.000 Jahre alten Karnak-Tempel nahe Luxor.
  • Dank der Erfindung der Faustkeile als erstes Werkzeug der Menschen war vor 1,5 Millionen Jahren der Homo ergaster, „der Handwerker“ in der Lage, seine Heimat Afrika zu verlassen und halb Asien zu besiedeln. Prismaarchivo © picture alliance
    Dank der Erfindung der Faustkeile als erstes Werkzeug der Menschen war vor 1,5 Millionen Jahren der Homo ergaster, „der Handwerker“ in der Lage, seine Heimat Afrika zu verlassen und halb Asien zu besiedeln.
  • Schreiben auf Papyrus: Schon lange vor der Erfindung des Papiers, bereits ab etwa 2.900 Jahre vor Christus, wurde in Afrika aus dem getrockneten Mark der gleichnamigen Staude Papyrus gefertigt und beschriftet. Das Dorf Qaramos in Äygpten ist heute der Hauptproduktionsort für Papyrus in der Welt und steht auf der UNESCO-Welterbeliste. Ahmed Gomaa © picture alliance/Xinhua
    Schreiben auf Papyrus: Schon lange vor der Erfindung des Papiers, bereits ab etwa 2.900 Jahre vor Christus, wurde in Afrika aus dem getrockneten Mark der gleichnamigen Staude Papyrus gefertigt und beschriftet.
  • Innovation für Afrika: Ein Mitarbeiter der Silicon Valley Firma Zipline in Ruanda bereitet eine Drohne vor, die lebensrettende Blutkonserven zu einer weit entlegenen Klinik im ostafrikanischen Ruanda fliegen wird. Kristin Palitza © picture alliance/dpa
    Innovation für Afrika: Ein Mitarbeiter der Silicon Valley Firma Zipline in Ruanda bereitet eine Drohne vor, die lebensrettende Blutkonserven zu einer weit entlegenen Klinik im ostafrikanischen Ruanda fliegen wird.
  • Jumia wird als erstes afrikanisches Technologie-Start-up-Unternehmen an der New Yorker Börse gehandelt. Die Online-Handelsplattform wurde 2012 in Nigeria gegründet, hat Niederlassungen in 13 afrikanischen Ländern und gilt bereits als „Amazon Afrikas“. Jumia Co-CEO Sacha Poignonnec, links, applaudiert, während Jumia Nigeria CEO Juliet Anammah, Mitte, die Glocke läutet, als die Aktien des Unternehmens am 12. April 2019 in den Handel kommen. Richard Drew © picture alliance / AP Photo
    Jumia wird als erstes afrikanisches Technologie-Start-up-Unternehmen an der New Yorker Börse gehandelt. Die Online-Handelsplattform wurde 2012 in Nigeria gegründet, hat Niederlassungen in 13 afrikanischen Ländern und gilt bereits als „Amazon Afrikas“. Jumia Co-CEO Sacha Poignonnec, links, applaudiert, während Jumia Nigeria CEO Juliet Anammah, Mitte, die Glocke läutet, als die Aktien des Unternehmens am 12. April 2019 in den Handel kommen.
 

Wirtschaft, die Beziehungen produziert 

Sarr plädiert für eine Ökonomie, in der die zwischenmenschlichen Beziehungen im Mittelpunkt stehen. „Wenn ich etwas kaufen möchte, dann kann ich nach dem Preis fragen, den geforderten Preis bezahlen und wieder gehen. Damit endet die Beziehung. Ich kann aber auch verhandeln, feilschen. Beim Handeln passiert mehr als ein rein wirtschaftlicher Austausch. Wir bauen eine Beziehung auf. Wenn zum Beispiel ein gutes Gespräch entstanden ist, wird der Verkäufer am Ende den Preis wahrscheinlich senken, und vielleicht wird der Käufer zu einem Stammkunden“, erklärt Sarr. „Bei diesem wirtschaftlichen Austausch geht es vor allem um die Qualität der Beziehung, die hier entstanden ist, und diese Beziehung produziert wiederum etwas Materielles, aber nicht umgekehrt.“ Vertrauen sei bei diesen Wirtschaftssystemen zentral und auch hier habe Afrika interessante Ansätze zu bieten. „Viele Leute in unseren Ländern haben kein Bankkonto. Wenn sie ein Darlehen für eine Unternehmensgründung aufnehmen wollen, wenden sie sich an ihre Gemeinschaft. Wenn das soziale Kapital, das heißt, die Beziehung und das Vertrauen zwischen dem Anfragenden und der Gemeinschaft stark sind, dann findet die Transaktion statt. Wir brauchen keine Garantien, müssen keine Wohnung mit einer Hypothek belasten“, so Sarr. „Diese Art der Wirtschaft hat die niedrigsten Transaktionskosten. Im dominanten Wirtschaftssystem entsteht der Großteil der Transaktionskosten aus Misstrauen. Um mit diesem Misstrauen umzugehen, braucht es Garantien, Hypotheken, einen Gerichtsapparat. So gesehen ist es effizienter, Kleinbetriebe basierend auf einem langzeitigem Sozialkapital zu finanzieren.“

Zuhören für einen Austausch auf Augenhöhe

Für einen Dialog auf Augenhöhe zwischen Afrika und Europa sei es unentbehrlich, so Sarr weiter, dass sich Europa in die Position des Zuhörers begibt. „In den vergangenen fünf Jahrhunderten hat Europa das Kräftespiel der Welt dominiert. Aber für die Herausforderungen, die die gesamte Menschheit betreffen, brauchen wir alle Ressourcen, die uns weltweit zu Verfügung stehen, nicht nur das Wissen aus Europa. Wir brauchen das Wissen aus Asien, aus Indien, aus Afrika, aus den sogenannten Entwicklungsländern. Dazu muss Europa aber lernen, zuzuhören und bereit zu sein, von den Erfahrungen anderer zu lernen.“ Einfach sei das nicht, erkennt Sarr, es brauche Bescheidenheit. „Wenn wir davon ausgehen, dass die Wiege der Menschheit in Afrika liegt, dann heißt das, dass Afrikaner*innen die längste Erfahrung mit der Bedeutung des Lebens haben. Wie kann man also glauben, dass man nichts von Afrika lernen kann?“