African-European coproduction An opportunity for the future

Decolonization and postcolonial development cooperation: Agadez Design
Postcolonial development cooperation: Agadez Design | Photo (detail): © Maik Reichert

It’s considered unique, the Tuareg craft of art smithing. The Italian jewellery design industry has been influenced by the forms from Niger for centuries, and is now actively promoting the preservation of these traditional skills. A multimedia reportage.

By Sarah Wollberg (texts, interviews) and Maik Reichert (photos/camera)

In the centre of Rome, just a few metres away from the Colosseum, you’ll find Agadez. For twenty years the jeweller’s shop owned by Maria Antonietta Sutto and Zaccaria Yahaya has been a trading place in which Tuareg workmanship merges with Italian design.

Maria Antonietta is a designer from Milan. Zaccaria comes from a recognised Tuareg family of artsmiths from Niger. “When I saw Antonietta’s drawings in Italy, it became clear to me who I am and where I come from,” he told us. She in turn finds that many idioms from the Tuareg culture crop up in Italy, because their influence reached as far as the shores of the Mediterranean. “The strong identity of the Tuareg inspired me. I add my own creativity to the traditional symbols.”

Together they take Antonietta’s drawings to the city of Agadez in Niger, where the artsmiths produce the jewellery pieces. The Tuareg artsmiths have a practical skill that no longer exists in Europe today. “We’re talking about premium quality here with regard to craftsmanship, materials and design. They are the only things of their kind anywhere in the world,” explains Antonietta, showing us the silver cross of Agadez and the Berber Amazigh symbol.

Uniqueness and appreciation

An enquiry was made by MOMA in New York about the lamp in the form of an antique jewellery box that hangs over the shop counter. Not only does she base her creations on these forms and symbols, she also uses the finest materials from the Tuareg tradition, such as silver and ebony. “The Tuareg culture is a myth that’s known all over the world. Today the younger generation growing up there are finally becoming aware of its value.”

In danger

But the situation in Niger is difficult. The war in Libya and European political situation have caused security problems and isolation. Tourism and economic exchange are extremely limited in the country. “I’m afraid that the Tuareg will become a postcard. Europe and the whole world should pay special attention to this rich culture. I’m talking about the Tuareg, because I’m talking about myself – but all the cultures of Africa should be brought into the limelight!” explains Zaccarias Appell.
  • This lamp by Agadez Design also hangs in the MoMA, the Museum of Modern Art in New York. © Maik Reichert
    This lamp by Agadez Design also hangs in the MoMA, the Museum of Modern Art in New York.
  • Tower of the Grand Mosque, Agadez, Niger. Founded before the 14th century, Agadez grew to become the most important city of the Tuareg people. The mosque was originally built in the 16th century and rebuilt in the same style in 1844. © Maik Reichert
    Tower of the Grand Mosque, Agadez, Niger. Founded before the 14th century, Agadez grew to become the most important city of the Tuareg people. The mosque was originally built in the 16th century and rebuilt in the same style in 1844.
  • The Tuareg people belong to the indigenous Berber ethnic group settling in North Africa. For centuries, the Tuaregs lived as nomads in the territory of today's states of Mali, Algeria, Niger, Libya and Burkina Faso. Today many of them have settled down. © Maik Reichert
    The Tuareg people belong to the indigenous Berber ethnic group settling in North Africa. For centuries, the Tuaregs lived as nomads in the territory of today's states of Mali, Algeria, Niger, Libya and Burkina Faso. Today many of them have settled down.
  • Zaccaria Yahaya with jewellery by Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Zaccaria Yahaya with jewellery by Agadez Design
  • Jewellery by Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Jewellery by Agadez Design
  • Necklace by Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Necklace by Agadez Design
If a culture isn’t supported with sustainable projects, it disappears. It’s time for a paradigm shift. One look at the shop and into the eyes of Maria Antonietta and Zaccaria is enough to understand how important this is.

Afrikanisch-europäische Koproduktion Eine Chance für die Zukunft

Dekolonisierung und postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit: Agadez Design
Postkoloniale Entwicklungszusammenarbeit: Agadez Design | Foto (Detail): © Maik Reichert

Sie gilt als einzigartig, die Schmiedekunst der Tuaregs. Italienisches Schmuckdesign ist seit Jahrhunderten von den Formen aus dem Niger beeinflusst und fördert nun dort aktiv den Erhalt des traditionellen Kunsthandwerks. Eine Multimedia-Reportage.

Von Sarah Wollberg (Texte, Interviews) und Maik Reichert (Fotos/Kamera, Interviews)

Mitten in Rom, wenige Meter vom Kolosseum entfernt, liegt Agadez. Das Schmuckgeschäft von Maria Antonietta Sutto und Zaccaria Yahaya ist seit zwanzig Jahren ein Ort des Austauschs, der Tuareg-Kunsthandwerk mit italienischem Design vereint.

Maria Antonietta ist eine Mailänder Designerin. Zaccaria stammt aus einer anerkannten Tuareg-Familie von Kunstschmieden aus dem Niger. „Als ich in Italien Antoniettas Zeichnungen sah, wurde mir deutlich, wer ich bin und woher ich komme“, erzählt er uns. Sie hingegen findet viele Formen der Tuareg-Kultur in Italien wieder, da deren Einfluss bis an die Küsten des Mittelmeers reichte. „Die starke Identität der Tuareg inspiriert mich. Ich füge den traditionellen Symbolen meine Kreativität hinzu.“

Gemeinsam bringen sie Antoniettas Zeichnungen in das nigrische Agadez, wo die Kunstschmiede die Schmuckstücke anfertigen. Die Tuareg-Kunstschmiede haben eine Handfertigkeit, die es in Europa heute nicht mehr gibt. „Wir reden hier von Spitzenqualität, was das Handwerk, die Materialien und das Design betrifft. Sie sind in der ganzen Welt einzigartig“ erklärt Antonietta, während sie uns das silberne Agadez-Kreuz und das Berber-Symbol Amazigh zeigt.

Einzigartigkeit und Wertschätzung

Die Lampe über dem Ladentisch von der Form eines antiken Schmuckbehälters wurde vom MoMA in New York angefragt. Antonietta verwendet bei ihren Kreationen nicht nur Formen und Symbole, sondern auch wertvolle Materialien aus der Tuareg-Tradition wie Silber und Ebenholz. „Die Tuareg-Kultur ist in der ganzen Welt ein Mythos. Heute wird die jüngere Generation vor Ort sich ihrem Wert endlich bewusst.“
 

In Gefahr

Doch die Situation im Niger ist schwierig. Der Libyen-Krieg und die Europa-Politik haben zu Sicherheitsproblemen und Abschottung geführt. Der Tourismus und der wirtschaftliche Austausch des Landes sind stark eingeschränkt. „Ich habe Angst, dass die Tuareg zu einer Postkarte werden. Europa und die ganze Welt sollten ein Augenmerk auf diese reiche Kultur legen. Ich spreche von den Tuareg, weil ich von mir spreche, aber alle Kulturen Afrikas sollten ins Scheinwerferlicht gerückt werden!“, lautet Zaccarias Appell.
  • Diese Lampe von Agadez Design hängt auch im MoMA, im Museum of Modern Art in New York. © Maik Reichert
    Diese Lampe von Agadez Design hängt auch im MoMA, im Museum of Modern Art in New York.
  • Der Turm der Großen Moschee, Agadez, Niger. Agadez wurde vor dem 14. Jahrhundert gegründet und entwickelte sich zur wichtigsten Stadt des Tuareg-Volkes. Die Moschee wurde ursprünglich im 16. Jahrhundert erbaut und 1844 im gleichen Stil wieder aufgebaut. © Maik Reichert
    Der Turm der Großen Moschee, Agadez, Niger. Agadez wurde vor dem 14. Jahrhundert gegründet und entwickelte sich zur wichtigsten Stadt des Tuareg-Volkes. Die Moschee wurde ursprünglich im 16. Jahrhundert erbaut und 1844 im gleichen Stil wieder aufgebaut.
  • Das Tuareg-Volk gehört zu den indigenen Ethnien der Berber, die in Nordafrika siedeln. Die Tuaregs lebten jahrhundertelang als Nomaden im Gebiet der heutigen Staaten Mali, Algerien, Niger, Libyen und Burkina Faso. Heute sind viele von ihnen sesshaft geworden. © Maik Reichert
    Das Tuareg-Volk gehört zu den indigenen Ethnien der Berber, die in Nordafrika siedeln. Die Tuaregs lebten jahrhundertelang als Nomaden im Gebiet der heutigen Staaten Mali, Algerien, Niger, Libyen und Burkina Faso. Heute sind viele von ihnen sesshaft geworden.
  • Zaccaria Yahaya mit Schmuck von Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Zaccaria Yahaya mit Schmuck von Agadez Design
  • Schmuck von Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Schmuck von Agadez Design
  • Kette von Agadez Design © Maik Reichert
    Kette von Agadez Design
Wenn eine Kultur nicht mit nachhaltigen Projekten unterstützt wird, verschwindet sie. Es ist Zeit für einen Paradigmenwechsel. Ein Blick in das Geschäft und in die Augen von Maria Antonietta und Zaccaria reicht aus, um zu verstehen, wie wichtig dieser ist.