Colonies in the Caribbean Scandinavia and the slave trade

Colonial history: Sale of slaves in the streets of Havana, Cuba, in the 19th century. School wall painting (color print), 1950.
Sale of slaves in the streets of Havana, Cuba, in the 19th century. School wall painting (color print), 1950. | Photo (detail): akg-images © picture alliance

When I tell people that I’m researching Scandinavian colonial history, their first reaction is often: “Is that even a thing?” In Norway I even get the response that it’s Denmark’s responsibility – after all Norway was governed from Copenhagen during the period in question.
 

By Lill-Ann Körber

Norwegians took part in overseas trade and what was probably its most gruesome chapter against their will, so the claim goes. The reference is to the transatlantic slave trade and the institution of slavery in the Scandinavian territories in the Caribbean.
 
But what’s the truth about the colonial history of the Scandinavian countries and the Norwegian involvement?
 
Inspired by expansion efforts in the rest of Europe and luxury goods coming from all over the world, Sweden (which at that time incorporated large areas of the Baltic, as well as Finland until 1809) and Denmark (which included Norway up to and including 1814) were also entering the East Asian, African and American-Caribbean markets by the 17th century. At first it was typically private trading companies like the Vestindisk-Guinesisk Kompagni that equipped the ships for trade outside Europe and negotiated the establishment of trading posts with local ruling powers; it was only later that the ownership and administration claims of the Swedish and Danish crown were widened. Territories in Africa and the Caribbean facilitated Scandinavian involvement in a highly lucrative “Trade Triangle”, as it was known.

Dying within a short time

Norwegians were involved in the colonisation of the Caribbean islands, human trafficking and the continuation of the slave trade – in the capacity of financiers, merchants, colonial civil servants, seafarers and, on a more or less voluntary basis, settlers. The first ship from the Vestindisk-Guineisk Kompagni, which brought enslaved Africans to the newly established colony of St. Thomas in 1674, bore the name “Cornelia” and belonged to a merchant from Bergen called Jørgen Thor Møhlen. “Cornelia” also had a large number of convicts on board, including some from Bergen, who were intended to be the first colonists. Almost all of them died within a short time.
 
  • Colonial history: Sculpture “The Slave” by the Danish-Norwegian sculptor Stephan Sinding (1846-1922) in the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek Copenhagen, Denmark. Denmark was one of the first European colonial powers. From 1380 to 1814, the kingdoms of Denmark and Norway formed a union in which Denmark dominated and Norway was granted provincial status. The Danish colonial empire stretched from the Indian Ocean to the Caribbean and the Arctic. The Danish colonies in Europe included the Faroe Islands and Iceland, in the Arctic Greenland, in America the Danish West Indies (Caribbean: Lesser Antilles, Virgin Islands with Saint Thomas, Saint John and Saint Croix, and also Crab Island), in Asia the Danish East Indies in historical India (New Denmark/Nicobar Islands, Serampore or Frederiksnagore in Bengal and Trankebar/Danish India on the Coromandel coast) and trading posts in China. Prisma Archivo © picture alliance
    Sculpture “The Slave” by the Danish-Norwegian sculptor Stephan Sinding (1846-1922) in the Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek Copenhagen, Denmark. Denmark was one of the first European colonial powers. From 1380 to 1814, the kingdoms of Denmark and Norway formed a union in which Denmark dominated and Norway was granted provincial status. The Danish colonial empire stretched from the Indian Ocean to the Caribbean and the Arctic. The Danish colonies in Europe included the Faroe Islands and Iceland, in the Arctic Greenland, in America the Danish West Indies (Caribbean: Lesser Antilles, Virgin Islands with Saint Thomas, Saint John and Saint Croix, and also Crab Island), in Asia the Danish East Indies in historical India (New Denmark/Nicobar Islands, Serampore or Frederiksnagore in Bengal and Trankebar/Danish India on the Coromandel coast) and trading posts in China.
  • Denmark's former Prime Minister Lars Lokke Rasmussen (right) and Head of the former Danish Parliament Thor Pedersen arrive at the Cathedral of Nuuk, Denmark. In folk festivals around the Arctic island, Greenlanders, on 21 June 2009, celebrated a new chapter in their history, moving a further step away from Denmark's colonial rule. An agreement on extended autonomy entered into force on that date. Kalaallisut, the language of the native Inuit, has been the national language ever since; the Greenlandic government took over responsibility for police, justice and the coastguard, only foreign and defence policy continues to be determined by Denmark. Formally, the Danish Queen Margrethe II. remains the head of state of Greenland. epa Scanpix Navntoft © dpa-Report
    Denmark's former Prime Minister Lars Lokke Rasmussen (right) and Head of the former Danish Parliament Thor Pedersen arrive at the Cathedral of Nuuk, Denmark. In folk festivals around the Arctic island, Greenlanders, on 21 June 2009, celebrated a new chapter in their history, moving a further step away from Denmark's colonial rule. An agreement on extended autonomy entered into force on that date. Kalaallisut, the language of the native Inuit, has been the national language ever since; the Greenlandic government took over responsibility for police, justice and the coastguard, only foreign and defence policy continues to be determined by Denmark. Formally, the Danish Queen Margrethe II. remains the head of state of Greenland.
  • Colonial history: On March 31 2018 the 7 meter high sculpture “I am Queen Mary” was revealed at the West Indian Storehouse in Copenhagen Harbor. The sculpture was made by Danish artist Jeanette Ehlers in collaboration with Virgin Islands artist La Vaughn Belle. The motif is that of Mary Thomas who was behind the biggest worker's uprising in St. Croix in 1878 and is a symbol of the Danish colonial past. The artists hope to further a dialog about the Danish role in colonial times. Nils Meilvang © picture alliance/Scanpix Denmark
    On March 31 2018 the 7 meter high sculpture “I am Queen Mary” was revealed at the West Indian Storehouse in Copenhagen Harbor. The sculpture was made by Danish artist Jeanette Ehlers in collaboration with Virgin Islands artist La Vaughn Belle. The motif is that of Mary Thomas who was behind the biggest workers' uprising in St. Croix in 1878 and is a symbol of the Danish colonial past. The artists hope to further a dialog about the Danish role in colonial times.
  • Colonial history: Colonial history: The Cape Coast Castle on the coast of Ghana served as an important base for the slave trade. Today the former fortress is a large museum on the history of the slave trade on the former Gold Coast and since 1979 a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On the Gold Coast of West Africa, Denmark maintained numerous bases and fortresses in the 17th and 18th centuries, which are collectively known as the Danish Gold Coast and Danish Guinea respectively. Cape Coast Castle is one of about 35 historic forts on the Ghanaian coast. Like most other forts on the so-called "Gold Coast", Cape Coast Castle served as a prison for locals who were captured for sale and transport as slaves to the European colonies in North and South America according to Wikipedia. In the basement dungeons of the fort, they often had to wait for months for the next slave ship before they were finally brought to the beach through a narrow cellar corridor for loading. Rita Funk © picture alliance/dpa
    Colonial history: The Cape Coast Castle on the coast of Ghana served as an important base for the slave trade. Today the former fortress is a large museum on the history of the slave trade on the former Gold Coast and since 1979 a UNESCO World Heritage Site. On the Gold Coast of West Africa, Denmark maintained numerous bases and fortresses in the 17th and 18th centuries, which are collectively known as the Danish Gold Coast and Danish Guinea respectively. Cape Coast Castle is one of about 35 historic forts on the Ghanaian coast. Like most other forts on the so-called "Gold Coast", Cape Coast Castle served as a prison for locals who were captured for sale and transport as slaves to the European colonies in North and South America according to Wikipedia. In the basement dungeons of the fort, they often had to wait for months for the next slave ship before they were finally brought to the beach through a narrow cellar corridor for loading.
  • Artifacts recovered from the 18th century slave ship Fredensborg are on display at Fort Frederik in Frederiksted, St. Croix, in the U.S. Virgin Islands. Danish West Indies in the Caribbean was a Danish colony from 1666 to 1917. Danish and Schleswig-Holstein farmers kept black slaves there and cultivated primarily sugar cane, which was then refined in Flensburg and Copenhagen. The archipelago was finally sold to the USA in 1917. Traces of the colonial period, especially buildings, have been preserved; even today, the islands are still a popular destination for Danish tourists. Cristian Simescu © picture alliance / newscom
    Artifacts recovered from the 18th century slave ship Fredensborg are on display at Fort Frederik in Frederiksted, St. Croix, in the U.S. Virgin Islands. Danish West Indies in the Caribbean was a Danish colony from 1666 to 1917. Danish and Schleswig-Holstein farmers kept black slaves there and cultivated primarily sugar cane, which was then refined in Flensburg and Copenhagen. The archipelago was finally sold to the USA in 1917. Traces of the colonial period, especially buildings, have been preserved; even today, the islands are still a popular destination for Danish tourists.
One of the Norwegians, who served the Danish crown in St. Croix as a civil servant, was lawyer Engebret Hesselberg (1728–1788). Hesselberg became “famous” as a result of the particularly cruel punishment of enslaved men who were under suspicion of planning a rebellion. No proof was ever found. A copy of Hesselberg’s report can be found in the Nasjonalbiblioteket (Norwegian National Library), which – alongside a precise listing of suspects and each person’s methods of punishment, torture and execution – provides information about one thing in particular: the fact that Norwegians or Scandinavians in general did not behave in any sense “better” or “more humanely” than others when they ended up in positions of colonial power. Of course this contradicts the self-image of many Scandinavians.
 
Indeed the relationship between Norway and Denmark can be retold through their shared colonial history as well. In 2017 when Denmark commemorated 100 years since cession of the Danish West Indies to the USA, with lots of exhibitions and discussion events, there was little mention of Norway – simply because it’s often forgotten that “Danmark” or “Det danske rige” can also refer to Norwegians, Germans or Icelandic people, not necessarily the Denmark that lies within today’s boundaries.

For Norway, one particular event in the past few decades was significant as a reminder of the Norwegian involvement in the slave trade: the discovery of the “Fredensborg” in 1974, a ship that sank in 1768 off the coast of Arendal. On its final Triangular Trade voyage, the ship transported 256 African slaves from the “Gold Coast” across the Atlantic to St. Croix.

Enforced passages

In recent years the interest in this unpleasant chapter of history has increased. Examples of this are Fartein Horgar’s five novels about Danish-Norwegian colonial history in the Caribbean, Anders Totland’s non-fiction work for children and young people Den norske slavehandelen (2018), or the Artistic Research Project at the Akademi for scenekunst  Høgskolen i Østfold, “Spectral collaborations: performative entanglement  in the archives of Nordic participation in Trans-Atlantic slavery”.

But why is this history important at all? For me it isn’t about guilt and shame, it’s about accepting that we are part of a shared history and therefore a shared present and a shared future that goes beyond our own country, region and continent. Maybe it’s also possible to develop an understanding of the idea that the memory of “seilskutetiden” (sailing ships) is full of positivity and pride for most Norwegians, but can sound horrifying to Afro-Caribbeans: a reminder of enforced passages with a fatal outcome. And the reason for the exhibition entitled Listening to the echoes of the South Atlantic (Oslo Kunstforening, 6th February to 2nd April 2020) is to establish precisely this link.

Kolonien in der Karibik Skandinavien und der Menschenhandel

Kolonialgeschichte: Verkauf von Sklav*innen in den Straßen von Havanna, Kuba, im 19. Jahrhundert. Schulwandbild (Farbdruck), 1950.
Verkauf von Sklav*innen in den Straßen von Havanna, Kuba, im 19. Jahrhundert. Schulwandbild (Farbdruck), 1950. | Foto (Detail): akg-images © picture alliance

Wenn ich erzähle, dass ich über skandinavische Kolonialgeschichte forsche, ist die erste Reaktion oft: „Gibt es die denn?”. In Norwegen bekomme ich auch als Antwort, das sei die Verantwortung Dänemarks, schließlich sei in der betreffenden Periode Norwegen von Kopenhagen aus verwaltet worden.

 

Von Lill-Ann Körber

Norweger hätten sozusagen gegen ihren Willen am überseeischen Handel und an dessen wohl grausamstem Kapitel teilgenommen: dem transatlantischen Sklavenhandel und der Institution der Sklaverei in den skandinavischen Besitzungen in der Karibik.
 
Aber was ist nun dran an der Kolonialgeschichte der skandinavischen Länder und an der norwegischen Beteiligung? Und wie können wir neu darüber nachdenken?
 
Inspiriert von den Expansionsbestrebungen im restlichen Europa und den aus aller Welt ankommenden Luxusgütern drängten im 17. Jahrhundert auch Schweden (das in der Zeit große Gebiete im Ostseeraum und bis 1809 Finnland umfasste) und Dänemark (bis 1814 einschließlich Norwegens) auf den ostasiatischen, den afrikanischen und den amerikanisch-karibischen Markt. Typisch waren es zunächst private Handelskompanien wie die Vestindisk-Guinesisk Kompagni, die Schiffe für den außereuropäischen Handel ausstatteten und mit lokalen Machthabern die Errichtung von Handelsstützpunkten aushandelten; erst später wurden Besitz- und Verwaltungsansprüche der schwedischen und dänischen Krone ausgeweitet. Besitzungen in Afrika und in der Karibik ermöglichten eine skandinavische Beteiligung am äußerst lukrativen sogenannten „Dreieckshandel“.

Sterben binnen kurzer Zeit

Norweger waren als Finanziers, Kaufleute, Kolonialbeamte, Seeleute und als – mehr oder minder freiwillige – Siedler an der Kolonisierung der Karibikinseln, am Menschenhandel und an der Aufrechterhaltung der Sklaverei beteiligt. Das erste Schiff der Vestindisk-Guineisk Kompagni, das 1674 versklavte Afrikaner in die neu etablierte Kolonie St. Thomas transportierte, trug den Namen „Cornelia“ und gehörte dem Bergener Kaufmann Jørgen Thor Møhlen „Cornelia“ hatte auch viele Strafgefangene an Bord, unter anderem aus Bergen, die als erste Kolonisten vorgesehen waren. Fast alle starben binnen kurzer Zeit.
 
  • Kolonialgeschichte: Skulptur „Der Sklave“ des dänisch-norwegischen Bildhauers Stephan Sinding (1846–1922) in der Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek Kopenhagen, Dänemark. Dänemark war eine der ersten europäischen Kolonialmächte. Die Königreiche Dänemark und Norwegen bildeten von 1380 bis 1814 eine Union, in der Dänemark dominierte und Norwegen der Status einer Provinz zukam. Das dänische Kolonialreich erstreckte sich vom Indischen Ozean über die Karibik bis in die Arktis. Zu den dänischen Kolonien gehörten in Europa: Färöer und Island, in der Arktis: Grönland, in Amerika: Dänisch-Westindien (Karibik: Kleine Antillen, Jungferninseln mit Saint Thomas, Saint John und Saint Croix, außerdem die Krabbeninsel), in Asien: Dänisch-Ostindien im historischen Indien (Neu-Dänemark/Nikobaren, Serampore oder Frederiksnagore in Bengalen und Trankebar/ Dänisch-Indien an der Koromandelküste) sowie Handelskontore in China. Prisma Archivo © picture alliance
    Skulptur „Der Sklave“ des dänisch-norwegischen Bildhauers Stephan Sinding (1846–1922) in der Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek Kopenhagen, Dänemark. Dänemark war eine der ersten europäischen Kolonialmächte. Die Königreiche Dänemark und Norwegen bildeten von 1380 bis 1814 eine Union, in der Dänemark dominierte und Norwegen der Status einer Provinz zukam. Das dänische Kolonialreich erstreckte sich vom Indischen Ozean über die Karibik bis in die Arktis. Zu den dänischen Kolonien gehörten in Europa: Färöer und Island, in der Arktis: Grönland, in Amerika: Dänisch-Westindien (Karibik: Kleine Antillen, Jungferninseln mit Saint Thomas, Saint John und Saint Croix, außerdem die Krabbeninsel), in Asien: Dänisch-Ostindien im historischen Indien (Neu-Dänemark/Nikobaren, Serampore oder Frederiksnagore in Bengalen und Trankebar/ Dänisch-Indien an der Koromandelküste) sowie Handelskontore in China.
  • Kolonialgeschichte: Dänemarks ehemaliger Premierminister Lars Lokke Rasmussen (rechts) und der Vorsitzende des damaligen dänischen Parlaments Thor Pedersen 2009 im dänischen Nuuk. Bei Volksfesten rund um die arktische Insel feierten die Grönländer*innen am 21. Juni 2009 ein neues Kapitel ihrer Geschichte, mit dem sie sich einen weiteren Schritt von Dänemarks Kolonialherrschaft befreien. Am diesem Tag trat ein Abkommen zur erweiterten Autonomie in Kraft. Kalaallisut, die Sprache der einheimischen Inuit, ist seitdem Landessprache; die grönländische Regierung übernahm die Zuständigkeiten für Polizei, Justiz und Küstenwache, nur Außen- und Verteidigungspolitik werden weiterhin von Dänemark bestimmt. Formell bleibt die dänische Königin Margrethe II. Staatsoberhaupt Grönlands. epa Scanpix Navntoft © dpa-Report
    Dänemarks ehemaliger Premierminister Lars Lokke Rasmussen (rechts) und der Vorsitzende des damaligen dänischen Parlaments Thor Pedersen 2009 im dänischen Nuuk. Bei Volksfesten rund um die arktische Insel feierten die Grönländer*innen am 21. Juni 2009 ein neues Kapitel ihrer Geschichte, mit dem sie sich einen weiteren Schritt von Dänemarks Kolonialherrschaft befreien. Am diesem Tag trat ein Abkommen zur erweiterten Autonomie in Kraft. Kalaallisut, die Sprache der einheimischen Inuit, ist seitdem Landessprache; die grönländische Regierung übernahm die Zuständigkeiten für Polizei, Justiz und Küstenwache, nur Außen- und Verteidigungspolitik werden weiterhin von Dänemark bestimmt. Formell bleibt die dänische Königin Margrethe II. Staatsoberhaupt Grönlands.
  • Kolonialgeschichte: Am 31. März 2018 wurde die sieben Meter hohe Statue  „Ich bin Königin Maria“ im Westindischen Lagerhaus im Kopenhagener Hafen enthüllt. Die Skulptur wurde von der dänischen Künstlerin Jeanette Ehlers in Zusammenarbeit mit dem auf den Jungferninseln lebenden Künstler La Vaughn Belle geschaffen. Das Motiv stellt Mary Thomas dar, die an der Spitze des größten Arbeiteraufstandes auf St. Croix im Jahr 1878 stand und ein Symbol der dänischen Kolonialvergangenheit ist. Die beiden Künstler*innen hoffen, damit den Dialog über die dänische Rolle in der Kolonialzeit zu fördern. Nils Meilvang © picture alliance/Scanpix Denmark
    Am 31. März 2018 wurde die sieben Meter hohe Statue „Ich bin Königin Maria“ im Westindischen Lagerhaus im Kopenhagener Hafen enthüllt. Die Skulptur wurde von der dänischen Künstlerin Jeanette Ehlers in Zusammenarbeit mit dem auf den Jungferninseln lebenden Künstler La Vaughn Belle geschaffen. Das Motiv stellt Mary Thomas dar, die an der Spitze des größten Arbeiteraufstandes auf St. Croix im Jahr 1878 stand und ein Symbol der dänischen Kolonialvergangenheit ist. Die beiden Künstler*innen hoffen, damit den Dialog über die dänische Rolle in der Kolonialzeit zu fördern.
  • Kolonialgeschichte: Das Cape Coast Castle an der Küste von Ghana diente als wichtiger Stützpunkt für den Sklavenhandel. Heute ist die ehemalige Festung ein großes Museum zur Geschichte des Sklavenhandels an der ehemaligen Goldküste und seit 1979 Unesco-Weltkulturerbe. An der Goldküste Westafrikas unterhielt Dänemark im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zahlreiche Stützpunkte und Festungen, die zusammenfassend als Dänische Goldküste bzw. als Dänisch-Guinea bezeichnet werden. Cape Coast Castle ist eines von etwa 35 historischen Forts der ghanaischen Küste. Wie auch die meisten anderen Forts an der sogenannten „Gold Coast“ diente Cape Coast Castle laut Wikipedia als Gefängnis für Einheimische, die für den Verkauf und Transport als Sklav*innen in die europäischen Kolonien in Nord- und Südamerika gefangen worden waren und in den Kellerverliesen des Forts oft monatelang auf das nächste Sklavenschiff warten mussten, ehe sie schließlich durch einen schmalen Kellergang an den Strand zum Verladen gebracht wurden. Rita Funk © picture alliance/dpa
    Das Cape Coast Castle an der Küste von Ghana diente als wichtiger Stützpunkt für den Sklavenhandel. Heute ist die ehemalige Festung ein großes Museum zur Geschichte des Sklavenhandels an der ehemaligen Goldküste und seit 1979 Unesco-Weltkulturerbe. An der Goldküste Westafrikas unterhielt Dänemark im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zahlreiche Stützpunkte und Festungen, die zusammenfassend als Dänische Goldküste bzw. als Dänisch-Guinea bezeichnet werden. Cape Coast Castle ist eines von etwa 35 historischen Forts der ghanaischen Küste. Wie auch die meisten anderen Forts an der sogenannten „Gold Coast“ diente Cape Coast Castle laut Wikipedia als Gefängnis für Einheimische, die für den Verkauf und Transport als Sklav*innen in die europäischen Kolonien in Nord- und Südamerika gefangen worden waren und in den Kellerverliesen des Forts oft monatelang auf das nächste Sklavenschiff warten mussten, ehe sie schließlich durch einen schmalen Kellergang an den Strand zum Verladen gebracht wurden.
  • Artefakte, die vom Sklavenschiff Fredensborg aus dem 18. Jahrhundert geborgen wurden, sind im Fort Frederik in Frederiksted, St. Croix, auf den amerikanischen Jungferninseln ausgestellt. Dänisch-Westindien in der Karibik war von 1666 bis 1917 dänische Kolonie. Dänische und schleswig-holsteinische Farmer hielten dort schwarze Sklav*innen und bauten in erster Linie Zuckerrohr an, das dann in Flensburg und Kopenhagen raffiniert wurde. Die Inselgruppe wurde schließlich 1917 an die USA verkauft. Spuren der Kolonialzeit, insbesondere Gebäude, sind erhalten; auch heute noch sind die Inseln beliebtes Ziel für dänische Tourist*innen. Cristian Simescu © picture alliance / newscom
    Artefakte, die vom Sklavenschiff Fredensborg aus dem 18. Jahrhundert geborgen wurden, sind im Fort Frederik in Frederiksted, St. Croix, auf den amerikanischen Jungferninseln ausgestellt. Dänisch-Westindien in der Karibik war von 1666 bis 1917 dänische Kolonie. Dänische und schleswig-holsteinische Farmer hielten dort schwarze Sklav*innen und bauten in erster Linie Zuckerrohr an, das dann in Flensburg und Kopenhagen raffiniert wurde. Die Inselgruppe wurde schließlich 1917 an die USA verkauft. Spuren der Kolonialzeit, insbesondere Gebäude, sind erhalten; auch heute noch sind die Inseln beliebtes Ziel für dänische Tourist*innen.
Einer der Norweger, der als Beamter im Dienst der dänischen Krone in St. Croix tätig war, war der Jurist Engebret Hesselberg (1728–1788). „Berühmt“ wurde Hesselberg durch die äußerst grausame Bestrafung versklavter Männer, die verdächtigt wurden, einen Aufruhr geplant zu haben. Beweise wurden nie gefunden. In der Nasjonalbiblioteket (Nationalbibliothek Norwegen) findet man eine Kopie von Hesselbergs Rapport, die neben einer genauen Auflistung der Verdächtigen und der jeweiligen Straf-, Folter- und Hinrichtungsmethoden, vor allem über eines Auskunft gibt: dass nämlich Norweger, oder Skandinavier generell, sich kein bisschen „besser“ oder „humaner“ verhalten haben als andere, wenn sie in koloniale Machtpositionen gelangten. Dies widerspricht natürlich dem Selbstbild vieler Skandinavier*innen.
 
Tatsächlich kann man über die gemeinsame Kolonialgeschichte auch das Verhältnis von Norwegen und Dänemark neu erzählen. Als in Dänemark 2017 mit vielen Ausstellungen und Diskussionsveranstaltungen an die 100-jährige Abtretung der Dänisch-Westindischen Inseln an die USA erinnert wurde, wurde Norwegen kaum erwähnt – einfach weil oft vergessen wird, dass mit „Danmark“ oder „Det danske rige“ auch Norweger, Deutsche oder Isländer gemeint sein können, jedenfalls nicht Dänemark in seinen heutigen Grenzen.

Für Norwegen war besonders ein Ereignis der vergangenen Jahrzehnte bedeutsam, um die norwegische Beteiligung am Sklavenhandel in Erinnerung zu rufen: die Entdeckung des 1768 vor der Küste vor Arendal gesunkenen Schiffs „Fredensborg“ im Jahr 1974. Das Schiff hatte bei seiner letzten Fahrt auf der Dreiecksroute 256 versklavte Afrikaner von der „Goldküste“ über den Atlantik nach St. Croix transportiert.

Erzwungene Schiffspassagen

In den vergangenen Jahren ist das Interesse an diesem unerfreulichen Kapitel der Geschichte gestiegen. Beispiele dafür sind Fartein Horgars fünf Romane über die dänisch-norwegische Kolonialgeschichte in der Karibik, Anders Totlands Kinder- und Jugendsachbuch Den norske slavehandelen (2018) oder das Artistic-Research-Projekt an der Akademi for scenekunst, Høgskolen i Østfold, „Spectral collaborations: performative entanglement  in the archives of Nordic participation in Trans-Atlantic slavery“.

Warum aber ist diese Geschichte überhaupt wichtig? Für mich geht es dabei nicht um Schuld und Scham, sondern um die Anerkennung, Teil einer gemeinsamen Geschichte und damit auch einer geteilten Gegenwart und gemeinsamen Zukunft zu sein, über das eigene Land, die eigene Region, den eigenen Kontinent hinaus. Vielleicht kann man auch ein Verständnis dafür entwickeln, dass die Erinnerung an die „seilskutetiden“ (Segelschiffe) bei den meisten Norweger*innen eine positive, von Stolz erfüllte ist, für Afrokaribier*innen aber entsetzlich klingen kann: nach erzwungenen und todbringenden Schiffspassagen. Genau diese Verbindung zu schaffen war der Anlass auch für die Ausstellung Listening to the echoes of the South Atlantic (Oslo Kunstforening, 6. Februar bis 2. April 2020).