Articles on the debate The Achille Mbembe Controversy

Achille Mbembe
Achille Mbembe | Photo (detail): Daniel Bockwoldt © dpa

Achille Mbembe was to give the opening speech of the now cancelled Ruhrtriennale in summer 2020, but there were protests against this invitation. Mbembe is accused of anti-Semitism, among other things. The accusations have sparked a virulent debate about the renowned thinker, German culture of remembrance and postcolonial studies.

Among those who protested against the African philosopher's invitation to speak at the opening of the Ruhrtriennale was Felix Klein, the German government's anti-Semitism commissioner. He accuses Achille Mbembe of relativising the Holocaust. In his academic writings, according to Klein, Mbembe also equated the state of Israel with the apartheid system in South Africa, which corresponds to “a familiar anti-Semitic pattern“.

Even though the art festival was cancelled due to the coronavirus crisis, Achille Mbembe has been the subject of a fierce controversy in the German media ever since. The dispute has now also met with a tremendous response abroad. In this section we present some of the key contributions that have already appeared in the German media and add to them other previously unpublished perspectives. In this debate, the online magazine Latitude also provides a platform for different opinions and perspectives.

More on the topic:

Jürgen Kaube: Lumping everything together
(Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 20.04.2020)

Achille Mbembe: Letter to the Germans
(Tageszeitung taz, 11.05.2020)

Ijoma Mangold: How Racist Is the West?
(DIE ZEIT No. 19/2020, 28.04.2020)

Michael Rothberg: The Specters of Comparison
(Latitude, goethe.de, 15.05.2020)

Saba-Nur Cheema and Meron Mendel: Antisemitism as white space
(Tageszeitung taz, 25.04.2020)

Jörg Häntzschel: A brilliant thinker 
(Südeutsche Zeitung, 25.04.2020)

Sonja Zekri: Interpreting Trauma
(Süddeutsche Zeitung, 15.05.2020)

Peter Ullrich: A quest for clarity
(Tageszeitung taz, 05.05.2020)

Mark Terkessidis: Critique of Mbembian Reason
(Latitude, goethe.de, 05.06.2020)

Ralf Michaels: Thought control in the name of remembrance culture
(Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 08.06.2020)

Artikel zur Debatte Der Streit um Achille Mbembe

Achille Mbembe
Achille Mbembe | Foto (Detail): Daniel Bockwoldt © dpa

Achille Mbembe sollte im Sommer 2020 die Eröffnungsrede der inzwischen abgesagten Ruhrtriennale halten. Doch gegen diese Einladung gab es Proteste. Mbembe wird unter anderem Antisemitismus vorgeworfen. Die Vorwürfe haben eine virulente Debatte um den renommierten Denker, deutsche Erinnerungskultur und die Postcolonial Studies entfacht.

Gegen die Einladung des afrikanischen Philosophen als Redner zur Eröffnung der Ruhrtriennale hatte unter anderem der Antisemitismus-Beauftragte der Bundesregierung, Felix Klein, protestiert. Er wirft Achille Mbembe eine Relativierung des Holocaust vor. Außerdem habe Mbembe in seinen wissenschaftlichen Schriften den Staat Israel mit dem Apartheidsystem in Südafrika gleichgesetzt, was „einem bekannten antisemitischen Muster“ entspreche.

Auch wenn das Kunstfestival wegen der Coronakrise abgesagt wurde, um Achille Mbembe entbrennt in den deutschen Medien seither eine heftige Kontroverse. Der Streit stößt inzwischen auch im Ausland auf ungeheure Resonanz. An dieser Stelle versammeln wir einige der zentralen Beiträge, die bereits in deutschen Medien erschienen sind, und ergänzen diese um weitere bisher unveröffentlichte Perspektiven. Das Online-Magazin Latitude bietet auch in dieser Debatte eine Plattform für unterschiedliche Meinungen und Perspektiven. 

Mehr zum Thema:

Jürgen Kaube: Alles in einem Topf
(Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 20.04.2020)

Achille Mbembe: Brief an die Deutschen
(Tageszeitung taz, 11.05.2020)

Ijoma Mangold: Wie rassistisch ist der Westen?
(DIE ZEIT Nr. 19/2020, 28.04.2020)

Michael Rothberg: Das Gespenst des Vergleichs
(Latitude, goethe.de, 15.05.2020)

Saba-Nur Cheema und Meron Mendel: Leerstelle Antisemitismus
(Tageszeitung taz, 25.04.2020)

Jörg Häntzschel: Brillanter Denker
(Süddeutsche Zeitung, 25.04.2020)

Sonja Zekri: Trauma-Deuter
(Süddeutsche Zeitung, 15.05.2020)

Peter Ullrich: Suche nach Eindeutigkeit
(Tageszeitung taz, 05.05.2020)

Mark Terkessidis: Kritik der Mbembeschen Vernunft
(Latitude, goethe.de, 05.06.2020)

Ralf Michaels: Denkverbot im Namen der Erinnerungskultur
(Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, 08.06.2020)