Edward W. Saʿid A German-Egyptian Memory

Decolonisation – An image of cartoon character Handala is seen depicted on a rock of the Gaza port at sunset,
The cartoon character Handala on the breakwaters of the Gaza Strip, next to a line by Mahmoud Darwish “On this earth what makes life worth living”, 10 April 2015. The boy Handala, created by Palestinian cartoonist Naji Al-Ali in the late 1960ies became a symbol of Palestinian defiance. Handala stopped growing at the age of 10, the age when the artist was expelled from Palestine. In Arabic, the plant “al-handal” refers to the bitter apple, desert gourd or vine of Sodom. Mahmoud Darwish was one of the closest companions of Edward W. Said. | Photo (detail): Mohammed Saber © picture alliance / dpa

Though it was hardly the career his family had envisioned for him, Edward Said’s critique of a ubiquitous Eurocentrism and the infamous knowledge-power nexus in “North-South” relations has shaped disciplines across the board and beyond the humanities.

By Sonja Hegasy

“Edward Said loved music, and I loved his love of music, as well as the musicality that characterized everything, he did.”

Teju Cole in “A Quartet for Edward Said”

In 1989, freshly arrived at Columbia University, I had to smuggle myself into Edward Said’s first seminar in Cultural Studies at Columbia University. There were simply too many students who wanted to audit his course. I keep a cassette from those days. To hear Said’s musings on audio today might be nothing special in the digital age with its countless interviews and recorded lectures on YouTube and other sites. Worse, my cassette is hardly audible. But gluing to an old cassette recorder allows me to relive the atmosphere of the class, the laughter, the passion for the literature we read and some loud door banging by latecomers. The distinct voice – as any voice from the past - does the rest to revive my memories: Edward Said was a charismatic person - never arrogant nor detached. It would have been difficult not to notice his stylish outfit in class, and I would not have mentioned it here, were it not for Teju Cole who admitted (his own term) that as an impoverished student at Columbia University he first noticed Said’s suit and noble figure and that he was awed by “the flash of glamour, a glamour present each time I caught sight of Said’s noble figure on campus.” (min. 0:50-60)

Ability for self-correction

One quality, that comes to my mind, was Said’s interest in and - more important - ability for self-correction. Since my early studies, I have been interested in thinkers who fundamentally revise their own theory-building later in life; something that is not very common. Edward Said engaged in detail with his reviewers, answered their critique and re-thought his theories in a continuous exchange with their positions. This can be seen well in his article “Traveling Theory”, in which Said asks what happens to a theory once it moves out of its original context. Said sets out to examine the transtemporal and translocal entanglements of theories and argued that in travelling they are often domesticated and stripped of their original force. I was never convinced that a theory loses its rebelliousness when it moves out of its original context – quite the contrary. Where many see a process of “commodification” or even “Disneyfication” at work with Western cultural globalisation overriding local ideas and unifying the world, I am rather interested to investigate the creative part, because people universally like to take “things” in and at the same time shape them with their own original imprint. So it was rewarding for me to read many years later, how Said altered his approach to “Traveling Theory” incorporating how it can be enriched and fused with life and originality exactly outside of its original context.

A “music buff” 

Many people do not know that Said was in fact since 1986 the music critic of the US-American weekly The Nation. More than 50 reviews give us an introduction into one of Said’s obsessions and what a “music buff” (Mariam C. Said) he was. Said was highly influenced by the German composer, philosopher, musicologist and founder of the Frankfurt school Theodor Adorno. He uses Adorno'sanalysis to cognise what composers like Pierre Boulez and Arnold Schoenberg or performers like Glenn Gould intended to do or what they reacted to. Reading these reviews today, draws you into a parallel world: we can see the young András Schiff through Said’s eyes at Carnegie Hall in 1989.  At the same time, we can see and hear Sir András Schiff today at the Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin. This is a fascinating game of shifting perspectives (Vexierspiel, I like to call it) that Said has left for us. The lesson he and Daniel Barenboim as co-founders of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra insist on, is that we learn from music that one voice is nothing without the other. Counterpoint “makes music more beautiful”, we hear. Music accepts dissent and subversion, says Daniel Barenboim. But can this really be transposed from music to the political sphere?

Out of Place

Edward Said lived to see the run-up to the invasion of Iraq and died on 24 September 2003, half a year into it. Misinformation about Iraq continues Said’s seminal work on Covering Islam. How the Media and the Experts Determine How We See the Rest of the World. The arc from 1981 to today’s continuously increasing Islamophobia and the way the media still base their reporting on well-known stereotypes and the expected is obvious. The tank drivers heading towards Baghdad in 2003 were listening to combat playlists to prop up their willingness to fight, ease their own fear, and subdue their pain. Music, like Touchdown by T.I. and Eminem or Indestructible by Disturbed, was a constant during their deployment.

Said’s memoir Out of Place (first edition in 1999), which he started writing after his diagnosis with leukemia, is itself a work of “late style”, I would say. Said took this term from Adorno to examine what happens to an art work towards the end of the life of its originator. What aesthetic quality do these works develop? “[W]hat of artistic lateness not as harmony and resolution but as intransigence, difficulty and unresolved contradiction? What if age and ill health don’t produce the serenity of >ripeness is all<?”, Said asked (in: On Late Style: Music and Literature Against the Grain.p. 7) His own memoir is in fact not more intransigent than his other works, but it is a keystone in the project of retaining first-hand narratives of forced displacement, lost land and “non-existing people”. This endeavour was worth for him to change the genre. The memoir gives us a rare glimpse into a contemporary witness of the 1948 nakba (catastrophe) from the perspective of a 12-year-old. Out of Place only covers Said’s childhood and teens until the end of his education in the United States. It is important to bear this generational trait in mind. Today, after the so-called nakba law of 2011, which entitles the Israeli Ministry of Finance to divest public money in case an entity uses it for (amongst other stipulations): “Commemorating Independence Day or the day of the establishment of the state (of Israel - author's note ) as a day of mourning”, voices that can tell the event of the Palestinian expulsion are more indispensable than ever for the generations to come.

The family silenced the nakba at home, so that he heard almost nothing about what had happened in Palestine except that he could remember himself: Palestinian refugees flocking into Egypt and his aunt Nabiha taking care of them. In many instances in the book, he recalls that his mother kept news from the children saying they should not ‘break their little heads over this or that’. However, concealing the expulsion of one’s own people surely was more than simple “news”. Edward Said recounts family silences more than once in his memoir:

“The subject of Palestine was rarely talked about openly although stray comments by my father suggested the catastrophic collapse of a society and a country’s disappearance. […] It seems inexplicable to me now that having dominated our lives for generations, the problem of Palestine and its tragic loss, which affected virtually everyone we knew, deeply changing our world, should have been so relatively repressed, undiscussed, or even remarked on by my parents.”

Edward Said: “Out of Place: A Memoir”. p. 116, 117)

Said was a chief critic of the Oslo Process. Today, his views on the Oslo process read like the most apt comment on the present situation of Israel and Palestine. “How Do You Spell Apartheid? O-s-l-o”, published in Ha’aretz in 1998 for instance ties directly into the debates that exploded (one needs to call it this way) in 2020 in Germany around Achille Mbembe’s criticism of Israel’s occupation. Mbembe and Said obviously speak well to each other. One should recall Said’s words in Ha’aretz: “Zionism appealed to a European audience for whom the classification of overseas territories and natives into various uneven classes was canonical and “natural.” That is why, for example, every single state or movement in the formerly colonized territories of Africa and Asia today identifies with, fully supports and understands the Palestinian struggle.” In this vein Mbembe (and others) search for ways of civil disobedience to counter the occupation. Would for example a call for a boycott similar to the boycott against South Africa under apartheid be a legitimate option? Or would that rather remind us (that is in particular the German but also the global memory community) of the boycott of Jews and Jewish businesses in Nazi Germany after 1 April 1933? With two resolutions by the German Bundestag over the last three years, which set a frame to easily defame criticism of Israel’s policies as anti-Semitic, Achille Mbembe, who had been awarded many important prizes in Germany, suddenly was treated as a pariah: From winner of the Geschwister-Scholl Prize to “Holocaust relativiser” seems to be a short but elegant road in Germany these days. Obviously, it did not take long till Edward Said (who is not well known in Germany outside university circles) was defamed in the German printing press. Said’s article “How Do You Spell Apartheid? O-s-l-o” reminds us of the historicity of the term "apartheid" within the Israeli-Palestinian context as well as the networks of solidarity stemming out of the 19th and 20th century.
  • Decolonisation – Edward Wadie Said, Portrait © Bruni Meya /picture-alliance / akg-images
    Edward Wadie Said, Portrait 1999. The US-American literary scholar of Palestinian origin was born in Jerusalem in 1935 and died in New York in 2003.
  • Decolonisation – Syllabus of the Seminar in Cultural Studies taught jointly by Jean Franco and Edward Wadie Said at Columbia University in 1990. © Foto: Sonja Hegasy, Montage: Tobias Schrank / Goethe-Institut
    Syllabus of the author from the Seminar in Cultural Studies taught jointly by Jean Franco and Edward Wadie Said at Columbia University in 1990. Jean Franco was the first Professor of Latin American Literature in England and joined Columbia University in 1982. Said was Professor of Literature at the English and Comparative Literature faculties from 1963 till 2003.
  • Decolonisation – Conductor Daniel Barenboim and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra at the final concert of the US tour in Los Angeles on 11 November 2018. © Manuel Vaca
    Conductor Daniel Barenboim and the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra at the final concert of the US tour in Los Angeles on 11 November 2018. The origins of the West-Eastern Divan lie in the conversations between its founders, Edward Said and Daniel Barenboim. Over the course of their great friendship, the Palestinian author/scholar and Israeli conductor/pianist discussed ideas on music, culture and humanity. In their exchanges, they realized the urgent need for an alternative way to address the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.
  • Decolonisation – The Temple of Dendur at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York.  Richard Drew © picture alliance / AP Photo
    The Temple of Dendur at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York
  • Decolonisation – Media representatives photograph traces of the damage to a sarcophagus of the Prophet Ahmose at the Neues Museum in Berlin. On Berlin's Museum Island, around 70 works of art in the Pergamon Museum, the Neues Museum, the Alte Nationalgalerie and other locations were splashed with an oily liquid on 3 October 2020. Recording date 21.10.2020 Bernd von Jutrczenka © picture alliance/dpa
    Media representatives photograph traces of the damage to a sarcophagus of the Prophet Ahmose at the Neues Museum in Berlin. On Berlin's Museum Island, around 70 works of art in the Pergamon Museum, the Neues Museum, the Alte Nationalgalerie and other locations were splashed with an oily liquid on 3 October 2020. Recording date 21.10.2020
During his lifetime, Said incessantly addressed all sides of the conflict through Hebrew as well as Arabic media. It would, for instance, take little courage to write in the New York Times: “We must recognize the realities of the Holocaust not as a blank check for Israelis to abuse us, but as a sign of our humanity, our ability to understand history, our requirement that our suffering be mutually acknowledged.” However, Said wrote this in 1998 in the widely circulated pan-Arab daily newspaper al-Hayat.
Decolonisation – Handala, a Palestinian national symbol of the “right of return” in Palestinian culture Handala, a Palestinian national symbol of the “right of return” in Palestinian culture | © Naji al-Ali
Last but not least, among the reviews he wrote, I stumbled across one which resonated especially with me: “Egyptian Rites” published in New York’s Village Voice (Said would probably be blogging today). Which “rites” did he mean, I wondered. He actually reviews here the Metropolitan Museum’s new Egyptian wing with the complete Temple of Dendur on display and a film series accompanying the exhibition’s opening in 1983. Said wrote:
 
“Egypt isn’t just another foreign country; it is special. Everyone has some acquaintance with it, whether through photographs of Abu Simbel, busts of Nefertiti, school courses in ancient history, or images of Anwar Sadat on television. Historical characters—Cleopatra, Ramses, Tutankhamen, among many—have been drafted for service in mass culture, and they continue to exist and function as symbols of passion, conquest, and wealth complicated by an exotic remoteness that remains attractive in the late twentieth century.” (The World, the Text, and the Critic,1983, p. 43)
 
I like the “everyone” at the start of this review. Pictures of the pyramids always from the same outbound angle, Nefertiti or Nofretete, as the Germans call her, in Berlin, and Tutankhamun (real or as a replica) are today among the best-known global icons, who remain in a gluey and already deadly spiderweb of foreign ascriptions. On 3 October  2020, during German Unity Day, unknown vandals damaged Egyptian and further artefacts in the New Museum in Berlin with an oily liquid. We do not need to refresh the memory of Edward Wadīʿ Saʿīd – current circumstances do this for us.
Sonja Hegasy, Berlin, December 2020
 
 
I thank Teju Cole for providing me with this script and Roni Mann for her comments on an earlier version of the text.
– Sonja Hegasy, Berlin, December 2020

Sources:

  • Teju Cole, A Quartet for Edward Said. 7 April 2018, Berlin. 
  • Teju Cole, „A Quartet for Edward Said“, In: Black Paper (University of Chicago Press), forthcoming 2021.
  • Mike Dibb: Edward Said: The Last Interview. First Run/Icarus Films, 2004, 120 Minutes.
  • Edward W. Said: On Late Style: Music and Literature against the Grain. New York: Vintage Books, 2006, p. 7.
  • Edward W. Said: Out of Place: A Memoir. Berlin: Berlin Verlag, 2002, p. 186f. Translated from English by Meinhard Büning.
  • Edward W. Said: The World, the Text, and the Critic. Harvard University Press, 1983, p. 43.
  • Edward W. Said: “Traveling Theory”, In: Die Welt, der Text und der Kritiker. Frankfurt am Main: S. Fischer, 1997, p. 284f. Translated from English by Brigitte Flickinger.
  • Edward Said: “Zionism from the Standpoint of Its Victims”. In: Social Text, 1 (Winter, 1979), pp. 7-58.

Edward W. Saʿid Eine deutsch-ägyptische Erinnerung

Dekolonisierung – Ein Bild der Cartoon-Figur Handala ist auf einem Felsen des Gaza-Hafens bei Sonnenuntergang zu sehen,
Die Cartoon-Figur Handala auf einem Wellenbrecher im Gaza-Streifen, daneben die Gedichtzeile „Auf dieser Erde ist etwas, das zu Leben verdient“ von Mahmoud Darwish, 10. April 2015. Die Figur des palästinensischen Karikaturisten Naji Al-Ali wurde seit dem Ende der 1960er-Jahre zum Symbol des palästinensischen Widerstands. Handala entschied sich im Alter von zehn Jahren nicht mehr zu wachsen, dem Alter, in dem der Künstler aus Palästina vertrieben wurde. „Alhandal“ bedeutet im Arabischen Bitterapfel oder wilder Kürbis. Mahmoud Darwish selbst gehört zu den engsten Weggefährten Edward Saids. | Foto (Detail): Mohammed Saber © picture alliance / dpa

Obwohl es wohl kaum die Karriere war, die sich seine Familie für ihn vorgestellt hatte, hat Edward Saids Kritik an einem allgegenwärtigen Eurozentrismus und dem berühmt-berüchtigten Nexus von Wissen und Macht in den „Nord‑Süd“‑Beziehungen Fachdisziplinen in sämtlichen Bereichen und über die Geisteswissenschaften hinaus geprägt.

Von Sonja Hegasy

„Edward Said liebte Musik, und ich liebte seine Liebe zur Musik sowie die Musikalität, die alles prägte, was er tat.“

Teju Cole in „A Quartet for Edward Said“

Als Neuzugang an der Columbia University musste ich mich 1989 in Edward Saids erstes kulturwissenschaftliches Seminar an dieser Universität schmuggeln. Es gab einfach zu viele Studierende, die seinen Kurs belegen wollten. Ich besitze immer noch eine Kassette aus jenen Tagen. Saids Gedankengänge auf Audio zu hören, mag heutzutage nichts Besonderes mehr sein in einem digitalen Zeitalter, in dem sich zahllose Interviews und Vorlesungsmitschnitte auf YouTube und anderen Webseiten befinden. Zu allem Übel ist meine Kassette auch noch kaum verständlich. Doch wenn ich mit dem Ohr am Rekorder klebe, dann kann ich die Atmosphäre des Unterrichts wiederbeleben, das Gelächter, die Leidenschaft für die Literatur, die wir lasen, und das Türknallen von einigen Nachzügler*innen. Die unverkennbare Stimme Saids leistet – wie jede Stimme aus der Vergangenheit – ihr Übriges, um meine Erinnerungen zu wecken: Edward Said war eine charismatische Persönlichkeit, nie arrogant oder distanziert. Es war kaum zu übersehen, wie stilvoll er sich auch im Unterricht kleidete. Ich hätte es hier nicht erwähnt, wenn nicht Teju Cole zugegeben hätte (so dessen Formulierung), dass ihm als mittellosem Studenten an der Columbia University als Erstes Saids vornehmer Anzug auffiel und er beeindruckt war von „dem blitzenden Glamour, einem Glamour, der jedes Mal gegenwärtig war, wenn ich Saids elegante Erscheinung auf dem Campus erblickte.“ (00:50:60)

Fähigkeit zur Selbstkorrektur

Eine Eigenschaft, die mir in den Sinn kommt, war Saids Interesse an – und wichtiger noch Fähigkeit zur – Selbstkorrektur. Seit meinen frühen Studientagen bin ich an Denker*innen interessiert, die ihr eigenes Theoriegerüst später im Leben einmal grundsätzlich überarbeitet haben; etwas, das nicht sehr verbreitet ist. Edward Said setzte sich ausführlich mit seinen Rezensent*innen auseinander, antwortete auf ihre Kritik und überdachte seine Theorien in kontinuierlichem Austausch mit ihren Positionen. Das wird zum Beispiel an seinem Essay „Theorien auf Wanderschaft“ deutlich, in dem Said fragt, was mit einer Theorie geschieht, sobald sie sich aus ihrem ursprünglichen Kontext herausbewegt. Said machte sich daran, die transtemporalen und translokalen Verflechtungen von Theorien zu ergründen und argumentierte, dass die „gewanderten“ Theorien oft domestiziert und ihrer ursprünglichen Kraft beraubt werden. Ich war nie davon überzeugt, dass eine Theorie ihr aufrührerisches Potenzial einbüßt, wenn sie aus dem ursprünglichen Kontext herausgelöst wird – ganz im Gegenteil. Wo viele einen Prozess der „Kommodifizierung“ oder gar „Disneyfizierung“ durch die westliche kulturelle Globalisierung am Werk sehen, der lokale Vorstellungen überschreibt und die Welt vereinheitlicht, ist mir eher daran gelegen, den kreativen Teil zu erforschen, denn die Menschen greifen allgemein gern „Dinge“ auf und drücken ihnen dann ihren eigenen Stempel auf. Daher war es sehr gewinnbringend für mich, als ich Jahre später las, wie Said seinen Ansatz der „Theorien auf Wanderschaft“ veränderte und hier nun einbezog, wie Theorien gerade außerhalb ihres ursprünglichen Kontextes mit Leben und Originalität erfüllt und verschmolzen werden können.

Ein „Musiknarr“

Viele wissen nicht, dass Said seit 1986 Kritiker für klassische Musik der US-amerikanischen Wochenzeitschrift The Nation war. Mehr als 50 seiner Kritiken gewähren uns Einblick in eine seiner großen Leidenschaften und bezeugen, was für ein „Musiknarr“ (Mariam C. Said) er war. Said war stark beeinflusst von dem deutschen Komponisten, Philosophen, Musikwissenschaftler und Begründer der Frankfurter Schule Theodor Adorno. Er nutzte Adornos Analyse, um zu untersuchen, was Komponisten wie Pierre Boulez und Arnold Schönberg oder Interpreten wie Glenn Gould im Sinn hatten oder worauf sie reagierten. Wenn man heute diese Kritiken liest, wird man in eine Parallelwelt hineingezogen: Wir können den jungen András Schiff durch Saids Augen 1989 in der Carnegie Hall sehen. Gleichzeitig können wir Sir András Schiff heute im Berliner Pierre Boulez Saal erleben und hören. Dies ist ein faszinierendes Vexierspiel, das Said uns hinterlassen hat. Die Lektion, auf der Daniel Barenboim und er als Gründer des West-Eastern Divan Orchestra beharren, ist, dass wir von der Musik lernen, dass eine Stimme nichts ohne die andere ist. Der Kontrapunkt „macht die Musik schöner“, so erfahren wir. Die Musik akzeptiere Dissens und Subversion, meint Daniel Barenboim. Aber lässt sich das wirklich von der Musik auf die politische Sphäre übertragen?

Am falschen Ort

Edward Said erlebte die Vorbereitungen für den Irakkrieg und starb am 24. September 2003, ein halbes Jahr nach Beginn der Invasion. Misinformation about Iraq führt Saids einflussreiches Werk Covering Islam. How the Media and the Experts Determine How We See the Rest of the World fort. Der Bogen, der sich von 1981 bis zur gegenwärtig stetig zunehmenden Islamophobie und der Art und Weise spannt, wie die Medien ihre Berichterstattung noch immer auf bekannten Stereotypen und Erwartungshaltungen aufbauen, ist offensichtlich. Die Soldaten, die 2003 ihre Panzer in Richtung Bagdad lenkten, hörten aufputschende Songs, um ihre Kampfbereitschaft zu stärken, ihre Angst zu lindern und ihren Schmerz zu unterdrücken. Musik, wie Touchdown von T.I. und Eminem oder Indestructible von Disturbed, war eine Konstante während ihres Einsatzes.

Saids Autobiografie Am falschen Ort (2002, „Deplatziert“ oder „Fehl am Platz“ wäre meiner Ansicht nach die passendere Übersetzung für den Originaltitel Out of Place), die er nach seiner Leukämiediagnose zu schreiben begann, ist selbst ein Werk des „Spätstils“, denke ich. Said hat diese Bezeichnung von Adorno übernommen, um zu untersuchen, was mit einem Kunstwerk am Lebensende seiner Schöpfer*innen geschieht. Welche ästhetischen Eigenschaften entwickeln diese Werke? „Was ist mit einem künstlerischen Spätwerk, das nicht als Harmonie und Auflösung, sondern als Unnachgiebigkeit, Erschwernis und ungelöster Widerspruch erlebt wird? Was, wenn Alter und Krankheit nicht die Gelassenheit einer über allem stehenden Reife hervorrufen?“, fragte Said (in On Late Style: Music and Literature Against the Grain. Seite 7).

Seine Autobiografie ist freilich nicht unversöhnlicher als seine anderen Werke, aber sie ist ein Grundstein im Vorhaben, Erfahrungsberichte von Vertreibung, verlorenem Land und einem „nicht existierenden Volk“ zu bewahren. Dieses Ziel war es ihm wert, das Genre zu verändern. Die Autobiografie verschafft uns einen der seltenen Einblicke eines Zeitzeugen der Nakba (Katastrophe) von 1948, hier aus der Sicht eines Zwölfjährigen. Am falschen Ort beschreibt Saids Kindheit und Jugendjahre bis zum Ende seines Studiums in den Vereinigten Staaten. Es ist wichtig, diesen generationellen Aspekt zu berücksichtigen. Heute, nach dem sogenannten Nakba-Gesetz von 2011, das dem Finanzministerium Israels erlaubt, öffentliche Gelder zu entziehen, wenn eine Einrichtung diese (neben anderen Gründen) für „das Gedenken an den Unabhängigkeitstag oder den Tag der Gründung des Staates (Israel – Anmerkung der Verfasserin) als einem Tag der Trauer“ verwendet, sind Stimmen, die von der Vertreibung der Palästinenser berichten, für kommende Generationen unverzichtbarer denn je.

Zu Hause schwieg Saids Familie über die Nakba, sodass er fast nichts über die Geschehnisse in Palästina erfuhr, mit Ausnahme dessen, woran er sich selbst erinnerte: palästinensische Flüchtlinge, die nach Ägypten strömten und um die sich seine Tante Nabiha kümmerte. An vielen Stellen des Buches schreibt er, wie seine Mutter den Kindern Nachrichten vorenthielt mit den Worten, dass sie sich ihren kleinen Kopf nicht über dieses oder jenes zerbrechen sollten. Doch die Vertreibung des eigenen Volkes zu kaschieren, war sicher mehr als nur das Verbergen von „Nachrichten“. Edward Said erzählt in seinen Memoiren mehr als einmal vom Schweigen in seiner Familie:

„Das Thema Palästina kam selten offen zur Sprache, wenngleich gelegentliche Kommentare meines Vaters Hinweise auf den katastrophalen Zusammenbruch einer Gesellschaft und das Verschwinden eines Landes lieferten. [...] Heute erscheint es mir unerklärlich, dass das Problem Palästinas und seines tragischen Verlusts, das unser Leben jetzt seit Generationen beherrscht, von dem so gut wie jeder unserer Bekannten betroffen war und das unsere Welt von Grund auf veränderte, bei meinen Eltern im Vergleich dazu so verdrängt und wenig diskutiert, ja kaum erwähnt wurde.“

Edward Said: „Am falschen Ort. Autobiografie“

Said war einer der maßgeblichen Kritiker des Osloer Friedensprozesses. Heute lesen sich seine Ansichten über die Verhandlungen in Oslo wie der treffendste Kommentar zur derzeitigen Situation in Israel und Palästina. So knüpfen die hitzigen Debatten, die sich 2020 in Deutschland um Achille Mbembes Kritik an der israelischen Besatzungspolitik entfachten, nahtlos an seinen Essay „How Do You Spell Apartheid? O-s-l-o“ an, der 1998 in der israelischen Tageszeitung Ha’aretz veröffentlicht wurde. Mbembe und Said liegen offensichtlich auf einer Linie. Man erinnere sich an Saids Worte in Ha’aretz zum Zionismus um die Wende zum 19. Jahrhundert: „Der Zionismus sprach ein europäisches Publikum an, für die die Einteilung ausländischer Territorien und Bevölkerungen in mehrere ungleiche Klassen ein weit verbreitetes, ‚natürliches‘ Vorgehen war. Das ist der Grund, warum sich beispielsweise jeder einzelne Staat oder jede Bewegung in den ehemals kolonisierten Gebieten Afrikas und Asiens heute mit dem Kampf der Palästinenser identifiziert, ihn voll unterstützt und versteht.“ In diesem Sinne suchen Mbembe (und andere) nach Wegen des zivilen Ungehorsams, um der Besetzung zu begegnen. Wäre etwa der Aufruf zu einem Boykott, ähnlich wie der gegen Südafrika unter der Apartheid, ein legitimes Mittel? Oder würde das uns (also insbesondere die deutsche, aber auch die weltweite Erinnerungsgemeinschaft) eher an den Boykott gegen Juden und ihre Geschäfte im nationalsozialistischen Deutschland nach dem 1. April 1933 erinnern? Nach zwei Beschlüssen des Deutschen Bundestags in den vergangenen drei Jahren, die eine Grundlage dafür schufen, Kritik an Israels Politik sehr schnell als antisemitisch abzutun, wurde Achille Mbembe, der in Deutschland viele wichtige Auszeichnungen erhielt, plötzlich wie ein Paria behandelt: Vom Geschwister-Scholl-Preisträger zum Holocaust-Relativierer ist es dieser Tage anscheinend ein kurzer und eleganter Weg in Deutschland. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis auch Edward Said (der in Deutschland außerhalb universitärer Kreise kaum bekannt ist) in der deutschen Presse diffamiert wurde. Saids Essay „How Do You Spell Apartheid? O-s-l-o“ erinnert uns an die Historizität des Begriffs „Apartheid“ im israelisch-palästinensischen Kontext sowie an die Solidaritätsnetzwerke, die aus dem 19. und 20. Jahrhundert stammen.
  • Dekoloniisierung – Edward Wadie Said, Porträtaufnahme © Bruni Meya /picture-alliance / akg-images
    Edward Wadie Said, Porträtaufnahme 1999. Der US-amerikanische Literaturwissenschaftler palästinsensischer Herkunft wurde 1935 in Jerusalem geboren und starb 2003 in New York.
  • Dekolonisierung – Syllabus der Autorin für das Seminar in Kulturwissenschaften, das 1990 gemeinsam von Jean Franco und Edward Wadie Said an der Columbia University unterrichtet wurde. © Foto: Sonja Hegasy, Montage: Tobias Schrank / Goethe-Institut
    Syllabus der Autorin für das Seminar in Kulturwissenschaften, das 1990 gemeinsam von Jean Franco und Edward Wadie Said an der Columbia University unterrichtet wurde. Jean Franco war die erste Professorin für lateinamerikanische Literatur in England und kam 1982 an die Columbia University. Said war von 1963 bis 2003 Professor für Literatur an den Fakultäten für Anglistik und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft.
  • Dekolonisierung – Dirigent Daniel Barenboim und das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra am 11. November 2018 beim Abschlusskonzert der US-Tournee in Los Angeles. © Manuel Vaca
    Dirigent Daniel Barenboim und das West-Eastern Divan Orchestra am 11. November 2018 beim Abschlusskonzert der US-Tournee in Los Angeles. Die Ursprünge des West-Östlichen Divans liegen in den Gesprächen zwischen seinen Gründern, Edward Said und Daniel Barenboim. Im Laufe ihrer großen Freundschaft diskutierten der palästinensische Autor/Wissenschaftler und der israelische Dirigent/Pianist Ideen über Musik, Kultur und Menschlichkeit. In ihrem Austausch erkannten sie die dringende Notwendigkeit eines alternativen Weges, um den israelisch-palästinensischen Konflikt zu lösen.
  • Dekolonisierung – Der Tempel von Dendur im Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York Richard Drew © picture alliance / AP Photo
    Der Tempel von Dendur im Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York
  • Des représentants des médias photographient les traces des détériorations faites sur le sarcophage du prophète Ahmose au Neues Museum à Berlin. Bernd von Jutrczenka © picture alliance/dpa
    Des représentants des médias photographient les traces des détériorations faites sur le sarcophage du prophète Ahmose au Neues Museum à Berlin. Sur l’Île aux Musées, le 3 octobre 2020, environ 70 œuvres d’art issues du Pergamon Museum, du Neues Museum, de la Alte Nationalgalerie et d’autres sites ont été aspergées d’un liquide gras. Photo datant du 21/10/2020.
Zu Lebzeiten wandte sich Said unermüdlich sowohl in hebräischen als auch in arabischen Medien an alle Konfliktparteien. So wäre beispielsweise nur wenig Courage erforderlich, um in der New York Times zu schreiben: „Wir sollten die Realität des Holocaust nicht als einen Blankoscheck für die Israelis anerkennen, um uns zu misshandeln, sondern als ein Zeichen unserer Humanität, unserer Fähigkeit, Geschichte zu verstehen, unserer Forderung, dass unsere Leiden gegenseitig anerkannt werden.“ Doch diese Zeilen veröffentlichte Said 1998 in der auflagenstarken panarabischen Tageszeitung al-Hayat.
Dekolonisierung – Handala, ein palästinensisches Nationalsymbol für das „Recht auf Rückkehr“ Handala, ein palästinensisches Nationalsymbol für das „Recht auf Rückkehr“ | © Naji al-Ali
Zu guter Letzt stieß ich unter den von ihm verfassten Rezensionen auf eine, die mich besonders ansprach: „Egyptian Rites“ (Ägyptische Rituale), die 1983 in der New Yorker Village Voice erschien (heute würde Said vermutlich bloggen). Welche „Riten“ meinte er, fragte ich mich. Tatsächlich rezensiert er hier den neuen ägyptischen Flügel des Metropolitan Museum of Art, in dem der komplette Tempel von Dendur ausgestellt ist, sowie eine Filmreihe, die die Ausstellungseröffnung begleitete. Said schrieb:
 
„Ägypten ist nicht einfach nur ein fremdes Land; es ist etwas Besonders. Jeder hat schon einmal Bekanntschaft damit gemacht, sei es durch Fotografien von Abu Simbel, Büsten der Nofretete, den Geschichtsunterricht in der Schule oder Bilder von Anwar Sadat im Fernsehen. Historische Figuren – Kleopatra, Ramses, Tutanchamun und viele andere – wurden in den Dienst der Massenkultur einberufen, und sie existieren und funktionieren weiterhin als Symbole für Leidenschaft, Eroberung und Reichtum, überlagert durch eine exotische Ferne, die auch Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts nicht an Reiz verloren hat.“ (The World, the Text, and the Critic, 1983, Seite 43)
 
Mir gefällt das „jeder“ am Anfang des zweiten Satzes. Die Bilder von den Pyramiden, stets aus demselben, stadtauswärts gerichtetem Blickwinkel, Nefertiti oder Nofretete, wie die Deutschen sie nennen, in Berlin und Tutanchamun (real oder als Kopie) rangieren heute unter den bekanntesten globalen Ikonen, die in einem klebrigen und bereits tödlichen Spinnennetz fremder Zuschreibungen verharren. Am 3. Oktober 2020, am Tag der Deutschen Einheit, haben Unbekannte ägyptische sowie andere Artefakte im Neuen Museum in Berlin mit einer öligen Flüssigkeit beschädigt. Wir müssen das Gedenken an Edward Wadīʿ Saʿīd gar nicht am Leben erhalten – die derzeitigen Umstände tun dies für uns.
 
Ich danke Teju Cole dafür, dass er mir das Skript zur Verfügung stellte, sowie Roni Mann für ihre Kommentare zu einer ersten Fassung des Texts.
– Sonja Hegasy, Berlin, Dezember 2020

Quellen:

  • Teju Cole: A Quartet for Edward Said. 7. April 2018, Berlin.
  • Teju Cole: „A Quartet for Edward Said“, In: Black Paper (University of Chicago Press), erscheint 2021.
  • Mike Dibb: Edward Said: The Last Interview. First Run/Icarus Films, 2004, 120 Minuten.
  • Edward W. Said: Am falschen Ort. Autobiografie. Berlin: Berlin Verlag, 2002, S. 186f. Aus dem Englischen von Meinhard Büning.
  • Edward W. Said: On Late Style: Music and Literature against the Grain. New York: Vintage Books, 2006, S. 7.
  • Edward W. Said: „Theorien auf Wanderschaft“. In: Die Welt, der Text und der Kritiker. Frankfurt am Main: S. Fischer, 1997, S. 284f. Aus dem Englischen von Brigitte Flickinger.
  • Edward W. Said: The World, the Text, and the Critic. Harvard University Press, 1983, S. 43. Übersetzung des Zitats ins Deutsche von Christiane Wagler.
  • Edward Said: „Zionism from the Standpoint of Its Victims“. In: Social Text, 1 (Winter, 1979), S. 7–58.